Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars this kept me up late reading into the night
love the subject matter and characters great story. loved the ending as it leaves the story open to a sequal but dont let that put anyone off as it also reads well as a stand alone book
Published on 24 Jun 2012 by joedoe1982

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You kinda feel sorry for the little alien....
I received a free copy of this book for my review. A triangular shaped object lands in the middle of a forest, a photopgrapher captures the event and her camera falls into the hands of the main character. The object is an alien spaceship, a cargo ship transporting a dangerous alien creature. The creature has escaped and is on the loose and the poor alien, who apparently...
Published on 16 Aug 2011 by Cheryl M-M


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You kinda feel sorry for the little alien...., 16 Aug 2011
By 
Cheryl M-M (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lost Cargo (Kindle Edition)
I received a free copy of this book for my review. A triangular shaped object lands in the middle of a forest, a photopgrapher captures the event and her camera falls into the hands of the main character. The object is an alien spaceship, a cargo ship transporting a dangerous alien creature. The creature has escaped and is on the loose and the poor alien, who apparently is a midget with many many eyes has got to capture it again. In essence a funny story, however I felt it was written in a way that would be more suitable for much younger readers, which it is except for the parts when the creature eats people. The dialogue is very cliched and it seemed disconnected at times and some of the threads the writer created were left unused.
Lost Cargo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Starts Well, 13 Oct 2012
By 
Bob (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Cargo (Kindle Edition)
Initially I was gripped by the story, an alien delivery driver crashes his space ship and his cargo an "Elemental" escapes and the delivery driver needs to capture it.
Although what an elemental actually is develops throughout the story and how nasty it is, the descriptive passages that cover the elemental are very well done and it allows you to visualise this creature. It is a pity that less time is devoted to the delivery driver.
The humans in the story, mainly victims of the elemental have all individual stories to tell and somehow I felt the aliens had been described better than the humans. Perhaps the story was too long as the middle part had many similar scenes however when it got near the end it seemed that the author had lost interest and rushed the ending as I felt it was difficult to follow and not sure why some of it happened.
A good idea spoilt by the ending, as far as I know this is a standalone novel but there are enough surviving characters and loose ends to allow a sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hard to make a scary alien..., 19 Aug 2012
This review is from: Lost Cargo (Kindle Edition)
...but at least the story is entertaining. I wish the writing was a bit more fluid, I have to admit it I took a while to finish the book, but all in all the story is good, the characters are ok and somehow I was really curious to see if Lexie would end up in bed with Travis.
A little obvious that the alien is a shape-shifter that takes up the traits of what it eats/kills, but the way it is described in the book still manages to give some thrills.
Nice short story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pure escapism, 1 Aug 2012
By 
M. Barry (East Yorks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Cargo (Kindle Edition)
As a fan of Star Trek/ Stargate/ X-files etc., I have learned to suspend disbelief and just enjoy the escapism and I certainly enjoyed this. I felt sorry for the photographer and the pilot (Tech 29). I followed the adventures of everybody caught up in the story and just enjoyed it. I did wonder though why most people did not seem to notice anything strange about the escaped elemental.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars like a cheap horror movie, 1 July 2012
This review is from: Lost Cargo (Kindle Edition)
I am 1/3 through this book and I am not sure whether I'll finish it. It feels like one of these cheap and predictable horror movies where you see how the people seem to make one stupid mistake after another leading to a unavoidable showdown at the end.You want to cry out to these people to stop acting like total morons. Maybe the story will get better later in the book, if it does (and if I keep reading until then) I'll update this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this kept me up late reading into the night, 24 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Cargo (Kindle Edition)
love the subject matter and characters great story. loved the ending as it leaves the story open to a sequal but dont let that put anyone off as it also reads well as a stand alone book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, with a memorable and scary monster, 11 Aug 2011
This review is from: Lost Cargo (Kindle Edition)
Lost Cargo is a well-written Sci-Fi thriller with moments of genuine horror and a dash of humour, and a genuinely memorable and scary antagonist. The prose is very accessible and before you know it, you'll have read far more than the single chapter you originally intended.

Set in a wonderfully-realised modern-day Washington D.C., the narrative zips along. When a UFO crashes in a city park and a hungry extraterrestrial begins preying on the city, it brings the interesting and diverse characters together as all their lives are thrown into turmoil.

I honestly couldn't stop reading this book until I found out how it all ended. You know how in some books you're divorced from the action as you know the heroes are going to save the day no matter what? That's not the case with Lost Cargo. It's a testament to Grant's writing that I was actually worried for the safety of the characters and unsure if they were in fact going to survive. (Of course I won't tell you if they do; wouldn't want to spoil it for anyone). Needless to say, you'll really fear for Lexie and Travis when the XXX appears and they lose XXX. Oh, and the bit when the XXX rips through the XXX. What? You don't want me to give away any of the twists, do you?

Lost Cargo has some great scary scenes with the tension ramped up to eleven. It's packed full of vivid descriptions, very human characters and action that really immerses you into the story.

Do yourself a favour and buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Cargo (Kindle Edition)
This book keeps you hooked to the end
If you like science fiction this is s great read. I recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lost Cargo
Lost Cargo by Hollister Ann Grant
0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews