Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spirit level
Tried three different models on my Sony Alpha 550 and this was/is the only one that works. It is also easy to see once you are confident of which way to attach to your camera
Published on 8 Jan 2012 by Ladlar

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Inaccurate but usable
From the back of the box: "Small, lightweight, accurate, ..." err, no. It's not accurate. Not even close.

But it looks consistent, and is not out so far as to be unusable. You just have to use some cellotape, or some other mark, for the actual midpoint.

I'd expected better from Polaroid though. There are probably cheaper alternatives that are...
Published 10 days ago by owen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spirit level, 8 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Tried three different models on my Sony Alpha 550 and this was/is the only one that works. It is also easy to see once you are confident of which way to attach to your camera
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nifty little thing, 10 July 2013
By 
sketch (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polaroid Hot Shoe Two Axis Double Bubble Spirit Level For Canon & Nikon Digital and Film Cameras (Camera)
Quick hands-on review, having just unpackaged the item and played around with it for a bit: does the job nicely.

Accurate, having tested it against the pocket spirit level I've been using up until now. Snug, secure fit in the hotshoe - will probably leave it attached more or less permanently when out in the field doing landscape/pano work, without having to worry that it'll just slide off [my camera: Fuji S9600, so it'll fit any standard hotshoe, btw]. Plastic is crystal clear, making it easy to read.

Like other reviewers, I wanted something simple, compact, and with the reassurance of reliability that should come with a brand name and the couple of extra quid that this model costs, compared to other 'generic' levels (and I did look at all the others on Amazon before deciding on this one). This Polaroid two-axis meets those criteria.

Easy five stars, based on good build quality, accurate functionality, and decent value for money. Very pleased with my purchase, would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hot Shoe Two Axis, 5 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polaroid Hot Shoe Two Axis Double Bubble Spirit Level For Canon & Nikon Digital and Film Cameras (Camera)
Very pleased with this nifty helper to keep my horizons straight. Easy to use and very effective no more wonky horizons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Inaccurate but usable, 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polaroid Hot Shoe Two Axis Double Bubble Spirit Level For Canon & Nikon Digital and Film Cameras (Camera)
From the back of the box: "Small, lightweight, accurate, ..." err, no. It's not accurate. Not even close.

But it looks consistent, and is not out so far as to be unusable. You just have to use some cellotape, or some other mark, for the actual midpoint.

I'd expected better from Polaroid though. There are probably cheaper alternatives that are no less inaccurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, well made and reasonably accurate, 17 Jan 2013
By 
P Roberts "Paul Roberts" (Irvine, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polaroid Hot Shoe Two Axis Double Bubble Spirit Level For Canon & Nikon Digital and Film Cameras (Camera)
There are umpteen versions of this same design available. Some are cheaper, some more expensive, and for each one you'll see some very positive reviews but also some very negative ones. Faced with such a range of choice, I decided to go for this Polaroid version, because it was cheap but not dirt cheap, and came from recognized name.

It seems like it was a good choice. The spirit level is well made: good clear plastic, with no messy joins that leave a leaky fluorescent mess in my camera bag or over the camera itself. Accuracy-wise, when mounted on my Canon 5DII it's at least a match for the built in level of my 7D. And that's exactly what I bought it for: to give my 5DII the one landscape photography feature that it lacked compared to my 7D.

So, based on a sample of one, I'd say the Polaroid double-bubble level is a good buy. Just bear in mind that being a two axis model, you have to unclip it and re-attach it in the other orientation when you switch between landscape and portrait. I'd still rather have to do that than have the 3 axis version, which IMO is too bulky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars spirit level, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polaroid Hot Shoe Two Axis Double Bubble Spirit Level For Canon & Nikon Digital and Film Cameras (Camera)
This is a good quality product. Fits nicely on the camera and works in two dimensions. Happy to recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful but a bit bulky, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polaroid Hot Shoe Two Axis Double Bubble Spirit Level For Canon & Nikon Digital and Film Cameras (Camera)
Clear and useful but too bulky too leave on your camera which is my only complaint versus a flatter rubbber alternative I also bought on Amazon. Worth buying if you don't mind removing it after use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great tool for getting straight pictures, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polaroid Hot Shoe Two Axis Double Bubble Spirit Level For Canon & Nikon Digital and Film Cameras (Camera)
I have a habit of taking pictures on the slant, this is great to stop this happening. We use one on the cameras at work, so at the price I paid it was worth getting one for my personal camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polaroid Hot Shoe Two Axis Double Bubble Spirit Level For Canon & Nikon Digital and Film Cameras (Camera)
Just be a little careful as it is not tight on the hotshoe and can fall off if the tripod is tipped for portrait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spirit level, 17 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polaroid Hot Shoe Two Axis Double Bubble Spirit Level For Canon & Nikon Digital and Film Cameras (Camera)
Very handy piece of kit for not a lot of money, great for getting your camera level especially when taking videos on a tripod.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews