Customer Reviews


232 Reviews
5 star:
 (182)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite game on the 3DS to date!
This game is a great mix of new and old mario. The new 3D adds a new dimension to playing, you have to look quite hard to find all the extra coins and lives. But they've also bought in few things I loved from the original games, such as tanooki Mario from Mario Bros 3 on the NES. If you struggle on a level for too long, a white tanooki is issued, helping you to complete...
Published on 1 Jan 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty, good
I'm a big fan of Mario 64 so all future iterations will have a hard act to follow and this is no exception. Looks great and actually uses the 3d as more than a gimmick but some of the camera angles make it tricky. It doesn't feel as free roaming either. There is loads of hidden stuff and it is fun, but its no 64.
Published 10 months ago by Simon F


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite game on the 3DS to date!, 1 Jan 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario 3D Land (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
This game is a great mix of new and old mario. The new 3D adds a new dimension to playing, you have to look quite hard to find all the extra coins and lives. But they've also bought in few things I loved from the original games, such as tanooki Mario from Mario Bros 3 on the NES. If you struggle on a level for too long, a white tanooki is issued, helping you to complete the level with a bit more ease.

The graphics of the game are stunning, as is the game play itself. Each level is different and uses different things from previous games. The flipping panels are back, thwomps are there with tanooki tails and also giant bowser with all his annoying fireballs.

Mario fans will love the game for bringing back some of the bits that made previous mario games so great and new players will love that you can simply pick up and play the game. I'd certainly say this is mario at his best on the 3DS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic Mario title., 27 Nov 2011
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario 3D Land (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Super Mario 3D Land is a great piece of software. The 3D effect is nicely implemented, and the levels have been designed in a way to have the 3D enhance the platforming.

Graphically it's very close or on par with the Mario Galaxy titles. Colourful, bright and full of life. Which is what you would expect. I was very impressed when playing.

The game starts off very simple, it eases you in over the 8 basic worlds of levels, slowly increasing the difficulty as you progress. This is great for people new to the series, as they can become accustomed to the controls. In terms of gameplay, the levels are mostly obstacle course levels, with a mix of 3D roaming and 2D scrolling gameplay, which require you to reach the flag pole at the end. There are plenty of powerups to aid you against enemies and tricky jumps. The tanooki has made a triumphant return, and they allow you to test it out almost straight away. Harder challenges are unlocked later on, but I'll let you find that out if you get the game!

For a bit of extra challenge, 3 collectable star coins are scattered around the levels, and these are required at times to unlock later levels. The coins are easy to collect for the the first few worlds, but get harder to obtain later on, and are hidden well in some places.

Hardcore Mario fans will probably breeze through the first 8 worlds with very little difficulty, but as I mentioned earlier, challenges do pop up later on if you get that far.

The soundtrack is a nice collection of tunes, some original, and some are re used from the Galaxy games. I have no issue with this.

I don't think I need to convince Mario fans to buy this game, but rather those who are perhaps new to the series and are looking for a worthy, fun 3DS title suitable for everyone.

It truly is a triple A 3DS title, and look forward to more from Nintendo in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars With a spring in his step, 19 Nov 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario 3D Land (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Mario's first adventure on the 3ds makes it worth purchasing the 3ds.

I loved mario 64 ds yet couldn't get to grips with NSMBDS, so i was on the fence about this. Well, after playing the game for several hours, i shouldn't have doubted as this game blew me away.

The 3ds effect is so well done it's like looking into a window of another world and the little graphical effects of snow sitting on top of blows and the way plants and flowers blossom in front of your eyes after tail swiping them is just magical.

The best part of the game is that anyone, of any age can play it, regardless of their skill. It's may be too simple for seasoned Mario fans but the Mario galaxy worlds mixed with super mario bro's levels are not only so vibrate and excellent, it's strikes a fine balance between fun, casual and challenging.

Although this is not like mario 64 ds in terms of a hub world and exploration, there is some room to run, find secret coins and paths. Inbetween the worlds, you may come across toads house which always brings a smile to my face so it seems so real and joyful.

If you are in doubt about this game, don't be. The first 8 worlds may be straight forward but once the credits roll, lets just say...the party's not over with another 8 worlds which ramp up the difficulty, layout and so on.

Catchy soundtrack, colourful levels,terrific cutscenes, various suits, 16 worlds to beat and luigi!!!, this game has it all. The best 3ds game yet til Mario Kart 7!

Mario's finest adventre yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good overall, 19 Dec 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario 3D Land (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
I must confess that I was never a fan of Mario games for a couple of reasons: as a child, I thought that the graphics were boring, with too many regular shapes and few colours, compared to games like Rayman for instance; I didn't like the lack of a health meter and the time limit of each level; finally, the difficulty level seemed a bit high. It is true that I have only played a few Mario games, the first one on the NES and a few on the GBA. In any case, Super Mario 3D Land has changed my opinion regarding all the matters mentioned above.

The graphics are excellent, probably the best on the 3ds so far. The colours are rich and bright, and each level has its own theme with unique elements. The 3d effect is very good and it is one of the few games where the effect really improves gameplay. There are many power-ups in the game, which apart from giving an extra power, allow the character to take 2 hits. You can also store an additional power-up, so the lack of a health meter is no longer a significant issue. Although there is still a time limit, there is plenty of time to finish each level. Finally, the difficulty of the main game is low to medium. For those looking for a challenge, after completing the main game you unlock the special worlds with higher difficulty (this part is equal in length to the main game).

However, there are a few things which I didn't like about this game, and this is why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. At some point, the game becomes repetitive. From the beginning, you will notice that there are only two types of boss fights (with the exception of the last). You might ignore this aspect in the main game, since the other levels are very different. However, many of the levels in the special worlds are variations of the levels in the main game. This might also be acceptable, since it is very difficult to come up with completely new levels in such a game. The problem is that in order to complete the game 100%, you will sometimes have to repeat levels in order to collect all the coins and get the golden flags. But even worse, after completing all the levels with Mario, you will also have to complete them with Luigi. Repeating everything also means hearing "Wahoo", "Wee", "Mah", "Waa", "Aaaah" hundreds of times, and the same music tracks. This might be very annoying for some people.

Another complaint is the lack of a physical manual. Paying 30 pounds for this game, I was expecting to find a proper manual. Not only that the physical manual is missing, but also an important information. If any of the assisting blocks appears (after you die more than 5 times in a row) and you save the game afterwards, you can't finish the game with the "shiny stars" achievement.

To sum things up, I highly recommend this game and apart from the problems mentioned above, I think it is one of the best 3ds games released so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the game 3DS has been waiting for!, 19 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. D. S. Bassett "Danni" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Mario 3D Land (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
I received this today and have not been able to out it down! This game is stunning to look at, with every little bit of the worlds highly detailed and fun in their own ways.
You have different power ups to aid Mario in his quest to once again, save Peach. These include a Tanooki Suit, Boomerang Flower and more!
The levels are quite big and you can wander off the trail to see what might be hiding in a corner(ranging from star medals to an extra life) so you can take your time going through each level. Yes, you do have a timer but you do come across the odd time extender(100 extra seconds) so you have more than enough time to check out the level as much as you like.
The music is typical Mario, flawless and perfect, very happy and uplifting.
I will play this time and time again, it's a real treat. Plus this game has been designed with the 3D to really help in levels, sometimes it's the difference between making a jump, and falling down a hole!
If you are looking for the perfect 3DS game, this is it! Well done, Nintendo!
10 out of 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3DS sales are gonna pick up!, 18 Nov 2011
By 
Alex Lay "Alex" (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario 3D Land (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Okay, okay - It's a Mario. Everyone knows who he is by now.
You should know the storyline off by heart. Plumber with a mustache needs to save a princess from a giant evil turtle thing.
The storyline is not important (though it is pretty funny).
This is all about gameplay, and this title really delivers.

I've been playing this for a few hours today and am now up to World Five.
My God, this is THE game to spend your hours on.
I never thought the 3DS was disappointing, but this really makes up for the lack of decent games being released.
There are 8 worlds, but once you've completed all those, you can play the same 8 in an alternative 'Special' mode, I hear.
Note, this doesn't mean 'Special' in terms of... 'Special olympics' or ... 'Special needs'.
Special, in Nintendo language, means 'Harder'.

So far though, I've been having lots and lots of fun. It draws you in with some easy levels, and then they get harder.
I have over 30 lives because it's easy to pick more up, but I have died quite a few times too.
You really have to give it to the makers of this game, because they know how to develop something special.
This is, as you will most likely know, a platform game.
There have been quite a few 'Mario land' style games since this legend entered gaming, yet this feels so fresh and exciting.
I don't want to give much away, because you have to experience it for yourself.
If you've played the 2D SNES Mario games, you'll know the basics.
You go from one side to another and jump on a flagpole for no apparant reason.
This game has an edge though. It still consists of the same, but it's not just side to side. It's a cross between Super Mario and Mario 64/Galaxy.
I think the variety of Mario Suits is great, and I particularly like the new one that allows you to spin high into the sky.

In terms of graphics, this looks stunning.
It really does look like a Wii game, yet on a Handheld.
The 3D makes a big difference, and you can't say that about all 3DS games.
It gives a great sense of where Mario is standing, and when falling onto platforms beneath you, it allows you to see where you will land. The game has been pretty easy for me so far, but that does not detract the enjoyment from the game and, as I said, I have not got through the game yet.

Nintendo doesn't always bring good games out, it has to be said.
But have they ever failed to deliver great Mario or Zelda games? Will they ever might be a better question.
Not to mention the Professor Layton series which is a great newcomer.
It annoys me when people harp on about Nintendo not creating real games.
Nintendo are unique. I love my Xbox 360, but the 3DS and Wii offer something different when I'm bored of 'serious' games.
I cannot wait to get back to this game, so I will summarise my review here.

The game is fantastic.
It will keep you entertained and it's the kind of game you can play again and again; trying to beat your score/collecting all the gold coins.
I have a ton of games - really far too many, and haven't played Mario Galaxy 2 yet (which is a game I own), but I can say this is most likely my favourite Mario game... Ever, and that's really saying something.
Anyone with a 3DS should buy this, and anyone without one should feel persuaded to pick one up, even if it's just for this.

This is a 10/10 game.
Bring on Mario Kart 3D.
I also got the new Zelda for the Wii.
I'm going to be busy over Christmas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but too short for experienced players, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Mario 3D Land (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
A great innovative new game which has loads of new items. There are only two problems. Firstly the super guide is not as good as super mario bros wii, or galaxy 2. Secondly it won't take experienced players long to get to world 8 (I was there within 4 hours). However the special worlds will probably give you quite a challenge, with Cosmic Mario and some really difficult time trials.
(Written by my son age 12.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't Believe This Is On A Handheld...Amazing!!, 19 Nov 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario 3D Land (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
I have had this game just over a day now and have reached world 7, yes this is a rather short game but an excellent one. Every level I have played has been fantastic, comparing it to the single player of a COD game, in this you get a constant bang for your buck, not just one or two levels to remember!!

Each level is so different which is great, all the variety...very similar to Mario Galaxy 2 in fact which suprised me. This game could easily be on the Wii. It has everything from spooky mansion levels to snow levels with tight ropes.

As well as the graphics being the best by far on the system and incredibly addicting music.

You owe it to yourselfs to go out and get this game, now just can't wait until Mario Kart 7, Luigi's Mansion and probably Mario Galaxy 3DS are released!!

5/5 10/10 *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 18 Nov 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario 3D Land (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
I Got This Game A day early from the release date , i was pretty happy ! The 3D is good but not great and the game starts of slow but as the game progresses it becomes more challenging and more fun , things really start getting good after world 8 . I could spend hours and hours playing this game as its similar to other mario games but so different as well , its a simple game that is great fun (similar art styles to super mario 64 but better), anyone at any age would enjoy it! You'll have fun playing this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic but with cons..., 9 Aug 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario 3D Land (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Absolutely love this game and it's really enjoyable, but I have completed most of it far too quickly for my liking. Like everyone else as soon as I got this game I couldn't put it down! But after 1 week I was already at the end of world 6. I am not the best of gamers as I only got to world 3 on the old mario for the ds (needed a friend to complete it for me!). This game is great for children but not for teenagers or adults that have played games like this before as it is too easy and doesn't challenge you enough to gain a 5 star review. Don't get me wrong I love this game and am glad I bought it but can the people at nintendo please make it a little harder. Would recommend it though never the less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Super Mario 3D Land (Nintendo 3DS)
Super Mario 3D Land (Nintendo 3DS) by Nintendo (Nintendo 3DS)
28.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews