Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good honest product.
My Goodmans recorder arrived and was very easy to set up with some great features.
Unfortunately the box stopped working in a week so I called Goodmans help desk.
Well who said service was dead, the gentleman at the help desk just arranged with
no fuss whatsoever to have my box exchanged by courier the very next day, I was
very impressed and my new box...
Published on 6 Mar 2012 by Roberto

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish
to be fair i did'nt buy this from amazon but i know lots of people do, so i decided to review it here coz if i reviewed it on tesco's site (where i did buy it) i doubt they would print it.
this digi recorder is, without doubt, absolute rubbish. it constantly de-tuned itself, when i set it up to record progs on series it seemed to please itself if it would do so, it...
Published 5 months ago by jacqueline hill


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good honest product., 6 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodmans 500GB Freeview Digital DTR Recorder (Electronics)
My Goodmans recorder arrived and was very easy to set up with some great features.
Unfortunately the box stopped working in a week so I called Goodmans help desk.
Well who said service was dead, the gentleman at the help desk just arranged with
no fuss whatsoever to have my box exchanged by courier the very next day, I was
very impressed and my new box works perfectly. Would recommend this product 100%.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish, 10 Feb 2014
This review is from: Goodmans 500GB Freeview Digital DTR Recorder (Electronics)
to be fair i did'nt buy this from amazon but i know lots of people do, so i decided to review it here coz if i reviewed it on tesco's site (where i did buy it) i doubt they would print it.
this digi recorder is, without doubt, absolute rubbish. it constantly de-tuned itself, when i set it up to record progs on series it seemed to please itself if it would do so, it would constantly turn itself off even if you were recording, pixalated constantly, all in all you should avoid this like the plague. DO NOT BUY THIS RECORDER.
NOTE. i had to give this 1 star to enable me to submit this review. they did'nt have -1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 3 Feb 2013
By 
David Challender (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Picture frequently prone to breakup / pixellation whenever a car passes by the house - so excessively prone to slightest electrical interference.
If same aerial lead plugged directly into TV the picture is always fine, so not a signal / cable issue.
Failed to record some scheduled TV programmes - unaccepable (device was purchased solely as a recorder as TV has inbuilt freeview receiver).

No scart lead or RF cable was included (no leads at all), so "out of the box" you could not connect it to your existing TV unless you were fortunate enough to have some spare cables around.

If the review sytem allowed zero stars I would have awarded 0, but as 1 is minimum allowed, a 1 it will have to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very basic, 20 Mar 2013
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a small and pretty basic looking Freeview recorder, and once you've set it up, you realise that it really is a basic device!

This comes with a SCART cable and once you've connected it to the power, TV aerial and (obviously) your telly - it's ready to use. It scans for channels quickly and within minutes you can be watching Freeview through it. This doesn't have an HD receiver so you won't be able to watch any of the HD channels (there aren't too many of them but most of the flagship BBC/ITV content is shown on them), the standard definition picture is what you expect but the native picture using my TVs own inbuilt Freeview tuner seems to be of better quality.

Given that I prefer my TVs own Freeview quality I used this purely as a recorder rather than to watch live TV. It is an adequate recorder but the menus look a little cheap and the user interface isn't the greatest. It's easy to navigate through but it can be a little clunky and every-so-often is a little unresponsive which leads to you pressing a button twice after a delayed response and shooting straight past the option you were after! The 320 GB hard drive is actually quite large and you can fit many programmes onto it, but the truth is that most modern devices now offer BBC iPlayer and other catch-up services which negate the need for such high capacity and even stream in high definition.

In a nutshell: This product is average at best, if this was a low price device it would be a suitable 'budget buy' - but there are cheaper options out there which perform better, are more pleasant to use and offer more functionality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 66 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't even think about it., 29 Nov 2011
This review is from: Goodmans 500GB Freeview Digital DTR Recorder (Electronics)
This thing is total rubbish. The remote only works when it feels like it, then without warning the unit will erase all recordings. We consequently performed all the software updating, format hardive etc, then it did it again. It quite often did not record programs, reasons unknown. We only got this model because previously we had a Humax ( not the HD model) which was equally hideous in operation and consistant freezing. Anyway if anyone can recommend a HD PVR please advise, but for goodness sake stay away from this machine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Woks well, reasonable price too!, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodmans 500GB Freeview Digital DTR Recorder (Electronics)
Works well and was easy to set up. Good value price range, It even plays back recorded programmes with subtitles, fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but old style with no High Definition.Good for the price paid., 9 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Suitable for its purposes and cheap in price. Overall a good buy.If HD is required then go for a later model.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolute rubbish, do not buy., 27 Feb 2014
Even at the cheap price it still isn't worth it. Where do I start? It affects the tv signal. Pixelates picture. Turners itself on and off at will, doesn't tape stuff even if its set to do so, and tells me it can't tape a program although it doesn't co-incide with any other due for recording. It was great to hear others with the same problems, because we thought we were going crazy! This is one to steer well clear of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars AVOID!, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodmans 500GB Freeview Digital DTR Recorder (Electronics)
As a freeview box I guess i cant actually fault this item but if you are buying the box with the intention of using the recording facility I would avoid at all costs. The series record option is absolutely useless. When setting one of my favourite TV programs to record it didn't just record it once per day it recorded it 6 times per day (as it is on at lunchtime on FIVE, then again on FIVE+1 and then again on FIVE* .... and then all 3 repeat again in the evening) Some programs just didn't record at all. The remote seemed to only work if you were to press every button twice (even tried several sets of batteries) - This box is completely out dated compared to one i brought five years ago for the same price (when Dtr first came on the market)

Swapped this for a Humax Youview box (at double the price) and it was worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RECORD, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodmans 500GB Freeview Digital DTR Recorder (Electronics)
THIS IS BRILLIANT FOR THE PRICE.THERE ARE NO DOUBT BETTER RECORDERS OUT THERE WITH ALL THE BELLS AND WHISTLES BUT IF YOU JUST WANT SOMETHING SIMPLE TO RECORD YOUR PROGRAMMES THEN THIS IS IT.I HAVE HAD NO PROBLEM WITH IT.I HAVE A TV WITH FREEVIEW AND USB CONNECTION TO MEMORY STICK SO NOW I CAN RECORD FROM THE TV LOTS OF DIFFERENT CHANNELS SO NOTHING CLASHES.FOR 100 YOU CAN'T GO WRONG.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews