Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid Snake, Solid Gameplay
This is the first Metal Gear Solid game to appear on the 3DS & what a fantastic game it is by Konami.

This is a direct port similar to the PS2 version as the plot sees Solid Snake infiltrating a Russian jungle at the height of the cold war to attempt a rescue of a scientist who is being held captive in a base against his will.

First the graphics are...
Published 10 months ago by Timelord-007

versus
10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Diamond in the rough
I am a lifelong fan of the Metal Gear Solid series, with 3 being my second favourite behind 1 so I was obviously salivating at the prospect of getting this on handheld but, for me, it is somewhat underwhelming. I'd also like to clear up, this is not a negative review but a critical positive one.

First off it's great to have such a respected title on the 3DS,...
Published on 9 Mar 2012 by K. Ramwell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid Snake, Solid Gameplay, 4 Feb 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid - Snake Eater (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
This is the first Metal Gear Solid game to appear on the 3DS & what a fantastic game it is by Konami.

This is a direct port similar to the PS2 version as the plot sees Solid Snake infiltrating a Russian jungle at the height of the cold war to attempt a rescue of a scientist who is being held captive in a base against his will.

First the graphics are excellent, Crisp clear & well detailed I would say similar quality of the PS2 version, The game is beautifully presented & well done to Konami for pushing the capabilities of the 3DS.

The sound & dialogue by the voice actor's is superb adding a whole realistic movie dynamic to the game.

The gameplay is addicted but is best played with a circle pad as the control's may take a while to get used to, I feel this is a gamers game that requires the gamer to use cunning & stealth as this is not just your standard pick up & play shoot em-up.

The AI of your enemies is very well developed & there alert system to your camouflage techniques provides exellent atmosphere as you can take your enemies down either by hand to hand combat or us stealth by knocking them out via a tranquilizer or use a poisonous snake that you can capture to bite them then kill & eat the snake to gain energy, Use a strangehold method by holding your enemies at knifepoint to interrogate them for information & then slit there throat & take there body away to hide deep in the jungle to avoid it's detection by the guard's.

The cut scenes may bore some gamers but I loved them as they feel this is a actual movie your interacting in & felt this added great atmosphere to the game.

This is a 15 rated title despite the cover advertised as 18 & is unsuitable for children as it deals with mature themes & isn't for the gamers who want just a straight pick up & play shoot em-up this game will require you to think of what's best to handle your current situations depending on your surrounding environment.

This is one of the best conversions that I've seen of Metal Gear Solid & would highly recommend this to hardcore gamers as it contains great graphics, film quality cut scenes, Enhanced sound & dialogue & solid addictive gameplay.

A must buy 3DS title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 24 Mar 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid - Snake Eater (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Info:
- Free of plot spoilers
- I have played MGS3 Subsistence on PS2 so this is not the first time i play this game.
- I HIGHLY recommend playing this game with the circle pad pro.

General MGS 3 introduction

Its all about stealthy gameplay but you can blast your way through if you want. The aim of this game is to complete your mission(s) without being spotted. This involves scoping your surroundings, wall hugging, crawling, using items such as scope and therm-goggles to evaluate your surroundings (for enemies and traps), taking care of enemies with silenced weapons, hiding bodies of dead/knocked out soldiers, wearing a disguise ect ect. There are amazing boss fights where you do not have to worry about stealth! You have to hunt for food to keep your stamina up which involves being selective of what you eat and getting used to certain foods. You have to take care of wounds and injuries in the survival viewer. You can wear different camoflage clothing and face paints to blend into the surrounding. You can interrogate enemies if you grab them unaware or force them to give you items if you hold them up with a weapon. The gameplay is some of the best around and the new added control features arguably make this the definitive version.

3DS Specific Review

Controls
The controls are very comfortable (especially with circle pad pro). Left analogue controls Snake, right analogue controls the camera. Hold Lz to aim and press Rz to shoot. Tap Rz (while not holding Lz) to perform a three hit melee combo. Hold Rz to grab an enemy into a chokehold. Once an enemy is grabbed you can either (D-pad left) interrogate at knifepoint, (x button) strangle for a knockout or (D-pad right) kill them. If you want to avoid the grab altogether then upon initial approach, hold the left analogue stick forward when you press Rz to perform a trip up which instantly knocks out enemies cold. If you tap Rz while running, Snake does an evasive roll which can hit enemies and also traverse him across short spaces or over waiste-height obstacles. L is item window and R is weapon window. b is crouch/crawl/stand. y is to switch aiming style while aiming (discussed below). In this edition, the survial viewer, food screen, camoflage screen, item and weapon screens and so on are much easier to access via the touch screen icons. Also there is now a more detailed map of your surroundings on the lower screen.

The three biggest additions to MGS 3DS are: 1) over the shoulder aiming, 2) that you can manoeuvre while aiming and 3) sneaking around while crouched - all of these additions draw on the MGS 4 design. You can aim your weapons in three ways (which can be switched in-game by pressing y). These are first person aiming, auto third person aiming (no reticule) and over the shoulder third person aiming (with reticule). All of these new control features work excellently especially in the open environments of MGS 3 and the different aiming modes are useful for different situations.

The main feature that is lost in this game (from MGS 2) is that you cannot do the "jump out and shoot" technique from the wall hug position. While wall hugged, you CAN peep around corners to look around but cannot shoot from around corners. To be honest i never really wanted or needed this technique in this game. It is much better suited to MGS 2 level design. In the more open environments of MGS 3 you will rarely want to do this manoeuvre if at all.

Graphics and Sound
The visuals are excellent - easily some of the best graphics on a handheld game. They are crisp and solid. Everyone who played the ps2 version is aware of the occassional slowdown. There is no exception here and there is a slight issue of slowdown at certain times but it didnt annoy me too much. The Soundtrack is very good and really pumps you up for some stealth action or an amazing boss fight. Voice acting is some of the best video games have to offer.

Replay Value
There are TONS of items to find in this game which you will not get on your first playthrough. And you get awarded special items and titles on each playthrough given how you chose to complete the game (how many times you were killed, how many enemies you killed or knocked out, how many times you were spotted ect ect or how many secret Yoshis you found!!).

The 3D effect
The 3D effect works well for this game - especially given the surroundings of the jungle: flowers, leaves, bushes, butterflies, bees ect... I found playing with the 3D turned off is just as fun and used it only at certain points.

All in all, MGS 3DS feels great to play especially with the new control features - arguably making this the definitive version. Its story is simply engrossing (I wont spoil it). I was unsure as to how such a massive title would work on a handheld console but lay your worries to rest. I give Metal Gear Solid Snake Eater 3DS 5/5 because of the sheer scope of high quality content and the excellent additions which improve an already great game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This game, 21 Feb 2013
By 
James Henderson "J. Hender" (South West, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid - Snake Eater (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Pretty much best thing ever but you NEED the circle pad pro otherwise you'll have a hard time getting used to the controls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than 5 stars?, 6 Nov 2014
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid - Snake Eater (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Amazing... beautiful game.

My favorite game of all time, joint with Skyrim - why? They both have stories, ones that get to you.

I can't lie, I got emotional near the end. And EVA is just so well developed, many may not agree, but the way the game connects the player to the character, is so expertly done.

I wasn't wholly excited at first, I only bought it because the demo interested me - but I was hooked and looked forward to playing everyday. One problem is, it didn't last all that long, about, 10 hours? Perhaps more, perhaps it was so good, I lost track of time.

I'm going to buy MGS4 now, and I'm considering buying a PSP to play Peace Walker. I want to see more of EVA, I seem to feel very emotionally attached to her, especially after the ending, which I won't spoil!

The cinematics are long, which is okay because they are all easy to watch - they don't grind on and are deeply narrated. Give this game a try, and see how you'll fare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 3ds snakeeater, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid - Snake Eater (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
my son enjoys playing this game, good price and quick delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but hard game, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid - Snake Eater (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
It was good at start, but then I got stuck in the game and couldn't get my weapons out, so I got bored... but it was good up to that, but that is a reason why I only give it 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Game., 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid - Snake Eater (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
One of if not my favourite game ever. Hideo Kojima is a master of game design and this is his best work. Get the Circle Pad Pro, buy this and enjoy a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid - Snake Eater (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
One of the best games you can buy for the 3DS. Controls may be hard at first but they soon become very easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Metal Gear Solid 3DS, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid - Snake Eater (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Typical MGS, great story and gameplay
3D provides great effect
Some problems with framerate but nothing that detracts too much from the game
Hoping more MGS games not only get ported to Nintendo consoles, but are made for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great remake!!, 19 Jan 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid - Snake Eater (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
This a great remake for the 3DS. Makes good use of the 3D and gyroscope features. Plus a bargain buy at £14 new!

Highly recommended. Even if you just wanna revisit the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Metal Gear Solid - Snake Eater (Nintendo 3DS)
£19.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews