Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tumbleweed Tales and Other Songs
It works, it really does! This trio, comprising, husband and wife team
Ally McErlaine (guitarist with Texas) and Shelly Poole (late of Alisha's
Attic), together with Charity Hair (not so much a wig destined for Oxfam
as a former member of The Alice Band), make a very beautiful sound. This
has everything and more to do with the way in which Ms Poole's...
Published on 6 Nov 2011 by The Wolf

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I read good reviews and thought it should be right up my street. The harmonies are good but overall it is a bit "too Twee" and bland. Promised more than it delivered.
Published 24 months ago by purse


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tumbleweed Tales and Other Songs, 6 Nov 2011
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Red Sky July (Audio CD)
It works, it really does! This trio, comprising, husband and wife team
Ally McErlaine (guitarist with Texas) and Shelly Poole (late of Alisha's
Attic), together with Charity Hair (not so much a wig destined for Oxfam
as a former member of The Alice Band), make a very beautiful sound. This
has everything and more to do with the way in which Ms Poole's and Ms Hair's
voices fuse together in blissful close harmony. They are very near in tone
and timbre and although they have clearly worked hard to get their larynges
lined-up what comes out of their mouths sounds deliciously natural and easy.

The band's music has its roots firmly based in country soil but there is a
refreshing absence of many of the genre's usual clanking cliches in evidence.
Even when it seems as though they're getting ready for a hoedown, as they
do on the perky 'Evening Song', the number turns an unexpected corner and
pulls the spirit of Buddy Holly into play with highly enjoyable results.
The desert tumbleweed slide guitar of 'Morning Song', too, twists convention
into a very pretty new shape to frame the heart-warming melody and harmonies.
'The Gold Hour' opens up like a dream full of a summer day's last rays of
sunshine; warm air, long shadows and cornfields swaying in a gentle breeze.
The softly shuffling 'Tables Turn' is less than two minutes long but still
makes its mark with its beautifully crafted tune. 'White Feather' smacks of
cowboy stuff but actually turns out to be one of the album's most graceful
compositions (they sing of wolves crying at the door to which I can only
give my wholehearted seal of approval!) Final track 'The Happiest Girl In The
Whole USA' allows Mr McErlaine a little look in on vocals too (why should girls
have ALL the fun!) and brings the album to a charmingly downbeat conclusion.

Red Sky July's fine debut is a welcome visitor on this cold, damp November day.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album., 2 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Sky July (MP3 Download)
A wonderful album of country tinged songs with high and lonesome harmonies and rootsy guitar work. A must for fans of Gram and Emmylou.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant without being exceptional, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Sky July (Audio CD)
I saw Red Sky July on a recent UK tour and thought their music was melodic with good harmonies and accomplished acoustic backing - easy on the ear without being exceptional and that is a fair summary of this CD. There are no standout tracks and not a lot of variation in tone, however there is nothing that grates and it makes relaxing background music.

The one irritation is the wretched CD cover which is cheap cardboard in the style of an old vinyl album cover rather than the usual plastic cover. It is difficult to extract the CD, it is not really practical and if anyone from the record company reads this - please provide a plastic cover next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Red sky July, 6 Jun 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Sky July (Audio CD)
The CD arrived on time and in excellent condition. This is an excellent Cd and I would recommend it to country and western music fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Red Sky July, 23 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Sky July (Audio CD)
Red Sky July have departed from their commercial successes as individuals & now doing just what they wanna do. ie... roots music & they succeed on every level.
Nice work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little different, 22 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Sky July (MP3 Download)
I thought I would try this after hearing snippets on the tv. Worth the couple of pounds nice melodic piece of work very relaxing on a busy afternoon in the office.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Bluegrass, 19 April 2012
By 
J. Griffiths "j-mon" (manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Sky July (Audio CD)
I got this album last Autumn and i still havent tired of the folkey blend of country & blues.

Beautiful songs and the tightest harmonies make this an album to treasure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Corker of a CD, 9 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Sky July (Audio CD)
Bought this after hearing lovin' you is Easy on radio 2 and am I glad I did. There's not a bad track on the whole CD.

I'm not normally a country fan, but this is not your usual fare. It's more like a cross between country, folk and some blues thrown in.

The voices and harmony are really a delight to listin to.

One of my favorite CDs to date
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never heard of them before, a real find, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Sky July (Audio CD)
Saw them in UK recently backing Beth Neilsen Chapman, They covered most of the tracks on this CD which I play without skipping tracks, wonderful harmony. Will certainly buy their next CD as soon as it comes out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heavenly, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Sky July (Audio CD)
Absolutely love the album. First heard them with Beth Neilson Chapman, the harmonies are fantastic, they sing as one voice. Really heavenly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Red Sky July
Red Sky July by Red Sky July (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews