Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars20
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 June 2010
Premiered at La Scala, Milan, in 1842, Nabucco is the first opera by Giuseppe Verdi to gain wide public success. No surprise given how beautiful it is. This recording, made in Vienna in 1965, featuring the Vienna Opera Orchestra and Chorus directed by Lamberto Gardelli and (among the others) the voices of Tito Gobbi (Nabucco), Bruno Previdi (Ismaele), Carlo Cava (Zaccaria), Elena Souliotis (Abigaille), Dora Carral (Fenena), is indicated by many reviewers as the best recording of Nabucco currently available. Many informative customer reviews can be found in the US Amazon website under the previous 1986 CD release (white and blue cover with title in big capital letters). I totally agree with such enthusiastic reviews: a powerful and passionate, elegant and involving interpretation of this first Verdi masterpiece. I just want to add my comments to this new 2009 CD release. It is re-mastered by Decca with 96kHz-24bit technology, has a new space saving box-set (the liner notes and libretto are inside the plastic box containing the 2 CDs and not outside as in older Decca opera CD editions), and it is offered at a lower price compared to the previous CD release. The re-mastered sound is simply glorious, as with the best Decca analogue recordings of the 60s, well defined voices, natural and balanced orchestra, powerful and amazing chorus, good dynamics. Sound, package and price, three more reasons to totally recommend this truly great and exciting interpretation of Nabucco.
0Comment|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2011
This was my first introduction to Verdi's first masterpiece. As an opera it has fantastic pace. Add Gobbi to the mix with his supreme interpretation (see "Chi mi toglie il regio scettro") and it is complete. Gobbi understood theatre; he infuses drama in every phrase. Then you have Elena Suliotis - one of my favourite dramatic sopranos - she is outstanding here (if you can get her Macbeth - it'll be worth the search).

Wonderful opera. Wonderful recording. Get it in your basket!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
Verdi's first big operatic hit is a template for much that came afterwards: great orchestrations, wonderful chorus work and superb arias and duets. It is also a suitably dramatic tale of the Hebrews' bondage and everyone on this vintage recording is on top form.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
The classic recording of Nabucco. Superb. Tito Gobbi at his greatest and Souliotis in her brief glory. Should be in every Verdian's collection.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
This is a very good remastering from the original LPs of this wonderful work by Verdi full of wonderful music rousing chorus music the soloists are first rate with Elena Suliotis in the main female role, this was a soprano that the world of opera thought was going to take over from Callas sadley this did not happen due to the very bad behaviour of the young singer. Her performance here shows what good artiest and singer she was with a full silver tone although at times it can be a little up and down, the other main singer on this recording is the late but wonderful Tito Gobbi, The Chorus of The Vienna State Opera are superb tour de force all the way through as are the Vienna State Opera Orchestra, the sound quality throughout is outstanding as one would expect from Decca
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2013
this was my first encounter with "Nabucco" so I am unable to compare this recording with others. However, as a remastered version of a legendary recording made in Vienna in October 1965, it was much better than I had anticipated. There was none of the tininess in the orchestral pieces I associate with older recordings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2016
Wonderful recording and singers and conductor with a fine orchestra are in top form. Excellent remastering by Decca - and generally the recommended CD recording of this opera. Opera recordings are in this quality regrettably belong to a past Era, for whatever strange reasons of fate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
This double CD arrived promptly and was well packed. It is great value for a great recording with an excellent booklet in the CD case. Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2015
He'd been searching for a new copy of this recording for years.
Certainly one of the best recordings of this opera.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2015
I have just purchased these discs and was somewhat dismayed to find the libretto had to be obtained on line instead of being with the discs. I have done what the booklet and the website suggests but there is absolutely no way I can access the libretto. This is a severe fault with the discs and the reason for the one star. I cannot recommend this at all as it falls far short of the standards we expect. I fell Decca are pulling a fast one in producing non-customer friendly software in order to gain access to people's emails for publicity purposes. Hopeless!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£22.43

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)