Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars247
3.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 April 2014
Bought this for a spare room and it regularly crashes, skips most of the recordings and is a general failure at doing what it is supposed to do
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2014
Absolute rubbish. Switches itself off and on at random. More often than not does not record any of the scheduled programs or just records the first 2/3rds and then drops out before the end. Freezes and requires rebooting almost daily. Also, when placed in series with my DVD player it turns everything played on DVD a blue/green colour. I though it might be a rogue box but replaced it and the second unit was exactly the same.
0Comment|61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2015
The recorder is good value for money and is easy to use. It does have one drawback which is that it has no clock therefore you can only record from the guide and only over an 8 day period. If a programme starts earlier or finishes later than the programmed time you may probably miss something.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2012
My Goodmans recorder arrived and was very easy to set up with some great features.
Unfortunately the box stopped working in a week so I called Goodmans help desk.
Well who said service was dead, the gentleman at the help desk just arranged with
no fuss whatsoever to have my box exchanged by courier the very next day, I was
very impressed and my new box works perfectly. Would recommend this product 100%.
22 comments|104 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
Easy to set-up but problems with the recordings - either didn't record them or only part of them.
Also would loose picture with a blank screen appearing and only way to reset was to switch box off
Return box for refund
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2014
All I wanted it to do it does. The best thing about it is that when you have only part watched a recorded programme, when you come to resume watching it it lets you choose to start from the start or resume from where you left off GREAT
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2011
This thing is total rubbish. The remote only works when it feels like it, then without warning the unit will erase all recordings. We consequently performed all the software updating, format hardive etc, then it did it again. It quite often did not record programs, reasons unknown. We only got this model because previously we had a Humax ( not the HD model) which was equally hideous in operation and consistant freezing. Anyway if anyone can recommend a HD PVR please advise, but for goodness sake stay away from this machine.
44 comments|100 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2013
Picture frequently prone to breakup / pixellation whenever a car passes by the house - so excessively prone to slightest electrical interference.
If same aerial lead plugged directly into TV the picture is always fine, so not a signal / cable issue.
Failed to record some scheduled TV programmes - unaccepable (device was purchased solely as a recorder as TV has inbuilt freeview receiver).

No scart lead or RF cable was included (no leads at all), so "out of the box" you could not connect it to your existing TV unless you were fortunate enough to have some spare cables around.

If the review sytem allowed zero stars I would have awarded 0, but as 1 is minimum allowed, a 1 it will have to be.
22 comments|55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Size: 320GB|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a small and pretty basic looking Freeview recorder, and once you've set it up, you realise that it really is a basic device!

This comes with a SCART cable and once you've connected it to the power, TV aerial and (obviously) your telly - it's ready to use. It scans for channels quickly and within minutes you can be watching Freeview through it. This doesn't have an HD receiver so you won't be able to watch any of the HD channels (there aren't too many of them but most of the flagship BBC/ITV content is shown on them), the standard definition picture is what you expect but the native picture using my TVs own inbuilt Freeview tuner seems to be of better quality.

Given that I prefer my TVs own Freeview quality I used this purely as a recorder rather than to watch live TV. It is an adequate recorder but the menus look a little cheap and the user interface isn't the greatest. It's easy to navigate through but it can be a little clunky and every-so-often is a little unresponsive which leads to you pressing a button twice after a delayed response and shooting straight past the option you were after! The 320 GB hard drive is actually quite large and you can fit many programmes onto it, but the truth is that most modern devices now offer BBC iPlayer and other catch-up services which negate the need for such high capacity and even stream in high definition.

In a nutshell: This product is average at best, if this was a low price device it would be a suitable 'budget buy' - but there are cheaper options out there which perform better, are more pleasant to use and offer more functionality.
11 comment|52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2013
THIS IS BRILLIANT FOR THE PRICE.THERE ARE NO DOUBT BETTER RECORDERS OUT THERE WITH ALL THE BELLS AND WHISTLES BUT IF YOU JUST WANT SOMETHING SIMPLE TO RECORD YOUR PROGRAMMES THEN THIS IS IT.I HAVE HAD NO PROBLEM WITH IT.I HAVE A TV WITH FREEVIEW AND USB CONNECTION TO MEMORY STICK SO NOW I CAN RECORD FROM THE TV LOTS OF DIFFERENT CHANNELS SO NOTHING CLASHES.FOR £100 YOU CAN'T GO WRONG.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 62 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)