Customer Reviews


332 Reviews
5 star:
 (131)
4 star:
 (59)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (89)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


102 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Transformed Telly
We thought our analogue portable telly was destined for the dustbin until a friend offered her freeview box which I set up but the next day wouldn't work so I resorted to Amazon to see what was on offer and found this ideal 'tiny' box of tricks. Quickly delivered without paying extra. Extremely easy to set up and our old telly has a new purpose in life and it gives us...
Published on 12 April 2012 by Mrs Baker

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unable to scan for channels
First time installation was fine, but the channels were lost a couple of weeks later.

The box was unable to find any channels when I attempted to rescan.
Published 13 months ago by Mills


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

102 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Transformed Telly, 12 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodmans Freeview Automatic Set Up and Auto Retune Twin Scart Digital Set Top Box (Electronics)
We thought our analogue portable telly was destined for the dustbin until a friend offered her freeview box which I set up but the next day wouldn't work so I resorted to Amazon to see what was on offer and found this ideal 'tiny' box of tricks. Quickly delivered without paying extra. Extremely easy to set up and our old telly has a new purpose in life and it gives us loads more channels to watch - so the kids are happy, CBeebies, CBBC and CITV included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars goodman freeview automatic set up, 3 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Goodmans Freeview Automatic Set Up and Auto Retune Twin Scart Digital Set Top Box (Electronics)
I am an 72 years old and had no problem in setting up this set top box. I would recommend it as a moderately priced box. As usual Amazon delivered a thoroughly satisfactory service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars standby settings no problem, 20 April 2012
By 
Bruno (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Goodmans Freeview Automatic Set Up and Auto Retune Twin Scart Digital Set Top Box (Electronics)
Just thought I would add this as one customer said it "kept going into standby" and this makes people think there is a problem. There isn't.

The solution is on page 71 of the User Guide. When you set up the "auto-standby" setting will be "on" and so will default to satndby after 3 hours. You just need to turn this setting to "off" by using the remote control:

Menu - Configuration - System parameters - Auto-standby settings

all works fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


89 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goodmans freeview digital box, 13 Dec. 2011
By 
This review is from: Goodmans Freeview Automatic Set Up and Auto Retune Twin Scart Digital Set Top Box (Electronics)
I was a bit wary at first as i have only got a loft ariel but as soon as i connected up everything was so easy to set up and the picture is perfect,I only had 5 channels now i have got the pick of 112.It also comes with a RF lead which you have to supply with other freeview boxes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars goodmans freeview digital set top box, 30 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodmans Freeview Automatic Set Up and Auto Retune Twin Scart Digital Set Top Box (Electronics)
The product is fine It arrived on time and the packaging was satisfactory Very easy to install I would recommend this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What more do you need?, 17 July 2012
By 
R. M. Leith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodmans Freeview Automatic Set Up and Auto Retune Twin Scart Digital Set Top Box (Electronics)
There were a couple of Goodmans set-top boxes on offer, but this one seems to meet the requirements. It is easy to set up and use. It can be used with a SCART connected VHS Recorder or DVD recorder using the second SCART socket (but, only if you really want to go to all that trouble!). The eight day EPG and reminder setting makes this possible.

The important feature for me is that it works well, but uses less than 1 Watt in standby, meaning that I can leave it powered up. The television is another matter and burns too much power in standby. That gets switched off between viewing sessions.

For £25 it is perfect.

There is just one other feature I did investigate and that is to be able to record to an external USB connected hard drive. That pushed the prices up to around £60 and I already own two full PVRs.

If you just want to give your old TV a new lease of life with Freeview, this seems like a good choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for TVs with no Scart, 7 Mar. 2012
By 
westwit (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Goodmans Freeview Automatic Set Up and Auto Retune Twin Scart Digital Set Top Box (Electronics)
Seems a very good product for the price, with a nice strong signal even from a loft aerial, and it's certainly very easy to set up. Could be five stars apart from the point below about RF.

Be aware that, despite what you may think from the technical description (RF output - lead supplied), this box does not have the RF modulator that is required to connect to an older TV set with no scart connection. You can only get a signal from this box to your TV through a scart socket (no scart leads supplied!). If your TV has no scart socket you will need a scart to RF modulator. Or there is a work around by routing the scart cable from the freeview box to a video recorder's scart input and then connecting an RF coax from that video recorder to the TV and tuning a TV channel to that output. See [...]

And by the way: it's only £24.99 at Currys / PC World!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unable to scan for channels, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodmans Freeview Automatic Set Up and Auto Retune Twin Scart Digital Set Top Box (Electronics)
First time installation was fine, but the channels were lost a couple of weeks later.

The box was unable to find any channels when I attempted to rescan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not good, 21 July 2014
This review is from: Goodmans Freeview Automatic Set Up and Auto Retune Twin Scart Digital Set Top Box (Electronics)
Same, same - 12 months and the picture or channel freezes. Reboot sometimes works. Did not buy it off Amazon so paid a slight levy. Top tip - buy another make!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Atrocious product. Not fit for purpose in my opinion. Avoid., 10 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodmans Freeview Automatic Set Up and Auto Retune Twin Scart Digital Set Top Box (Electronics)
Easy to set up, hence the favourable ratings, I suspect. Unfortunately only worked for 2 days, then repeatedly froze and had to be "rebooted" each time in order to restore normal functionality. Subsequently speaking to retailers about it- feedback was that it was "rubbish" and that I would have been lucky if it lasted 3 months anyhow. I can only conclude that it is not fit for purpose and am searching for something more reliable. Very disappointing- Amazon should discontinue this product in my opinion. Avoid at all costs- money and time wasted. The remote control is so cheap and nasty it has to be seen to be believed- like a child's toy with such small buttons you need a toddler sized hand to work it. Quality so lamentable only a squeak away from a dog toy. Actually, go for a dog toy instead, you will have more lasting entertainment from it than this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews