Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give it a try - it's a hidden gem!
Forget about cult status claims (so many so-called 'cult' movies are rubbish)..

Don't worry about it being set in the "small isolated town with the space monster" theme..

This movie is SO MUCH better than others I've seen that have been raved over - others have obvious plot devices, poor scripting and me shouting at the TV that "They wouldn't do...
Published 22 months ago by Barry Ayton

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars They're gonna reach out and grab ya!
Grabbers is not too shabby an addition to the creature-feature genre; not brilliant but not bad either.

Erin Island off the coast of Eire is a sleepy wind-swept idyll populated by villagers enjoying a simple, quiet life. That is until the dreaded meteor from another planet descends from the stratosphere to land in the sea unleashing something decidedly malign...
Published 17 months ago by Mr. J. Ryden


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grabber yourself an excellent little movie!, 16 Mar 2013
By 
M. BEGGS "x b e g g s y x" (Derry, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grabbers [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I knew absolutely nothing about this movie for starters. My mate (one of those real hardcore movie buffs lol) strongly recommended it to me. And I would know my movies pretty well lol. What a surprise I got! Great characters and surprisingly good CGI!
Some real proper funny bits aswell thoroughly enjoyed. One of my favorite parts involves "a nail gun.. and a board.. with a nail through it" :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grabbers [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
This is a such a entertaining film that you would recommend to everyone. It's fun, scary and romantic all at the same time, and just different from your average film. Would warmly recommend for an easy, fun and chilled out night in. Best watched in the rainy weather!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..A TRUE MONSTER GEM..", 3 Mar 2013
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Grabbers is a very entertaining monster movie it has a blend of tremors and gremlins and other movies but really is an original story, it plays out really well with a great cast, a bit of humour and really good CGI effects, this is quite a gem of a film and really must be seen, worth every penny, great bluray quality too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It will grab you, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This low budget science fiction gem truly deserves to be part of any self-proclaimed cinephile's collection.

It contains all the right genre elements, each heightened enough, to offer you a solid, engaging and hilarious experience. Not only does it draw inspiration from classics like Gremlins and Aliens, it also taps into the cozy intoxicating atmosphere of the Irish pub culture, which seems like a weird mix and match to do, but it works perfectly here.

Even the digital effects look great, which is high praise coming from a practical effects snob. The editing is well-paced, the acting is great (though it becomes too hammy when the characters get drunk) and the cinematography is pure eye candy, although that might also have something to do with Ruth Bradley's charming appearance.

If you are a fan of a diverting, get-in-get-out flick that knows how to keep its comedy and sci fi-horror elements balanced, I wholeheartedly recommend you watch this film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For all you horror fans out there, no matter where or how rare, here's a reason to go Grab-happy., 2 May 2014
This review is from: Grabbers [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Jon Wright about turns from his first film, the actually surprisingly good supernatural/slasher Brit blender 'Tormented' from 2009, but employs the same freshness as he deliberately and lovingly mines a new movie which is several parts 'Jaws', 'Gremlins', 'Tremors' and the much derided 'Deep Rising'. The result is 'Grabbers', a booze-soaked Irish-British bit of charmingly foul-mouthed island-based horror-comedy, which, while it seems to rely more on the laughs in the 'Eight Legged Freaks' way over the flat-out scare and yuck factor method, still retains quite enough awe-striking superior CGI, deft camera angles, slimy prosthetics and skin penetrations to flinch at and get excited. 1988's 'The Blob' and older black and white features come to mind as the film opens with a meteorite striking the sea off Erin Island, a tiny coastal inlet. Within minutes (none of this infinite 'Rosemary's Baby'/Don't Look Now'/'Alien' hanging about) the monster is unleashed, and, as did 'Tremors' long before it, it in no way harms the film at all, which pulls back immediately to introduce the main characters, morose boozy cop Richard Coyle, lovely but nervy sidekick Ruth Bradely, village drunken fool (who actually isn't one in a smart stock-playing upturn) Lalor Roddy, and grin-inducing deliberate posh scientist-boffin Russel Tovey. David Pearse (from Irish charmer comedy 'Happy Ever Afters') and the usually hilarious and scary Bronagh Gallagher ( a veteran of a most surprising a blend of films ranging from 'Faintheart' and 'Divorcing Jack' to 'Pulp Fiction' and 'Star Wars Episode 1: The Phantom Menace', whilst also being a singer-songwriter and drummer too, heading up an Irish ensemble cast. Coyle and Tovey are the only Englishmen cast, but Coyle himself sports an impressive Irish lilt, leaving Tovey the sole Brit representative accent wise.

While not on the impressively large scale that US monster movies (whenever they're done) can afford to be, this one's modest ambitions are more than met and rather accurately realised. Characters you care about, a recognisably quaint yet bloshy village life, and no one doing essentially stupid things, all with a monster you can't not love aswell. Her locomotion is impressive as is her appearance, and whilst there are many scenes almost flat-out referencing 'Jaws' and 'Jaws 2' with visual shots (remember many things done in the sequel were not present in the first, for those eager to dismiss it for no other reason than it's a sequel), 'Gremlins' (especially with the bar scene where the gra-babies destroying everything they can, including one swinging round on a ceiling fanlight) and the utter blatancy of 'Tremors'-citing-everything from map-referencing where bodies have been offed leading to a central destination where the characters are actually standing to the actual naming the creature in this as a Grabber-anyone can recollect Grabboids was the name selected for those 1989 giant underground worms. it still works as its own movie, and that has as much to do with the utter scarcity of real horror movies around now, which is not to say that anything goes in desperation.

After all, how many horrors has Ireland actually given us? And considering it seems to be all about what ISN'T a horror today which maddeningly and crazily seems to MAKE a horror for people today (yeah, if you don't get it, you can't expect me to, but anyone, don't expect a cheque to explain, I'm starved not stupid), any monster movie that dares come along even half as good as this is worthy of attention just for not being shot like a kid's just picked up a toy camera, proclaiming asbo brats are the violence of the future, and didn't pretend the whole sequence was a dream caused by the two main players having a car crash and dreaming it while they waited to die. No cannibals either. I know, doesn't sound like much does it by today's malformed standards, but consider the few jewels of fresh hilarity that secures it's place among such prior named royalty, i.e the fact that villagers in a constant state of heavy inebriation repel a monstrous palate so delicately put off by the sheer toxicity, and that drunkenness for the very non-idiotic "village idiot" seems to be more a haze-clearing tonic, which enables him to survive face-offs. The blood-drinking in lieu of flesh-munching seems to point at 'Deep Rising' certainly, as does the creature's very pretty rotating gob, but is actually based on the very real vampire squid that actually lives in the sea of this world, of course many times smaller and different to look at.

To compliment this funky film's delight factor, there's a generous amount of extras, including a interview from annoying FrightFest horror 'critic' Alan Jones with Wright, a strong featurette covering all the vital ingredients, an outtake section, a cute photo gallery and a commentary featuring many involved. And while the film is funny enough for what it needs to be, the fact it actually germinated from an idea the writer Kevin Lehane had from being told eating copious amounts of Marmite repels mosquitoes due to its Vitamin B make-up is proof good ideas come from the strangest places. So snatch a Grab or Grab a snatch, whichever way you prefer it, Marmite optional, and about the only way I'd ever want it used in a review, as I don't love/hate it, I just H-a-t-e it. The love/hate cliche, that is, not Marmite. I also hate who make Marmite, but I don't hate Marmite itself. You shouldn't hate anything with Vitamin B12, that's silly, it's good for you. And so's 'Grabbers' at under a fiver, and with the way inflation's gone spacewards these days, it'll soon be cheaper than Marmite too. And it'll still make you feel good, but without the B12. That's Marmite!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful, don't bother, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Worse than a bad Doctor Who episode, I reckon the cast had more fun making this than I had watching it.
Probably ok as a pass round to be watched with maytees, when you're all pissed. Unfortunately, I made the mistake of watching it when I was sober.
I kept hoping the creature might eat them all but sadly not......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars YOU'RE NOT PUTTING IT IN E-BAY, 13 Dec 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Grabbers [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
An alien life form lands at the quiet island of Erin. O'Shea is the Garda in charge (Richard Coyle). He has three states: Drunk, passed out, and hung over. He is assisted by island newcomer Lisa (Ruth Bradley) our voice of reason and the closest thing to eye candy in the film. The creature grows and multiplies. We discover it needs only two things to live: blood and water. However, it doesn't like blood with a very high alcohol content, so the best way to protect yourself when fighting the creature is...you guessed it.

In spite of people getting killed and the head rolls, this is not a horror film. It is more of a horror spoof. A fun romp for people who don't their films too seriously.

Parental Guide: Irish f-bombs. No sex or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grabbers........grabit., 15 July 2013
By 
Licensed Taximan (London, city of contrast) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fun fantasy horror film with good CGI effects, and given its lowish budget was surprisingly high quality. Great for a fun night in with some little scares to go with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun and interesting, 12 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grabbers [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
We enjoyed this more than we expected to. The characters were interesting and likeable and the monsters were fun and well made. We'll be watching it again whenever we want a bit of enjoyable escapism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Drunks for the win., 23 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. C. Caven "Conan" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grabbers [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I have just finished watching this movie. I rented it via lovefilm and its a fun movie to watch with a few beers. Good writing and great special effects, i even like the characters, very likeable. A good low budget movie although pay no attention to the cover, its not that big. Big enough to trash a car, but thats it. I enjoyed it for what it was. Its a fun movie, although not sure if i would pay full price for it. Would buy for a few .

So if you want to watch a movie with friends for fun. Then this is your movie. Its not a classic, but it is fun and entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grabbers [DVD] [2012]
Grabbers [DVD] [2012] by Jon Wright (DVD - 2012)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews