Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars THAT'S WHAT SHE SAID
Jesse Eisenberg plays a savvy pizza delivery boy whose driving ability makes the "Fast and Furious" crowd look like pregnant snails dragging a brick. His roommate is Aziz Ansari, who recently got a job as a full time teacher...with a laser pointer.

The subplot involves Dwayne (Danny McBride) and Travis (Nick Swardson) adult versions of Beavis and Butthead who...
Published 12 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 83 minutes of laughs
30 Minutes or Less is the titular promise of the pizza place that average-achiever Nick (Eisenberg - The Social Network) works for. When Dwayne & Travis (McBride & Swardson - Eastbound and Down & Happy Madison films) decide to hire someone to kill Dwayne's overbearing father who is frittering away his lottery winnings and as Dwayne sees it - his inheritance. Needing to...
Published on 14 Nov 2011 by J. Morris


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 83 minutes of laughs, 14 Nov 2011
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
30 Minutes or Less is the titular promise of the pizza place that average-achiever Nick (Eisenberg - The Social Network) works for. When Dwayne & Travis (McBride & Swardson - Eastbound and Down & Happy Madison films) decide to hire someone to kill Dwayne's overbearing father who is frittering away his lottery winnings and as Dwayne sees it - his inheritance. Needing to raise cash for the venture, they decide to force someone to rob a bank for them - by strapping a bomb to the victim and threatening to blow it up unless they comply.

Nick is left with little choice other than to go through with the plan, assisted by his long-time best friend Chet (Aziz Ansari - Observe And Report) who despite his initial reluctance, gets fully into the act. Will the guys manage to raise & deliver the cash before Dwayne & Travis' ineptitude blows the bomb?

Well, anyone would have thought this theme might have been a little insensitive as very similar events to these actually happened to a pizza-guy - but controversy aside - this is director Ruben Fleischer & Jesse Eisenberg's second outing together; the first being the hugely successful Zombieland.

What follows is actually not half-bad; Ansari's highly-strung character provides a lot of the laughs as Eisenberg comes across as a neurotic (probably due to the fact the character is wearing a bomb-vest) but it's his usual rendition of an anaemic-snivelling-loser. McBride & Swardson provide a lot of humour as the bungling day-dreaming duo, again it's not outside of anyone's comfort zone and all of these lot run the risk of being heavily type-cast. Michael Peña (Everything Must Go) makes an appearance as the hapless hitman. Nonetheless this provides slap-stick after one-liner for nearly an hour and a half straight, which is something that should be valued. Sure, it's brainless - but it's a lot of fun along the way.

Extra Content: There is the usual suite of deleted scenes & out-takes, a 'making-of' featurette called "Blowing up with the cast & crew" - The BR comes with more exclusive content; a picture-in-picture running-commentary with the main characters, another featurette & an exclusive 30 Minutes or Less PS3 wallpaper/theme thingy.

All in all, it's a bit slapstick, you'll laugh, but not for any length of time; fortunately the jokes don't let up and I came away smiling. Worth a watch!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mildly amusing ISNT comedy, 15 May 2013
By 
W. A. Armstrong "W.Armstrong" (North East England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Before buying this movie I read several reviews to help me decide wether or not to buy it and after I bought and watched it, I read the same reviews again. I can see why some people have marked it higher than the two stars I gave it and I can see why people gave it less. The problem is, I was expecting a laugh-out-loud comedy and I was left totally disappointed .
On the plus side , the acting is very good throughout the movie and even the minor characters are believable, the pacing is good and the interaction between the actors is realistic and mildly amusing, but mildly amusing isn't 'laugh out loud funny'. The problem with the movie is the script , which simply isnt funny.
By definition, the essential part of any comedy should be the humor , either by a humorous situation in which the characters find them selves or the comic timing and delivery of the dialog by the actors - unfortunately this movie has none of these.
Like a lot of people, I only tend to leave reviews if I'm blown away by the quality of a movie or totally disappointed, this is the latter. Whilst I wouldn't discourage anyone from watching it, I would definitely discourage anyone from buying it. Download it, borrow it -DONT waste your money on it. I very much doubt you will ever watch it more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Was this meant to be a comedy?, 28 Feb 2012
I seem to recall seeing the trailer for this and thinking it looked kind of funny. Jesse Eisenberg plays his typically geeky and hard done by character once again; this time he's a pizza delivery boy who gets tricked into robbing a bank by two local idiots who somehow know how to strap a bomb-vest around him and give him ten hours to get them one hundred thousand dollars.

I quite liked the idea, but the story didn't seem to know what it was or where it was going. I think the main problem I had with it was the script. In the absence of anything either funny or clever to say, the writers went for volume. There was barely a line delivered at a normal pitch. People just yelled at each other to make up for the fact that no witty dialogue was available at the time.

I guess if you look at this film as more of a tongue-in-cheek thriller, you may get something out of it. However, it's not serious enough to be a thriller and it's definitely not funny enough to be a comedy. Drama maybe? I can hardly see it cropping up on many Academy Award nomination lists.

I did laugh once - about midway through the film and thanks to some unexpected blue stuff.

I guess Jesse's laughs are being stored for Zombieland 2 or something.

Disappointing. It was a nice idea that had no idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't really deliver...., 7 May 2014
This review is from: 30 Minutes or Less [Blu-ray] [2011] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I wasn't a fan of Zombieland, I thought it was one of the most overrated movies of 2009, but I like the cast and I thought the plot of the story was promising.

The basic premise is, Danny McBride is playing the same character like he does in every other thing he's in (not a bad thing) but the twist is that Fred Ward is his dad.

Danny needs $100,000 to hire a hit-man to kill his dad, so he straps a bomb to Jesse Eisenbergs chest and tells him he must rob a bank in the next ten hours or go Ka-Boooom! Sounds really good, and has the chance to be one of the funniest films of the year.

it really isn't, it's rarely funny, and despite the film being only 90 minutes long, it drags.

It's not the casts fault they are all really good. It's just that the script writers expect the audience to laugh at the same jokes we were laughing at nearly ten years ago, but with added swearing.

It tries to be original, and just when it's in danger of getting good, the film depends on innuendo and profanity, which i'm all for, but it gets a little too much in this.

It's a great premise, with some good performance, but the script lets it down.

great Tanning salon commercial though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's a blast !!, 15 Mar 2014
This review is from: 30 Minutes or Less [Blu-ray] [2011] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I bought this crazy film after seeing the trailer and reading the reviews but after watching it I can't understand why people have scored this film so low it has plenty of humour and a crazy story, I know a couple of the characters are a bit poor but the main character (Jesse Eisenberg) is on his usual funny carefree form, the story is great and it made me laugh. Well worth watching and deserves better reviews than it has been given.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THAT'S WHAT SHE SAID, 29 Aug 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Jesse Eisenberg plays a savvy pizza delivery boy whose driving ability makes the "Fast and Furious" crowd look like pregnant snails dragging a brick. His roommate is Aziz Ansari, who recently got a job as a full time teacher...with a laser pointer.

The subplot involves Dwayne (Danny McBride) and Travis (Nick Swardson) adult versions of Beavis and Butthead who lack jobs, perhaps the real stars of this film.

Eisenberg is involved in an early conversation about "Facebook" something he claims he doesn't do anymore, a reference to a previous film.

The plot starts out complex and inane. Dwayne's dad (Fred Ward) has money which Dwayne believes he will inherit. A stripper(Bianca Kajlich) knows a hit man and suggests to him during a lap dance that he bump off his dad. The rub is that the hit man needs $100,000 first. So the duo decide to get the cash from a bank robbery which they will make someone else perform...such as our pizza boy. And of course nothing goes as planned as everything takes multiple comical twists.

The movie had numerous LOL funny lines...."Just like the Marines. If you screw up, we leave your ... behind!" The stupidity of the bad guys is what makes this film funny. Eisenberg's character was a bit lame and needed some comic help.

Solid 4 1/2 STARS.

F-bomb, crude humor, adult situations, nudity (Bianca Kajlich).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Randomly Funny, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 30 Minutes or Less [Blu-ray] [2011] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This was just an all round entertaining film to watch. Comedy and take mick action and crime. What more do you want for a chill out film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 30 minutes or less, 5 Feb 2013
This review is from: 30 Minutes or Less [Blu-ray] [2011] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The movie was extremely funny but it was very foul. It was a bit to dramatic but it was definitely for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars funny, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really funny film. Highly recommend people to watch this film. Quite a few familiar faces too. Great film, fast delivery, good condition, well packaged and a definite 5 star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, 26 Nov 2012
Loved this film, I'm surprised at some of the bad reviews. It's a fun action film with lots if twists to keep you entertained. This genre is really not my thing but I thought it was brilliant; take a chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

30 Minutes or Less [Blu-ray] [2011] [Region Free]
30 Minutes or Less [Blu-ray] [2011] [Region Free] by Ruben Fleischer (Blu-ray - 2012)
4.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews