Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Film and Great Script
I had to post this review mainly in response to the only one that gave the film 2 stars.

This is a travesty of a score and with the basis of it seeming to come from one who is much more at home with action movies or cheap comedies.

The film is fantastic with great acting from Pitt and Hill who give very strong performances, Hill's actually fairly...
Published on 17 Dec 2011 by Mr. H. A. J. Fountain

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for baseball fans, not as good as The Undefeated.
This is an enjoyable film to watch and Brad Pitt (for once) puts in a decent performance. However, it will probably appeal mainly to baseball fans who are familiar with the sport's jargon.

The main focus is on Pitt's character, which means that we find out very little about the team members and coaching staff. I also felt that the film for most of its duration...
Published 16 months ago by S. Desmond


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Film and Great Script, 17 Dec 2011
This review is from: Moneyball [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I had to post this review mainly in response to the only one that gave the film 2 stars.

This is a travesty of a score and with the basis of it seeming to come from one who is much more at home with action movies or cheap comedies.

The film is fantastic with great acting from Pitt and Hill who give very strong performances, Hill's actually fairly surprising as he usually does Kevin Smith style comedies. The script is great and draws a great deal of laughs.

Whilst being a film based on sport there isn't a great deal of sports knowledge required as this is more a film of overcoming adversity and any sequences on the pitch are very short. To get a real idea of this film check out Roger Ebert's review by just searching Roger Ebert review Moneyball in google.

This is a film to see from the script writers of Shindlers List and the Social Network. It is funny, engaging, interesting and heartwarming. You do grow to love several of the characters and become invested in them. One of the films of 2011
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 19 May 2012
By 
Chris Pearson - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moneyball [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This film is a sleeper in the UK because most people will write it off as a 'stock' US baseball movie.

That it ain't.

If you want fine acting ( Pitt and Hill), a great script ( Sorkin) and a true story about how one individual challenged the status-quo/flat-earthers and in so doing took his team from under-dogs to game-changers, then you will find it here.

An outstanding find and quality film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is what losing sounds like...., 22 Mar 2014
In 2001, General Manager Billy Beane's Oakland A's lose to the Yankees in the playoffs then lose three stars to free agency.

To the consternation of his scouts, Beane hires and listens to Peter Brand, a recent Yale grad who evaluates players using Bill James' statistical approach.

Beane assembles a team of no names who, on paper, can get on base and score runs.

Then, Beane's manager, Art Howe, won't use the players as Beane wants.

Can Beane circumvent Howe, win games, and make it to the 2002 Series..

I'm English, so I have no concept or interest in the game of baseball, I played rounders at school and it was the closest thing we had.

So I had no idea what I was expecting, just wanted to see the movie because of the plaudits it has received, and the blindingly intriguing notion of Hill putting in an Oscar nominated performance.

And while some of the films references and Baseball speak goes over my head, the feeling of emotion that emulates from PItt and Hill is very much there, and makes the film what it is, a marvellous portrayal of two men who start from scratch and against the odds, make it.

Now it sounds like any other struggling sports movie, but thanks to some very funny moments, and Pitt and Hills chemistry, it puts it yo there as one of the best sports dramas ever made.

The film reaches it's peak when little gestures of the hands by the two stars when closing a deal gives the audience goose bumps. Simple things like this make the film more interesting, despite the heavy subject matter.

It's a film that can be viewed several times on many levels. An education into the world of Baseball and how money rules the game, an underdog feel good film, or just an excuse to see Pitt and Hill give their best performances.

It's not for everyone, it does become really slow at times, but the script more than makes up for the pace.

But it's truly a memorable film, made better with performances and some stunning set pieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Right on the button, 27 May 2013
By 
Poppy Quartermaine (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moneyball [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
So good a movie that, having first seen it via LoveFilm rental, I bought my own copy to watch at leisure.
An essential management tool for any business and, it's based on a real happening(s).
Brad Pitt did himself proud with this one and too, his viewers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MONEYBALL, 6 Oct 2013
By 
Jet Lagged (From the above image, obviously somewhere that does dodgy haircuts.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moneyball [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This is the film of the Michael Lewis book of the same name. It deals with the real life story of Billy Beane.

Though I have no interest in baseball (I have only a hazy idea of the rules) that is not the case with this film.

I also bought the CD version of the book, narrated by Lewis himself, and found it fascinating.

Billy Beane is a guy who many would say got a raw deal in life. After showing so much promise as a junior, it all went pear-shaped. Later in life he adopts an entirely new mathematical system for picking out promising baseball players. The system, born out of sheer financial necessity, is a new metric for spotting potential talent.

This film does not have any car chases or shoot outs. It ain't that kind of film.

It's just a very interesting and thought provoking film. That's why Michael Lewis wrote the book. That's why Brad Pitt choose to do the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth ninety minutes of your time, 25 Jan 2014
By 
J. Potter "johniebg" (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Moneyball [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Billy Beane is a failed baseball star. When handed his cards for the last time he asks instead to be hired as scout. He works his way up the system and faced with multiple play-off failures as a General Manager, decides to maximise his limited budget by approaching player evaluation from a completely new angle.

Brad Pitt is excellent in this. I haven't read the book, nor am I familiar with MLB - not that it matters. He pulls off an excellent characterisation with very good support from Jonah Hill (Wolf of Wall Street) who seems to be making a career out of supporting a-list stars. This is a character study of invention above all and the challenge of changing institutionalised mindsets. It never puts a foot wrong and is well worth ninety minutes of your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In you face baseball, 29 Jan 2012
By 
Fuinnimh (Kalamazoo, Michigan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Moneyball [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I am not a follower of baseball, although I followed last seasons home town events with interest with the Giants, even watching the final of the World Series for the first time. Despite my rudimentary knowledge of the game, I thoroughly enjoyed this movie.

Moneyball tells of how Billy Beane, the Oakland A's general manager played by Brad Pitt, faced with limited resources, and losing some of his star players to the Yankees hires a Yale economics graduate and statistician played by Jonah Hill, and devises a system for buying undervalued players to replace the likes of Giambi, by looking at players in new ways.

It's a calculated risk that flies in the face of conventional wisdom, and met with much resistance on the field, within the club, and from the media. Suffice to say that previous methods of picking though amusing were highly dubious.

"He has an ugly girlfriend."

"What does that mean?"

"Ugly girlfriend means he has no confidence."

Memorable movie lines:

"The problem we're trying to solve is that there are rich teams, and there are poor teams. Then there's 50 feet of crap. And then there's us. It's an unfair game."

"I hate losing. I hate losing more than I love winning."

The screenplay was written by Aaron Sorkin who created West Wing and won the Best Screenplay Oscar for The Social Network, and slides comfortably home with this effort.

Philip Seymour Hoffman plays the unhappy team coach with whom Beane bumps heads. Robin Wright Penn plays his ex wife, now with a new man who does not follow baseball.

The character of Beane as depicted by Pitt seems somewhat oddball, so one wonders if Beane is really this odd, or if the screenwriter is imposing his own don't explain philosophy on the character. Brad loves to play with the eccentricites of his characters, whether it's outright craziness as in Twelve Monkeys or a thick accent as in Snatch. This really makes the movie, as Brad gives one of his best performances.

Even though I don't follow baseball, I do love a great story, and I can relate as a soccer follower, because we share a passion for a game, and can understand the frustration of supporting a team that has to make sacrifices of favorite players, and has less money than the big teams to compete for the same trophies.

So, if you're like me and don't usually follow baseball, I think you will like the movie because it's a good story, and you will love the quirkiness of the characters and their relationships. In the movie Beane has to make a very big decision, so there was an emotional bit where Beane is in the car by himself at the end, which I liked. I loved the relationhip with his daughter, and the overall shenanigans as he bumps heads with the other characters. I think Brad Pitt will probably gt an Oscar nomination for his prformance.

If you do follow baseball, you will probably enjoy it even more than I did. Moneyball gained six Oscar nominations including Best Picture, Best Adapted Screenplay, and Best Actor for Brad Pitt, and Best Supporting Actor for Jonah Hill.

I think you will enjoy it, and I hope this was helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Film!, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moneyball (Amazon Instant Video)
A film about baseball statistics? How boring will that be? Well it turned out to be brilliant! "Moneyball" combines the traditional Hollywood storyline about turning a bunch of losers into winners with themes of embracing new ways of thinking, overcoming prejudiced opposition, standing up for what you believe, and giving people a chance. Brad Pitt, Jonah Hill and the much missed Phillip Seymour Hoffman are all excellent. Doesn't matter if you don't understand baseball, it's a great film for any sports lover..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars darn good basball story. a keeper., 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moneyball [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Saw for the first time and it became one of our favorites. Watched it 2wice in a week.
Good casting good everything. I can not speak technically and that wouldn't matter to us at all. The story and the acting worked. Love baseball anyway so of course this worked for us. Surprised we never knew about this story before now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Under the radar, 29 May 2014
By 
dalco (Cirencester U.K.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moneyball [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
A nice film. It probably won't make much sense to the UK public at large but is well acted and nicely paced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Moneyball [DVD] [2011]
Moneyball [DVD] [2011] by Bennett Miller (DVD - 2012)
11.66
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews