Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 November 2011
It works very well indeed, always connects to WiFi and comes with a good screen and plenty of space on the hard drive. Unlike the other reviewer, I have had no issues with the function keys.
Battery life is good and the laptop looks classy!
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2011
Little difficult to add anything of value here as its a gift to someone else.

Prior to ordering, my earlier Notebook research in this price range, kept coming back to this model.
So anyone undertaking similar research is likely to find the same positive comments across the tinter-web.

Unit arrived well packaged and on inspection appeared clean and undamaged, with all ancillary items also present.
Cosmetically, I thought the white plastic casing felt *cheap* if you know what i mean - so many handheld devices are made with a soft-touch feel nowadays, so was quite surprised ASUS didn't follow the trend - Cost i guess!

I did however upgrade the RAM from 1MB to 2 MB which was done in less than 2 minutes, very simple and at around £10, well worth the effort according to the reviews.

Had the unit felt less *cheap*, I would have been inclined to mark 5 Stars.
22 comments|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2012
I'v owned this for about 4 months now and am still very impressed by it.
I mainly use it for taking to college and work 6 days a week so it get a little knocked around. the one issue i have had is the keyboard decided to be a little temperamental after about 3 month (probably due to the fact i travel with it so much. as i work in a computer repairs shop i took of the keyboard and reconnected it (about 2 mins with a screwdriver) and it was fine. other than this the build quality is solid. as far as the power if it goes its good for a netbook. it will happily play back hd video, and does what you would expect well (work processing, web browsing and playing music). its probably one of the most powerful net books i'v used.

+ Very long battery life
+ Clear screen
+ Fast boot time
- Very small charger

- Might find issues build up if you chuck it around a bit (i give it a rough time)
- Windows 7 starter is a little disappointing (you cant change the wallpaper and other petty little things)
- Microphone and headphones go in the same socket (there is also a mic built into the screen so not a big deal)

Perfect if your looking for a small powerful netbook.

Its runs android, ubuntu and puppy linux nicely too.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2012
I have purchased this item and it arrived within the time expected. I had also purchased 2G of memory, which took about 5 minutes to install. It's nifty and adequate for the daily use of Office, Internet and basic photo processing. Excellent purchase! For the Asus team: good work, guys!
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2012
Bought one of these a couple of weeks ago and am very impressed with the Dual Core Atom processor. Agree with others why not supply with 2GB on board.

Here is a tip for all those who want to change the wall paper. Go to the Hewlett Packard Website and download stardock:-

[...]

This program works perfectly and adds the missing features that Windows starter doesn't have you can choose a picture from your photos for background and it has a wonderfull screensaver.

Others have commented on the matt screen which I like but black colours are not as black as with a high contrast glossy screen. Otherwise a very impressive product for the £159 I paid at PC world.
22 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2012
The netbook itself is decent - it's compact and easy to carry around when working on the move, and the battery lasts a good while. The problem is the charger. Mine died within 3 months, which is pretty rubbish. Obviously, a long battery is pretty much useless if you can't then charge it back up.

Having started to look at forums about chargers for this model, I discovered that a lot of other people have had the same problem - and if you look at reviews about replacement chargers on Amazon, people mention that these also don't last much longer than about 6 months. I'm going to get two new ones to be on the safe side, but as a first-time buyer of Asus, I will not be buying this brand again!! What's the point of a relatively cheap computer if you keep having to buy new parts?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2012
Product was exactly as described and is giving very satisfactory performance having replaced a 10 year old Toshiba laptop. Increasing RAM memory was simple but why oh why should one have to do it? The additional cost is so small that it could be included in the price without detriment to sales and would avoid hundreds of unwanted 1gb memory cards potentially polluting the environment.
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2012
great small netbook. nice easy use keyboard. works fast. very clear screen. best of all its is light and easy to take away.... the only downside is there is no CD DVD drive however these days with teh USB pen drives that is not a big issue.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2011
Nice little piece of kit.
320GB HDD, matt screen (display), noise levels are bordering on the inaudible.
Case has a solid feel; get it in white!
And ASUS answer their e_mails.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2012
It's hard to be unbiased by the other hardware we use in the household. Being a software developers our primary "home" machine is Lenovo workstation with two quad-core Xeons, tons of ram, SAS and SSD. My daily commute and uni machine is Lenovo Thinkpad X-tablet with 8 gigs of ram, i7 and SSD. I of course, wouldn't expect much from under 1k laptop (yet alone under 300 quid one), but assuming tech progress has moved forward over past few years, (sigh) more importantly our 9 months old Princess started fancying bashing around my multi-Xeon beasty, watching "twinkle, twinkle" on trading Eizo panels, crawling all over it, pulling bright cables out, we decided to take a plunge for the sake of hardware preservation.
So a suitably coloured Eee arrived yesterday. Though the build quality and the keyboard was fairly good, there was no muscle flexing. `Feeble flopping in the wind' comes to mind. In fact Windows 7 user experience was so terrible it is barely usable. 1 gig of ram is maxed up by the time it loads up. Even slicing the mandatory 2 gig in made little difference. Browsing is slow. Youtube videos stutter. 9 months old seems to like it but that's about it. The bottom line if you intend Eee to pass as attention anchorage during nappy changing, or as a bare bone platform for "twinkle, twinkle" - go for it. If you plan to do anything a little more assuming - bump up the spec and look elsewhere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)