Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant return to form!
I have listened to this album constantly since it's release and I can highly recommend it as probably Alice Cooper's finest hour for well...20 or 30 years! For those like me who were disappointed with the the previous outing - Along Came A Spider - this is a complete return to form from the great man himself.

The key to the album is the diversity of musical...
Published on 15 Sep 2011 by Brutal Alice

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Alice, what's a matter?
Alice Cooper has become a bit like the Rolling Stones when it comes to new studio album releases, in that you get the occasional glimpse of past glories, but the majority of the record is pretty forgettable.
This is what happens with "Welcome 2..", there are some great little rockers like "The Congregation", "Ghouls gone Wild" & "I Gotta get out of hear". But alas...
Published 20 months ago by Jimi jac


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant return to form!, 15 Sep 2011
By 
Brutal Alice (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Welcome 2 My Nightmare (Audio CD)
I have listened to this album constantly since it's release and I can highly recommend it as probably Alice Cooper's finest hour for well...20 or 30 years! For those like me who were disappointed with the the previous outing - Along Came A Spider - this is a complete return to form from the great man himself.

The key to the album is the diversity of musical styles on the album - there really is something for everyone! My only gripes are the "jokey" songs - Disco Bloodbath Boogie Fever & Ghouls Gone Wild - which are not everyone's cup of tea. However - if you get the collector's pack edition of the album, you get the excellent bonus track - Under The Bed - which is stronger than both these songs combined. I'm baffled as to why this song wasn't one of the regular tracks on the album though as it is that good!

I'm willing to forgive Alice for putting Disco Bloodbath Boogie Fever & Ghouls Gone Wild on the album though as the rest of the album is first rate. The album benefits enormously from having Bob Ezrin producing and also having the remaining members of the original Alice Cooper band back for several of the songs. Even the ballads on the album - I am Made Of You and Something To Remember Me By - are really well written and produced, something I never normally liked on Alice's albums. The fact that a lot of the songs would not look out of place on one of the original Alice Cooper band's original albums shows you just how good this album is.

Highly recommended! Now go buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Addictive, best since original 'Welcome TMN' but ...., 13 Sep 2011
By 
This review is from: Welcome 2 My Nightmare (Audio CD)
I've been waiting for this album to be released for months; since Alice first tweeted about it way back when .... and it's worth the wait.

Since the original 'Welcome To My Nightmare' I've bought numerous Alice albums but it was always going to be difficult to beat that classic. Now let me be clear, 'Welcome 2 My Nightmare' doesn't match the original but it is the best album since without a SHADOW of doubt (in my opinion).

Clever clever start with the piano hook from 'Steven' (original WTMN album) leads into the excellent 'I Am Made Of You'. Up-to-date and a little 'Kanye' as the song begins

Track 2 ('Caffeine') is a strong rock track and then 'The Nightmare Returns' and the intro to 'A Runaway Train' promises touches of inspiration a la original WTMN ..... but slips into some solid but not memorable rock.

Banjo and oompah music are hugely entertaining in the brilliant 'Last Man on Earth' and then there's 'The Congregation'; love it!! LOVE ..... IT .... !!

The next three tracks are ok but the 10th track ('Something To Remember Me By') is a weak ballad I'm afraid; it feels like a placeholder, a poor substitute for a track that should have been a 'Only Women Bleed II'.

'When Hell Comes Home' is an edgy and GREAT track about the horrors of abuse and is followed by a good link up with Ke$ha (yes, I know ..... me too) in 'What Baby Wants'.

The next track is ..... bland but then it's followed by an instrumental medley from the original 'Welcome' album. Bonus track is a cover and is okay I guess.

So in summary I'd say four things: -

- This is a definite 4 *'s but I can't give it a '5' because it doesn't quite match the original 'Welcome' album.
- there are some tracks on here that I WILL definitely listen to death; brilliant
- shame about 3 of the 15 tracks; feel like poor subs or space fillers
- I'm about to listen to the original 'Welcome' album again as this (W2MN) is a great follow-up album AND it reminds me that the original 'Welcome' is just IMMENSE and should be in everyone's collection. I can see this album re-igniting interest in the original for sure.

Alice, sit back and feel bl**dy smug mate; job well done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome 2 My... Album of the Year, 5 Dec 2011
By 
R. Muir "fabricationsHQ" (Prestwick, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Welcome 2 My Nightmare (Audio CD)
It's been a long time since Alice Cooper, Godfather of theatrical shock rock 'n' roll, came up with anything that could be described as Classic Cooper.

In the 70's - on just about every album after the first two psychedelia and Zappa influenced releases - the Alice Cooper Band, then Alice Cooper the solo artist, were responsible for some of the best conceptual, diverse and greatest music in rock.
But for a man who once decided to Flush the Fashion the reality is that, for the last three decades, it's primarily been formulated 80's and 90's Trash 'n' roll and Millennium melodic metal.

There have been exceptions, such as 1994's The Last Temptation (a serious return to form) but the chances of Alice Cooper ever revisiting the classic era or recreating something quintessentially Cooper, seemed remote. At best.
But who could have dreamed...

Welcome 2 My Nightmare is, as the name suggests, a sequel or themed follow up to the classic 1975 original.
Cooper had at first considered a sequel to his 2008 album Along Came a Spider, but Bob Ezrin (producer and influence on just about every Alice Cooper release of the 70's) wasn't taken with the idea and the pair decided to go further back for inspiration and return to nightmare's past.

And good move it was too, because Welcome 2 is a startling return to form, diverse in content and themed around the nightmarish scenarios of the original without ever copying or rewriting that classic material. The Lyrics vary from dark and black to the thoughtful and downright funny.
Having Bob Ezrin back at the controls (and contributing to the writing and arrangements) has also paid dividends. It's a clean production but intentionally and successfully captures the vibe of the original Nightmare and that 70's sound.

And it doesn't hurt that members of the original Alice Cooper Band - Michael Bruce (guitars, keyboards) Dennis Dunaway (bass) and Neal Smith (drums) all make appearances on the album and have individual co-writing credits on the their three featured numbers (the other ACB original, guitarist Glen Buxton, sadly died in 1997).
Guitarist Steve Hunter, who played on a number of ACB albums (and worked with Cooper in the latter half of the 70's) also gets to flex his six-string fingers on a few of the tracks.

The album opens in grand fashion with `I Am Made of You.'
The song starts with a familiar chill courtesy of the revisited piano intro from the original Nightmare's `Steven` (the central player of the 1975 album and a recurring character on other Cooper records). The mid-tempo number builds from its piano-vocal opening to become a theatrical piece that is almost rock opera in scale.
It's already being hailed as a classic Cooper song.

For all the darkness of the concept there is a serious amount of fun to be had with Welcome 2.
`Caffeine' is infectious fun-filled rock and roll, based on the dangers of grabbing yourself too much of that stimulant - a too-wired-to-sleep nightmare for many.
`A Runaway Train' (featuring the ACB musicians) thunders down the rock and roll tracks in the tradition of `Under My Wheels' while `Last Man on Earth' is an observation after the Runaway Train crash, sung and arranged in a Vaudeville meets Cabaret style.
And although Cooper has stated `The Congregation' was inspired by the Beatles, it's loudly and clearly the greatest song Green Day and Oasis never got together to do.

Just about every song carries a macabre theme however.
Some are very dark in tone, such as 'When Hell Comes Home' (dealing with family abuse), while some levity is restored with the surf rock of 'Ghouls Gone Wild' and 'Disco Bloodbath Boogie Fever.'
The latter is a truly awful song (but then that's the point), presented in a very specific musical and lyrical form to reinforce the fact that disco, sadly, never dies.
Even when everyone else does.

For all its diversity, Welcome 2 still manages to throw up a surprise or two.
Female singer/ rapper Kesha guests as the Devil in `What Baby Wants' while the soft rock ballad `Something to Remember Me By' would seem to be a strange choice for an album full of nightmares.
But this is an Alice Cooper album and things are never as they first appear...
'Something to Remember Me By' actually sat unused and unsung for over thirty years but here has finally found a home. And a fitting home it is too - musically it's the nicest piece on the album but lyrically it's being sung to parts of a corpse.
As you do.

The album closes with the instrumental `The Underture,' another rock opera piece.
The track revisits themes from both Nightmare albums and features guitar work from Dick Wagner, another musical sparring partner of Cooper's from the 70's and early 80's.
The very nature of the piece means it should be the opening number but, again, this is an Alice Cooper album - so where else would it be but the end.

The Alice Cooper Band releases, from Love it to Death onwards, helped define 70's rock. And there's an argument for Killer being THE Alice Cooper album.
But as regards the individual and performer known as Alice Cooper, three solo albums stand out as showcases for the musical diversity and originality of the artist...

Welcome to My Nightmare is the 1975 album that set Alice Cooper on his way as a solo artist and theatrical shock and roll performer.

From the Inside is another concept album, this one based around the singer's stay at a sanatorium due to alcoholism and health concerns.
Released in 1978, Inside is his finest 40 minutes and most accomplished work.

Zipper Catches Skin takes its musical lead from early 80's post-punk new wave and features lyrics that are tongue-in-cheek, sarcastic and just plain funny.
Zipper was not well received and didn't chart in the US or the UK, but it's a sometimes humorous, sometimes bizarre and a genuinely unique Alice Cooper release.

Nightmare themed rock... biographical conceptual rock and roll... quirky off-the-wall musicality. Each helps define Alice Cooper.

As does Welcome 2 My Nightmare.
Some 36 years after the album that inspired it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A 'Grower', 21 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: Welcome 2 My Nightmare (Audio CD)
In early January when I first listened to this Album I must admit, even though I liked it, I was a little dissapointed. Admitedly this was partly due to my inevitable high expectations due to it's allegiance to the original WTMN, (which I believe is one of the greatest Albums ever made), a comparison that was always going to be difficult to live up to.

In my opinion the review by B.S.Marlay best summed up the Album. It is not WTMN 2. The 2 Albums are incomparable. As he says this Album is far more in the mould of DIRTY DIAMONDS and not all that bad for it.

But to the point of this review. It's now been a Month since I first listened to this Album, along with the other 18 Albums I got for Xmas (It's all I ever ask for). Ranging from Metalica/lou reed, Cold play, Dead Weather to Kate Bush, Gary Numan and Genesis, and you know which Album I keep coming back to again and again? Yep,W2MN.

So why is that?

Well it's hard to put your finger on. Maybe it's just because it's such damn good fun. Like so much of Alices work there's always such a strong underlying sense of humour, in not only the lyrics, but in this case, in the music as well. Then of course there's the variety, ranging from Rock to Pop, from Vaudeville to Broadway.

Of course not everything works, it's very rare an album has'nt got some low points, but overall this Album is very very enjoyable. Brilliantly played, brilliantly produced and dare I say it brilliantly marketed.

Buy it, jump in, and just enjoy the sheer theatrical splendour of it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, high energy rock - but title is merely a marketing ploy, 7 Nov 2011
By 
B. S. Marlay (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Welcome 2 My Nightmare (Audio CD)
Wanna know what happened to Steven??? Well, according to Alice Cooper's previous album, 2008's `Along Came A Spider', he is stuck in an insane asylum suffering delusions that he is a serial killer and giant spider who wraps his victims in silk and delights in eating their limbs. You won't find out anything about him on the good-time rocker, `Welcome 2 My Nightmare'.

Perhaps `Along Came a Spider', despite its comparatively superficial, heavy metal, comic book approach, was the real sequel to 1975's complex, career-defining `Welcom To My Nightmare'. And perhaps Alice, realizing the missed titling and marketing opportunity too late, decided to nevertheless officially stamp his next record as the "official sequel", despite the fact that there is nothing even faintly as dark as man-eating black widow spiders, terrified little boys, necrophilia and blood-soaked alcoholic blackouts on this "sequel" - and despite the fact that there is nothing really linking the 13 new songs together in any dream-related narrative.

Sure, he throws in the odd reference to nightmares, ghouls, souls, death, burning beds and blood. But this album, though far more slickly produced, has much more in common with his genre-hopping, garage-rock infused `Dirty Diamonds', from 2005 (Dirty Diamonds 2, anyone?!), than it really does to anything quite as perverse as the first `Nightmare' or the original band's shock-rock efforts before it, like `Billion Dollar Babies', `School's Out', `Killer' or `Love It to Death'.

So, shrewd businessman that he is, Alice has also assembled the remaining members of the original band and the uber-producer, Bob Ezrin, who made all those albums - and more - into massive hits for the Coop in his heyday.

And, once you get past the failed promise of the title, it works quite well. There are dabbles in the Vaudevillian style of the Alice Cooper band of old, but they are more of a nod that a full embrace. Throw in a few bits of tinkling piano and moments of orchestration that hark back to the original, along with the horror references, and you might fool the passing listener. But the rest of us will judge it as a strong, slick, late career rocker from the Ezrin-Cooper team, tapping their winning approach of old while giving it all a modern, good-time spit and polish. And the result is mostly high energy, humorous, rockin' fun...

Things kick off with the rather beautifully auto-tuned and moody `I Am Made of You', which sets up a suitable level of intrigue before it is dashed by fast paced pop-rocker, `Caffeine'. Some rapid fire rockabilly with `A Runaway Train' is soon followed up with a Parisian whiff of Tom Waits in `Last Man on Earth', an echo of Oasis in `The Congregation' and the Stones-esque swagger of `I'll Bite Your Face Off'. There's the overdone tongue-in-cheek cheese of `Disco Bloodbath Boogie Fever', which is saved by a switch to a thrash ending, followed by the Green Day tinged `Ghouls Gone Wild'. The rather beautiful Cooper-Wagner ballad, `Something to Remember Me By', takes on a sinister overtone when followed up by the album's only truly dark or perverse track ,the magnificent but sleazy domestic abuse opus, `When Hell Comes Home'. Things shift back into high party mode with the slick pop of the infectious `What Baby Wants', a duet with Kesha, before ending in the embarrassingly naff wrap-up track, `I Gotta Get Out of Here'. An orchestral suite of the original and the sequel is tacked on the end.

Not the sequel the title would suggest (though, the cover art probably provides a hint of what to expect), `Welcome 2 My Nightmare' is nevertheless a slick, high energy, celebratory party album. And its stacks of camp fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome 2 a better album phew!, 1 Oct 2011
By 
Toecutter (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Welcome 2 My Nightmare (Audio CD)
As a huge Alice fan, i have been let-down by the last few albums ..sure there were some good songs on each but thats a so what? .. i heard Alice was going back to the nightmare, i must admit i was pleased but being a sequel or follow up to the classic nightmare i wasnt sure he could pull it off! im pleased to say that after what seems like years of waiting for Alice to show up, he finally does! there are a host of styles which compliment the original, Alice seems to have woken up to the fact not everyone wants to here garage rock n roll album after album, the opener - i am made of you is the first song to grab me and make me a believer in Alice again.. the song uses effects to suit alices brilliant singing voice to the max! plus its the music that makes this outing better...a host of collaberators with his original band, plus steve hunter and bob ezrin, rob zombie and john 5 , plus also a welcome return of Kip Winger pity he is on backin vocals and not bass too..but this is a album of class there is only one point i would have liked Kane Roberts on Guitar for a couple of tracks but still its a great return for Alice ..My Mate Ziggy would be proud!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Alice, 10 Mar 2013
By 
Mrs. A. Shaw (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Welcome 2 My Nightmare (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of Alice Cooper since I was a young girl that is a very long time!!!!! This album certainly does not disappoint quite the opposite. Alice Cooper is a talented and creative song writer and performer and I enjoy listening to this album as well as all the others.

This is brillian because it is the continuation of the first Welcome to my Nightmare and you can follow the story line running through it and the music is simply brilliant! Long may you rock, Alice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars new classic, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Welcome 2 My Nightmare (Audio CD)
This is an old feeling: everything seems familiar. The old spirit is here: that show you can see through recording-:)
"The last man on Earth"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome 2 My Nightmare, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Welcome 2 My Nightmare (Audio CD)
Alice's singing voice much improved the years. Enjoy listening to this audio CD. This CD belongs to the realm of popular music. Alice can sing without accompanying musicians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars welcome 2 my nightmare, 12 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Welcome 2 My Nightmare (Audio CD)
Bought this album for a good friend of mine, as he was going to see Alice on tour. Having had a listen to the album, I can thoroughly recommend buying it. This is getting back to the persona at its best. Some of the tracks ease you into the mood before Alice commands the story. Buy it now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Welcome 2 My Nightmare
Welcome 2 My Nightmare by Alice Cooper (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews