Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Sick fun
A sick little Trilogy of terror that is without a doubt aimed at Adults only.The hitler segment stands out for Me,and you will,as you are watching it think Oh My God! where are the subtitles? what are these people saying? But it is when you realize how easy the story is to follow,along with what these people are actually saying that you suddenly get the joke.
Published 7 months ago by Mrs. D. Moncrieff

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Gay werewolves, sperm eating monster, Anne Frankenstein and zombies. You'll love it but not for the easily offended.
Chillerama is a homage to the B movie drive in crowd of the 50s and 60s. Directed by 4 directors, Adam Green, Joe Lynch, Adam Rifkin and Tom Sullivan. The movie plays out in the classic anthology style where local teenagers attend the last night of a drive in theatre and then view the short movies as we do.

First up is WADZILLA- In one word this is outrageous...
Published 2 months ago by Colonel Decker


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Gay werewolves, sperm eating monster, Anne Frankenstein and zombies. You'll love it but not for the easily offended., 10 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Chillerama [DVD] [2011] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Chillerama is a homage to the B movie drive in crowd of the 50s and 60s. Directed by 4 directors, Adam Green, Joe Lynch, Adam Rifkin and Tom Sullivan. The movie plays out in the classic anthology style where local teenagers attend the last night of a drive in theatre and then view the short movies as we do.

First up is WADZILLA- In one word this is outrageous! A man with a very low sperm count takes a experimential pill and before long his sperm escapes and starts to live! It soon gets bigger and bigger chomping on everything in its reach before it attempts to take over Manhattan. Wadzilla works because it spoofs perfectly sci fi movies from the 50s. However be warned this segment is pretty horrific, but of course it's all played for laughs. Those iffy effects you notice are actually done on purpose.

Next up is the delightfully named I WAS A TEENAGE WEARBEAR. This segment has huge gay overtones, and seems to miss its specific male target here. Some may be put off by the gay set up. However the story is hilarious and the change of man to werewolf is of course a metaphor for being gay and coming out of the closet. There are quite a few songs in this one, the best being the laugh out loud, 'Don't Look Away'. This segment was directed by Tom Sullivan who is gay in real life and plays the lead biker.

Adam Green directs THE DIARY OF ANNE FRANKENSTEIN- and first glance you would be forgiven for being a little miffed at the title- but Green who is Jewish has made the story so it throws fun at Adolf Hitler and mocks him completely. This is probably the best segment on Chillerama. Filmed in black and white and spoken in very bad but intentionally bad German- we get English subtitiles. The movie is a throwback to the classic Universal Frankenstein and a World War 2 mock up. Simply hilarious stuff- Kane Hodder plays the monster.

In between our final story we get another small bonus- a movie about pooing- if the other segments hadn't offended you, this will have the mainstream crowd running for cover. And the final story is called Zom b movie. This concentrates on the traditional wraparound story- so the kids actually watching the drive in are now involved in the movie where a blue goo is turning everyone into zombies. At best it's just plain fun, but nothing much else.

Chillerama clearly isn't for everyone, it's disgusting at times and really outrageous. There does seem to be an ongoing theme of penis' throughout the movie. And it's a real odd one to take in, every segment is very different in nature to the last. It's best viewed with a strong stomach but also simply as a spoof/homage to the drive in era. It could have been done better, and probably could have been more genuine, but Chillerama is still a hoot. In the end it's nuts, which indeed is what many drive in movies of yesteryear were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Chillerama" on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues With The 'US' Disc..., 20 Mar. 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
If you want to upgrade your DVD of the silly schlock horror of the enjoyable "Chillerama" to BLU RAY and you live in the UK - there's two options...

The American BLU RAY on Image Entertainment is REGION A LOCKED - so it won't play on our machines unless they're chipped to be 'all regions' (which few are).

Go for the UK (Region B) issue instead - it's reasonably cheap too...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'd like more butter please...., 15 Jan. 2014
It's the closing night at the last drive-in theatre in America and Cecil B. Kaufman has planned the ultimate marathon of lost film prints to unleash upon his faithful cinephile patrons.

Films so rare that they have never been exhibited publicly on American soil until this very night.

With titles like Wadzilla, I Was A Teenage Werebear, The Diary of Anne Frankenstein.

Now here's a really interesting idea, an anthology of stories that celebrate all things drive in, exploitation, and B-movie wonderment, interspersed with a little zombie movie.

And it works really well, except for the awful I Was a Teenage Werebear, which is a horrid hybrid of Once More With Feeling and The Lost Boys.

If this were the last story, I would have switched off and missed the delicious finale, its really that bad.

The other two stories are a lot of fun, particularly The Diary of Anne Frankenstein, which is frankly hilarious with its very particular way of translation, and some good dancing by Hodder.

Wadzilla is a good homage to the old Godzilla movies of the fifties, but the main story about the zombie takeover, is brilliant, and its even more fun if your a massive film buff.

The final scene involving the owner spouting lines from movies every time he bags a zombie is priceless.

So all in all its really good fun, its just the middle story is painfully bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sick fun, 15 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chillerama (DVD) (DVD)
A sick little Trilogy of terror that is without a doubt aimed at Adults only.The hitler segment stands out for Me,and you will,as you are watching it think Oh My God! where are the subtitles? what are these people saying? But it is when you realize how easy the story is to follow,along with what these people are actually saying that you suddenly get the joke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Unfunny, dumb, crude and worst of all ... BORING, 2 April 2014
This review is from: Chillerama [DVD] [2011] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I watched this because portions of it are written/directed by the guy behind the HATCHET films, theres even a few familiar faces from that franchise in this to spot but sadly its a very dissapointing movie. The basic premise is a sort of zombie outbreak during a drive in movie which creates a nice backdrop for a few different stories to be told up on the screen with the zombie story bookending them. I wont go into detail regarding each story suffice to say it seems to be a case of a bunch of immature young directors trying to outgross and outshock each other but ultimately creating nothing particularly entertaining unless your in your early teens, toilet humour of the lowest kind and not very well done. A wasted opportunity for all involved who will probably look back on it with regrets and embarassment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cheesy B-movie homage, 11 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chillerama [DVD] [2011] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I love horror and comedy, but nearly always find, from the huge amount of low budget horror I have seen, that putting them together very rarely works. Well I see Chillerama as up their with my favourites, such as Trailer Park Of Terror.
The 4 (sort of 5, if you include Deathication) stories in the film are all very different in style and direction, but they are all cheesy, gross, outrageous and hilarious. Some people will be put off by the amount of innuendo and links to genitalia in each story, but it is all done without being too graphic or borderline porn. Also the horror and gore is way more cartoon style than gory horror so you are laughing rather than being scared throughout the film.
This film should be loved by anyone who loves Troma films and do not mind their special effects being blatantly fake with blood so bright it almost glows (or in some cases is blue!). I found Chillerama to be a real find and goes a small way to make up for the hours and hours I have lost watching low budget films done badly.
Also it has Ray Wise (Laura Palmer's dad and the devil in Reaper) in it so it had to be good!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fab great film, 16 Aug. 2014
By 
This review is from: Chillerama [DVD] [2011] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Cant please everyone and u must have watched a different make of the film.this film is well put together and it has it all that makes one great film.its crude rude but great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars this sex horror spoof will offend some for sure., 2 July 2012
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This one is funny; but it's not really a horror spoof, instead it's a sex spoof/horror spoof or something! It's got great rock music in it though (background tunes). The more homophobic you are though the less you will enjoy this smutty flick. It has tons of gay themes in it and the werebears are s and m gay leather types who shove batts up people. (that's just one story) The first story concerns a giant sperm and lots of masterbating which is sure to offend people. The Hitler building a golem story is obscenely done in bad taste but funny in spite of itself. The sex raping zombies storyline is also beserk and on this unrated version you see tons of private parts exploding. It's perverse and twisted and not for people under 17 by any means. This is a take on old cheesy movies of the drive in era; but they never had this kind of sex and such in them to this degree. It's a aquired taste for sure; with tons of gay slanted humour in it. The picture looks great on blu ray and the extras are decent. This is a movie that I would be careful showing others though!. It's very outlandish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews