Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Film Noir Was Never So Hip!
Elmore Leonard's excellent novel, "Rum Punch" makes it to the screen in a sizzling black caper movie by Quinten Tarantino.
Many considered this a cinematic failure when released in 1997, however there is enough plot twists and turns and good characterisations by a splendid cast to good most people amused.
Tarantino's homage to Black movies of the 70's...
Published on 1 July 2002 by trini_jselle

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dull as Dishwater
I simply can not fathom why this film is so highly regarded. It gets some things right. It is reasonably well acted. Samuel L. Jackson is interesting to watch and Pam Grier dose have some screen presents. I just found the whole film very , very dull and not at all engaging. JB has nothing to offer that will we really stick in your mind or stimulate your brain. It just...
Published 2 months ago by H.E.Cox


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Film Noir Was Never So Hip!, 1 July 2002
This review is from: Jackie Brown [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Elmore Leonard's excellent novel, "Rum Punch" makes it to the screen in a sizzling black caper movie by Quinten Tarantino.
Many considered this a cinematic failure when released in 1997, however there is enough plot twists and turns and good characterisations by a splendid cast to good most people amused.
Tarantino's homage to Black movies of the 70's included a great sans towards the violence he had otherwise become known for with pictures like "Resovoir Dogs" and "Pulp Fiction".
Instead here, he concentrates on the intricacies of the plot by airline stewardess and bag woman Jackie (played by Blaxploitation heroine, Pam Greer), to swindle her hoodlum boss Samuel L.Jackson, himself in excellant form, from virtually all his misbegotten earnings, whiich he needs moved up from Mexico.
Style is as much a feature of this film as well as acting skill and a good script. Flashbacks, inter-twining sub-plots and a whole lot of 70's soul music all add up to make this picture a worthy addition to any collection.London, Uk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tarantino Masterpiece, 3 Jan 2004
By 
Mr. Damian J. McGrath (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Like him or not, Quentin Tarantino keeps making masterpieces. Kill Bill may have recieved poor ratings, but its still an excellently made film, and an artistic masterpiece. Pulp Fiction, possibly his most famous creation, was another cinematic landmark, with the originally hard to follow flashbacks and stories within stories. Reservoir Dogs was a masterpiece for the sheer cheek to produce a film set mainly in a warehouse, and featuring 70s cheerful music to acts of horrific violence and bloody scenes.
Then you have Jackie Brown. A forgotten gem in the Tarantino Collection, this film is my personal favourite. Its not as violent as his others, but the storyline is excellent.
Basically, the film is about Ordell (played by Samuel L Jackson) trying to smuggle half a million dollar into America from Mexico, using his friend, air stewardess Jackie Brown. Ordell is played to perfection by Jackson, and the character really comes alive, thanks to his paranoid nature, including shooting his friend for getting arrested because he thinks investigations could bring up his name.
The smuggling plot falls apart when Jackie Brown is arrested smuggling in a tester amount of 50,000 and fears for her life after Ordell visits her apartment, gun in hand, but after a while, she convinces him on her loyalty, and the plan continues, but where do Jackie's loyalities really lie, and who will survive in this tense, yet compelling tale.
The film is 2 and a half hours long, and I really couldnt turn away, and that is something I dont say about a lot of films. I simple love Samuel L Jackson's acting ability, and this is potentially his finest performance.
In short, excellent film, another true masterpiece, and probably the only Tarantino film that doesnt need 2 or 3 watches to understand and appreciate it. Ironically, you'll appreciate it so much, you'll watch it 2 or 3 times because its so damn good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tarentino's Most Underrated Movie, 17 Mar 2006
By 
Charlie (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
This is Quentin Tarentino's most underrated movie and probably the best.
I saw this in the cinema when it first came out and came out thinking it was brilliant. What makes this movie work so well is it's chilled out vibe. This is conveyed through the excellent sound track, derived from the blaxploitation movies of the 70s. I would say that this is the best soundtrack used yet in one of Quentins movies.
The film runs at a slow pace which can put off some viewers, but I found that there was enough going on in the plot to keep me watching. It may not have the same level of violence as most Tarentino movies, but the characters are deep and develop well over the 2.5 hours.
The dialogue, as can be expected by a Tarrentino movie is brilliant. It is rare to have a director with such talent that can make a hollywood movie, but have the ability to create this "Art House" vibe and make a movie that is different from the mainstream. Jackie Brown is the height of Tarrentinos movie making talent and I would recommed this to anyone who has a sense of style and taste, who isn't afraid of going against the flow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tarantino`s best film, 28 Oct 2010
This film may not be his most famous or the biggest box office success but to me this is his best film. Absolutely love each charachter which are played amazingly well, especially Pam Grier and Robert Forster. It also has a really good soundtrack that goes well with the film. The one disappointing thing is there is no audio commentary by Tarantino himself who always gives a great insight into his films, but I wouldn`t mark it down for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strong Dialogue plus everyone gets to keep their ears, 15 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Jackie Brown [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This will be compared to Dogs and Pulp Fiction which is a shame. It is an excellent tale in it's own right. There are similar themes such as strong dialogue and flash back sequences, but this film should be viewed on it's own merits.
The only disappointment for the DVD is the lack of features - I think the studio must have rushed it out as quickly as possible. This is no special edition box set cram full of behind the scenes footage. It noticable for it's complete lack of features.
It is also a two sided disk - always a let down having to drag yourselve out of the armchair mid-movie.
Good picture and sound though (music being a key element in any Tarantino movie)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Down with teenage reviewers, 15 Jan 2007
By 
A. M. Lowe "A-Lo" (Kernow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Unfortunately for Tarantino, the iconography of his first two films made him the poster boy for a certain generation, and so, he gets a lot of teenage boys with pictures of Uma on their wall (hello, 'Real metal listener')complaining that Jackie Brown is crap because it doesn't contain enough violence.

Tarantino's trick is that he has always played around with the dynamics of cliche, flatness and depth, bringing alive the 2D pulpy influences into flesh, making stock in trade characters breathe before icing the cake with his own particular, post-modern style. When I saw Jackie Brown on TV the other day, i realised it was such a shame that he went back to iconography and the pornography of violence again in Kill Bill, a film that is supposed to be porno-coke for the eyeballs. (Fair enough as a concept, but trying to shoehorn in any depth/length made it a grotesque cartoon. Tailor-made for teenage boys only, and their spiritual father, Jonathan Ross.)

In JB, everything is note perfect: the rendering of Elmore Leonard's particular atmosphere, all of the performances, the 'over-long' length, the meloncholic mid-life love story contrasted with money scams and the threat of violence etc. Concerning the violence in JB, the difference when compared to Kill Bill, is that you are scared for the characters because they seem real and sympathetic, and this is because the actors have screen time to relax into to their skins.

This is such a good film: It almost plays like a mood piece in it's pace, except with exceptional characters, acting, writing and plotting.

In short: Don't be put off by the meathead Kill Bill crew who judge a film based only on the amount of comic book violence it contains, this film kicks it into touch in every way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tarantino's best film?, 27 Oct 2004
By 
Mr. J. R. Coupland (Somewhere on Earth) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I first saw 'Jackie Brown' on its release in 97 and was underwhelmed, only picking it up on video when I found a copy at a car boot sale and thought I'd try again. And I'm glad I did. 'Jackie Brown' is an underrated masterpiece, a slow-burning work whose genius comes through after several viewings. Definitely not as immediate as Tarantino's other films, it demands patience and rewards it in spades.
'Reservoir Dogs' may be his tightest film, 'Pulp Fiction' his most entertaining and 'Kill Bill' his most playful, but 'Jackie Brown' stands as Tarantino's most mature and thoughtful work. There is humour here (courtest mostly of Robert DeNiro and Bridget Fonda), killer dialogue (the best lines go to Samuel L. Jackson) and (brief, mostly off-screen) moments of violence, but it's the tentative relationship between Pam Grier's title character and the rightly Oscar nominated Robert Forster's weary bail bondsman, Max Cherry, which stands out. In a rarity for Tarantino's films, these are two hugely sympathetic and likeable characters, who come across as truly touching. You find yourself rooting for them a great deal more than the likes of Mr. Orange, or Butch, or even The Bride.
This is also Tarantino's most straightforward narrative, with few of his trademark jumps through time (the same sequence replayed from three different points of view is as convoluted as it gets). This allows the story to unfold naturally, with events gathering momentum, rather than demanding the viewer piece together the storyline themselves (a technique which works extremely well in 'Reservior Dogs' et al but which would simply get in the way here).
For those who were disappointed with 'Jackie Brown' when they saw it on its release, give it another go - you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Under rated when compared to Pulp Fiction, 2 May 2007
This review is from: Jackie Brown [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Being a huge fan of Tarantinos earlier efforts Reservoir Dogs and Pulp Fiction expectations were of course high. Especially since Jackie Brown is based on the Elmore Leonard novel "Rum Punch". And Elmore Leonards stories usually fit the big screen very well, they are actually one of the rare occasions where i usually prefer the film to the novel.

Tarantino sets a different mood here compared to the more frantic and violent Reservoir Dogs and Pulp Fiction. This is more of a slow crime story that focuses more on being cool than being shocking. I think this movie works very well despite the slow pace which seems to put a lot of people off. Mainly i think it works because the actors are all giving it their best (the casting is also excellent) while Tarantino seems to handle the whole story more gently than in Pulp Fiction. He doesn't stress it, he doesn't run the risk of over-doing the "cool" parts. The end result is enjoyable but a lot more somber than what you're used to from Tarantino.

All in all i feel this movie is underrated. It's enjoyable, well made and stylish. Recommended to those not demanding all movies to head on at breakneck speed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lowkey but excellent Tarantino film, 11 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Jackie Brown [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I may be wrong but I believe when this hit the cinema screens it didn't do as well as Pulp Fiction or Reservoir Dogs. It certainly did not have the same hype.
Its a very rewarding film however and you could even say the director has matured but thats not really the right word - I think he has gone for something different and proved he can make a good movie without flashy scenes and dialogue. He lets the actors get on with a well-written script, which concentrates on the title character. There is however an excellent robbery sequence told from various viewpoints that is a real delight. Its also shows Pam Grier as a great actress in a role that is perfect for her.
Thats the film. The DVD is ok too I guess: no special features which is always disappointing but the sound & picture are great and at ... you cant complain. Something I really didn't like though is that its split over the two sides of the DVD. Maybe there will be a Region 1 version available someday but for the moment you can only get this film in Region 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great adaptation, Tarantino style, 25 Feb 2006
By 
aurtherwood (Dumfries, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Tarantino adapted JACKIE BROWN from one of Elmore Leonard's books, RUM PUNCH. Leonard, being a favourite author of Tarnatino's, usually lets his characters develop the story for the reader, and using as little violence as possible in the process, so it is quite difficult to believe that Tarantino, who's renowned for making crime movies of the more vilent genre, would take RUM PUNCH and adapt it as one of his own movies. But does Tarantino succeed in the process of adaptation? Yes he does.
Jackie Brown (Grier) is a 45-year-old stewardess for Cabo Air, but she also has a backyard job, she is also a courier for 40-something year old Verona Beach gunrunner Ordell Robbie (Jackson), who'as plan is to get his fortune down to Cabo San Lucas in Mexico. But when Jackie is arrested for suspected drugs trafficking, Ordell knows he needs to speed up his final plan of retirement. Helped (in some way) by his old friend and fellow convict Louis Gara (De Niro) and well shagged Beach Bunny Melanie (Fonda), Ordell and Jackie plan the final payoff. But Jackie has plans of her own and Ordell's money.....
Many people shun this movie because it doesn't contain Tarantino's ultra-violence, quirky dialogue and junky characters. The whole point of the movie is taking a novel and adapting it as his own. If Tarantino had taken RUM PUNCH and taken all the characters and situations out and written his own movie, then it wouldn't be an adaptation. The vilence and dialogue aren't there, but the movie is still a wonderful piece of homage to the 1970's genre of Blaxploitation (Cleopatra Jones, Foxy Brown, etc) Also, using 70's Blaxploitation queen Pam Grier for the lead role only helps the movie to be as entertaining and original as it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa965d348)

This product

Jackie Brown [Blu-ray]
Jackie Brown [Blu-ray] by Quentin Tarantino (Blu-ray - 2011)
7.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews