Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and passionate
The follow-up ro the Dance The Devil album is a logical progression in sound and style. With beautiful odes to love and loss (Headlong, Lay Me Down, Giving Me Wings) imbued with a hint of old school country, and with rousing anthemic tunes like Mighty Sword and Santa Maria, the songwriting skills of Glen Hansard have never been so finely tuned to produce excellence. A...
Published on 26 Jan 2002 by Aidan OConnor

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Delicate but too light
I bought this on the basis of others Amazon reviews and not surprisingly (given the zealot like praise) was slightly disappointed. While I'm not adverse to a bit of fragility (John Martyn/David Kitt/Jeff Buckley et al) this one was just too low key.
While there are definitley some beautiful tender moments on the Album (Headlong/When the Heart Stops) it is a pleasant,...
Published on 28 Sep 2005 by I can laugh about it now but a...


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and passionate, 26 Jan 2002
This review is from: For The Birds (Audio CD)
The follow-up ro the Dance The Devil album is a logical progression in sound and style. With beautiful odes to love and loss (Headlong, Lay Me Down, Giving Me Wings) imbued with a hint of old school country, and with rousing anthemic tunes like Mighty Sword and Santa Maria, the songwriting skills of Glen Hansard have never been so finely tuned to produce excellence. A record made with passion and love, beautifully soothing, and ideal for long winter evenings by a roaring fireside. Great stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stunning, 1 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: For The Birds (Audio CD)
this album is amazing, everyone should own it. the subtley and the way the songs build from nothing to big climaxes is amazing. the raw passion of songs like lay me down (which is the best song ever in my humble opinion) and friends and foe, then the slow build-ups and near sexual release of songs like santa maria. it's just fantasic understated music, stuff that sends tingles down the back of your spine. it's a mix of U2 and damien rice. this should be a must in anyone who can appreciate good music's cd collection. buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly brilliant, 31 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: For the Birds (Audio CD)
In short, one of the most enjoyable listens ever recorded. Perfect for long wintry evenings sprawled out in front of the fire, it sounds as fresh now as it did when I bought it over a year ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bruising Beauy, 6 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: For the Birds (Audio CD)
Quite simply the album of 2001. Whereas Dance the Devil always hinted at the potential for an album about the exquisitely flawed fallout of love and loss, the pure delight at hearing something which grabs you by the heart on the second listen and refuses to let go is enough to restore your faith in music a hundred times over. Headlong.. What Happens When The Heart Just Stops.. one song after another flows with almost ferocious feeling. This is definitely an organic album with all the parts making up the sum of the whole; partly thanks to Albini's production and the band's own incredible chemistry when playing live. This is music to mend hearts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazingly beautiful, 25 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: For the Birds (Audio CD)
The Frames are put together an album of perfect combination of music, lyrics and timing. The songs can rock, they can also move like a breeze. The deepness of Hansard's voice in "Headlong" to the jam that is the end of the song just capture what is so savage about this band.
This was the album of the year, and could well be the album of this year too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Delicate but too light, 28 Sep 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For The Birds (Audio CD)
I bought this on the basis of others Amazon reviews and not surprisingly (given the zealot like praise) was slightly disappointed. While I'm not adverse to a bit of fragility (John Martyn/David Kitt/Jeff Buckley et al) this one was just too low key.
While there are definitley some beautiful tender moments on the Album (Headlong/When the Heart Stops) it is a pleasant, not great listen and, after a fortnight on my stereo, it made a quick move to the great CD cabinet in the sky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars delicate but too light, 1 Oct 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For the Birds (Audio CD)
I bought this on the basis of others Amazon reviews and not surprisingly (given the zealot like praise) was slightly disappointed. While I'm not adverse to a bit of fragility (John Martyn/David Kitt/Jeff Buckley et al) this one was just too low key.
While there are definitley some beautiful tender moments on the Album (Headlong/When the Heart Stops) it is a pleasant, not great listen and, after a fortnight on my stereo, it made a quick move to the great CD cabinet in the sky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

For The Birds
For The Birds by The Frames
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews