Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to get to grips with the phone hacking scandal!
Phone Hacking: How the Guardian broke the story (Guardian Shorts)
Unless you have been a long term reader of the Guardian it is possible that the early stages of this scandal may have passed you by - I certainly missed them, or to be more accurate, I was unaware of just how serious the intrusions of the News International journalists actually were. It took the...
Published on 8 Aug 2011 by R. F. Pyke

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars bit dry
But it's all there from what I can tell if us anyway. Nothing more to say on this really. Lo
Published 17 days ago by J H Cox


Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to get to grips with the phone hacking scandal!, 8 Aug 2011
By 
R. F. Pyke (Kidlington, Oxfordshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Phone Hacking: How the Guardian broke the story (Guardian Shorts) (Kindle Edition)
Phone Hacking: How the Guardian broke the story (Guardian Shorts)
Unless you have been a long term reader of the Guardian it is possible that the early stages of this scandal may have passed you by - I certainly missed them, or to be more accurate, I was unaware of just how serious the intrusions of the News International journalists actually were. It took the revelations concerning Milly Dowler's phone to change that for me and, I imagine, for many like me. That made me really sit up and take notice. It also made me want to sort out in my own mind exactly how the whole story had developed since it was first reported by the Guardian in 2007. This book reprints the Guardian articles as they appeared in the newspaper with no "hindsight" editorial changes as far as I can tell. Each section begins with a summary of the events reported upon and these summaries are an illuminating read in their own right. The articles run from January 2007 to July 2011 and the book finishes with a reprint of Guardian editor Alan Rusbridger's article "How we broke the Murdoch scandal" which appeared in the 17th July 2011 issue of Newsweek. Having read this volume I now feel that I have a better grip on the events that have unfolded so far and feel better equipped to follow those to come, and there will certainly will be more to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How it all kicked off...., 1 Mar 2012
By 
Aine (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Phone Hacking: How the Guardian broke the story (Guardian Shorts) (Kindle Edition)
This was published over 6 months ago, so it is pretty out of date now - but it demonstrates the riveting evolution of this scandal, and how the UK government had to set up a full public enquiry in response. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars bit dry, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Phone Hacking: How the Guardian broke the story (Guardian Shorts) (Kindle Edition)
But it's all there from what I can tell if us anyway. Nothing more to say on this really. Lo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Guardian Revelation., 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Phone Hacking: How the Guardian broke the story (Guardian Shorts) (Kindle Edition)
Once again the Guardian delivers the real facts and they attracted the insults,denials and other forms of aggression from the people who are now standing trial for the exact wrong doings that they accused the Guardian of inventing.Well done THE GUARDIAN and keep up the standard others follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Phone hacking: how the guardian broke the story, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Phone Hacking: How the Guardian broke the story (Guardian Shorts) (Kindle Edition)
Essentially all the main published guardian newspaper reports on hacking with an introduction and time timelines. Useful and informative story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good short read, 13 Jun 2012
This review is from: Phone Hacking: How the Guardian broke the story (Guardian Shorts) (Kindle Edition)
A very decent short read - a walk through how the story grew. There's a bit of an air of smugness about it, but I guess they earned the right to be pleased with themselves: it's fascinating to see how the story built and built into something so huge. Needs updating though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 53 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish, 14 Feb 2012
This review is from: Phone Hacking: How the Guardian broke the story (Guardian Shorts) (Kindle Edition)
Having read part of this all I can say is that it is rubbish, unlike the rest of the guardians offerings which to be honest are pure rubbish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews