Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Learn more Learn More Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars129
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 July 2014
I really like this flour; it's been fabulous for bread making whether it's loaves, rolls, pizza bases and even brioche. There is a but though. as I have just cancelled my subscription due to the packaging. When we first started ordering it came in a strong lining polythene sack which kept the sack from being ripped/punctured during transport. Over the last few orders, this lining has been omitted in the packaging and we've had as a result several deliveries now where the paper sack has been ripped open.

We've contacted amazon a couple of times about this and they've been really good at sorting it out, but now I'm at the point where I don't want to order any more until the packaging is better.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2012
I used to buy flour in bulk from a modern mill and it was fine but nothing special. Recently I have been experimenting with home breadmaking - using different techniques and ingredients and I can honestly say this flour produces a bread that tastes much better than the ordinary 'run of the mill' flours on offer at the supermarkets. I do alot of baking, so am really pleased to be able to buy in bulk and have it delivered. My next experiment is with their organic flour but I would recommend this one without hesitation; it tastes great, is very reasonably priced and you don't have to lug flour home with the shopping every week!.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2012
I bake a lot so to be able to purchase this much good quality flour with no delivery cost (on super saver) was excellent value. I will be ordering again.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2012
HI All,

I started baking my own bread a while ago and kind of got the bug. Due to the amounts of flour I was using I wanted to buy a bulk sack to save money and I am really glad I did.

This flour is a really good quality strong bread flour, and you can taste this in the breads that you bake. I have used this now to make excellent white loaves, baguettes, pizza, naan, pita and sourdough. I even used this flour to make pasta with, and had excellent results.

I am a hand baker, but I am sure that this flour would be equally as good using a bread machine. Also if you subscribe to this item you save money and postage charges, and they automatically send me a 16kg sack every 2 months, but you can specify the duration to suit your baking needs. A white loaf now costs me about 50p, and tastes so much better!

Highly recommended and I will also be trying some of Bacheldre's other specialist flours :

Happy baking!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2012
The product arrived promptly and as described, the packaging was damaged and torn but luckily the product came in a airtight plastic bag so no damage done to product packaging and this i attribute to delivery anyway and not manufacturer. This is my third 16kg bag of flower from this supplier and i have no complaints its very good quality at a very good price. i would reccommend to any pizza or bread makers out there, try the malted flour makes great country style bread
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2012
I have just come on to order another sack of this flour. I am new to breadmaking, but from reading the reviews I gather that I have just been extremely lucky to come across this flour early in the process. I have used it to make white, mixed (50% Wholemeal) loaves, bacon and cheese, olive, herb, fruit loaves, and the results have been fantastic. I bought a breadmaker at the beginning of the summer and since it arrived I haven't bought a loaf of bread at the shop. I don't know how my postman felt about lugging a 16kg sack of flour to my door...but he had better get used to it. Highly recommended product!

Edited to add: 6 months later I am still using this flour and have not bought bread in 6 months - still getting great results and I have just bought the larger 25kg sack (much to the delight of my postman I am sure). Free super-saver delivery is great. I have posted a photograph of one of my loaves made with this flour.
review image
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2012
This is is the first time I have bought Bacheldre Mill flour, and I shall be buying it again. However, when I had my bread risen and ready for the oven, I noticed little brown flecks in it, which I think are wheatgerm. This means the bread is not completely white, which is not a problem for me, but which other customers should be aware of.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2013
The product is very good, I've baked some fantastic bread with this flour. As I bake a lot it's great to know that I have plenty in ! My one and only criticism is that when the flour is delivered it's not as shown on Amazon, it's in a plain white bag (rather like a cement bag) and not as detailed on the photo.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2014
Do think carefully about buying this - not the quality of the flour, which I am sure is superb - but about the packaging. 16kg is a heavy sack & guess what, it will be thrown, not placed, onto the various lorries/vans it goes on. Mine arrived today with a hole in the outer packaging - the inner one was not anywhere near complete - flour everywhere. I need say no more.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2012
What a delight it was to taste the first bread cobs I made using this Bacheldre Watermill Stoneground Strong Bakers White flour, such a wonderful flavour. I've since made many more for my neighbour and a few friends, who are all of the same opinion that it tastes great. I have made several loaves, milk rolls, scotch morning rolls and I have tried mixing it with strong brown flour, all came out well and delicious. This flour is well worth a try and at a great price with free delivery, you can't go wrong. I'll be having more when this is gone. The delivery was brilliant, I put my order in just after Saturday lunch and I received my flour before lunch on Monday, how's that for speed, great stuff.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)