Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty damn close to perfect. A great companion to the deluxe editions!
For those on the fence about buying this, here's a rundown of the included tracks:

1. Susannah's Still Alive
2. This Man He Weeps Tonight
3. Mindless Child Of Motherhood
4. Hold My Hand
5. Do You Wish To Be A Man
6. Are You Ready
7. Creeping Jean
8. Crying
9. Lincoln County
10. Mr Shoemaker's Daughter
11. Mr...
Published on 9 Nov. 2011 by Ben W

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For die hard fans only?
Dave has always lived in the shadow of big brother Ray but in my opinion was as good a musician and composer as him. I only got this for Death of a Clown and Suzanna's still Alive really, I've played the album through a few times and I am warming to a few of the tracks but it's mostly b-side stuff.
Published 19 months ago by Hugh Rynall


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty damn close to perfect. A great companion to the deluxe editions!, 9 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Hidden Treasures (Audio CD)
For those on the fence about buying this, here's a rundown of the included tracks:

1. Susannah's Still Alive
2. This Man He Weeps Tonight
3. Mindless Child Of Motherhood
4. Hold My Hand
5. Do You Wish To Be A Man
6. Are You Ready
7. Creeping Jean
8. Crying
9. Lincoln County
10. Mr Shoemaker's Daughter
11. Mr Reporter
12. Groovy Movies
13. There's No Life Without Love
14. I Am Free
15. Death Of A Clown (Mono Single A-side)
16. Love Me Till The Sun Shines (Mono Single B-side)
17. Susannah's Still Alive (Mono Single A-side)
18. Funny Face (Mono Single B-side)
19. Lincoln County (Mono Single A-side)
20. There's No Life Without Love (Mono Single B-side)
21. Hold My Hand (Mono Single A-side)
22. Creeping Jean (Mono Single B-side)
23. This Man He Weeps Tonight (Mono Single B-side)
24. Mindless Child Of Motherhood (Mono Single B-side)
25. Mr Reporter (Alternate Mix)
26. Hold My Hand (Demo Version)
27. Good Luck Charm (Studio Version)

Tracks 1-4, 7, 9-12, 14-19 & 21-24 are all the same mixes as featured on the recent Deluxe editions (and the 2004 Village Green Deluxe)
(although track 23 here is superior as it does not have the mastering errors (clicks and pops) present on the Arthur Deluxe)

Tracks 5, 6 & 8 are previously unreleased songs which have only been available on bootlegs in poor quality. It's worth buying the CD just for "Crying", I'm amazed it wasn't released at the time!

Tracks 13 & 20 were left off the Deluxe editions. The stereo version (track 13) is a previously unreleased mix.

Track 25 is an alternate stereo mix from 1969. There was also a different stereo remix of this song done in 1998 for the Arthur remaster (Castle/Sanctuary single disc remaster)

Track 26 is an early demo version from a Dutch various artists compilation LP released in 1969. The sound quality is quite poor, but the compilers were limited to the fidelity of the original LP as there is no master tape for this song. (The stereo version of "Hold My Hand" on the Arthur Deluxe is mistakenly noted as being from the Dutch LP)

Track 27 was previously released on the 2008 Picture Book boxset. This studio version of "Good Luck Charm" only exists on a studio acetate so the quality cannot be as good as the other tracks here. Unfortunately the compilers of Hidden Treasures were unable to obtain the original acetate to do a new transfer so it has been sourced from the (less than stellar, mp3 sounding) transfer done for the Picture Book boxset. They were able to clean it up a bit so the version presented here is superior, although still not ideal.

All in all, a worthwhile set for any Kinks fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long overdue release, 4 Nov. 2011
By 
Ec Tipton "donkey_sandwich" (Hereford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hidden Treasures (Audio CD)
If you're interested in this album you're presumably already a big fan of the Kinks and have already bought the new deluxe Kinks reissues.

In keeping with the deluxe Kinks reissues this set has stunning sound quality throughout (far better and fuller than they've ever sounded before)

Most importantly this set features the first official release of Crying, Do You Wish To Be A Man and Are You Ready. These songs have only previously been available in bootleg form with appalling sound quality. This set also features the tracks that were included on the 1990s reissues but left off of the deluxe reissues and a handful of interesting (but inessential) alternate takes and mixes. The studio version of Good Luck Charm that as previously only available on the Picture Book boxset is also featured here.

This album may only attract hardcore fans but would be every bit as enjoyable to someone who had only previously heard Death Of A Clown.

Buy with confidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars About time!, 29 Oct. 2011
By 
G. Eggens - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hidden Treasures (Audio CD)
Thanks to Kinks fan Russell Smith for this review, first published on the Dave Davies Q&A forum:

"Dave Davies Hidden Treasures has probably taken as much work to
pulling together as the Picture Book box set did. In my humble opinion it a very
important release. Yes, strictly speaking it is a compilation - but, in reality
it is far more than that and certainty more important and should not be
considered just another arbitrary rounding-up-of-tracks that the Kinks down the
years have been victim to. Whilst it will not have quite the impact now, had it
been released back in 2002 or 2004, it is still a very important release not
least because it pieces together one of last enigmas in the Kinks catalogue, the
long overdue and eagerly awaited recordings that were considered and recorded
for Davies Davies's legendary unreleased 1969 solo album, including the
remaining unreleased tracks.

Thoughtfully compiled it includes outtakes, rarities, alternate mixes, as well
as all of Dave Davies's Pye singles (in pristine quality) from 1967 when Death
of a Clown rode high in the charts, until 1969 when the first phase of his solo
career was put on hold. The entire album is *newly* mastered by Andrew Sandoval
(the sound quality is gorgeous and makes it stands apart from what has gone
before on that point alone) an extensively researched 7000-word liner note essay
written by yours truly, along with a very detailed track and recording
annotations provided and prepared by Doug Hinman. All housed in a beautifully
designed package, containing rare images and memorabilia throughout. In my
humble opinion it is probably the best prepared and researched Kinks archive
release released to date.

I'm not going to spoil all the surprises, but I will say the alternate version
of Mr. Reporter is not the 1998 remix, but a 1969 alternate version."

Brgds

Russell Smith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never Underestimate Dave Davies Contribution, 12 Jan. 2012
By 
Michael Paul Richards (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hidden Treasures (Audio CD)
The long awaited release of "Hidden Treasures" by Kinks icon Dave Davies leaves the listener astonished that this project has taken so long from its original conception to its release. I guess we will never know the real reasons. The wonderful news is that this is nothing less than a masterwork. The remastering and remixing is of the highest order and will please those audiophiles amongst us. The stereo balance is very pleasing. The music here is (I think) all written by Dave with excellent arrangements and great vocal delivery with a range of approaches which keeps you interested throughout. I have followed both The Kinks and the Davies brothers careers from the outset and their position at the top of the sixties/seventies artists is well deserved - perhaps even a little underrated. Some of these songs have appeared elsewhere but their presentation here is the best available to date and along with the recent remastering of The Kinks back catalogue make this an important addition. On many of these songs dave's concentration is on the vocal delivery rather than his lead guitar. He demonstrates that he is just as capable as his elder brother as both a songwriter and vocalist. The individual Kinks - messrs Ray Davies, Pete Quaife, Mick Avory and then John Dalton who replaced Pete Quaife are all variously present on many of these recordings with Quaife's bass playing a standout on many tracks. The booklet is of the highest quality with some good informative text and high quality images too.

In all a most welcome (dare I say exciting!) addition to Dave Davies body of work which also adds a quality addition to your Kinks collection too! Most Highly recommended - look out for his new album this year. [[ASIN:B005GCNUQ8 Hidden Treasures]

Mike (Paul) Richards
Lincoln City Radio 103.6 FM and Online at lincolncityradio.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accurately Titled!, 28 Dec. 2011
By 
Thomas R. Cravens "mighty tim" (Champaign, IL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hidden Treasures (Audio CD)
This compilation of Kinks songs written and sang by Dave Davies is indeed filled with many treasures. Many were previously scattered among the Kinks' classic late 60s albums, while others have only been available as bonus tracks in deluxe re-issue packages. What makes this a must-have for all Kinks fans is the fascinating portrait it paints of Davies an artist with a unique talent, quite different from brother Ray. Taken as a whole, it makes me wonder what Dave might have achieved were circumstances different and he hadn't had such a talented brother to follow. Despite backing by the Kinks and some production work by Ray, what we have here is a unique voice that measures up to just about any other 60s music icon.

While it is true that Kinks competists could put together their own version of this album drawing from all the individual Kinks CDs, the remastering on this project is wonderful. This, along with the extensive liner notes and rare photos make this release well worth the very reasonable price Amazon is charging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars more like diamonds, 19 Sept. 2012
By 
John T. (chesterfield uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hidden Treasures (Audio CD)
Lots of real treasure on this magnificent CD. I've always enjoyed hearing Daves distinctive voice right from the Kinks first album,his vocal on "Long tall shorty" still sounds truly amazing after all these years.The CD is worth the money just to have the 3 chart hits on CD, everything else is pure bonus.Amongst the other tracks(27 in total) included on this brilliant compilation "Love me till the sun shines" is worth the money alone. Very very pleased, Excellent music from one half of two very talented brothers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars General review, 3 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Hidden Treasures (Audio CD)
I was naturally very excited when I received this CD. The artwork was fabulous and there is some great inside cover information about the songs. It is truly excellent, and I'm quite in love with it. I think that if anyone is uncertain then they should definatly buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hidden Treasures- by the Hidden Brother/, 30 April 2013
By 
J. Flatley "johnthomasmartin" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hidden Treasures (Audio CD)
Dave Davies was in the background in the Kinks more so than his brother Ray.
Understandable maybe as Ray was the songwriter and main vocalist in the Kinks.
However if you listen to this album you'll soon be aware that Dave Davies was talented in his own right.
This 27 track album includes his biggest hits like Death Of A Clown and Susannah's Still Alive but most of the other tracks
show you that Dave Davies WAS talented and a very important member of the Kinks.
And remember that guitar riff on You Really Got Me?....Yes,that was Daves idea and that made that song a massive hit.
I would have liked to see Fortis Green on this album as I think this could have been a big hit as a single release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For die hard fans only?, 23 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hidden Treasures (Audio CD)
Dave has always lived in the shadow of big brother Ray but in my opinion was as good a musician and composer as him. I only got this for Death of a Clown and Suzanna's still Alive really, I've played the album through a few times and I am warming to a few of the tracks but it's mostly b-side stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fine..., 18 Nov. 2011
By 
Bernard J. Ryan "BJR" (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hidden Treasures (Audio CD)
A fine compilation, great to see 'Crying ' available. A previous bootleg I once found had a bad sound quality.

It doesn't include 'Wait Till the Summer Comes Along', which may disappoint a completest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hidden Treasures
Hidden Treasures by Dave Davies (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews