Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu Ray Review
This package contains both the Blu-ray and DVD of 'Hello Ladies', Stephen Merchant's hilarious debut stand up release. The gig is brilliant, and I wish he'd do another one but there's no word on another one as of now. I haven't watched the DVD (I bought it for the blu-ray and I watched that so what's the point?!) but the Blu-ray is good.

The picture is pretty...
Published 1 month ago by Rory McCann

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Highly disappointing.
Poor effort, awkward performance and not particularly funny. This standup routine is nowhere near as amusing as his commentary on podcasts with Gervais and Pilkington (from which he has recycled a lot of material) - this man clearly needs to bounce off the humour of others and self-ridicule in attempt to raise laughter. A cheap purchase, but not good value for money.
Published 8 months ago by Jeeves


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu Ray Review, 14 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephen Merchant Live - Hello Ladies [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This package contains both the Blu-ray and DVD of 'Hello Ladies', Stephen Merchant's hilarious debut stand up release. The gig is brilliant, and I wish he'd do another one but there's no word on another one as of now. I haven't watched the DVD (I bought it for the blu-ray and I watched that so what's the point?!) but the Blu-ray is good.

The picture is pretty good (1080i Widescreen 16:9) , but it isn't as noticeable because it's just Steve on stage so it doesn't need to be crisp. Either way, it satisfies. Audio was fine because it's just one audio track but it's 2.0 if anyone's interested.

Bonus features were disappointing. There was an entertaining enough interview with Christian O'Connell where Steve talks about why he returned to stand up etc, and includes some very funny archive footage from the late 90s (SD) from an old routine. Hoped for more but it's ok I suppose. Subtitles are also available.

Overall a good package and a very funny show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A rewarding effort, 26 Aug 2014
By 
Richard Morton (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Hello Ladies represents Stephen Merchants first crack at a solo stand up tour since the 90's and he's put together a pretty good effort - 70+ minutes of consistent chuckles.

The framing device for the show is Merchants ongoing struggles to find a partner. It's largely self deprecating humour mixed with ironic observations of many of the usual subjects - dating, marriage, sex - as well as insights into dealing with being a man of such height.

If you're familiar with, and enjoy, his various TV work then there's much to like here - a few belly laughs along the way as well as the previously mentioned chuckles. A bit of fun audience participation and a long, strange but funny encore add up to a worthwhile watch (especially as it's on Amazon Prime at time of writing).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars judge it as a standalone piece, 28 Nov 2011
By 
david hollingsworth (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you watch this DVD burdened with the huge weight of expectation that Mr. Merchants previous comic forays would encumber you with then you may feel a slight sense of let down.Not much, but a bit.
If, however, you cut the guy some slack and view it as a standalaone show then you will laugh and you will enjoy it. Sure a couple of bits have been lifted from old XFM shows (but not to the frankly criminal levels displayed in his erstwhile writing sidekicks last standup show) otherwise it's all fresh material delivered in a very personable and easy manner.
I look forward to a second tour from Mr. Merchant almost as much as I look forward to a fabled first live show from a certain round-headed buffoon.Let's see the real talent shine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars top notch, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephen Merchant Live - Hello Ladies [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This guy is very very funny I'm glad I got it hope he does more stand up soon you'll laugh so hard I did you won't be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Single, really?, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would have loved to have gone to the show, but I have only just in the last year been recommended the "Trio's" (Stephen, Ricky and Karl) work.
The interview with Mr Merchant is endearing and a true insight to what it is to be a stand up comedian. Fascinating.
The show itself is full of cringe-worthy stories and excellent physical comedy.
Relatable comedy and I am really looking forward to the HBO series when it is released on dvd in the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Highly disappointing., 21 Jan 2014
This review is from: Stephen Merchant Live - Hello Ladies [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Poor effort, awkward performance and not particularly funny. This standup routine is nowhere near as amusing as his commentary on podcasts with Gervais and Pilkington (from which he has recycled a lot of material) - this man clearly needs to bounce off the humour of others and self-ridicule in attempt to raise laughter. A cheap purchase, but not good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stephen Merchant Live - Hello Ladies [DVD], 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Stephen Merchant Live - Hello Ladies [DVD], saw this show live and had to get the dvd so funny i loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lol, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephen Merchant Live - Hello Ladies [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Hilarious! Stephen Merchant at his best with anecdotes about trying to pull and rejection, comedy everyone can relate to, had me in stitches
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than Gervais, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephen Merchant Live - Hello Ladies [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Merchant takes to the stage like a duck to water. Brilliant 'new material'! Not all recycled from the XFM days and the podcasts! Unlike Gervias' stand up (which don't get me wrong, is still very funny and well worth a watch) this is almost all completely new material. Featuring 'visual comedy' with aswell as awesome jokes this is a good example of what I think stand up should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOL, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Went to see this show live and it was really good. Didn't know what to expect but I laughed so much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stephen Merchant Live - Hello Ladies [Blu-ray]
£5.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews