Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
555
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£6.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 19 October 2011
At last, the legend arrives (with little promotion for some reason) that got me into Tarantino in the first place. The quirky Pulp Fiction that I remember the first time I saw it at the cinema had me wanting to leave after the first 30mins because I didn't have a clue what was going on! So happy I stayed and since then the movie has seated itself firmly in my top 20. It's another of those movies that the dialogue and scenes have firmly lodged themselves in my crazy mind. When I see chips with mayonaise, I think of Pulp; when I someone mentions a magic marker, I think of Pulp; if someone asks me for a pair of pliers, I respond with 'And a blowtorch?'. I could go on. Yes, watching Pulp Fiction could damage your mind but I so advise you to do so - over and over again! It is bad language; it is violent; it's also epic!

Ok, the transfer: With the blu-ray edition we get one of those wonderful cardboard sleeves slipped over the BD box (that I remove and place in the bin). On that sleeve, some kind sole has placed a sticker that says 'DIRECTOR APPROVED' and Quentin has even signed it - bless! I found this strange but when I fired up the movie, I 'd like to put my sticker on it too. The picture is amazing! We are talking crystal clear. Hairs on Tim Roths arms, stubble on JT's face that he probably didn't expect us to see and BAMF's hair looks super shiny. The legendary soundtrack comes out in DTS-HD master straight into our living rooms that I guarantee will have your limbs making unprovoked moves.

Transfer score is 9/10

The extras are plentiful. It takes the extras from the DVD Collectors edition and adds some up-to-date interviews with the cast.

Languages: English and ....English

Subs: English

Region locked
1212 comments| 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2002
The best film ever made is here included in a truly wonderful box set. This has everything a fan could ever want.
Pulp Fiction is a brilliantly told film about gangster life in L.A. It is a compilation of four interlocking stories about a gangster's life innvolving drugs violence and a whole lot of humour. The main thing that makes this film extra special, and why I love it so, is the incredible dialogue by Quentin Tarantino. Any one who has seen his films will know what talent he has for casual conversation and dark humour, and this is superbly displayed in Pulp Fiction. Not only does it have the perfect screenplay and diection (both by Tarantino), it has perfect acting. John Travolta and Samuel L Jackson have incredible chemistry acting out Pulp Fiction's stylish and funny situations. The brilliance of the film is also continued on disc 2 of the DVD. There are interviews with the cast, and 25 minutes of very interesting deleted scenes.
The film is also renowned for its excellent soundtrack, and this is blissfully included in this set. You don't have to have any particular taste for this soundtrack to like it, as it has a variety of music from Chuck Berry to surfing music. Also, there are a couple more tracks added on from the original soundtrack, including a very enjoyable interview with Tarantino.
Just when you think this already perfect box set couldn't get any better, you discover that you also get a behind the scenes booklet, and a very precious cell from the film, which any fan should cherish for the rest of their life. The set also contains the theatrical poster, which is excellent just to have up as a shrine to this excellent film.
I loved Pulp Fiction, and getting this set just made me over the moon. I strongly reccomend it. Enjoy!
22 comments| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2011
Outrageously violent, time-twisting, and in love with language, you don't need me to tell you that Pulp Fiction was widely considered the most influential American movie of the 1990s. Director Quentin Tarantino merged amazingly complex yet casual dialogue with the serious violence of American gangster movies and films noirs mixed up with the wacky violence of cartoons and video games.

The fragmented story-telling structure keeps you watching to see how it all fits together. The script intertwines three stories, featuring Samuel L. Jackson and John Travolta, as hit men who have philosophical interchanges on such topics as the French names for American fast food products; Bruce Willis as a boxer; and Uma Thurman, whose dance sequence with Travolta proved an instant classic.

The moments of shocking violence are simultaneously humorous and ghastly. The surreal yet realistic atmosphere, long takes, and wittily literate non-stop dialogue engage me in the characters' experience.

I'm sure I could dissect this film to no end, commenting on the pop culture references and influences, I could comment on how I enjoyed Samuel L Jackson's furiously philosophical character and the mysterious item that was in that brief case, but I won't. I won't because I don't need to, it won't change the fact that this film is an absolute classic, everybody knows it and it will always be remembered when people think of 90's cinema, plus It's so nice to watch a film that is a critical sensation and a box-office hit, as you feel clever and entertained.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2002
By far his finest hour, film geek Tarantino's follow-up to his cult hit 'Reservoir Dogs', 'Pulp Fiction' is a hard hitting, brutally aggressive movie with an occasional comical flare, that looks at a day in the life of several characters that intertwine with each other to create a profane fiasco. With a snazzy script that stands high above other blockbuster premises, the cast is headed off by Samuel L. Jackson, John Travolta and Bruce Willis, playing the parts of two hit men and a boxer respectively. Set into three segments, the three stories all involve each other, whether only as a passerby or in a main role, the star-studded cast, including the likes of Harvey Keitel, Uma Thurman, Christopher Walken, Eric Stoltz and British actor Tim Roth, who all agreed to work for a smaller pay-packet while acting in this film, excel in their own unique way to make this a very enjoyable viewing that you wouldn't mind seeing again once you've finished. Jackson and Travolta play the two hit men Jules Winnfield and Vincent Vega, sent by their boss Marsellus Wallace to reclaim a package from some underage associates. As you can guess this ends up in a blood bath, but the closing sequence of the scene is postponed to one of the closing scenes, where another incident is carried along, this time with the inclusion of how to mop-up brain once it's spilt across your back-seat. With a story that sways from Divine intervention to male rape, you will never know what the next minute holds in store. Tarantino's marvelous soundtrack is again a collection of classic sixties and seventies hits, some known, some not. Missed out in the 1994 Oscars, when Best Picture was awarded to Forrest Gump, starring Tom Hanks, this still remains a modern classic that holds all the hallmarks of becoming a legend. Followed in 1997 with Jackie Brown, starring Blaxploitation honey, Pam Grier. Finally on a 2-DVD collector's package, this is an absolute must! The Tarantino Fiction documentary is very intriguing while the Charlie Rose Show footage is great for any film buff or lover of the Director. The deleted scenes are cool, but two were already available on the Collectors edition video release. A worthy edition to anyone's library.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2002
What would you do if you had a dead man in the back of your car? A girl overdosing in your passenger seat? Or a hitman staring you in the eye whilst reciting the Bible?
If you like crisp dialogue, gangster cool and an intelligent story, Pulp Fiction has your answers.
Tarrantino took 90s cinema in a new direction with Pulp Fiction and Reservoir Dogs. It's fast and furious, but doesn't just hang on violence. It has a lot, lot more.
The first thing that stands out for me is dialogue. There're some great lines that you can't resist quoting at dinner parties.
The second thing is an interesting story line. There are three stories in all. Tarrantino admits they're nothing new, but it's the way these stories hang together that works so well. The film moves back and forth in time, making you work just hard enough to pull all the pieces together. You'll switch off the tele and think about it whilst laying in bed trying to sleep, no doubt.
If you've seen the film already - and I guess most of you have - the 2CD draw is probably what you're most interested in. Well, let me tell you, the second CD is worth your money. I think.
There are interviews with some of the stars, a making of.... there are Tarrantino interviews too - albeit on annoying American chat shows. The most interesting thing perhaps is an interview with John Travolta. Caught before his 'second coming', it's interesting to see him before his more recent multi-million pound films. Not only did he not look 'shy of a kebab', he also sounds genuinely grateful for Tarrantino sticking by him for the film. Aww!
So, in short, if you like fast moving, crisp and intellent films, go Pulp. "I'm sorry, did I spoil your concentration?!"
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2011
I received this today and can confirm that this blu ray disk is region free and plays on UK blu ray players.

There is no point in reviewing the film as if you are reading this then you already know its quality but this is the review of the disk and can confirm that the picture quality and detail is amazing as is the sound, can't imagine the film looking and sounding any better.

Picture Quality 5/5
Sound 4.5/5

Enjoy!
44 comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2000
I bought this video based on the fact that it was a directors cut special edition with extra footage. I already owned a copy of the original version. If you are a first time purchaser of this film then go for this version but dont buy this copy for the special edition. The extra footage is good but unfortunaetly it is all plonked at the end of the film not in its rightful places throughout the film. This was disappointing. The film as always is great with some real surprises along the journey if you havent seen it but could have been so much better with the extra scenes in the right places. Tarantino has once again hit the mark with his writing and directing of the script. Only he could bring his film scripts to life on the screen. Still looking forward to his next work. Hope it follows in the class set by this film not like the disappointing Jackie Brown.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2015
Classics can't be reviewed, and hence I wouldn't say anything about the film, apart from the fact that this is one of the most darkly comic and/or comically dark films that you can see. It's fast, funny, tragic, sharp, and surreal. In short it's incomparable, and you better watch it, or else you wouldn't even know how deprived you have been so far.

The DVD is also a classic in the sense that it's very-very reasonably priced, has the necessary things (including SDH), and is quite clean in terms of picture.

Do you need anything more, before you place the order? I don't think so. Happy viewing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2003
This latest version of Pulp Fiction really is the one to have. It's got everything you could ever want crammed onto two shiny DVD's...
The first disc has the movie and is an excellent representation with great picture, but of course we've all come to expect this of any DVD release.
It is the second disc which really shines however... 4 deleted scenes from the movie with introductions and explanations from Tarantino himself, several excellent featurettes on everything from the prop and stage design to Production design... All this as well as sections on the Cannes film festival, Independent Spirit Awards, Academy Awards campaigns and the Charlie Rose show... But that's not all! Extras also include an original documentary "Tarantino Fiction", behind the scenes montages such as Jack Rabbit Slim's and "Butch hits Marsellus".
Please let me stress these extras are not the crummy, run of the mill stuff that some studios add onto their movies to make a "collectors edition" and a few extra bucks from the public. The extras on this DVD are almost as essential as the movie itself, quite simply, awesome.
Buy this now!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2004
O.K. Most of us know how great the second film from Quentin Tarantino is, if you've not seen it yet, it has got to be on top of your list of priorities.
If you are like me, and have seen the film a load of times, I would still recommend this D.V.D. I'm in the process of upgrading my collection to D.V.D.'s and this package is one of the best I've come across, not only is it one of the best films out there but the extras are excellent.
The first disc contains the film and also a chapter breakdown by soundtrack, so you can jump to a particular song whenever you feel like it. The quality of Tarantino's soundtracks speak for themselves and this is a nice feature.
The second disc contains the usual trailers, T.V. spots and stills, but also a very entertaining 'Tarantino Fiction' short documentary and behind the scenes montages from Jack Rabbit Slims and when Butch runs down Marcellus. There are six deleted or extended scenes with a Tarantino introduction, two of which were already available on the special edition VHS, and a featurette on the production design. The bits I enjoyed the most include the acceptance speach from Cannes, interviews of Tarantino and Jackson at the Independent Spirit Awards by Michael Moore and a fifteen minute special 'Siskel and Elbert at the movies' - The Tarantino generation, an entertaining look at why Pulp Fiction was such a phenomenon when first released.
There is also a Charlie Rose show, where Tarantino is interviewed for about an hour, although Charlie Rose struggles to get a word in. This was an engaging and interesting interview, where Q.T. talks about his past, his break into film making big time, his biggest influences and a lot more beside.
So, even for people who have seen this film many times, this is still a worthy purchase. The many extras, some of which I've not mentioned, provide a real insight into just how passionate Quentin Tarantino is about his job, his deep, archival knowledge of all forms of film itself and how his energetic and unique style gets the best out of the actors involved, all of whom have a great time on the set and the greatest respect for their director.
A must buy D.V.D. package.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)