Customer Reviews


186 Reviews
5 star:
 (114)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It took two books to do it, but this series has now found its feet
I remember concluding my review of "I Am Number Four" by saying I enjoyed the book, but I would not be buying the sequel. But sometimes the passage of time makes you realise that there was more that you liked about a book than the things you didn't, and overall my experience of the book was a good one. So when I found myself with the chance of receiving a free advance...
Published on 14 July 2011 by Andromeda Descendent

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite good but relies too much on pure violence for me
It is an interesting premise for a story - aliens from a dying planet, with super powers, coming down to Earth to save both us and themselves. The trouble with this story is the almost complete lack of any intellectual 'powers' being used to defeat the enemy.
There is a constant string of killing throughout the story, which just becomes a bit boring after a...
Published on 15 Sep 2011 by Amazoniac


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It took two books to do it, but this series has now found its feet, 14 July 2011
By 
Andromeda Descendent (Tarn Vedra) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I remember concluding my review of "I Am Number Four" by saying I enjoyed the book, but I would not be buying the sequel. But sometimes the passage of time makes you realise that there was more that you liked about a book than the things you didn't, and overall my experience of the book was a good one. So when I found myself with the chance of receiving a free advance copy my immediate reaction was to jump at it, because I genuinely wanted this second book to be better so I could enjoy without any disappointments finding out what happens to the characters.

Thankfully, The Power of Six is a big step up in terms of plotting and pacing, and although you know there has to be a big battle of some sorts at the end, there's no "read this all before" feeling, and there are some interesting turns along the way, whereas in the first book if you took a guess at where a plot point was going, you were usually right. The best thing about this second venture into what is now being called the Lorien Legacies series is that it focuses much more on character, and for the most part it gets it right. I felt with the first book that I only really got to know part of John's character, largely because when it focused on his relationship with his CÍpan / adoptive father Henri, the characterisation was well realised, but when away from Henri it followed the well trodden path and, though fairly enjoyable, was predictable and didn't always ring true. Second time around, the writers have fixed this and for the first time really allow the reader to really get to know the characters of John, Sam and Number Six and how they relate to each other. Plus, which also works in the books favour, it brings in a new character - Marina, who is a Garde living in a convent in Spain, where her CÍpan has abandoned her role as protector and joined the order, leaving her charge not only worried about the dangers that she perceives may be catching up with her, but also desperate for news on the locations of the others like her.

The two stories are well balanced, and you never feel that you want the chapter to end so you can get back to reading the other. Without spoiling anything for you, at certain points the two stories intersect, and by the end of the book you know that this series is gearing up for a third book where all the surviving Garde come together and start to plan their fight back. If you were a fan, or perhaps not a fan, of the superpowers and monsters elements of this series, know that both feature heavily in this book. I haven't seen the film of the first book, but can make a guess that a film of this one would need double the special effects budget.

It's worth noting that the Mogadorians continue to be the mysterious and unrelenting threat that they were in the first book, and if you want deeper information as to what they are and their wider motivations, you're not going to get it here. But before you jump to conclusions, let me tell you that in the context of this particular book, and of the ongoing series itself, this is actually a calculated risk that pays off. The continuing mystery behind the Mogadorians and the lack of any central villain works in the favour of this book, and when you reach the end, there are strong hints that a major bad guy will come to the fore in book three, and with him a greater understanding to the reader of what this whole conflict is about. The writers achieve that difficult balance between bringing the book to a satisfying conclusion and making you look forward to what you'll discover next time round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great follow-up, better than the predecessor., 15 Aug 2011
By 
Clashcity Rocker "Clashcity Rocker" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I originally took a punt on the first book, and enjoyed it, but it felt somewhat cut short, clearly it was always designed to be a series of books. Glad to say the second improves on this, really enjoyed it, although again at 300-odd pages it still feels like it could fleshed out more. I would say you should try and read the first book (or watch the movie), before this, as there are quite a few references and plot-lines that would make little sense. My main concern before reading this, was it would be "too samey", thankfully it's not the case.

All in all, a very worthy successor to the original and if you liked the first in the series, you will love this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent Part 2 to this series, 10 July 2011
By 
Joanne K. Pilsworth (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the second of the Pittacus Lore series, which is supposed to be the recounting of Garde of the planet Lorien, who were sent from their planet as young children, with a view to protecting them, and their developing gifts or Legacies from the invading Mogadorian race, a warlike race out to destroy Lorien and any other world that takes their fancy. Pittacus Lore is alleged to be a Lorien elder, which adds to the telling of the story.

This book follows on from the fantastic "I am Number Four", which has now been turned into a movie. The timeline is immediately after the events of the first book, with Number Four having met up with Number Six. The Mogadorians have to kill the Garde in their numerical order, so having killed Numbers One to Three, Four was next on their list. If they attempt to kill a Garde out of numerical order, whatever they are doing rebounds onto them, leaving them rather dead instead. Each Garde has a Chest, which contains essential items relating to their developing Legacies, which was in the keeping of their accompanying Cepan (adult guardian). Four's Cepan was killed at the end of Book 1.

In this story, he and Number Six are trying to retrieve her Chest. At the same time, the book has a dual story, which is that of Number Nine and, latterly, Number Ten, who are on the other side of the Atlantic in Spain.

The book deserves five stars because there is a lot more about the Legacies and how they work, how the individual Garde have found out about their Legacies, and what they do with them. It also introduces a bit more about why the Elders of Lorien sent the ten Garde and their Cepan away and what they hoped to accomplish by doing so. The extent of the Mogadorian entrenchment in our world is also clarified, which adds a further twist to the story. The story hops between what is happening with Number Four and Number Six, and what is happening with Nine and Ten. This added to the tale because it would have been a bit boring if the only focus was on Four and Six, because the first book was already very Four oriented. The introduction of additional Garde means that the potential tedium is avoided.

Is this a children's book? I think it is one of those books that can make the transition between adults and children. I shall look forward to further additions to the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great sequel!, 22 Jun 2012
This review is from: The Power of Six: Lorien Legacies Book 2 (Kindle Edition)
I read 'I Am Number Four' and at the end of it I couldn't wait for the next installment and I'm the same with 'The Power of Six' - Pittacus Lore has such an amazing way of writing it just leaves you always wanting more!

If you enjoyed 'I Am Number Four' then you will love this!
It is a love story but it is so action packed at the same time, you will grow attached to all the characters in this book and you will want to know what happens to them.

A great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 14 April 2012
This book has everything that's suppose to be in there, suspense, drama... A bit of romance. I love how there were 2 different viewpoints, that is number four and seven, it really adds to the experience of Loriens travelling and training.
Recommended for anyone who loves sci-fi! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lorien Legacies just get better!, 13 April 2012
Like the prevoius review on this item, I also bought this book on release date in hardcover and was the first person to buy it in my local store. It truly is an un-putdownable read and the action scenes here are incredible and there are loads of unexpected twists and turns at every given oppurtunity. The atomsphere Pittacus Lore creates remains suspenseful throughout the story. Unlike the first book, The Power of Six is written from two viewpoints (Number Four and Number Seven), and this helps a great deal with understanding the characters and keeping track of the plot. Well worth a read whether you like sci-fi or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite good but relies too much on pure violence for me, 15 Sep 2011
By 
Amazoniac (Norwich) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It is an interesting premise for a story - aliens from a dying planet, with super powers, coming down to Earth to save both us and themselves. The trouble with this story is the almost complete lack of any intellectual 'powers' being used to defeat the enemy.
There is a constant string of killing throughout the story, which just becomes a bit boring after a while.
You just find yourself wishing that someone would come up with a more cunning and intelligent way of getting the job done.
The author does try to temper the bloodlust a little by making the enemy (Mogs) simply dissolve to a pile of ash after they are killed (I suppose this is to dehumanise (dealienise?) the enemy sufficiently to make it less alarming for any adult readers who happen on their youngsters' reading material.
There is some attempt to flesh out the characters, which makes it more interesting to read, but the overall picture is one of killing, rather than saving, so leaving me able to muster only a 3 star review for this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Lorien Legacies series is getting better..., 6 Sep 2011
By 
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The second book in the Lorien Legacies series, The Power of Six, is a step in the right direction for the series. This step is away from the eponymous character of the first book (I Am Number Four), who is angsty, lovestruck and irritating. Instead we are introduced to several new characters including Marina, or Number 7, and the plot expands and evolves.

4 is still a major part of the story, with about half of the book seen from his view point, but it was a refreshing and welcome change to have the rest of the book set on the other side of the world with 7, a much more agreeable character.

7 has been living in a remote monastery in the Spanish mountains, and this change of scenery from small town America - the setting for almost every YA novel this side of Twilight - is a relief. Her life is far from perfect, with no friends her own age and her mentor having turned away from their destiny and instead focussing on religion, insisting that Lorien and their legacy is just a fairy tale. Marina is a great character, with enough depth and personality to carry the story forward. It was somewhat of a disappointment whenever the plot flicked back to America and number 4.

Thankfully there was a positive side to the other storyline. 4's companions - his best friend Sam and the deadly number 6 who was introduced at the end of the first book - were likeable and interesting enough to keep the book very readable, even when our male protagonist was being a whiny little girl pining over his "one true love". Did I mention that I hated every single mention of his romantic life? I did. Every time he mentioned his beloved Sarah I found myself getting annoyed, and it was often. How exactly can you claim to be madly and devotedly in love with someone when you start pining over the next girl that you see in a swimming costume? I realise he is only 16, but get your hormones together and stop moaning. Rant over.

4's half of the story saw most of the action throughout the book, with FBI raids and pitched battles with the evil Mogadorians, so there was plenty of excitement and fighting to support the book, whilst Marina's side of the story was much slower paced. This worked well as a format, switching between the two every few dozen pages. Towards the tail end of the book the action goes into overload on both sides of the Atlantic, with a couple of interesting twists and revelations that effectively draw you in, and I really do find myself wanting to know more about the Lorien people, and the secret war they find themselves part of.

A good read that will be gobbled up by teens around the world. The Lorien Legacies is looking to be an enjoyable and intriguing series that is easy to read, but hardly a classic.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful and entertaining sequel., 5 Sep 2011
I was curious to see what 'Pittacus Lore' had salvaged from the ending of the first book - don't get me wrong; it was a good read but without spoilers I cannot say more. He has penned a sequel that not only coherantly follows "I am Number Four" but branches off into the tale of Seven at the same time. It feels like I am reading two books at the same time and only the publishers'/authors' choice of font allows me to tell which scene I am at.

And what a scene they both are - mystic powers beyond human ken and the more mundane though no-less effective firearms of modern day allow the Lorien survivors to steal the show from the supposedly deadly Mogadarians - who burst into ash by the bucketload as wave after wave of them assasult Four, Six and Sam (the latter of which has been somewhat upgraded with badass since the last book). It's an engaging read and though I am only 3/4s through it I find myself wondering when the next in the series comes out.

Long story short: Recommended - but read 'I am Number Four' first (Read the book, ignore the film)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read!, 31 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
have been waiting for this book to come out since i finished the first book. The power of six didnt disapoint me, one of those books that you get into really easy and find it very hard to put down, the only down side to this is that you read it too fast and now i have to wait another year for the next one :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews