Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Straight forward TV - easy to trick it into playing USB movies
The quality of the screen is really good. Sound is ok too. The model is fairly basic with just 2 HDMI sockets, a SCART and a USB (music/pictures only). However, by entering the service menu (do a web search for LE40D503 firmware) you can trick it into letting you play video too - however, you may need to use a universal remote to get it to play and pause the video as...
Published on 23 Aug 2012 by George W

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor
Poor sound had to send it back,Samsung help line poor and Amazon preferred courier didn't collect on the day, would never buy a large item like this again.
Published on 6 Dec 2012 by Anthony Horsenail


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Straight forward TV - easy to trick it into playing USB movies, 23 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung LE40D503 40-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p LCD TV with Freeview (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
The quality of the screen is really good. Sound is ok too. The model is fairly basic with just 2 HDMI sockets, a SCART and a USB (music/pictures only). However, by entering the service menu (do a web search for LE40D503 firmware) you can trick it into letting you play video too - however, you may need to use a universal remote to get it to play and pause the video as there are no such buttons on the remote. Nice free upgrade. Sadly it has NO ethernet port so you cannot trick it into access the internet. And also just to clarify, it does not have a freeview HD tuner. You'll need a HUMAX HDR FOX-T2 for that.

Really good bit of kit for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value but with little flaws, 1 Jan 2012
By 
Michael Gahan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Samsung LE40D503 40-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p LCD TV with Freeview (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
I bought this after having a 26". At the same time I upgraded to a HD service with a certain TV provider so I received a DOUBLE BOOST. Perhaps this made it very impressive, but it seems a lot of tele for the money. One issue is that the stand does not seem big enough for the TV and it appears a bit wobbly; perhaps this is my perception but other reviewers (elsewhere) have made the same comments, so it might be someting to think about if you have unruly kids running about. Of course this would not be a problem if you had it wall mounted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Samsung, 22 Jun 2012
By 
M. Cowell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung LE40D503 40-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p LCD TV with Freeview (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Didn't realise how poor the picture was on my 32" LCD until I purchased this. Set up was simple and the picture quality etc. for the price is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great purchase, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung LE40D503 40-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p LCD TV with Freeview (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
for the money (319.95 inc/postage) this was a great purchase, easy set up, great picture, average sound as you get on these flat screen t.v. these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good !, 11 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung LE40D503 40-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p LCD TV with Freeview (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
An excellent picture for the price. The sound is very good, when watching a movie I can bearly turn it up over just 10 and I think it goes to 50. Nice menu easy to use and I love the alarm setting that lets you set channel and volume to come on in the morning to eeze you into the day. The only very minor thing for me is that it only has one skart lead input were as my old tv had two, but it does have three hdmi inputs so that I guess is the more modern thing these days. The best thing I have bought for a while anyway and can't belive it was only £284 !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 8 Jan 2012
This review is from: Samsung LE40D503 40-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p LCD TV with Freeview (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Excellent quality in both picture and sound, great value for money very please with the product and would recommend it. Very easy to set up, looks very stylish with the tv stand we choose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pretty good TV, 11 Jun 2012
This review is from: Samsung LE40D503 40-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p LCD TV with Freeview (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Excellent telly, available at decent prices because LED TV's are replacing the old-style LCD. Picture is excellent, compared to my 7 year old Toshiba LCD. Water doesn't appear to pixellate like it did on the old flat screens.Sound pretty good as well.

Connectivity is the let-down. 2 HDMI, 1 Scart, USB and RF in. That's yer lot. As I don't (yet) have any devices that use HDMI, I've had to use a SCART splitter, and the WII is connected throught the SCART as well. When I get round to replacing the old Sky+ box and DVD with HD-versions of both, won't be such an issue, but it definitely, definitely needs a Video input.

My fault, should read the spec. Still a good telly though, and I'd recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for the price, 10 Jan 2014
By 
S. Miller "stitch" (kent uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung LE40D503 40-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p LCD TV with Freeview (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Purchased this mainly for the price but this TV is flawed. The picture is really good for the price however the sound can be quite tinny and vibrates a certain frequencies. The outputs on the rear of the TV are very very limited with only to HDMI outputs and 1 scart output and that's it. This really limits any chance of improving the sound quality through home cinema or sound bars. Good for the money but flawed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bargain, 23 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung LE40D503 40-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p LCD TV with Freeview (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Brilliant purchase, as got it so cheap cos box had a slight dent in it! Would definitely buy a damaged package product again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung LE40D503 40-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p LCD TV with Freeview (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Poor sound had to send it back,Samsung help line poor and Amazon preferred courier didn't collect on the day, would never buy a large item like this again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews