Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revival by name, revival by nature
The long-awaited third studio album by The Answer is a return to form after a somewhat disappointing (for me at least) second album. The production values are excellent, with rich and vibrant sounds and plenty of bass. The songs themselves are mostly excellent and I can quite easily listen to the whole album from start to finish without skipping a track - there are...
Published on 6 Oct 2011 by The Fault

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Direction
Firstly I want to start by mentioning that I am a fan of this band. I thought the first album crackled, the second album was mindblowing, but the third? It has always been said that the second album is difficult because the band has to write in a shorter space of time. The Answer's third album is, in my view, a clear departure from the direction of the first two. It...
Published on 18 Oct 2011 by Kickstarter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revival by name, revival by nature, 6 Oct 2011
By 
The Fault - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Revival (Audio CD)
The long-awaited third studio album by The Answer is a return to form after a somewhat disappointing (for me at least) second album. The production values are excellent, with rich and vibrant sounds and plenty of bass. The songs themselves are mostly excellent and I can quite easily listen to the whole album from start to finish without skipping a track - there are excellent riffs, fantastic solos and many a catchy chorus.

The limited edition version also contains an 11 track bonus CD which contains a few songs not found on the album's primary disc, some acoustic versions of album songs and some demos (which still sound quite polished). Unsurprisingly, the bonus CD isn't as strong as the first disc but it is still very good indeed.

All in all this is an excellent package - there really isn't a bad song on here and with 2 discs totalling 23 tracks it represents excellent value. My personal favourites are 'Waste You're Tears' and the more ballad-esque 'Can't Remember, Can't Forget'. This album could arguably be the best album by the band to date and is certainly on par with the debut. A very accomplished effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 24 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revival (Audio CD)
saw the band live and just had to buy the album,if you like great old fashioned rock music these fellas
can get you off.ten outta ten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best album I've heard in years, 19 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revival (Audio CD)
Being an avid Led Zep and AC/DC fan I listen to Planet Rock a lot. Now and again, however, a song would come on that would have me craning to hear the name of the band; The Answer. I then went on line and bought up a couple of their albums and have been blown away by the quality of the music they play. Some may call it derivative which may be a fair comment if your music tastes are boy bands and rap. Whilst there is no doubt that they draw their influences from bands like Led Zep, AC/DC and even Thin Lizzie (not suprising as they are Irish), the depth of harmony and the complexity of the majority of their songs on Revival are quite awesome and rival these bands. I cant recommend this album enough and have not been so impressed since I got blown away by the "Best of the Foo fighters".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant rock album., 4 Jan 2012
By 
Gary Cruden (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Revival (Audio CD)
This is by far The Answer's best work to date. Nowhere Freeway is superb and the rest of the tracks stack up well too.

The bonus disc isn't as good as the actual album but Piece by Piece is an excellent track that should have been squeezed onto disc one.

By far The Answer's best album to date and one that's likely to lead to a larger fan base and bigger gigs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Answer rock some more, 12 Nov 2011
By 
R. L. Davies (somerset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revival (Audio CD)
A brilliant new album. A step along the road for these guy's. If you got the others get this. if you have this, you will get the others :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Answer, 11 Nov 2011
This review is from: Revival (Audio CD)
The Answer delivery another quality rocking album. Top live band who must be seen - maturity well beyond their years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thedoc, 2 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: Revival (Audio CD)
Superb album esp side one, great rock and roll. Well worth waiting for. Nephew saw them live in Galway recently said they were brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent blues rock, 5 Oct 2011
By 
CRB "CRB" (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revival (Audio CD)
Excellent blues rock. Not 4 stars as not particularly an original sounding band, but strong rockers and power ballads throughout. Good 2nd cd of acoustic numbers etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quality, 16 Feb 2012
By 
J. Guise (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Revival (Audio CD)
this band is producing some of the best rock known to man at the momment. if you like your rock riffy, up lifting with great chori then this is for you. great live and check out the other albums as well havent been dissapointed yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Rock!, 20 Oct 2011
This review is from: Revival (Audio CD)
The Answer set a very high benchmark with their debut, comparisons with Zeppelin and Free can only raise expectations so subsequent albums are bound to be subject to close scrutiny. I've followed this band since the 'Keep Believin' ep and while I will always hold their debut album 'Rise' as an all time classic, 'Revival' is to date their most consistent and cohesive album. If you haven't seen them live then I would recommend you make the effort as the albums don't quite do them justice. Pop music is manufactured before people's eyes on T.V. these days and people still buy it,so albums like this get 5 stars from me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Revival
Revival by The Answer (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews