Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Rosenkavalier
This is the best Rosenkavalier of all. Sena Jurinac is a magnificent Octavian - a wonderful voice, and subtle and noble, as well as characterful, acting. Otto Edelman is a great Ochs - terrific vocally, and with a certain amount of charm is able to seem some kind of aristocrat, despite being such a boor. Anneliese Rothenberger is a beautiful Sophie - in voice and...
Published on 29 April 2009 by MRM

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good performance, problematic zone encoding
This is a classic interpretation, it gives the opera the right atmosphere. The recorded sound does not give the voices the studio "bloom" and Schwarzkopf sounds thin or shrill. If one hears her voice without knowing who is singing, won't be impressed at all. The rest of the cast sound much better. Is it the famous Schwarzkopf mannerism in voice production, like...
Published on 25 Jan. 2011 by Mircea Cantacuzino


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Rosenkavalier, 29 April 2009
By 
MRM (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: DER ROSENKAVALIER (VHS Tape)
This is the best Rosenkavalier of all. Sena Jurinac is a magnificent Octavian - a wonderful voice, and subtle and noble, as well as characterful, acting. Otto Edelman is a great Ochs - terrific vocally, and with a certain amount of charm is able to seem some kind of aristocrat, despite being such a boor. Anneliese Rothenberger is a beautiful Sophie - in voice and acting, and she looks the part too. Erich Kunz is a splendid Faninal - wonderful fussy movements combined with a really beautiful voice. And, for all that people say about her, Schwarzkopf is really just the best Marschallin. It's altogether wrong to think of her as cold: there are layers and layers of characterization here, and each layer is deeply felt. What is mistaken for coldness is instead an acted restraint, which is in itself an expression of depth of feeling. It makes a difference to be able to see her act, of course - a lot goes on in very slight gestures and facial movements. And she is so strong vocally: absolutely never under strain. The whole thing is capped by terrific playing by Karajan and the Vienna Phil, who know how to do Viennese in a way that nobody else can. My immediate comparisons are the two Carlos Kleiber DVDs - the cast is better vocally than on either of those, and the acting is better too, I think - and the old Erich Kleiber and Karajan audio recordings. I think this film is better than the Karajan audio because Sena Jurinac is better than Christa Ludwig, and the Vienna Phil is better at this than the Philharmonia, wonderful orchestra though the Philharmonia is. And I think Schwarzkopf is better than Erich Kleiber's Maria Reining as the Marschallin.

This film has been available on DVD, though it doesn't seem to be readily found now. I have just managed to get the DVD (new) through a marketplace seller on Amazon.de. Get it if you possibly can!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding restoration - Outstanding production., 25 Jan. 2011
By 
Adrian Drew (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ignore the one star review. The politics of regional coding are another matter. This is by far the finest Rosenkavalier available anywhere and the restoration and blu-ray transfer are superb. In so many productions the comic scenes in this opera can drag unmercifully but fortunately Otto Edelmann almost manages to carry them off. Quite an achievement. However we then have the bliss and majesty of the opera's conclusion and I cannot think of anyone who has achieved this so successfully as Schwartzkopf ! Not only is she on her finest form but she is also ravishingly beautiful and displays the consummate poise and fragility necessary for the role. A winner on all counts...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably, the finest Rosenkavalier anywhere on video or audio, 4 Dec. 2010
By 
Harry F. Korbl (Melbourne Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I own 2 other performances of Der Rosenkavalier on Blu-ray (Anne Schwanewilms and Renée Fleming). Although technically superior to this filmed production they both failed to satisfy on most levels.

The Park Circus Studio Blu-ray release has been beautifully restored and I felt as if I was watching the film as I remember it from more than 40 years ago.

Video codec - MPEG-4 AVC, 1080i / 25fps
Aspect ratio - 1.66:1 (black bars on both sides on a 16:9 monitor).
Audio - DTS-HD Master Audio 2.0 / 48kHz / 24-bit
Sub-titles - English only

A truly Historical Performance of the 20th century; Paul Zinner's 1961 film was taken from an actual live performance at the Salzburg Festival.
It has been described as "Probably, the finest Rosenkavalier anywhere on video or audio" and I agree.

Elizabeth Schwarzkopf performs her signature role as the Princess von Werdenberg and is truly astounding in her singing and phrasing. Sena Jurinac is superb as the young Count Octavian Rofrano, she looks and has the mannerisms of a young man (with the Schwanewilms and Fleming versions I felt I was watching a couple of lesbians, not a mature woman and her young male lover). Otto Edelmann is Baron Ochs auf Lerchenau, the Marshallin's distant Cousin is perfect as the boisterous and oafish country gentleman. Anneliese Rothenberger is Sophie Faninal, the daughter of the newly-rich and recently knighted businessman, Herr Faninal (Erich Kunz).

All 5 principals are outstanding. Having the added advantage of being native German speakers, their pronunciation is flawless and easy to follow. For the benefit if non German speakers there are excellent English sub-titles. Herbert von Karajan and the Vienna Philharmonic need no praise, their collaborations of the years have been exemplary.

The costumes and sets are quite lavish and the Blu-ray reveals a whole new level of detail that simply wasn't visible on previous formats. I truly love this restoration and can easily overlookthe occaisional mismatch of the lips and audio (after all, the audio was added later in the recording studio and it was 50 years ago).

It is interesting to note that according to Blu-ray.com the U.S. Blu-ray release from Kultur is supposed to have:
Video codec: VC-1; Video resolution: 1080p; Aspect ratio: 1.66:1; Audio: LPCM 2.0; Subtitles: English only.

Also, Amazon's Product Description was taken from the back cover of the Blu-Ray and anyone who is familiar with this opera knows that Octavian is the Princess' lover not her wooer and Sophie Faninal is not the Princess' sister.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PERFECT RESTORATION, 23 Dec. 2010
By 
J. D. Cheeseright "Kinggama" (East Molesey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A beautifully restored version of this classic production. A fine example of how this sort of thing should be done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic reissued, 3 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an edited and remastered filmed version of a classic Karajan/Schwarzkopf Rosenkavalier all done in a very lavish way. Surprisingly good imagery, some brilliant performances and decent 2:1 sound. Some slight visual and audio blemishes but this is 50 years old! The main issue is the fact that this is not a live performance but a lip-synched film to the recording. Most of the time you don't notice but it is a little off-putting on occasions. Worth remembering too that many of the musicians would have known Strauss: it's a great link to the past. If you love this opera and have Blu-ray then you ought to get this especially at its low price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful transfer to Blu-ray, 14 April 2011
By 
Larry R. Coffman (Reno, NV USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is one of the finest opera-cinema endeavors and is worth purchasing for the beautiful performance of Elisabeth Schwarzkopf alone.

I found the picture and sound to be excellent when considering the 1950s source materials and would recommend this disc to anyone interested in seeing this historical performance. However, be advised that this Blu-ray disc is regionally encoded (B) and will not play on U.S. purchased dvd players unless one purchases an all-region player.

In my opinion, regional encoding of dvds is no longer justified and is just an excuse to reduce competition in the market place. Since the dvd technology is in its last days due to streaming video on demand continuing to develop, I see no reason that the manufacurers not make it easier to buy dvds from other countries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superlative, 12 Jan. 2014
By 
J W Snowball (Auckland 0602 New Zealand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have to own that Elizabeth Schwarzkopf is one of favourite sopranos, if not THE favourite, so this review may well be somewhat biassed. She was also the first major singer I heard in the mid nineteen-fifties in a recital accompanied by Gerald Moore. My wife and I missed an important meeting so that we could attend the single performance of Rosekavalier in the local cimema in the sixties, and came away spellbound. There are some very minor glitches in the transferred sound track here, but the restoration, the colour, the detail are fabulous. Of course if you do not like Richard Strauss, you won't be watching anyway. There are some moments that are musically more tedious than others but when the three ladies join voices in either twos or threes, it is difficult to imagine music and execution more ethereal. Rosenkavalier seems to be the one opera that has escaped the graffitti of modern directors (Walter Legge's phrase not mine) and long may it continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best performances ever., 26 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Der Rosenkavalier [DVD] (DVD)
There aren't any singers better than this - absolutely beautiful.
The only things I didn't like were with the construction of the DVD. It's impossible to navigate to Scenes - it's divided into apparently random and unidentifiable sections - I cannot understand what they were trying to achieve but they've certainly failed! - if I get time I will re-engineer it myself. Also it would have been nice to at least have the option of subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it was a delight to watch and listen to, 25 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Der Rosenkavalier [DVD] (DVD)
Although this restoration of a filmed production from the 1960s did not contain any notes, nor even a cast list, it was a delight to watch and listen to. Otto Edelmann was a wonderful Baron Ochs with just the right amount of pomposity and crudeness to make him a real character. Anneliese Rothenberger was a delightful young Sophie in glorious voice as were Sena Jurinac and of course Elizabeth Schwarzkopf in all her maturity, glorious to watch and to hear. This production despite the missing written detail, eg. cast list, is a must against which all other productions must be judged, hence 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Undiminished after 50 years, 26 Jun. 2014
By 
Chris J. Newman "lao-ke" (China) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Der Rosenkavalier [DVD] (DVD)
This is a stunning production of a magnificent opera that is as delightful today as it was when I first saw it as a teenager in the 1960s. Elisabeth Schwarzkopf is as beautiful as ever and her voice as near to perfection as one could imagine, but she doesn't overshadow the rest of the cast who all put in magnificent performances. Richard Strauss's music and the staging of the opera are both of a grand scale and the filming is as good as any today (though of course the film quality is dated). Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Der Rosenkavalier [DVD]
Der Rosenkavalier [DVD] by Paul Czinner (DVD - 2011)
£13.18
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews