Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


92 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming, naive, thought provoking and poignant
These are just some of the words you can use to describe this wonderful film. Although it's now thirty years since original release it is anachronistic neither in terms of story nor special effects, and one could argue even more relevant three decades later with America's reluctance to sign the Kyoto Treaty.
For ME it has all the hallmarks of what great art SHOULD...
Published on 14 Sep 2003

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SILENT RUNNING LTD ED STEELBOOK
I have mixed feelings about this release ...

Presentation : 5/5 lovely looking steelbook - Nice booklet
Extras : 5/5 this edition is packed
Film : 3.8/5 a modest little gem

Transfer: 3/5 There are lot's of beautiful vivid scenes here, but also way more grainy scenes than I had thought there would be, sadly.

When you pay top...
Published 23 months ago by jman jr


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

92 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming, naive, thought provoking and poignant, 14 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Silent Running [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
These are just some of the words you can use to describe this wonderful film. Although it's now thirty years since original release it is anachronistic neither in terms of story nor special effects, and one could argue even more relevant three decades later with America's reluctance to sign the Kyoto Treaty.
For ME it has all the hallmarks of what great art SHOULD contain; a relevance to one's life and the abilty to challenge psychologically and philosophically on a number of levels. Indeed lasting eighty minutes and with only one speaking protagonist for eighty percent of it's duration, much is left implicit for the viewer to interpret. The plot of the film is simple. Cut forward to a time in the future when overpopulation and pollution of the environment has forced the last remaining forests to be moved into outer space on craft orbiting Saturn, until such time that earth is ready to replant. The craft are inhabited by four men, three of which exemplify the socially ordered and homogenous population back on earth, the other Freeman Lowell (played to perfection by Bruce Dern) being more cerebral and less bovine. After eight years they receive an order to destroy the forests and return the craft to commercial service. To save one of these forests Lowell has to murder the other three crewmembers and resign himself to a life of enforced exile without human company. Alone in space, save for two robots for company, Lowell has ample time to reflect on his actions in a way similar to Raskolnikov in "Crime and Punishment". It is also gives an insight into the psychology of isolation and alienation. The answer being for me that some HUMAN contact (even though the robots have more character and humanity than Lowell's previous crewmates), even of the lowest common denominator is necessary for mental 'health'. This is reflected in the sad ending. The DVD version of the film offers nothing more than the tape version other than a dodgy trailer for the film pre-release circa 1972 and language choice. As a footnote look out for an early example of brand/product placing! Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SILENT RUNNING LTD ED STEELBOOK, 20 Oct 2012
This review is from: Silent Running [Masters of Cinema] (LTD Edition Steelbook) [Blu-ray] [1971] (Blu-ray)
I have mixed feelings about this release ...

Presentation : 5/5 lovely looking steelbook - Nice booklet
Extras : 5/5 this edition is packed
Film : 3.8/5 a modest little gem

Transfer: 3/5 There are lot's of beautiful vivid scenes here, but also way more grainy scenes than I had thought there would be, sadly.

When you pay top whack for a bluey it's hard, least for me, not to be a bit critical when grain appears. Yes, it's never looked better when at it's best. It' also true that the DVD looks better for other parts of the film.

If 'Silent Running' is a favourite of yours then sure buy this edition.

If you already have the DVD - I would stick with that & buy something else that your after.

If you've never seen this flick & just want to see it, I would recommend the DVD.

It's not a terrible version, but it is a bit underwhelming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Huey, Dewey and Louie in Bluey..., 19 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silent Running [Masters of Cinema] (LTD Edition Steelbook) [Blu-ray] [1971] (Blu-ray)
"Natural" is a word that often sprang to my mind while watching Eureka's 'Silent Running' Blu-ray. This is, inherently, a rather soft film with an abundance of grain; and I'm very glad to see it's been kept that way. Grain levels do unexpectedly spike on occasion (leading to "snow storm" instances), but there's always loads of fine detail on show. Take a look at the clearly visible textures on clothing, or the complex exterior shots of the Valley Forge for just a couple of excellent examples of the increased clarity on offer here.

Colours stand out to me as the transfer's most impressive quality. Skin tones are pleasingly normal, while the lush greens and earthy browns of the forest dome genuinely pop - as does Lowell's bright blue jacket. There's no "teal and orange" controversy going on here, that's for sure.

I did notice a small amount of edge enhancement, but it only appeared in one or two scenes and was far less obvious than some of the thick white halos seen burdening other discs. There's also some shimmering here and there, but you can probably put that down to the film's source materials. On the whole, Eureka has done a commendably cinematic job with their transfer.

Also pleasing is the faithfully presented HD mono audio. Dialogue and music is clear and precise, while sound effects are satisfyingly robust. That early scene where the domes are being detached, with everything clanging, screeching and then exploding is a real wake-up-the-neighbours moment. As impressive as a remixed HD 5.1 option can be, I'm a big fan of these more old-school audio presentations.

Eureka complement the film with a decent selection of extra features, including a comprehensive making-of documentary, interviews with Bruce Dern and Douglass Trumbull (both of whom also provide a commentary), while there's even an isolated music and effects track for your auditory pleasure. Yes, there's little new material here, but it's still good value overall. In addition, the SteelBook packaging is nice and sturdy - neatly bearing the original theatrical poster art - and houses an extensively detailed 48 page booklet.

Although this is not my first Eureka Blu-ray (I may have bought the... 'Human Centipede'... ahem), I'm ashamed to admit that this is indeed my first `Masters of Cinema' purchase. But if this impressive high-definition release of Silent Running is anything to go by, then I'm sure it won't be my last. Eureka has clearly treated Trumbull's eco-friendly sci-fi cult classic with the utmost respect, meaning this release deserves your attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like marmite - you love it, you hate it, 1 Dec 2011
This review is from: Silent Running [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
This is one of my favourite films. I remember watching this with an old partner, i had waxed lyrical about it for months. At the end, i cried my eyes out as i always do and i was shocked that he was so unmoved and ambivalent. I later dumped him.

If you are not moved by the final sequence, if your heart is not racing and your eyes bawling you're not human!!

Seriously though, this is an underrated masterpiece from an inexperienced director who obviously had a great vision. It has ecological themes and is not a space shoot em up, but give it a go if you want a deep and meaningful experience.

The watering can...im welling up...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsory viewing, 3 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Silent Running [VHS] (VHS Tape)
30 years on, this movie is still powerful and poignant. The environmental message is just as important today as it was in the 70's.
You won't see aliens zooming around and firing lasers at each other, and the only explosions are disturbing images as the very last forests are destroyed forever. This is an emotional film, which goes far deeper than most SF either before or since. The story is about people, not flashy special effects, and must surely be considered a classic.
I cannot imagine any sensible viewer coming away from this movie without pausing to consider its deeper message, which is still highly relevant today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Masters of Cinema Blu-ray # 23: Silent Running, 17 Nov 2011
By 
T Everson (Shropshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Silent Running is a film that now divides people more than ever, 40 years on from its initial release. Those watching it expecting an action packed science fiction film in the vein of Star Wars will be disappointed. This is a surprisingly tender film, wrapped up in a sci-fi skin. A science-fiction film with a heart. The film was directed by Douglas Trumbull, who had been chief special effects supervisor on Kubrick's epic 2001 - A Space Odyssey, but this was his first film on his own (still at the surprisingly young age of 29). One of the first things that impresses is the standard of effects throughout. Yes, to a modern audience, and considering the extra definition afforded by Blu-ray, there's some scenes that look less than convincing, but on the whole it still holds up well. The story itself is deceptively simple: four men are the crew of the space-station Valley Forge, a vessel containing the last forests from the Earth, now a swelteringly hot planet. As they orbit Saturn, the call comes from Earth that they are to jettison and destroy the domes housing these forests. This is too much for the environmental botanist Freeman Lowell (played by Bruce Dern), and the rest of the film follows his plight to save these forests.

One of the highlights is actor Bruce Dern, who by the nature of the film ends up carrying much of it himself. He's an immensely watchable actor, and though he's not playing the most sympathetic of characters, you understand why Lowell is going to the extremes that he does. The crew are accompanied by three service drones, Huey, Louie and Dewey, and because of their unconventional size, Trumbull hired three double-amputees to play the robots. Again, with few actors in the film, the drones are characters themselves, and are one of the most memorable things about it. So, though it's slow by today's standards and won't be to everyone's taste, the acting, special effects, and more to the point, the environmental message, are spot on: this is an excellent film which deserves to be seen. Also, it's one of Mark Kermode's favourite films. Make of that what you will.

This is a Limited Edition Blu-ray only release as part of Eureka Entertainment's superb Masters of Cinema Series. Part of a deal with Universal to celebrate the studios' centenary in 2012, this has been given an fantastic release (ironically far better than that which is afforded to most of Universal's in-house releases). The picture itself is one of the best I've seen of a 70s film on Blu-ray, sharp throughout, with strong, vibrant colours. On the very odd occasion the image is almost overcome with very strong grain, but this is undoubtedly an issue with the film stock itself. There's a DTS-HD Master Audio track in English, as well as an isolated music and effects track, both of which have no problems. Special features are numerous, but it should be noted that they are all in SD. First of all, there is an audio commentary with Trumbull and actor Bruce Dern which is certainly informative, if not one of the most exciting commentaries I've ever heard. There's also a contemporary and refreshingly candid 1972 on-set documentary which lasts 50 minutes, covering all aspects of the production, such as the problems of shooting a film on an abandoned US aircraft carrier. There are also two video pieces with Trumbull, totalling well over half an hour, as well as a conversation with Bruce Dern lasting 10 minutes and an original trailer. Finally, this wouldn't be a Masters of Cinema release if there wasn't a booklet inside, and in this case we get a 48-page colour booklet full of production photos (from Trumbull himself) and memories from the cinematographer, special designs coordinator and composer.

Especially as this is a Limited release (a condition apparently imposed by Universal) anyone with an interest in 70s sci-fi, or looking for a sci-fi film with real emotion should not hesitate to pick this up, as this will undoubtedly become very difficult (and expensive) to get hold of in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Silent Running(Masters of Cinema)Ltd Ed Steelbook Blu Ray, 17 Dec 2011
By 
J. Taylor (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silent Running [Masters of Cinema] (LTD Edition Steelbook) [Blu-ray] [1971] (Blu-ray)
As a fan of this film since childhood I have long awaited a transfer of it that will finally do justice to the movie. The Masters of Cinema 'range' is a brand well worth checking out - especially for older films. They have done a marvellous job in cleaning up the image with a completely digitally restored high-definition 1080p transfer - its just a shame that the soundtrack is monaural & not in 5.1 or better surround. The effects hold up quite well considering that Blu ray can be so crisp & clean as to show up older films in this manner. Yes its not up to modern movie standards but were talking about a 40year old film here!
The set comes with a stuck on outer sleave that is mainly on the back of the case but has an overhang,over the top & comes down about 1.5cms:you will have to be very careful not to tear it when you want to get to the booklet & disc as it is held in place by a couple of blobs of some sort of sticky silicone on either front corner. The booklet has the most detailed descriptions of behind the scenes efforts to make the film on the budget it was given - the converting of a redundant battle ship to become the inside of the space ship etc etc it also has many rare pictures & some that have never been seen by the general public before.
I collect soundtracks & this particular 1 is SO hard to find I have all but given up BUT thankfully they offer an isolated music & effects option although I fear you may have to sit through the entire film again just to hear it - 1 day I will have the patience! lol The extra features are very good with a 50 minute documentary done in 1972 of the Making of + 2 video pieces with Douglas Trumball as well. Altogether a definitive offering of this classic movie - trounces over the DVD presentation - grab your Blu ray copy before they sell out & become too expensive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A timeless classic finally gets the release it deserves!, 14 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. J. Lorrimore (Leicestershire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a film I first saw in the 1970's, it had an incredible effect on me and has stayed with me for many years. I bought the DVD a few years ago but now, at last, we have the definitive Blu-Ray!
The picture quality is sublime, and while the sound is only 2.0, it has been 'dts'd so is the best available, and while the film may be 40 years old, the story still pulls at the heart strings and, I think, is Bruce Dern's best role to date.
You all know the story, but it's the extras which set this apart from any other release of the film. There is a sublime 1972 50 minute making-of documentary that is absolutely fascinating. A short interview with Bruce Dern, very recent, proves his total commitment and love of the film, and a wonderful booklet accompanies the disc, with personal photos from Douglas Trumbell's personal collection.
If you know and love this film, buy this new BR release, you will NOT be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ecological sci-fi that even this conservative can embrace, 27 Oct 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Silent Running [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
Hailed by some as one of the best science-fiction movies of the 1970s, Silent Running is a quirky, unique movie that conveys a serious ecological message in an unforgettable manner. To be honest, I had never heard of this movie before, but the premise of the film intrigued me, as did the knowledge that a prominent special effects man for 2001: A Space Odyssey, Douglas Trumbull, directed it. Almost despite itself, the movie moved me in places, and I ended up quite enjoying it, even though there are many things about it I didn't particularly like. Many would consider this a boring movie, I am sure, as there are no fierce battles fought or alien beings threatening to destroy mankind. Silent Running is a thinking man's science-fiction film that succeeds or fails on its compelling storyline alone.
The story takes place some time in earth's near future, at a time when all plant life has been destroyed on the planet in some unexplained way; America's last forest land still exists, however - millions of miles out in space on board the Valley Forge. The ship carries along several huge geodesic domes filled with trees, flowers, garden plants, etc., along with much of the animal life that goes with them. A crew of four mans the ship, with the help of a number of mechanical drones, but only one, Freeman Lowell (Bruce Dern) really cares about the forests in his care. We first meet the other three crew members racing willy-nilly around the ship in jeep like go-carts, thinking nothing of trampling a bunch of flowers or taking shortcuts through the grass. In person, they are even less likeable, making fun of Lowell's idealism and basically harrumphing on their own belief that the forests have no importance whatsoever. Lowell himself starts off on the wrong foot, in my opinion, in terms of the audience's reaction to him. The man is a wide-eyed zealot seemingly about two steps away from madness of a dangerous kind; I agreed with everything he said about the importance of the forests, but his words are somewhat lost on the listener (and the crew) because he is simply annoying in his fanaticism. His mood doesn't improve when the crew gets word that they are to destroy the forests and return home to commercial service. Freeman can't handle such a decision, so he does what he feels he must in order to save the last vestige of earth's forests still in existence.
The second half of the film revolves solely around Freeman, as he is basically stranded in space with his forest. His only companions are (originally) three drones, and in my opinion these little robotic guys steal the show. This is a 1971 film, so the drones are by no means technologically exotic, yet these things do have their own personalities; there are a couple of especially poignant moments with the drones that I would like to have seen explored on their own terms, but this would have wandered a little too far afield from the premise of the film. The ending is actually quite touching and, perhaps more importantly, it feels right to this viewer.
There is certainly a strong undercurrent of allegory working in this storyline. Freeman's fellow crew members represent society at large; their lack of concern for the forests and dismissal of any ecological cares at all are meant to be a condemnation of contemporary society's uncaring and unthinking attitude toward ecology on the planet. Freeman is an evangelical fanatic on the subject, a voice crying in a wilderness that may not survive much longer if things continue as they are; up until the very end, he does not give up hope, though, and that is the inspirational message that stays with the viewer after the movie ends. It's a rather somber and depressing movie for the most part, yet I, who would not call myself an environmentalist of any kind, was touched both emotionally and intellectually by the film. Freeman and his crewmates represent the extreme weights on both sides of the environmentalism/commercialism scale, and it is up to us, the viewers, to find a way to balance those opposing weights on our home planet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silent Running (DVD) 1972, 25 Jan 2011
By 
Derek Vernon-morris (Greater Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silent Running [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
Conservationists and scientists were concerned about Global Warming before it became embedded firmly within the social conscience and this film from 1972 is a testament to this. Bruce Dern plays Botanist Freeman Lowell, involved with an Outer Space experiment, growing organic food, flowers, and taking care of wild life in vast transparent domes attached to enormous Space Freighters. It is in the future when the Earth has become barren. When Earth control recalls them and aborts the experiment, Lowell can not bear to destroy his domes and return to an Earth devoid of surface life, and so kills his three fun loving companions who are eager to return, faking a fault on the Freighter to abort communications with earth and the companion ships.
Drifting in Space with three little square maintenence Robots on legs (Drones) Lowell forgets a vital fact-the light from the Sun is becomming too weak to support life, and he has to use artificial light. Having lost one Drone passing through the Rings of Saturn, by failing to recall it, he sentimentally names the remaining two Huey and Dewey, reprogramming them with almost human qualities.
Earth control has sent a rescue ship to meet him on the other side of Saturn, and so in a panic driving to the Dome in a kind of beach buggy, he collides with Drone 1, who is too severeley damaged to function completely. The hopeless predicament is completed hauntingly and perhaps touchingly when he jettisons the final Dome with Drone 2 to maintain it for eternity, or as long as the batteries last. The remainder of the Freighter he blows up with himself and Drone 1.
Special effects man Douglas Trumble Directs the poignant film, which also stars Cliff Potts, Ron Riffkin, and Jesse Vint, with original songs by Joan Baez.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Silent Running [Masters of Cinema] (LTD Edition Steelbook) [Blu-ray] [1971]
15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews