Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for the beginner
This game is a serious challenge. The basic plot is that you are sent to explore a great hulk of a ship to find out what has happened. There are strange readings on board and you have to investigate. you take control of a group of four soldiers. Don't think however that you can become attached to them. One of the nice things about this game is that when a soldier dies...
Published on 27 Oct. 2011 by Mushandin

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid Game but way too short
Firstly this game doesnt get full marks because of the campaign length...it is far too short and those who have maybe looked at the game videos/images may think along the lines of Castlevania and Metroid, and yes it is in the same ball park but this is at heart a very one way game with minor side-exploration.

What we have left though is a very rare DS game with...
Published on 25 Feb. 2012 by Mark Andrew


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for the beginner, 27 Oct. 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aliens: Infestation (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This game is a serious challenge. The basic plot is that you are sent to explore a great hulk of a ship to find out what has happened. There are strange readings on board and you have to investigate. you take control of a group of four soldiers. Don't think however that you can become attached to them. One of the nice things about this game is that when a soldier dies (and he is not rescued) you will need to scour the labrynth like ships to find a replacement. After you complete the first level the real game begins. you jump from ship to ship exploring the tight passageways and clostraphobic tunnels. The music gives a level of tension not often found on the ds. This is added to even more by the fact that this game is not a blast everything that moves type. Its a good 20 minutes before you meet your first alien. And they are tough. They have a habit of jumping out on you and can give you a very bad day. You may walk for a good few minutes with nothing happening before an alien jumps down to greet you, keeping you on your toes. There are facehuggers drones security robots all manner of enemies. And of course the queen. The queens are spectaculaly tough and take a huge amount of firepower to bring down. Firepower that is limited. This game is old school difficult. If you are new or unused to games of this type then it is not for you. But if you like a challenge to really get your teeth into then you will LOVE this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid Game but way too short, 25 Feb. 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aliens: Infestation (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Firstly this game doesnt get full marks because of the campaign length...it is far too short and those who have maybe looked at the game videos/images may think along the lines of Castlevania and Metroid, and yes it is in the same ball park but this is at heart a very one way game with minor side-exploration.

What we have left though is a very rare DS game with true jumpy-moments and tense exploration. Its hard to imagine that a side scrolling game could offer such an atmosphere but it certainly had me on the edge of my seat more than a couple of times. This is of course an Aliens game so it does live true to the theme of the overall series.

The game picks up after the events of James Camerons' Aliens. The Sulaco is found adrift in space and a new group of Marines are sent in to investigate and find out what happened to the former mission team. You begin on the Sulaco with a four man team of marines, in this case the marines, although you can choose one, act as your lives. Once the health bar is depleted you lose a marine - pretty smart - and as a plus side you can actually stage a rescue mission to retrieve them should you wish. Scattered around the environments you will find other marines who will, at some point join you if you are short of men. Save rooms are very scarce on this game, so it pays to treat every encounter with some strategy as the marines are in short supply - 19 in total throughout the game. Although the game plays like a hardcore shooter - think contra - with Castlevania exploration and map - you will be constantly under pressure to retrace your steps to recent save rooms and re-stock on ammo and health and venture out again to tackle the tougher encounters. I must empathise that the level of tension becomes quite high as you get into deep water.

The enemies are varied between battle androids, Alien Drones, Face huggers and Human opposition. The Aliens look fantastic, they can drop down at you on a whim and scare the **** out of you. The Humans and Androids use regular gun attacks - which require you to dodge and return fire accordingly. Of course there are boss battles in the form of Queen Aliens and variants which each have a knack to beating. These fights usually witness the loss of a couple of marines but should you replay the game then maybe you wont have the same problem.

All weapons stay true to the Alien franchise, as do the sound effects. The pulse rifle, possibly one of the most recognisable weapons in the world. There are shotguns, flame throwers and smart guns. Each weapon can be upgraded several times to increase damage output. In one section of the game you also get to use the Twin Cannons atop an APC to gun down pursuing Aliens which is quite fun but over too quickly.

I do feel that this game has been shown a lot of love and attention to impress the fans. It is a difficult game at times but applying a strategy can decrease this level and make for a more balanced game. As with all good things though I do think that this game has been somewhat overlooked. I didnt hear about it until recently and I am a big Aliens fan. A shame really.

Anyway I give this game a solid 7/10. Its fun and true to the Aliens experience offering Metroid style navigation and progress in the world of Aliens.

The game could have expanded on certain elements - but the developers have played a safe hand and given fans what they would want from this type of game.

A must buy for those looking to pass an afternoon or two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointed fan, 7 April 2013
By 
Mr. Na De Berckem Dunn "RoninWerewolf" (Dorset, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aliens: Infestation (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I'll start by saying, I really really wanted this to be great - sadly it fell short of my expectations...

I've had a 3DS for a little while now and thought i'd give this a bash, being a big fan of the Aliens franchise for decades. First and foremost, buying this game pre-owned for £7.99 was about right for the value of the product as if i'd paid more or even full price for this when it came out - I would have been sorely disappointed.

I'm trying to keep specific references vague for purposes of spoilers, but I apologise if I do give anything away.

Summary:-

For those of you old enough to remember games like Alien 3 or Metroid on the Super Nintendo (a long time ago), it bears a lot of similarity in the way that its a side scrolling shoot em up - it has a map of the location you are in on the lower screen and the gameplay takes place on the top.

You wander around various locales, exploring the map, finding new weapons like smart guns or flamethrowers or equipment such as flashlights or welding torches to open doors - all very in keeping with the genre...finding access cards to unlock new areas, etc...
You begin the game with 4 marines, but sadly each one of them is a stereotype in some fashion (from the unhinged guy, the glasses wearing dork marine, the sad marine, the cool and calm veteran, etc) and because you go through these characters like they're going out of fashion, its hard to be bothered at all when any one of them dies...and this will happen a lot (mainly around boss fights)...however, you pick up more marines as you go - so its not too hard to keep going. At first, I tried to keep the original four alive, then I realised it didn't make any difference.
The script is in turns basic and true to the genre (lots of 'oorahs') and other times pleasing.

The plot is pretty typical of the aliens universe too...aliens are about, causing mischief - the company wants to capture them, you go toe-to-toe with the company...hardly very original. Don't expect to be challenged by the narrative here. Go from one end of the map to the other, kill things on the way. Talk to people occasionally. End.

However, the game is VERY short - you can complete it in about 7-8 hours if you're familiar with this type of game - this is why I would have been angry had I paid more for it. There is a mildly amusing mini game you can unlock halfway through that will provide a mild distraction.

Likes include:-

The soundtrack was reasonable and suitable for the game - with enough tracks to keep it fresh.

It is true to the aliens universe, the weapons, the sounds, the locales - as well as being quite nice to look at. The backgrounds are well drawn and the marines/aliens and other critters well animated. There are a few mildly amusing bits in it too - including some nods to the fans (a marine called Cameron, for example)

Gripes include:-

Running out of ammo and reverting to an unlimited ammo pistol - this is fine. But when an alien leaps on you in a quick time event, you hammer A and it is gunned away by some magical pulse rifle that you didn't have a moment ago and then you are back to your pistol again - that felt to me like lazy programming.

There are large sections of the maps which don't really serve much point other than to zap health encountering aliens/synthetics/enemy marines and there are vent sections (a bit like Alien 3 SNES), but a lot of them go nowhere and mean a frustrating walk/crawl back to the main game.

There is a bit two thirds of the way through the game where you find yourself in the middle of a slaughter between marines and aliens, with the humans getting munched. This is all happening in the background, but the game gives you no urgency to keep moving and you can't help the beleaguered humans in any way, merely walk past and ignore it all...not even run. Just walk. Calmly. This really destroyed immersion. I think I see what they were trying to do, but failed.

Undoubtedly, the worst section of it all is a driving bit, where you have to keep the aliens off the vehicle by tapping the stylus at various parts of the screen when they appear. Sounds fun, right? Wrong. The game just doesn't respond fast enough to keep up with your stylus clicks and the aliens appear so quickly, do a bit of damage and vanish that you find yourself tapping all over the screen to try and keep up.

Last and final gripe is that you find upgrades for your weapons in the game, which is cool - but there is actually a surplus of these through the game. It would be nice if you had to make 'tough decisions' about whether to upgrade the pulse rifle or smart gun. However, by game's end - all weapons were maxed and I was still finding many of these upgrade crates...

Overall -

A reasonable enough attempt to bring a more modern version of the aliens franchise to the DS - in general terms, the game is enjoyable enough to play if you don't want to get too into the story and merely focus on shooting anything that moves and going where told.

The linear limited span of the game is a big let down, but in a way - given how basic the plot is, its probably a blessing as it would have got very boring if it had gone on much more than it did.

After completing the game, the only incentive to go back and play it again was the fact that I didn't 'collect' all of the 20 or so marines in the game (think I got 18) - but other than their stereotypical personalities, there is nothing that defines them...they all move the same, carry the same guns...etc. Based on this, it'll be a very long time before I play it again.

I wouldn't buy this game new at all and think anything over £7.99 for it would be too much. Its approximately a pound per hour of gaming, which is alright. I'd recommend this to either someone who just wants a basic side scrolling shooter with aliens or a real die-hard fan of the series who can say nothing bad about the franchise. Otherwise, avoid.

Thanks for reading. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old School 'run and gun', 15 Feb. 2012
By 
D. Marshall (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aliens: Infestation (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Fantastic fun, the kind you remember from the 16 bit days. It's really difficult, which is a good thing. Using individual marines in your squad as 'lives' is a neat touch, especially considering the individualism of each of them, which is nicer than just a meaningless heart container. The fact that you can only have four squad member at any time gives the game an added level of difficulty, especially during the incredibly hard boss battles. As previously mentioned the replayability is pretty low as the game is linear, however don't let that discourage you from what is a thoroughly enjoyable experience. The atmosphere is amazing from the very beginning. If you like the films and old games then I can promise you this game is loads of fun. You may only get one play through, but at the current price I'd say it's worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Contra/Metroid/Aliens - hell, yeah!, 9 Dec. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aliens: Infestation (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Great story, all marines you have - counts. When they die - they die. For anyone who likes exploring Metroid style, and who loves Aliens - buy it. Sadly, there is low replayability in this game, yet the time you spend playing will give you much fun. One of the best action/adventure games on the DS. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There's Something Moving Around In Here & It Ain't Us, 28 Jan. 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aliens: Infestation (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This is a competent shoot em up game for the Nintendo DS featuring HR Giger's famous creations the Xenomorphs.

You take control of a platoon of marines who's mission is in protecting the human's from infestation as the Xenomorphs with there lethal acid blood are caving havoc & only your marines are equipped to handle this latest infestation.

Liked.

The graphics for a hand held are quite decent but not outstanding similar to the 16 bit Megadrive games of the 1990's & the story moves at a decent pace making this DS game an enjoyable yarn.

Battling against Alien's on the USS Sulaco is cool as this story takes place between Aliens & Alien 3.

The gameplay is fairly solid & you can upgraded your weaponry the further you go along in the game.

Disliked

Some slight niggles are if one civilian you fail to rescue dies you will to restart that particular section again as the game doesn't give you a expendable civilian allowance. & the gameplay can seem repetitive at times making it feel stale.

All in all though this is a decent if flawed DS game that delivers the atmosphere from the Alien movies but remember to stay alert & stay alive as in space no one can hear you scream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old School Fun, 12 April 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aliens: Infestation (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I'm a massive fan of the ALIEN / ALIENS films and discovered this game by chance on Amazon. I hadn't even seen it advertised anywhere before which is a crying shame. This game reminds me of excellent Spectrum games from the 1980s... But don't take that as any kind of smear on the game... It was brilliant fun to play. The graphics and sounds are great.

I very much enjoyed exploring all areas and collecting the various weapon types and power- ups for them... I also liked the fact that, unlike the more complex 'Aliens: Colonial Marines' game, you had to pick your main weapon and stick to it until you found a save room to rest and swap out.

Some of the boss battles were a bit frustrating but aside from this, I feel the game is the best one I've played in a very long time. As Hudson would say... ALIENS.... "If you liked that, you're gonna LOOOOOVE this...."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very retro game, 11 Aug. 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aliens: Infestation (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I must say this game is actually very good and offers a decent challenge. The game has a very retro look & feel about it. The levels aren't that varied and navigating the maps can be annoying. I would have liked to see some more weapons, upgrades and equipment but as I said, it's a retro game and it works. Don't count on playing a game that takes a long time to complete, it took me 3 days to finish it. The is fun and offers a very solid challenge, even to veteran gamers like me. The action is great, the retro graphics look nice, the music is great but can get a little boring sometimes. All in all a great side scrolling game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for Metroid and Castlevania fans, 2 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Aliens: Infestation (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Picked this up very cheap to play on my 3DS XL as I have wanting to play it since it released. I was not disappointed. The game contains the same atmosphere as the Alien films. Any fans of Metroid and Castlevania will be right at home as it is very similar in play style to them - exploring - find items - upgrading weapons - going back and unlocking areas - Big Boss battles etc...Not a massive game, I probably played through under 10 hours or so but I loved every moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great classic game, 8 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aliens: Infestation (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Squad based alien masher get to explore the Sulaco in a sideways scrolling frenzy of action! choose from 1 of 4 in your squad - shame it's not available in 3d!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aliens: Infestation (Nintendo DS)
Aliens: Infestation (Nintendo DS) by Sega (Nintendo DS)
Used & New from: £11.93
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews