Customer Reviews


280 Reviews
5 star:
 (208)
4 star:
 (47)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ho ho ho!
What a nice little movie this is. Arthur Christmas is very predictable but also a very enjoyable animated comedy that the whole family can enjoy. Aardman animation have now become the British version of Pixar, with Chicken Run, Wallace and Grommitt in The Curse Of The Wererabbit, the underrated Flushed Away and now Arthur Christmas, a charming tale about Santa's youngest...
Published on 15 Nov 2011 by Mr. R. W. Graham

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Impossible to teach women to read....
I wasn't really looking forward to this movie.

I mean, I saw the first trailer over a year ago, and it didn't do anything for me, and the fact that a Christmas movie is released in November, makes me think that the studio don't have big hopes for this nearer the titular period.

I'm happy to say that this is a wonderful movie for kids, and it has a...
Published 2 months ago by Mr. Corey S. Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ho ho ho!, 15 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Arthur Christmas (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [2011] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
What a nice little movie this is. Arthur Christmas is very predictable but also a very enjoyable animated comedy that the whole family can enjoy. Aardman animation have now become the British version of Pixar, with Chicken Run, Wallace and Grommitt in The Curse Of The Wererabbit, the underrated Flushed Away and now Arthur Christmas, a charming tale about Santa's youngest son, Arthur, who is determined to make sure a little girl gets her christmas present after it accidentally gets left behind at the north pole. A very good voice cast, James Mcavoy is Arhur, Jim Broadbent is Santa, Hugh Laurie is Arthur's oldest brother and next in line to take over the family business, Steve and Bill Nighy is Grandpa Santa, nearly stealing the entire movie. Animation is very good and there are lots of neat and very funny touches like Santa's elf helpers acting like a marine commando squad when delivering presents, the huge sleigh that looks like a huge spaceship which explains how Santa delivers all the presents in one night and some great and very memorable characters. This will leave you with a big silly grin despite the very predictable plot and only the hardest of hearts or a real grinch could possibly hate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 29 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I went to see this in the cinema last year and absolutely loved it! It's just a really good family Christmas film, right up my street! I can't wait to get it and stick it on in a few weeks :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars film for the family, 11 Dec 2011
I promised to take our grand children aged 7 and10 - my husband wasn't going to bother until he realised it was created by the Wallace and Gromit team! What a great family film. Humour for all ages topical,mixed with tradition: a moral to the story and lots of cracking one liners, we can't wait for the DVD to be released so that elderly relatives can view at home, and we can watch it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Christmas movies!, 4 Jun 2013
By 
Laura Hartley (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
To be honest, I thought this was going to be a pretty bad movie - the tacky 'Arthur Christmas' themed lights in Oxford Street really put me off. However, I was surprised to find that Arthur Christmas was given a rating of 92% on Rotten Tomatoes and some really praising reviews.

Arthur Christmas is a brilliant and unique take on the build up to Christmas and exactly how Santa delivers all those gifts. The story starts on Christmas Eve with Steve Santa - Santa's first son, and heir to the title of 'Santa', carrying out a mission-impossible styled operation to get billions of presents delivered on time. Of course, this is done with the help of the 'S1' - a massive space ship, and thousands of trained elves. The night is a great success and they manage to deliver every single present to every good child around the globe without being spotted. However, soon after their celebrations, an elf, Bryony, discovers an undelivered present! She immediately alerts Steve and his personal assistant of this; however, Steve, who takes a rather militant attitude towards Christmas giving, argues that one undelivered present is a minimal error and there is absolutely no way they can deliver the present with only two hours until sunrise. Arthur Christmas, Santa's younger son, overhears this and is distraught to hear that one little girl won't be getting a present from Santa this year. Arthur's grandfather proposes that Arthur and himself fly The Evie - the old Christmas sleigh - all the way to England to make sure the last present gets delivered and after a bit of nudging, nervous Arthur agrees to it. So, Grand-Santa and Athur embark on an adventure to England but things aren't plain sailing - they even have a run in with some African lions!

Every single voice in this movie is recognisable as they have used a star-studded voice-over cast including: James McAvoy as Arthur, Hugh Laurie as Steve, Jim Broadbent as Santa, Bill Nighy as Grand-Santa, Imelda Staunton as Mrs Santa, Ashley Jensen (Ugly Betty's Christina) and even glimpses of Robbie Coltrane and Eva Longoria! Each and every voice perfectly matches the personality and appearance of each character. This absolutely fantastic cast along with the heart-warming plot and brilliant animation led to Arthur Christmas being nominated for a long list of awards including Best Animated Feature Film at the Golden Globe Awards.

This is an absolutely brilliant, feel-good, Christmas movie that all families need to see! This film had me smiling fondly from beginning to end and even laughing out loud at some points because for once- the humour is actually funny. You can't help but love Arthur Christmas for his true Christmas spirit and his warm heart and the ending should leave everyone with a satisfied grin on their faces. So Christmas this year may be over, but if you want to hang on to the festivities for a couple more days then I highly recommend watching Arthur Christmas for all the family! If you're already packing away your Christmas things for this year, then buy this on DVD for next year - it's definitely worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Impossible to teach women to read...., 7 May 2014
I wasn't really looking forward to this movie.

I mean, I saw the first trailer over a year ago, and it didn't do anything for me, and the fact that a Christmas movie is released in November, makes me think that the studio don't have big hopes for this nearer the titular period.

I'm happy to say that this is a wonderful movie for kids, and it has a good story, and a few good jokes for adults.

Story is simple, out of all the 2 billion presents that are delivered this Christmas, one present goes undelivered, and only Arthur really cares about the little girl not opening anything on Christmas day.

Santa seems too, tired to do anything, and Arthurs brother Steve, just thinks statistically it's been the best Christmas on record, and isn't bothered about one girl not getting a gift.

so it's up to Arthur and the wonderful Grandfather (the films best character) to save the day before the little girl wakes up.

It's all simple stuff, but it's done with charm, and has a wonderful international voice cast.

The message is your typical sugary festive goo (don't stop the magic at Christmas) but it's fun enough and exciting enough to keep you entertained.

The 3D isn't the best, and it's not one of the best Christmas movies made, but it's hearts in the right place, and really gets you in the mood for Christmas.

Worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will not be dissapointed!, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are few movies these days that are enjoyed by myself, my partner and our 4 year old in equal measures - but Arthur Christmas is one of them!
We watched this at our local independent cinema in Dartington last year and loved it - we have waited for it to come out on DVD ever since (alwasy annnoying with Christmas movies - you have to wait until the following Christmas for the DVD release).
We have watched this twice again already and I'm sure we will again. Very modern and relevant for today's demanding audience. I wouldn't just rate this as one of the best Christmas movies, I would rate this as one of the best animated movies out there.
You will not be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jingle Bells, Jingle Bells Arthur Leads the Way..., 9 Dec 2012
If anything or anyone is to be blamed for the slow response of Arthur Christmas being a great hit in DVD, blame it on Sony. The trailers, covers, and the publicity seriously lack the élan of this great animation. Many of my friends seeing the trailers thought it will be a boring slow movie.

Arthur Christmas is a Christmas classic, one of the best animations ever, even seriously challenging Disney.
The plot is innovative, with a modern twist while keeping the tradition at heart, and the animation is super brilliant. An uplifting Christmas story with lot of heart and a lot of trust in Santa, even if you are naughty (they'll make you nice)

Vital Stats
Cast: James McAvoy, Bill Nighy, Hugh Laurie, Jim Broadbent, Imelda Staunton
Director: Sarah Smith
Region: 2, PAL
Subtitles: English, Englsih SDH, Hindi, Italian, Spanish
Audio: Catalan, Hindi, Italian, Spanish
Subtitles For The Hearing Impaired: English
Aspect Ratio: 16:9 - 1.85:1
Feature Run Time: Approx 97 minutes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will love it!, 8 Nov 2012
By 
Roberto Nike (Germany, Munchen) - See all my reviews
We cant really say anythting as we would spoil it, only thing I will tell you is that apart from the obvious idea that is promoted here, what touched me pesonaly is the union of a large team to make children happy, uncoditionaly and by all means.

This goes to my top along with Megamind and Coraline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Festive Fun!, 23 Sep 2012
By 
Chloe S "Chick Lit Chloe" (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Arthur Christmas is a special guy - he's the son of the one and only Santa Clause. However, Arthur is a bit clumsy and therefore he's been relegated to the mail room, left to reply to the wishes of children all over the world through their letters. Arthur's brother Steve has all but taken over the Christmas Eve operation, creating mega ship S1 which helps travel the world at humungous speed, and has many specialist elves to help deliver the billions of presents that Santa has to deliver every year. However, there's a glitch and Arthur discovers that one little girl's present has been forgotten. She's been missed. Arthur is determined that no child's Christmas will be ruined, and sets about recruiting the help of Grand-Santa, a long ago retired sleigh and a little Christmas hope and magic to make a little's girl Christmas wish come true. Will Arthur be able to make it happen against the odds?

The main character of the film, Arthur Christmas, who happens to be the son of Santa, is voiced by James McAvoy. I haven't ever really seen James in anything, he doesn't star in the sort of films I like to watch, but I felt he did a really good voice of voicing hopeless but loveable Arthur. He puts a lot of enthusiasm into his vocal performance, and I really enjoyed listening to him on screen, the voice seemed to suit the visual character too which is fantastic. Jim Broadbent is the voice of Santa, and a voice I'm sure that a lot of the adults watching will certainly recognise, and again, his voice perfectly suited his character. For me, the best vocal performance came from Bill Nighy, the voice of Grand-Santa, Arthur's grandad and the previous Santa. He was hilarious to listen to, and has a great voice for this character, delivering great one-liners and making the adult audience giggle alongside the children as well!

There are quite a few more star voices in the film, including Imelda Staunton as Mrs Santa, a good but unmemorable performance, Ashley Jensen as the fantastic wrapping paper expert elf Bryony, who ends up helping out Arthur, and the wonderful Hugh Laurie as my second favourite character in the film, Steve. Steve is Santa's other son, someone who wants to modernise Santa's job and of course creates the magnificent S1 ship which helps Santa and the elves on Christmas Eve. Laurie is the perfect voice for Steve, an enthusiastic but un-child friendly man who is determined to be the next Santa at whatever cost! He provided quite a bit of the comedy too, and was a great character to contrast with his Christmas-lover brother Arthur.

The animation on the film was outstanding, and it really was beautiful to watch on-screen. The scenes throughout were flawless, be they in the North Pole at Santa HQ, or Arthur's adventures around the world in trying to reunite the little girl with her forgotten gift, and the characters in particular were well animated. The facial expressions were well created, matching the voice actors performances easily, and I loved the festive-ness throughout, from Arthur's amazing Christmas jumper to the Christmassy decorations in his little letter room. The opening sequence involving the Christmas Eve delivery was brilliant, combining great animation with a fantastic soundtrack and some funny humour along the way too. I have to say there is quite a bit of humour in there for the adults that will go right over the children's heads, but I could hear the grown ups around the cinema laughing along, and it's always appreciated when film makers put something in there for the adults!

This isn't a traditional Christmas film - after all, children expect to see Santa on a sleigh with reindeer, but this Santa is aboard something that looks like the Starship Enterprise and isn't really responsible for deliverying many of the gifts at all, leaving that job to the highly trained elves (so cute!). However, it does capture that spirit of Christmas, a time when it's magical for children to wake up to Santa's gift, and the importance of a child's belief in Santa too. Arthur is the perfect character for kids watching to relate to - he loves Christmas, he loves Santa and he wants it to be magical for everyone, and I defy any grown-up watching not to love Arthur as well! I found myself loving every minute of this film, and Harry said it was fantastic and wants to watch it again next Christmas! With a funny storyline that has you laughing alongside Arthur and his amazing adventures in order to get this 1 present back to its rightful recipient, and plenty of twists and turns along the way, Arthur Christmas is a joy to watch, and will surely be one of the films you and your children will want to watch each year as the festive season comes around once more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Arthur Christmas [2011] [3D Blu-ray + UV Copy], 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arthur Christmas [2011] [3D Blu-ray + UV Copy] OPERATION SANTA CLAUS IS COMING TO TOWN!

How can Santa deliver billions of presents to the whole world in just one night? With an army of one million combat-style Field Elves and a vast state-of-the-art control centre under the ice of the North Pole! So how could this incredible operation have missed one child? To Santa’s young son Arthur, it threatens to end the magic of Christmas. With retired Grandsanta, a rebellious young elf, an old sleigh and some untrained reindeer, together with Arthur they set out on a crazy mission to deliver the last present! Deck the halls with excitement, fun and wonder in this new Christmas classic!

Voice Cast: James McAvoy, Hugh Laurie, Bill Nighy, Jim Broadbent, Imelda Staunton, Ashley Jensen, Marc Wootton, Laura Linney, Eva Longoria, Ramona Marquez, Michael Palin, Sanjeev Bhaskar, Robbie Coltrane, Joan Cusack, Rhys Darby, Jane Horrocks, Iain McKee, Andy Serkis, and Dominic West

Director: Sarah Smith

Producer: Steve Pegram

Screenplay: Sarah Smith and Peter Baynham

Composer: Harry Gregson-Williams

Cinematography: Jericca Cleland

Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 1.85:1

Audio: English: 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio, Spanish: 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio, Hindi: 5.1, Catalan: 5.1 and English Audio Description Service

Subtitles: English, English SDH, Hindi and Spanish

Running Time: 97 minutes

Region: All Regions

Number of disc: 1

Studio: Sony Pictures Home Entertainment / Aardman Animations

Andrew’s Blu-ray Review – Animation and the holidays have gone together for as long as most people can remember. And yet, the vast majority of holiday animation has been television specials, short films, and direct-to-video movies. There has been no shortage of theatrical features that centres on Christmas, but they have overwhelmingly been live-action productions. In recent years, that seems to be changing. Last decade, two expensive Robert Zemeckis motion capture films ‘The Polar Express’ and ‘A Christmas Carol’ joined the previously pitiful ranks of ‘The Nutcracker Prince’ and ‘Tim Burton's The Nightmare Before Christmas.’ But there is no doubt that ‘Arthur Christmas,’ a product of Sony Pictures Animation and Aardman Animations, fits the bill 100%.

This computer-animated family film, Aardman's first since the underperforming ‘Flushed Away’ [2006] and parting with DreamWorks, against some formidable fellow PG-rated competition in ‘The Muppets’ and ‘Hugo’ as well as ‘Happy Feet Two.’ ‘Arthur Christmas’ settled for a fourth place debut. As an Aardman movie, Arthur Christmas hailed from England and it performed better with us in the UK and certain other markets.

As its title implies, ‘Arthur Christmas’ is a fully-fledged Christmas animation film, immersed in the North Pole lore on which many modern celebrations focus. Arthur [James McAvoy] is the son of the 20th and current Santa Claus, a man named Malcolm [Jim Broadbent] who has held the position for forty years. Arthur's older brother Steve [Hugh Laurie], the efficient Mission Control supervisor who has white hair and a Christmas tree-shaped goatee, expects their father to hand over the reins this year, as their grandfather Grandsanta [Bill Nighy] did back in 1941. Even ignoring seniority, there is no question as to who will inherit the job. Arthur's enthusiasm greatly exceeds his coordination. The elves talk about his clumsy ways behind his back. And he's been assigned to answering children's letters largely to get him out of the way of more pressing matters.

The film opens on Christmas Eve and updates us on Santa's present-day delivery methods. You won't find Santa flying a sled pulled by eight reindeer anymore. Nowadays, Santa flies a massive aircraft, accompanied by dozens of elves who sneak inside houses and make necessary arrangements for the big guy with high-tech gadgetry and spy precision. All that Santa has to do is drop the right present under the tree and move on to the next chimney. The productiveness offers an explanation for the age-old question of how can one man gets to every child in the world in a single night.

Wrapping up what appears to be another successful Christmas and Santa announces his intention to not retire, before taking to his room for his desperately needed rest. But, the colourfully-sweatered Arthur discovers one present has not been delivered: a bicycle intended for a girl named Gwen, whose letter he has answered; in Trelew in the Southern part of England. Steve and Santa are ready to make peace with the oversight, accepting it as a statistically insignificant blemish on an otherwise perfectly executed holiday. But Arthur isn't about to give up. He, 136-year-old Grandsanta, and a wrapping elf named Bryony [Ashley Jensen] trot out the old-fashioned sled affectionately called Evie and eight reindeer in an effort to make the delivery before little Gwen can wake up to Christmas morning disappointment.

The three unlikely companions do not have the best sense of direction and their mission becomes a wild international adventure with wrong stops made in the Sahara desert and a town in Mexico. Back at the North Pole, Steve, the elves, and Santa scramble to make things right while dealing with a computer system meltdown and antiquated communications methods.

Aardman hasn't had the volume of output to be recognised as one of animation's big animation producers, but creatively they have been quite extraordinary, as their perfect streak of overwhelming critical approval confirms. Their first eligible effort [Wallace & Gromit: The Curse of the Were-Rabbit] won the Best Animated Feature Oscar (an honour interestingly announced three months after ‘Chicken Run’ started winning over critics and moviegoers). With just four of their pictures qualified, Aardman has as many wins in the category as Studio Ghibli and DreamWorks' ridiculously productive in-house division. True, Wallace's win came during PIXAR's last literally off year. But it was no fluke. The reason why we went five years without an Aardman animation film was because this studio takes great pride in its work. They have each been technically artful, scripturally substantive, and very funny.

‘Arthur Christmas’ keeps the studio away from its painstaking signature stop-motion, but still manages to deliver in all the important ways. The film is extremely inspired visually and plenty taut in its structure. Neither of those facts would matter much if it wasn't anchored in appealing humour, genuine heart, and winning personalities (which, it is). Like PIXAR on their usual game, Aardman makes it look so easy. Obviously, both studios pour considerable time, thought, and talent into their movies. Other animation houses don't have as much of that to go around or simply don't push themselves to excel. There's plenty of money to be made in "good enough" family entertainment, even when using that definition loosely. But that mentality clearly doesn't fly very often at Pixar or Aardman.

While ‘Arthur Christmas’ dazzled me consistently as Aardman's other features, and it is nonetheless a film full of joy, good ideas, and respect for its viewers. Santa and the North Pole are well-tread terrain that gives you a great deal of creative leeway. But director Sarah Smith and her co-writer Peter Baynham, both veterans of live-action British television comedy, seize opportunities to make this interpretation stand out. Santa himself does the least of any leading character, allowing the rarely regarded notion of the position's lineage to entertain us with distinctive past and potential occupants. There is little question of how things will turn out and no doubt about where our sympathies are to lie. These thoughts rarely cross our minds, though, as breath-taking digital canvases, amusing action sequences, and smart jokes keep us engaged and smiling.

Like virtually all of today's big budget feature animations, ‘Arthur Christmas’ was made and theatrically exhibited in 3D, a fact that might very well have had a negative impact on its ticket sales. Though not reliant on in-your-face gimmickry, the film's sets and flying subjects do lend themselves to certain depth effects, no matter how trivial. That is something to consider as you decide which of the film's two physical media editions is right for you: the single-disc Blu-ray 3D, which you can either view in 3D or 2D images. Like most of Sony's newest releases, all Blu-ray discs come equipped with UltraViolet copy, an increasingly studio-preferred alternative to digital copy files for device streaming and computer download.

Blu-ray Video Quality – ‘Arthur Christmas’ features a solid spectacular Blu-ray 3D image. The picture offers amazing good general depth and will truly leave viewers breathless with the scope of the 3D picture element. To be sure, that added depth benefits all of the big, sprawling S-1 interiors that will have you spouting "holy smokes" sort of eye-popping moment. The depth is totally brilliant, and portrays the ship's massive interior, that is totally eye popping insight for the viewer. The 3D effect works best in several scenes depicting the crowds of the thousands of elves. In such shots, the sense of space between them, even as they are bunched together and is very clear, and each one down the line from front to back takes on a very real, tangible shape. A few elements are also nice and shapely, such as the mailbox in which Gwen drops her letter to Santa at film's open. Otherwise, the 3D visuals are totally awesome and especially with the elves dropping down from the S-1 on a gift-giving mission look as if they're about to burst through the screen. On the other hand, the general picture images attributes also sparkle. The image carries over the same fantastic colour from the 2D on the Blu-ray disc, and there's no obvious drop in vibrancy from 2D to 3D. Details remain really sharp and very well defined, too. This is a fantastic awesome 3D image, and will have you saying, “WOW! What an amazing 3D image” and of course you have the choice of whether you want to watch it in either 3D or 2D, but my money is on the 3D version, as it really hits the nail on the head!

Blu-ray Audio Quality – ‘Arthur Christmas’ features a 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio soundtrack that's up to the challenge of complimenting the film's rich visuals. The track excels in presenting everything with just the right sense of harmony and balance, creating a realistic atmosphere in every location. Whether the sense of cavernous space and the various beeps and bloops aboard the S-1 or the sounds of the sea, the African desert, or the barely audible early morning small town England effects, Sony's track offers a precision listening experience that shapes every single environmental dynamic with the utmost accuracy. There's a nice sense of power and heftiness to the S-1 in exterior scenes, and some of the more action-oriented sound effects play very well, with natural spacing, great clarity, and faultless balance. Music, likewise, features the same characteristics, playing with natural spacing and fine clarity. Dialogue is crisp and faultlessly delivered, even finding just the right amount of space whether in intimate scenes or wider shots featuring the spoken word gently echoing through larger locales. This is a first-rate soundtrack that should please listeners of all ages.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

The Christmas Family Tree [10:10] Covers the film's characters with more crew and voice cast comments.

Santa’s Soldiers [9:07] Applies the same treatment to the elves.

Un-wrapping Arthur Christmas [13:26] Is a standard promotional making-of documentary, relying heavily on film clips, recording studio-film split screens, and crew and voice cast members describing the film as if you haven't already seen it. It's better than nothing, but it's a lot less substantial than a companion to an Aardman film should be.

Behind-The-Scenes of “Santa Claus Is Comin’ To Town” [1:40] A behind the scenes short and lets Bieber discuss the video obnoxiously and this is a totally miss, otherwise you will throw up.

“Santa Claus Is Comin’ To Town” by Justin Beiber [2:33] A Music Video for Justin Bieber's prominently advertised end credits cover of "Santa Claus Is Comin' to Town" finds obnoxious Justin Bieber singing in a toy factory and exposing a busy vest. Whatever possessed Sony Pictures to ever contemplate having this person included in this Blu-ray?

Progression Reels [13:51] Deconstruct scenes and the film as a whole with unidentified audio commentators speaking over views of sets, characters, and shots in different stages of completion.

Elf Recruitment Video [1:03] Merely promotes the film with clips and graphics. The film's more ordinary trailers, including a teaser featuring unique animation of Arthur addressing viewers, are unconscionably absent here.

UV Digital Copy

Finally, ‘Arthur Christmas’ takes a stab at answering all of the usual Santa Claus questions, does Santa Claus exist, how does he deliver presents in record time, how does he keep it all organised, how many elves are there, what does he do when he retires, who takes over for him after all the years and approaches them all with resounding joy, visual delights, and heartfelt honesty. This is easily one of the best Christmas animation films of the decade, if not the very best, and certainly at the top amongst films of this magnitude, of such high quality animation and voice work. Aardman Animations goes straight to your heart, because there's a simple joy and pure honesty to ‘Arthur Christmas’ that's totally unique to the animation film and also the embodiment of holiday cheer. Sony's 2D Blu-ray presentation of ‘Arthur Christmas’ delivers also a dazzling video image as well as amazing audio. Plus also some amazing supplements to keep you happy for hours. So all in all this is a must-own Christmas holiday package, that only Aardman Animations can produce. Sadly I never got to view it in the cinema, especially in 3D, but I am so glad I waited for this brilliant 3D animation, as it really was well worth waiting for and has now gone pride of place in my ever increasing Aardman Animations Blu-ray Collection. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Untimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Arthur Christmas (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [2011] [Region Free]
6.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews