Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Legends of Shannara: The Measure of the Magic
I've been a long time fan of Terry Brooks ever since my Uncle introduced his books to me in 1987 and although not my favourite 'mini series' in the Shannara world I did really enjoy this book and it's predecessor Bearers of the Black Staff. I absolutely loved the Word and the Void initial trilogy and was made up when the Genesis of Shannara trilogy was released as few...
Published on 8 Nov 2011 by S. Wilson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars average
i am a huge fan of Terry Brooks and have every book he has written-and think the elfstones/wishsong/sword of shannara are up there with the best ever written-however with this book and its predecessor (black staff)i am disappointed it just feels like he has rehashed a few of his books and put them into these-example=the end of this demon was very similar to Findo gasks...
Published 23 months ago by gemmell


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Legends of Shannara: The Measure of the Magic, 8 Nov 2011
By 
S. Wilson (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've been a long time fan of Terry Brooks ever since my Uncle introduced his books to me in 1987 and although not my favourite 'mini series' in the Shannara world I did really enjoy this book and it's predecessor Bearers of the Black Staff. I absolutely loved the Word and the Void initial trilogy and was made up when the Genesis of Shannara trilogy was released as few years ago which tied the Shannara world with the Word's servants.

***Warning beginning of the book possible spoilers***
This book continues on from the Bearers of the Black Staff and picks up with Prue Liss trying to escape from the Trolls after Deladion Inch sacrificed himself to save her. There's a new 'player' in the book with a seemingly harmful rag-picker making an appearance which actually is a Demon in disguise. The Demon has sensed the magic from the Black Staff since the valleys protective walls have fallen and is determined to own that magic as his own as he had long thought he had rid the world of the bearers and their black staffs from him systematically hunting them down since the apocalypse. The Demon has also sensed some sort of magic from Prue Liss and is now quickly on her heels. Will Prue escape the Trolls and the Demon?
Panterra Qu has now taken up the black staff following Sider's death and has to make the decision between warning the people of Glensk Wood that the defences at Declan Reach have fallen or going after Prue Liss. He finally makes the decision to warn the people first and then continue on to save Prue not knowing that she has actually already escaped the Trolls camp with Deladion's help.
Phryne Amarantyne is locked up following her Father's murder and accused of being the perpetrator by her wicked Step-Mother Isoeld and the First Minister Teonette. She has not been allowed to contact the outside world to get a message to her Grandmother or to her cousins the Orullian's and is awaiting trial for her Father's murder. With no seeming escape or way of proving her innocence all hope seems lost.

This book definitely picks up pace from the first with the threat of the Troll invasion and now the Demon on the people of the valley. I was glued to the book throughout and it's yet another brilliant book from Terry Brooks. If you liked the Word and the Void and Genesis of Shannara series then I think you will enjoy this series too however I do agree with some of the other reviews that this should probably have been a trilogy and for that reason only I've knocked off a star.

Terry Brooks continues to be my longest standing favourite author and I'm looking forward to his new trilogy Legacy of Shannara which according to his website starts next year with the first book The Wards Of Faerie released in August 2012. For once the other two books in the series will be released within a year (March 2013 & August 2013) so I won't have to wait a year in between each book for once!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars average, 9 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i am a huge fan of Terry Brooks and have every book he has written-and think the elfstones/wishsong/sword of shannara are up there with the best ever written-however with this book and its predecessor (black staff)i am disappointed it just feels like he has rehashed a few of his books and put them into these-example=the end of this demon was very similar to Findo gasks demise etc overall an average effort-must do better with next books or he will lose me as a reader
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another brilliant read from Terry Brooks full of twists and turns. Can't put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The magic continues, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fabulous - Terry Brooks the genius of fantasy fiction - I have read nearly all his books - hope he keeps coming up with more - just love them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars terry brooks series of books, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found my first book in a pub i now have 3 sets and
starting my 4 hope to read all terry brooks books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shannara, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Measure of the Magic: Legends of Shannara: Book Two (Kindle Edition)
Downloaded this series as I have the books, which I am replacing by putting them on to the Kindle, lack of storage, but really enjoyed rereading them again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My thoughts, 15 Mar 2014
By 
Edward G. Swain "bootneck782" (northampton england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Measure of the Magic: Legends of Shannara: Book Two (Kindle Edition)
Any of the Terry Brooks "Shannara"
series are gripping from start to finish and it's not to important in which order they are read. Superb Author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Measure of the Magic: Legends of Shannara: Book Two (Kindle Edition)
Another awesome story by TB!!! An amazing author have loved his books since I first found one many years ago
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great series from Terry Brooks, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great series from Terry Brooks. However, you do need to read the Shannara series from the beginning as this story is set at a much later time and refers back a lot to previous books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 12 Jan 2014
By 
Coleve (Angus,, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As with all this series he keeps changing characters and the story line is compelling keep them coming and I will keep on buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews