Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
58
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.41+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 March 2012
For a fifty-four year old man (me) it seems odd to be reviewing something so different ~ but this EP is great fun! I'm sure purists will argue detail about its category ~ but for sheer entertainment it is first class. Turn up the volume and immerse yourself.
Last week I had a tricky tutorial. Skrillex helped me prepare for a battle. Ultimately it wasn't necessary ~ but I was up for it. Inspiring and motivational. It would be on my desert-island list!
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2012
this cd has skrillex's most recent 'big' songs but the others on the cd didn't live up to the expectation of which skrillex has gathered recently. it also only has 7 songs which is quite disappointing as it feels it's over before it even starts
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2012
The long and the short of this EP is that you should expect more Scary Monsters & Nice Sprites sort of sounds. It's nothing groundbreaking, and it's nothing new for Skrillex.

Anyone who's a fan of Skrillex would have heard his Syndicate and Reptile themes released between Scary Monsters and Bangarang, and if you're like me, you were hoping that the album would have a more aggressive sound to it than Scary Monsters, a la these releases, then this isn't the EP you wanted. This album is nothing of the sort, while it's certainly got some very enjoyable - albeit shallow - songs on it, it's not what I was hoping for.

However, the EP is a thoroughly enjoyable release, and if you enjoyed Scary Monsters there's no reason you won't enjoy Bangarang. If you want something fresh, then this isn't for you.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
Heard my son playing a track from this albumn and after being told off for the umpteenth time to give it back, bought my own. Love it!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2012
This is a great EP from Skrillex which won't leave fans disappointed and is a nice introduction to his work if you are unaware of it. This EP follows the success of Scary Monsters & Nice Sprites and its follow-up; More Monsters And Sprites EP. This latest offering from the LA producer/DJ still contains his recognisable sound throughout, with the exception of a couple of songs.

"Right In" is a great opener and sets the tone of the EP quite well. The title track, "Bangarang", is a bass-filled masterpiece featuring Sirah, who appeared on his first release on the song "WEEKENDS" and also appears on "Kyoto" which features later in this EP.

"Breakn' a Sweat" is a song Skrillex worked on with The Doors as part of the ReGeneration Music Project which I think has worked as a great unexpected collaboration. "The Devil's Den" has a similar vibe to "Right In" and is definitely killer rather than filler on this record.

The only song that really feels like filler to me and doesn't quite fit the rest of Bangarang is "Right on Time" featuring 12th Planet and Skrillex's "OWSLA" buddy, Kill the Noise. It's got a faster pace than the other songs with a slower breakdown in the middle which I think on its own is pretty good but as part of this EP, it doesn't fit or match up with the rest of the tracks.

"Kyoto", as mentioned before, features Sirah and has quite heavy guitar beginning which almost is foreshadowing the heavy bass that comes later that'll get people moving on the dancefloor or at the festival.

The final song, "Summit", is a nice upbeat ending to the EP, if a little repetitive, featuring Ellie Goulding. Ellie's vocals work really well in this less sub woofer breaker more good mood creator track and yes, while it is repetitive, it does provide listeners with that happy, upbeat sound that has appeared on previous songs such as "With You Friends" and "All I Ask Of You".

All-in-all a great EP and one to keep fans going until Skrillex's next release, which is likely to be his first full-length album.

9/10
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2012
Agree with a couple of the other reviewers, but that is the way I buy most of my albums...

I hear one song, like it, so buy the album it's one.

If I find one more song I really like and another that is OK, then it was probably worth it.

This album has one great one (Bangarang) and a couple of reasonable ones.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
This a great EP (not an album so don't expect an albums worth of music) if you like Knife Pary / Pendulum you will probably like this.
Did take AGES to come though so don't order from here if youi are in a rush or have a deadline.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2012
Very good ep, only one track I skip which is track 5.
Tracks kyoto, summit and breakin a sweat are excellent.
Amazon havent bothered with a track list, there are 7 tracks for your money.

Perhaps not for you if you a dubstep snob as again this is arguably moving the sound further away from its roots and going more electro. I dont mind though as love old skool dubstep and this new style.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2012
basically i would suggest that you youtube all the songs and see if its worth spending this amount of money on 7 tracks of which only bangarang is any good....Personally i wouldnt buy it again if i had thought of thsi first lol.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2013
Too many artists are leaping onto the Dubstep bandwagon releasing mediocre songs with a blatant sense of them being rushed. Meanwhile Skrillex has set the bar for aspiring artists to target, and I cannot imagine someone succeeding in clearing it for a long time. Funnily enough, "Bangarang" is definitely not the best song on the album, comfortably surpassed by "The Devils Den". It has obviously been altered to appeal to a larger audience and appears somewhat toned down with catchiness being the main aim.
The rest of the songs are top quality apart from Summit featuring Ellie Goulding. This quite frankly shouldn't have been released, Ellie no longer is in a relationship with him anyways...
Never the less, a fat 5 stars!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)