Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ladies and Gentlemen, Please, Don't dance and drive!
I've seen some reviewers in the newspapers be dismissive of Sharon Jones and the Dap-Kings, implying that they are not much more than a Memphis `69 Re-enactment Society - I really don't have much time for those views.

If you are already a SJ&DK fan, read no further, just buy the album.
If you have the first four albums then you must also buy this...
Published on 21 Dec 2011 by deck_chair_dave

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the past
This is a good album with some excellent funky tracks such as 'He Said I Can', 'I'm Not Gonna Cry', 'When I Come Home' and 'What If We All Stopped Paying Taxes' and the rest being solid soul. The James Brown / The J.B.'s influence is clear and the main difference is in the vocals. James Brown achieved the funk sound by making every instrument including the vocals to play...
Published 16 months ago by Just Your Average Reviewer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ladies and Gentlemen, Please, Don't dance and drive!, 21 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul Time (Audio CD)
I've seen some reviewers in the newspapers be dismissive of Sharon Jones and the Dap-Kings, implying that they are not much more than a Memphis `69 Re-enactment Society - I really don't have much time for those views.

If you are already a SJ&DK fan, read no further, just buy the album.
If you have the first four albums then you must also buy this one.
You will not be disappointed.

Stylistically, this album has echoes from each of the four previous Sharon Jones and the Dap-Kings albums. Again, the newspaper reviewers have suggested that the album is just a collection of re-releases and out-takes from previous sessions. My thoughts are that if any of these tracks are "out-takes" then the reason for them being "out-taken" must have been due to lack of space, certainly not due to any lack of quality. This collection of tracks doesn't just stand up on its own, it stands out - as a great album.

Track 5 (I'm not gonna cry") is already my most favourite track of all time.
A steady brass and bass funky intro is broken by a wailing wailing saxophone and then Sharon Jones comes in... "Baby! Baby! Baby! ...... "
FANTASTIC!

And to the newspaper reviewers I would say this...
Soul music is not something that existed only for a brief period at the end of the Sixties. And like any other style of music it has forms and constructs that are recycled, reformed, re-interpreted, new bits added and the end result is something new.
Sharon Jones has a unique and expressive voice, and the Dap-Kings are so tight you could connect them to the National Grid and run a Hadron Collider off the excess.
I was a kid in 1969 - I watched the first man kick dust on the moon and played Motown Chartbusters 3 until it became a frictionless surface.
There was NOTHING then to compare with what Sharon Jones and the Dap-Kings are doing now. Buy the album. This is how soul music sounds in the 21st Century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now this is what Miss Sharon Jones really sounds like live!, 28 Oct 2011
By 
S. A. Coles "batson" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Soul Time (Audio CD)
Huge fan of this lady and her band. I've seen them many times in London, from the tiny Jazz Cafe to the last show at the Barbican. Each live show is pure excitement and yet each of the previous records has slightly disappointed. This one, however, hits the spot - its really representative of the groove she and the band hit early in the stage show and keep going to the end. If you don't know her, think a female James Brown with a touch of Aretha and add to that her own dynamic personality. I'm glad this is called Soul Time Vol. 1. The implication is that there will be a Volume 2!

Must also mention Bosco Mann's production. One day, he'll be recognised for the recording genius he is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superheavy funk from SJDK, 31 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul Time (Audio CD)
Such is the effort that Brooklyn's Sharon Jones & The Dap Kings put into making their studio albums, not to mention the sheer quality, that their catalogue is already as classic as many of their late-sixties to mid-seventies influences. It is something of a wonder that original music, steeped in the tradition of funk and soul, is being made to such a high quality today.

"Soul Time!" is not a new album as such - it's a round-up of bonus tracks, singles, B-sides and tracks pulled from various side-projects. Close watchers of SJDK will find they will already have most of the tracks, in fact only the thumping Motown-like stomper "New Shoes" is previously unissued from what I can tell. Yet it is already one of my favourite releases by them, for had this actually been a planned studio album, and if hypothetically nobody had heard any of these tracks before, jaws would drop. As a showcase of their funkier side, this collection just goes to show how strong the Dap-Kings are - Sharon Jones' vocals are commanding, bursting with charisma and energy; Gabriel Roth handles most of the (timeless) songwriting, oversees the production and leads the band from behind a bass guitar; and the remaining Dap-Kings compress their obvious passion for the music into a considerable groove.

Amongst the highlights here are two, uncompromisingly ferocious funk gems, easily amongst the best modern examples around: "Genuine (pts. 1 & 2) and "I'm Not Gonna Cry" sound as if they could have come from the Godfather himself circa 1970. Neal Sugarman's screaming sax intros to both give way to parping baritone, thick bass, chanking rhythm guitar, super-tight horns and sturdy drums. And yet, it feels like they didn't have to break much of a sweat pulling this out - the musicianship is ordered, clear and just darn funky. For all its clarity, they make sure there is enough (good) dirt in there too - a yelp of approval heard during the sax solo of "Genuine pt. 2' as some filthy guitar muddies the background and Sugarman's sax resembles St. Clair Pinckney's soul screaming. "He Said" is just as ordered and funky, with Jones belting the vocal out wonderfully. "When I Come Home" builds indestructibly on the base of "There Was A Time", a groove that is worked into a frenzy by Jones onstage; Christmas single "Ain't No Chimneys In The Projects" is just as great as its title; "What If We All Stopped Paying Taxes" denounces U.S. foreign policy in the name of everyday people; and Shuggie Otis' "Inspiration Information" proves to be an inspired choice for the only cover.

A brilliant showcase, essential for all funk heads, wether you missed some of these sides previously, or just want them all in one glorious long player with Polydoresque artwork. "Soul Time!" is what funk yesterday, today and tomorrow, is all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Always genuine - 110 pounds of soul excitement!, 3 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul Time! (MP3 Download)
A new release from Jones & The Dap-Kings is always a grand event, and even though
a lot of these tracks have been issued before there is still more than enough hot
butter on it to melt the cheese.
"Soul time" opens with "Genuine" pt. 1 & 2, a couple of JBs-style funk numbers, and
it's the funkier stuff that carry most of the weight here: "Genuine", "I'm not gonna
cry", "He said I can", "Taxes" and "When I come home" are all smoking good tunes.
Sharon Jones goes into a dance craze when she does "When I come home" live,
doing the boogaloo, the funky chicken and the pony, and the best stuff on "Soul time"
comes with a certification to groove your foundation!
The r&b and soul numbers are alright, but with a few exceptions it's Dap Kings by
numbers, and there's not one among them that can touch earlier classics such as
"Stranded in your love", "How long do I have to wait for you", "100 days, 100 nights",
"Be easy", "Let them knock" or "Give it back".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just brill, 27 Jun 2014
By 
This review is from: Soul Time [VINYL] (Vinyl)
What can I say but buy these albums I have managed to get 4 of the 5 albums by Sharon jones after hearing her on BBC radio Scotland great music based on 60s soul r&b music must catch them live when they visit these shores again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than ever!, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul Time [VINYL] (Vinyl)
On Soul Time Sharon Jones more than revives soul music. Powered by The Dap Kings musical rocket fuel, the album puts her right on top of the legendary soul stars of the late 60's and early 70's. Extracting the very essence of that periods typical sound and pouring this into fresh and powerful new compositions. An absolute must-have for old school soul and funk enthusiasts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the past, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul Time (Audio CD)
This is a good album with some excellent funky tracks such as 'He Said I Can', 'I'm Not Gonna Cry', 'When I Come Home' and 'What If We All Stopped Paying Taxes' and the rest being solid soul. The James Brown / The J.B.'s influence is clear and the main difference is in the vocals. James Brown achieved the funk sound by making every instrument including the vocals to play like a drum and with a was more gravelly voice was better suited to the overall sound. Sharon Jones sounds like more of trained voice, I don't know if it is, but for me the music and the vocals don't fully complement each other. Overall this is a good album with not a bad song on it and different to most of the other current releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Soul Time
Soul Time by Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews