Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great on Ubuntu
Arrived a few days earlier than expected with super saver delivery.

Plug and play with ubuntu, no drivers to install or anything.
I havent tested it in windows.

I shoved in a giffgaff sim and works perfectly. Would definitely recommend
Published 23 months ago by Julian

versus
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Complete Rubbish
not as advertised
Has Togo logo on it, never heard of it, works intermittently and is a complete pain wish I had never bought it
when it does try to connect it comes up up in Spanish
trys to connect says its connected but no service
an absolute pain in the ass
buy this at your peril
the company that sold this to me should not be on...
Published 14 months ago by Patchdog50


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Complete Rubbish, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Huawei Unlocked Huawei E353 High Speed 3G/4G Dongle 21.1Mbps HSPA+ Modem (Accessory)
not as advertised
Has Togo logo on it, never heard of it, works intermittently and is a complete pain wish I had never bought it
when it does try to connect it comes up up in Spanish
trys to connect says its connected but no service
an absolute pain in the ass
buy this at your peril
the company that sold this to me should not be on Amazon
says its a 3G unlocked dongle but its clearly Spanish in origin it should not be on Amazon
COMPLETELY CRAP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not what i paid for, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Huawei Unlocked Huawei E353 High Speed 3G/4G Dongle 21.1Mbps HSPA+ Modem (Accessory)
It wasn't unlocked. Need I say more? It just wasn't unlocked. Really disappointed. Not what i paid for. I'll never buy second hand again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great on Ubuntu, 20 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Huawei Unlocked Huawei E353 High Speed 3G/4G Dongle 21.1Mbps HSPA+ Modem (Accessory)
Arrived a few days earlier than expected with super saver delivery.

Plug and play with ubuntu, no drivers to install or anything.
I havent tested it in windows.

I shoved in a giffgaff sim and works perfectly. Would definitely recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good dongle but was locked to 3 network, 1 Sep 2012
By 
N. Helps - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Huawei Unlocked Huawei E353 High Speed 3G/4G Dongle 21.1Mbps HSPA+ Modem (Accessory)
First I need to say that this particular unit was still locked to the "3" network despite it being advertised as unlocked. Since it was a second hand unit and cheaper than new ones, I just decided to pay 4 euro using DC_unlocker and unlock it myself. Cheaper than returning it and buying a new one (which might also not be unlocked).

Having said the above, how does it work? Well, on XP, it will install its drivers and then you can use it on the "3" network. It is not easy under XP (or any Windows OS) to use it on another network even when it is unlocked. This is because the drivers and built-in software is locked to "3". However, for me this is no issue since my netbook has Ubuntu Linux on it. Since the built-in software does not auto-install, you don't have the same issue. Under Ubuntu 12, this device is simply plug and play since Ubuntu has built in drivers for it and the network manager application can configure the connection information you very easily in a "wizard" fashion. Hence, it is a doddle to use this on any network once unlocked. Another reason not to use Windows (Ubuntu is free as well by the way, give it a try).

The e353 has the newest chip set in it and it can achieve very fast speeds with good reception and where the latest 3G technology is available. For areas where reception is poor, the e353 also has an external antenna port that will allow for better reception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great internet dongle. Fast and reliable!, 23 May 2012
By 
This review is from: Huawei Unlocked Huawei E353 High Speed 3G/4G Dongle 21.1Mbps HSPA+ Modem (Accessory)
This internet dongle is really great. I was able to get 5 Mbps speeds from it on 3G...4G networks haven't been setup in my area yet. I was told that the speed will improve to over 7Mbps when 4G is accessible.

YouTube videos load very fast and i even tried streaming HD TV and it worked surprisingly well. Downloading 1GB file doesn't take very long and the internet is very reliable. My friend used my internet and thought i was using ADSL broadband.There aren't intermittent disconnections like I've experienced with other dongles.

I've been purchasing Huawei dongles for years now and the speed of each one increases every time. The last dongle i bough last year reach speeds of 2-3 Mbps, so i'm glad for the extra 2 Mbps speed. I would definitely recommend this dongle to casual and serious internet users. This definitely rivals speed and quality of ADSL broadband connections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Huawai E353 Dongle, 21 Dec 2011
This review is from: Huawei Unlocked Huawei E353 High Speed 3G/4G Dongle 21.1Mbps HSPA+ Modem (Accessory)
This high speed dongle will easily give speed in excess of 8mb/sec, which is good for streaming TV or films.
For downloading via mobile broadband it allows large files to downloaded vey quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worked well in the UK, stalled abroad, 24 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Huawei Unlocked Huawei E353 High Speed 3G/4G Dongle 21.1Mbps HSPA+ Modem (Accessory)
I bought this dongle for internet abroad with local SIM cards. Worked well in the UK and checked for compatibility with operators abroad. However, despite positive compatibility, connecting did not work abroad. Have not explored all the avenues to resolve this (will do at some point), but was somewhat disappointed that it stumbled.

Would be grateful to receive any pointers from other users who succeeded in connecting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not as described, 8 April 2012
By 
Paul R. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Huawei Unlocked Huawei E353 High Speed 3G/4G Dongle 21.1Mbps HSPA+ Modem (Accessory)
I bought this dongle as "unlocked" but when it arrived it was locked. Be warned! I will update this review in the light of future developments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I confirm works out of the box on Ubuntu 12.04 Linux, 1 Aug 2013
By 
P. Siddall "PeteSid" (Romsey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Huawei Unlocked Huawei E353 High Speed 3G/4G Dongle 21.1Mbps HSPA+ Modem (Accessory)
Dispatched VERY promptly and delivered as expected. Although branded with 3 logo, it accepted a Vodafone PAYG bundle SIM and successfully connects, so is unlocked.

Also contains internal slot for micro SD card, I only had a 2GB one to try, but this functions as expected.

Packaged with male to female USB cable which is handy if your USB ports are stacked one on top of the other (eg as in Raspberry Pi) as it is a little thicker than the average USB memory stick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Did not work, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Huawei Unlocked Huawei E353 High Speed 3G/4G Dongle 21.1Mbps HSPA+ Modem (Accessory)
This product did not connect to the network.
A Manx Telecom engineer was very helpful and showed me beyond doubt that it was the dongle and not the network/SIM. He told me they used to sell this model but it proved to be too unreliable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews