Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars58
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£13.80+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 1 January 2012
The F1 Season Review DVD's are good value. However, I feel this year's version is not up to the standard of last year's. There's plenty of action, unseen footage (such as Helmut Marko and Jamie Alguersuari having an argument in Korea), and previously unheard radio transmissions. There's an 'on-board camera' section from each GP, but unlike last year it's not accompanied by a few extra features as well. As an official F1 product there are a few things which are slightly glossed over, and the controversial on/off Bharain race is not even mentioned.

Maybe it's a reflection of this season being less exciting than last, but there's a feeling that there's not enough here. No season preview section and no review of the new technical regulations being two examples. Still, there are plenty of gems contained within (such as the mystery surrounding Webber's radio transmissions during the Belgian Grand Prix - did he or didn't he hear the instruction to pit?) to make this an essential purchase for any F1 fan.
0Comment12 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2012
If your a big F1 fan then you must get this,in Fab Blu ray hd etc,I love it however one small audio error on the extras was a mixup over the HD F1 feature you get to listen to another Cosworth speech.

Still to sort this but everything else is great,get to the end and have to start again.....
11 comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2012
It takes skill to keep the interest going through a year dominated by one man and team but this compilation of 2011's F1 season is excellent. The cometary compliments the outstanding TV. In over thirty years of watching F1 on the screen, I've never seen better than this DVD.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
Another sublime F1 season, another great official review from the FOM. The DVD version has taken some stick this year, the Blu-Ray however is brilliant. Crisp video and audio quality, plenty of extra features too. Very well detailed for the most part, some say that more coverage is needed for practice sessions, I disagree however. If they review the full GP weekend it would be far too long and too much. what they have is just right. I highly recommend this for the F1 fans, and for the price here on Amazon it is a bargain.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2012
I was not sure about purchasing this F1 review as some previous years, I felt they were just highlights of previously seen TV footage. I am pleased to say though that this is quite a bit different, a lot of different camera angles, unseen in car footage and some unheard radio transmissions all made this an interesting review.

I aways used to buy the F1 year review but stopped for a few years when I felt it was just going over the same old stuff. This has been carefully put together and I felt it was well worth the money!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2012
If you're a formula one fan, especially liking Sebastian Vettel, this is the right product for you.
Last season was just a perfect winning season for him and because I really like him and formula 1, I also like this DVD with it's great bonus tracks and behind the scenes of a grand prix features.

Just buy it, it's awesome :)
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2011
There is, unfortunately, very little to tell about the 2011 Formula One season. Sebastian Vettel snatched the title after just 15 races. Lewis Hamilton made some headlines and certain drivers are yet to grow up.
It wasn't a classic year the sport has seen. Even the help of the KERS and DRS didn't spice up proceedings as we all wished. In fact the majority of the races this year were more than just a relaxed Sunday drive.
On the television side however FOM finally introduced High Definition coverage. And F1 never looked so real, so spectacular on the TV screen. HD also means the traditional end of year review makes its way on the Blu-Ray disc for the first time. And this is where F1 strikes back: a boring year sees the best season review to date!
The key element of the 2011 review is the picture quality. And there is absolutely nothing you can complain about. It looks phenomenal. The sharp and crisp image even brings up some noise from the TV camera; every little detail is transferred brilliantly. You can only criticize the FOM guys for adding too much color filters but those are only there when it is necessary (well at least for an video editors point of view).
The 2-track audio comes in 5.1 and it is presented once again by Will Buxton and Ben Edwards. While the latter one grabbed the commentators chair for the BBC next year Will Buxton will do the pit reporter role for Speed TV once more. But if you ask me: Will could do the voiceover for the entire review next year and not only for the race introduction. The second audio track has the commentary switched off and provides the raw engine sounds.
Content-wise the actual race reviews are as solid as ever with every key moment of the races being showcased in-depth from various angles. I never thought they were missing anything. It is just about right. And with a running time of nearly 5 hours there is actually no room for missing incidents.
The special features really stand out this year. There is an alternate review of the Chinese Grand Prix just with team radio as the audio track. You never heard so much radio communication before and you really get a feel for what is going on between the driver and the pit lane during a race.
Onboards are not only single laps with drivers commentating. The start of the Belgium Grand Prix for instance is shown from several drivers while the Italian Grand Prix has the intense battle between Michael Schumacher and Lewis Hamilton entirely shown from their onboard cameras.
Maybe you can criticize FOM for not mentioning the absence of the Bahrain Grand Prix or the minute of silence in honor of Dan Wheldon and Marco Simoncelli before the Indian Grand Prix. Perhaps they just didn't want to make it too emotional and political.

All in all FOM has come up with a fantastic season review that no fan of the sport should miss. And with an overall running time of more than six and a half hours there is plenty to watch over the holidays.
0Comment12 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
The image is awesome!
It's cristal clear!
Very nice review of the F1 2011 season!
More than 5 houres back to 2011...
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
High quality footage as usual, with great on-board. Suffers only (like the previous years) from being too factual in its footage approach; 'The start, this happened, this spin, this pit stop, the winner is...boring but thankfully brief interview with someone who has nothing interesting to say' Not enough real racing and dicing shown. Makes it all rather clinical, which is why i have to watch these reviews a couple of GP's at a time. Its just too wearing otherwise.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2013
Product itself is perfectly okay. What am not so keen on, is Vettel. For this reason I will not be watching it unless I really have to. Primary reason for purchase was to ensure my collection of F1 DVD Reviews was not incomplete. The sooner they convert the earlier reviews from VHS>DVD the better. Thats where my real interest lies.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse