Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read
This is a brilliant book that gives a true insight into the life and recovery of an addict. A real honest account of events many people would be too ashamed to admit and to bare the emotion of the difficult task in dealing with his past coupled with the inspirational person he has become as a result.

This is a must read for anyone who has battled with, or...
Published on 21 Aug 2011 by Beesleys

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Time well spent
I feel I know the author after finishing the book.... easy read, engaging, and heart felt narrative. Only problem, I want to know what next.... ??
Published 2 months ago by Samantha Cary


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read, 21 Aug 2011
This review is from: Steve: Unwanted: How a Bad Boy Came Good... An Inspiring True Story: How a Bad Boy Came Good… An Inspiring True Story (Kindle Edition)
This is a brilliant book that gives a true insight into the life and recovery of an addict. A real honest account of events many people would be too ashamed to admit and to bare the emotion of the difficult task in dealing with his past coupled with the inspirational person he has become as a result.

This is a must read for anyone who has battled with, or continuing to battle addiction or for people who seek an insight into why friends or loved ones have struggled in a similar way.

I too was a resident of the ley community ten years ago and am very proud to know Steve walker personally, although Steve was only ever honest about his life it is fantastic to get such a candid insight in to the man who truly did save my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational True Story, 18 Sep 2011
This review is from: Steve: Unwanted (Paperback)
A remarkably frank and revealing account of the creation and career of a drug addict, whose life of crime, violence and self-harm was turned around by an extraordinary institution, the Ley Community in Oxfordshire. Steve Walker pulls no punches in this fast-paced narrative of his own story, displaying all the honesty and bravery in confronting his own monsters that he now encourages other members of the Community to show. At the same time, there is a lightness and humour to the writing that ensure that the book is never dull or self-obsessed. Sadly, there are all too many Steves growing up in our world, and few of them will be as lucky or as determined as he has been. But, as the book shows, generosity, honesty, and determination do pay off, not to create an ideal life, but to give people who have reached rock bottom respect, self-confidence and the opportunity simply to be normal, with all the pitfalls that entails. The Ley Community believes everybody deserves a second chance: Steve Walker seized his, not just for his own benefit but to go on to help dozens of others to turn their lives around. His is an inspiring story, and through it we can all become a little bit more human.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down, 1 Sep 2011
This review is from: Steve: Unwanted: How a Bad Boy Came Good... An Inspiring True Story: How a Bad Boy Came Good… An Inspiring True Story (Kindle Edition)
An absolutely fantastic book. I couldn't put it down. I admire the way Steve has been so open and honest about his past. It is incredible that, against all odds, he managed to make a new life for himself, even though his journey was such a difficult one. Steve's experience gives people hope and he is living proof that no matter where you come from, or how awful things may be you CAN change your life for the better. He is a truly inspirational man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steve: Unwanted paperback, 1 Sep 2011
This review is from: Steve: Unwanted (Paperback)
This is an amazing and incredible read. A true story that will make your toe nails curl and your heart miss a few beats. I am so inspired and moved. You will be taken on a journey that you really will not imagine and as you turn each page you learn more about life and how one man, Steve, has made a difference in our world for the better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Time well spent, 6 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steve: Unwanted: How a Bad Boy Came Good... An Inspiring True Story: How a Bad Boy Came Good… An Inspiring True Story (Kindle Edition)
I feel I know the author after finishing the book.... easy read, engaging, and heart felt narrative. Only problem, I want to know what next.... ??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steve: Unwanted: How a Bad Boy Came Good... An Inspiring True Story: How a Bad Boy Came Good… An Inspiring True Story (Kindle Edition)
Could not put book down Really felt for the sad childhood Steve must have had think he would probably have been better in care Wishing him well in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steve: Unwanted: How a Bad Boy Came Good... An Inspiring True Story: How a Bad Boy Came Good… An Inspiring True Story (Kindle Edition)
Very inspiring and interesting that someone can turn their lives around so dramatically . He gave a very honest account of his life too . I wish him luck with hid health
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steve: Unwanted: How a Bad Boy Came Good... An Inspiring True Story: How a Bad Boy Came Good… An Inspiring True Story (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book..could relate to some of Steve's story....good luck with everything...despite Steve's illness...he should be so proud of what he's achieved......great story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC READ!!!, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steve: Unwanted: How a Bad Boy Came Good... An Inspiring True Story: How a Bad Boy Came Good… An Inspiring True Story (Kindle Edition)
An amazing read & so inspirational, I could not put it down it had me awake all night as I had to know the outcome!!
Well done steve you show great strength of character am sure this book will so help other addicts out there who like you hit rock bottom!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AN INSPIRATION, 20 Aug 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (leicester england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steve: Unwanted: How a Bad Boy Came Good... An Inspiring True Story: How a Bad Boy Came Good… An Inspiring True Story (Kindle Edition)
What a great read i could not believe that society in the 60s/70s still behaved that way!! not to mention the way his parents behaved all credit to the way the author changed his life around is inspirational to anyone. well done keep up the good work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews