Customer Reviews


152 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (33)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


85 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good honest product.
My Goodmans recorder arrived and was very easy to set up with some great features.
Unfortunately the box stopped working in a week so I called Goodmans help desk.
Well who said service was dead, the gentleman at the help desk just arranged with
no fuss whatsoever to have my box exchanged by courier the very next day, I was
very impressed and my new box...
Published on 6 Mar. 2012 by Roberto

versus
27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid!
Absolute rubbish. Switches itself off and on at random. More often than not does not record any of the scheduled programs or just records the first 2/3rds and then drops out before the end. Freezes and requires rebooting almost daily. Also, when placed in series with my DVD player it turns everything played on DVD a blue/green colour. I though it might be a rogue box...
Published 7 months ago by sixtondog


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid!, 1 Aug. 2014
Absolute rubbish. Switches itself off and on at random. More often than not does not record any of the scheduled programs or just records the first 2/3rds and then drops out before the end. Freezes and requires rebooting almost daily. Also, when placed in series with my DVD player it turns everything played on DVD a blue/green colour. I though it might be a rogue box but replaced it and the second unit was exactly the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


85 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good honest product., 6 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodmans 500GB Freeview Digital DTR Recorder (Electronics)
My Goodmans recorder arrived and was very easy to set up with some great features.
Unfortunately the box stopped working in a week so I called Goodmans help desk.
Well who said service was dead, the gentleman at the help desk just arranged with
no fuss whatsoever to have my box exchanged by courier the very next day, I was
very impressed and my new box works perfectly. Would recommend this product 100%.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Easy to set-up but problems with recordings, 9 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodmans 500GB Freeview Digital DTR Recorder (Electronics)
Easy to set-up but problems with the recordings - either didn't record them or only part of them.
Also would loose picture with a blank screen appearing and only way to reset was to switch box off
Return box for refund
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadfull, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodmans 500GB Freeview Digital DTR Recorder (Electronics)
Bought this for a spare room and it regularly crashes, skips most of the recordings and is a general failure at doing what it is supposed to do
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RECORD, 12 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodmans 500GB Freeview Digital DTR Recorder (Electronics)
THIS IS BRILLIANT FOR THE PRICE.THERE ARE NO DOUBT BETTER RECORDERS OUT THERE WITH ALL THE BELLS AND WHISTLES BUT IF YOU JUST WANT SOMETHING SIMPLE TO RECORD YOUR PROGRAMMES THEN THIS IS IT.I HAVE HAD NO PROBLEM WITH IT.I HAVE A TV WITH FREEVIEW AND USB CONNECTION TO MEMORY STICK SO NOW I CAN RECORD FROM THE TV LOTS OF DIFFERENT CHANNELS SO NOTHING CLASHES.FOR £100 YOU CAN'T GO WRONG.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 46 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very basic, 20 Mar. 2013
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a small and pretty basic looking Freeview recorder, and once you've set it up, you realise that it really is a basic device!

This comes with a SCART cable and once you've connected it to the power, TV aerial and (obviously) your telly - it's ready to use. It scans for channels quickly and within minutes you can be watching Freeview through it. This doesn't have an HD receiver so you won't be able to watch any of the HD channels (there aren't too many of them but most of the flagship BBC/ITV content is shown on them), the standard definition picture is what you expect but the native picture using my TVs own inbuilt Freeview tuner seems to be of better quality.

Given that I prefer my TVs own Freeview quality I used this purely as a recorder rather than to watch live TV. It is an adequate recorder but the menus look a little cheap and the user interface isn't the greatest. It's easy to navigate through but it can be a little clunky and every-so-often is a little unresponsive which leads to you pressing a button twice after a delayed response and shooting straight past the option you were after! The 320 GB hard drive is actually quite large and you can fit many programmes onto it, but the truth is that most modern devices now offer BBC iPlayer and other catch-up services which negate the need for such high capacity and even stream in high definition.

In a nutshell: This product is average at best, if this was a low price device it would be a suitable 'budget buy' - but there are cheaper options out there which perform better, are more pleasant to use and offer more functionality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


82 of 95 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't even think about it., 29 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Goodmans 500GB Freeview Digital DTR Recorder (Electronics)
This thing is total rubbish. The remote only works when it feels like it, then without warning the unit will erase all recordings. We consequently performed all the software updating, format hardive etc, then it did it again. It quite often did not record programs, reasons unknown. We only got this model because previously we had a Humax ( not the HD model) which was equally hideous in operation and consistant freezing. Anyway if anyone can recommend a HD PVR please advise, but for goodness sake stay away from this machine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 47 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 3 Feb. 2013
By 
David Challender (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Picture frequently prone to breakup / pixellation whenever a car passes by the house - so excessively prone to slightest electrical interference.
If same aerial lead plugged directly into TV the picture is always fine, so not a signal / cable issue.
Failed to record some scheduled TV programmes - unaccepable (device was purchased solely as a recorder as TV has inbuilt freeview receiver).

No scart lead or RF cable was included (no leads at all), so "out of the box" you could not connect it to your existing TV unless you were fortunate enough to have some spare cables around.

If the review sytem allowed zero stars I would have awarded 0, but as 1 is minimum allowed, a 1 it will have to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Goodmans, 27 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodmans 500GB Freeview Digital DTR Recorder (Electronics)
It is good but its the first box of this kind I've had and it does seem a bit slow when changing programme although this might be the same with another make/model so not a critisism, more an observation;
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nothing but problems, 14 Nov. 2013
We received the first Goodmans box in October, but after 8 weeks it simply refused to work and we were back to "normal" TV. However as it was under guarantee we got a replacement. Unfortunately things started to gradually go wrong what with variable sound settings, (sometimes it would simply BLAST OUT and other the sound would just stick). Eventually the off-off switch refused to switch "off" and the box just gave an "Out Of Range" message. We tried different HDMI setting to no avail. Unfortunately it is just 3 weeks out of warranty and we certainly won't be buying another Goodmans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Goodmans 500GB Freeview Digital DTR Recorder
£99.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews