Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
63
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£20.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 October 2011
This is a stunning piece of work! I was lucky enough to attend the second night of the two Hammersmith shows (having attended the initial 'Scratch My Back' tour at the O2). Peter's interpretations of his back catalogue are well put together, excellently produced and beautifully played by the New Blood Orchestra. Peter's vocals are also a perfect match...full of emotion when they need to be, yet not overwhelming against the background of the orchestral arrangements.
If listening to this on CD only, you can understand why some have not been so complimentary. Your mood or listening environment can affect the way in which you feel about the music. However, load up the Blu-ray and play it through your 5.1 surround system and you are immediately transported back to Hammersmith as part of the audience. As with all Gabriel productions, both sound and visuals have been carefully managed to provide the optimum listening and viewing experience.
One final point is the packaging. Almost 'LP-sized' (for those of a certain age), the hardback book-style case is immediately recognisable as a quality item. Weighty, and made of good quality materials, it's a pleasure to hold and the print quality of the photographs is also excellent.
All in all it's one of the best 'special editions' packs I've purchased for any artist and coupled with such high quality content too, this is recommended without reservation. 10/10
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2012
Firstly here's the positives, The presentation is very well done, great quality of the book & photos. More importantly the music is fantastic, so much better than the offering of Scratch My Back. When I saw PG with the New Blood Orchestra on the Later...with Jools Holland show, I knew I had to get the New Blood album & DVD of the live show, I thought it made sense to get this box set which includes the live audio too.

So you get 4 discs - 1 Dvd disc & 1 Blu-Ray disc of the Live in London. 1 New Blood Cd Studio Alum & 1 Live in London Cd. But I can't help but feel that it should have been a 5 disc set!

Here's the negatives, Why Dvd & Blu-Ray together? One or the other, otherwise where's the 3D disc also? So there's 1 disc space wasted. I think that the double disc edition of New Blood should be part of this set. Then there's the live Cd, why only 1 disc? on 23 or 24/04/12 the double live Cd - New Blood Live will be released. This is hardly fair to those of us who have already purchased this set, believing it to be Deluxe & the complete edition of New Blood!

Even if you're a PG completionist, you will probably buy The New Blood 2 disc edition & the New Blood Live 2cd, so really you could be buying this release, just for the book! A great opportunity missed, this could have been the all in one, definitive collection of everything New Blood & New Blood Live. What a real pity!
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2011
having enjoyed the music of peter gabriel for many years both with genesis and on his own, peter gabriel has become without doubt one of my music heros. having seen him perform last year at the 02 in london with his blood orchestra i have been waiting in anticipation for this set to come out.

on first glance the set of 4 discs along with a 200 page colour photographed album looks and feels a quality item, nothing has been spared to give an impression that what you have is a piece of music history, a product that like everything peter gabriel does reeks of quality.

the music, well, i really could go on for hours as to this amazing work, it chills you to the bone from the outset, songs of immense clarity, songs of immense meaning and songs written right from the heart. peters own work is mixed alongside some songs that are not his own, but he does them total justice. the dvd of the concert at the hammersmith apollo is first class, again total quality throughout. this de-luxe set is worth every penny, you are getting the work of a master of his craft, not many singer songwriters have the ability to grasp an audience from the start and actually make you feel you are in a private audience with peter. this is an amazing work which will bring you into the realms of real music, of hard work and total comittmet by the artist. this is a must for any serious music collection, it is wonderful, 10 out of 10.
11 comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 3 November 2011
As somebody who has been involved in theatrical concert performances since the early 1970s with Genesis, it is fitting that Peter Gabriel is at the forefront of 3D presentation now with this 3-disc set.

To some people, it may not have seemed like the obvious target for a 3D spectacular - but this is in fact a visual treat as much as a musical one. Working with the New Blood Orchestra on new arrangements of many of his best-loved tunes as well as some tracks from his "swap" arrangement with artists like Paul Simon, you would expect this to be an interesting musical project. But as throughout his career, Gabriel has not ignored the visual aspects of his live performances.

So there is a translucent curtain with projections which mostly sits above the stage - but at times is moved down - and there are back projections behind the orchestra. At times, images stream out at you in 3D and it all adds to the experience. It really seems a concert worth seeing in 3D! So it's not just the projections - but it's interesting to see the orchestra and what's happening. The 3D gives you the perspective and depth which makes the images seem even clearer than full HD. You can explore the stage and how technology has been used to provide screens for the performers, to make sure the vast forces are in sync.

As to the music, the surround sound is wonderful - with huge bass and incredible clarity in the strings. Gabriel and arranger John Metcalfe doen't go for "washes" of sound - but rather use the orchestra for very rhythmical parts that at times sound like Stravinsky and the "Rite". Mostly the arrangements are subtle and suit the songs, but occasionaly the orchestra let rip and really surprise you with dynamics and huge sounds from Tuba and full brass.

This is a long concert and there are quite a few slow tempo tunes in the middle, but interest is maintained through orchestral colours and visuals. There is a storming finale though, with old favourites and guest vocals. The crowd get involved and in 3D you really feel like you are there at the hall with them! This is certainly the next best thing to being at the gig.

The musicians are note perfect throughout - it might have been a studio recording and I noticed UK Jazz player/composer Tom Cawley standing out on Piano, unexpectedly enhanced in 3D. Basses are lead by another stalwart of the UK Jazz scene, Chris Laurence. This is a demonstration quality disc for what you can do with 3D and surround sound - highly recommended
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
Now I am a huge PG fan. Whilst the 3D affects were amazing and I think more live acts should adopt this format, I just missed the old line-up.

If you have ever seen Peter live (I have twice), I am sure that you will know what I mean. I missed the regulars, who I am sure are having a well deserved break. Melanie's vocals are as hauntingly beautiful as ever, but I thought Ane murdered 'Don't Give Up'. Its such a shame Paula Cole couldn't come back for this tour. Or even Kate Bush.

Anyway, I won't be watching this much, even though Mr Gabriel is so talented and his voice is timeless.

Sorry Peter.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2011
OK. I have SEEN the thing.. and HEARD it. Yes.. the BluRay version of this concert - not the Jools Holland show... (Sorry little dig there)..

Ok So what is it like?

Well its exactly what you would expect from Mr Gabriel.

Its long!!!! Love that!
Its slow - in places - but don't take that as a negative - its not dull - just slower paced. The emotion and voice is there!!

I watched the whole show then the documentary then went back and played a selection of my favourite songs. It just blew me away playing The book of love, the power of the heart, --> Biko, San Jacinto, The Rhythm Of The Heat, Wallflower- in that order..

I recommend everyone tries this after they have watched the whole show..

Really great versions!!

Ok. Picture quality is awesome - crystal clear transfer and there is no grain anywhere! Its all crystal digital..
Sound Quality - I listened to the HD Master Audio 5.1 Soundtrack and the dynamics are amazing - hardly any compression in there - my amp was turned way up and it was quiet... and boy it was loud!!

Overall - considering Mr Gabriels age etc. I have to give this release 9/10

He puts other artists his age to shame..

Well worth buying and the long running time is great!!!
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2013
Superb production throughout with top-class performances and tremendous 3D. It is really just like being there with the audience applause all around and Gabriel looking like he's there in the room with you (if you have a projector and large screen anyway). Okay, there are a few songs we'd all have loved included like 'Here comes the flood' maybe etc etc and the girl singing "Don't Give Up" isn't going to give Kate Bush any competition since her voice just doesn't drip with emotion the way Kate Bush's voice did on this song. These are minor criticisms though because this is a performance to die for and I'll be watching it many times over the years to come.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2011
After seeing mr Gabriel on jools hollands show I was sceptical that the material would translate onto the big stage and found the missing drum beats and rhythms would lessen the impact of the show. Afterall the first four albums were very drum oriented with peters gift for multi rhythms was his strentgh . Want to get the negatives out of the way first, choice of material was very ballady with too many slow songs and didnt delve into the weird and less commercial stuff , Tracks like family and the fishing net and curtains or no self control would have been nice, or here comes the flood or family snapshot not included or the very orchestral down the dolce vita. Any way onto the positives , the voice was in top form with the legendary Gabriel wails sending shivers down the spine,the orchestra were very able and didnt trample over the lovely subtleties that make the songs, they clearly enjoyed themselves and were kindly mentioned by peter and the conductor went off into some place he wont forget for life ,as did mr gabriel ,especially on rhythm of the heat which just transcends music always and makes you feel you have experienced in a spiritual way ,which is rare these days , Backing vocals were good ,with a sense of gravity from the lovely Melanie who wil be a mom soon ,adding to the emotion of the event with ann brun ,who sang dont give up with p g in her own eccentric way . so as a gabriel purist bore ,the set should have had more obscure tracks, but would maybe then you have another dvd with a samey setlist and no new ground covered .buy it now ...
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2012
Seen the guy many of times in the past, but did not go to this concert of his, but I have to say having just watched the concert on Blu Ray it's looks like I missed a truly awesome concert. This is shear class, and both picture quality and HD 5.1 Sound Formats are quite breath taking. Stunning arrangements of Peters classics, and to see the Wall Flower appear amongst this set is superb. It's always been my favourite tack from Gabriel 4.

For those who think orchestral music is boring, they had better think again, because this provides better sound quality than watching a band play. It's worth every penny this one, and it's an absolute marvellous top production. I highly recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2011
I love live Blue Rays and this one is absolutely no exception. I purchased the three disc set that includes DVD, Blu Ray and 3D Blu Ray. I was in the front row of the audience on the first of the two nights filmed and I can tell you that the actual gig transaltes exceptionally well to disc. The 3D is outstanding quality so for the die hard Gabriel fans this is a must have. And for those non Gabriel fans I would have no problem in recommending this because of the quality and more importantly the wonderful blend of Gabriels well known songs into orchestral arrangements with his unique vocals over the top. The orchestra is outstanding and bring some of the songs more to life than perhaps they have been seen in a rock band format. I absolutely unreservedly love it.
Peter Gabriel New Blood Live In London In 3 Dimensions [Blu-ray 3D]
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)