Customer Reviews


126 Reviews
5 star:
 (93)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dreamboats and Petticoats 5
For those madly in love with the smash hit musical and this spin-off series crammed with music from the late 50s and (mostly) early 60s, Dreamboats & Petticoats' latest offering "Coffee Bars and Candy", is bound to please. The selection covers a wide range of popular music:catchy pop tunes, hard-driving rock 'n' roll, soul, funky r & b, country and supper club ballads...
Published on 13 Nov 2011 by ěystein SkjŠveland

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Party music
This CD was purchased because I've already purchased all of the previous albums & wanted to continue my collection.
The album was alright but I would say is the weakest of the collection so far -I didn't know as many songs as I thought I would.
Published on 18 Dec 2011 by barkingmad


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dreamboats and Petticoats 5, 13 Nov 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamboats & Petticoats 5: Coffee Bars and Candy (Audio CD)
For those madly in love with the smash hit musical and this spin-off series crammed with music from the late 50s and (mostly) early 60s, Dreamboats & Petticoats' latest offering "Coffee Bars and Candy", is bound to please. The selection covers a wide range of popular music:catchy pop tunes, hard-driving rock 'n' roll, soul, funky r & b, country and supper club ballads. The Dreamboats and Petticoats cast renders stunning interpretations of pop gems from the late 50s and early 60s in fabulous stereo. The overall sound quality of the originals is good, but for some strange reasons there are mono versions galore of yesteryears' UK and US hits that can be easily obtained in true stereo. Still, if you're dying to relive the excitement of the 50s and 60s music-wise, this double CD is as good as any of the countless reissues of past gold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'ANOTHER GREAT MIX OF TREASURED MEMORIES FROM THE 'DREAMBOAT' SERIES', 28 Aug 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dreamboats & Petticoats 5: Coffee Bars and Candy (Audio CD)
This has been a great series, for me it's ''the track-list mix' choice of music, for those of us that were there, the memories are truly ''priceless''
Again there are one or two 'B-sides'' on board from memory, however as i've said before, many back then were as good and often better than the ''A-sides'' (So for those that remember these numbers, it's certainly, no problem)
On the first disc we have songs from 'Elvis ( The King ) 'Dusty Springfield' 'The Four Seasons' 'Sam Cooke' 'Brenda Lee' and 'Ray Charles' to name just a few blasts-from-the past' you no doubt remember the songs like 'Rag Doll' 'The Swiss Maid'' ''Speak to me Pretty'' great mix on the first disc.
The second disc gives you treasures from artist's such as 'Cliff Richard'' and his great number ''Please don't Tease'' and of course released some years after the ''day the music died'' ''Buddy Holly's'' 'Brown Eyed Handsome Man'' along with songs from 'The Everly's' 'Eddie Cochran' 'Lonnie Donegan' 'Bobby Vee' and 'Bob Luman's' - ''Let's Think about Living'' ...Great artists great songs, great memories.
As we all know many of the artist's are no longer with us, many left this world far too soon, however their music will always live in our memories.
Great purchase,,,,,close yer' eyes and enjoy the many treasured memories on board...................Worth checking out the play list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia, 9 Dec 2011
By 
A. J. Clark (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamboats & Petticoats 5: Coffee Bars and Candy (Audio CD)
Another great in the Dreamboats & Petticoats franchise. If you are young enough to remember the original hits clear the kitchen or living room floor, put your dancing shoes on and enjoy the nostalgia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamboats & Petticoats 5: Coffee Bars and Candy (Audio CD)
This music is from my era nd takes me back. Side one I found better than side two but all was very good. Shame they don't do music like that today
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old Rubber Legs, 12 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamboats & Petticoats 5: Coffee Bars and Candy (Audio CD)
Bought every disc in the series.Seen The show 4 times. The music keeps my old man's feet tapping and the blood in his 70 year old legs pumping.
What more can I say 'ROCK ON'
Great,terrific,fabulous music of my youth!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars songs, 17 Jan 2012
By 
D. booth "don boy" (north yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamboats & Petticoats 5: Coffee Bars and Candy (Audio CD)
have bought all the previous dreamboat cds i personaly dont think this one is quiet as good as the last 4
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars memories, 11 Jan 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamboats & Petticoats 5: Coffee Bars and Candy (Audio CD)
Bought this for my husband for Christmas as he enjoys the 50's and 60's music. He is very pleased with it, although as usual with CD's one or two songs not enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, 10 Dec 2011
By 
Ellen Jackson "Purple Fanatic" (Bingley. West Yorkshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamboats & Petticoats 5: Coffee Bars and Candy (Audio CD)
Item just as dcescribed and came in good time. A lovely christmas present. A really good service. Would definately reccommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia rides again!, 3 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamboats & Petticoats 5: Coffee Bars and Candy (Audio CD)
Really enjoyed listening to this CD.Up to standard of previous ones in the series.Certainly brought back memories,especially of artistes no longer with us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Party music, 18 Dec 2011
This review is from: Dreamboats & Petticoats 5: Coffee Bars and Candy (Audio CD)
This CD was purchased because I've already purchased all of the previous albums & wanted to continue my collection.
The album was alright but I would say is the weakest of the collection so far -I didn't know as many songs as I thought I would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dreamboats & Petticoats 5: Coffee Bars and Candy
Dreamboats & Petticoats 5: Coffee Bars and Candy by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews