Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful music , now with an extra track, 25 Jan 2012
By 
mariopops "Andy Rogers" (SOLIHULL, WEST MIDLANDS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Tender Light (Audio CD)
This is a wonderful album full of calming choral pieces by the composer of the recent Christmas number 1 single "wherever you are" . In fact, this 2012 re-issue of last years album has had a version of that track tacked on at the end of the album but please note that on this album it is performed by the choir Tenebrae who sing on the rest of the album, not by the "military wives", so if thats what you are after then go buy the single. The album is fantastic to play at the end of the day and since being given it for Christmas I have played it many times.. My only gripe is that I have, once again, been stung by a record company re-releasing an album I have already got to add "the hit" to the album... but what the hell- just buy the album, it is simply a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rachel c, 20 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Tender Light (Audio CD)
lovely lovely calming CD that makes life very simple & beautiful. would recommend to anyone who wants to slow things down & relax. there is not one track that i dont like & i will look forward to playing time & time again especially at home when you can indulge in something so lovely
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars watch the date on this equisite release!, 3 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Tender Light (Audio CD)
The music is just so beautiful BUT I did not notice that the top one on offer in the Amazon list had a release date of 2011 so it doesn't have the now famous "whereever you are"-- if you scroll down you come to another more recent release (2012) with the exact same title which has the same tracks in a different order PLUS "whereever you are". It doesn't really matter, but having been on I-Tunes to look at the tracks I was surprised to receive a different cd by the same name----lovely music anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soothing Music, 9 Dec 2011
By 
Toots one (Southport UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Tender Light (Audio CD)
I listen to this on the stereo, but I have also put this on to my MP3 player, it is ideal when you feel the need to relax and shut out all the hurly burly of the day, the melodies are beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellant, 29 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Tender Light (Audio CD)
the great find of the year this cd. very similar to eric whitacre - if you like him you will definatly like this. very calming and moving music well sung too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Tender Light, 19 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Tender Light (Audio CD)
Absololutely magical and VERY soothing - perfect as background music and also wonderful to just sit and listen to: uplifting and inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gift, 30 Dec 2011
This review is from: A Tender Light (Audio CD)
I enjoyed this very much though I'm not the greatest fan of this type of choral music. The recipient of the gift thinks it's beautiful - good purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, but repetitive, 5 Dec 2011
By 
William Burn "gingerburn" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Tender Light (Audio CD)
I first heard this CD on Spotify, and to be honest, that's where I'm most likely to listen to it again. Ordinarily I'd happily buy pretty much anything that Tenebrae release: they're an excellent choir who perform interesting material to a very high standard. (Check out their disc of English choral music here: Hubert Parry: Songs of Farewell. Yet this CD reveals Mealor to be a bit of a one trick pony, even if that trick is very charming indeed. He has a great gift for producing lovely choral textures, but even during the more exciting moments of the Stabat Mater, these predominate before almost every other aspect of the music. So, while I enjoy individual tracks, I have no great urge to listen to the whole CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Tender Light (Audio CD)
around the block judy hopkins was not sent to me the wrong book arrived very disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Harmonies made in Heaven, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Tender Light (Audio CD)
This CD is astounding. A gorgeous blend of human voices so delicately balanced with emotional music and ephemeral lyrics. Some passages are addictive and repeat in the mind for days,even after just a couple of listenings. I've heard some superb choral music in my time but this surpasses all. Because of the dynamic range there are just a couple of places where the sound engineer has been caught out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Tender Light
A Tender Light by Paul Mealor (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews