Customer Reviews


184 Reviews
5 star:
 (87)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (33)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


80 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Transformed Telly
We thought our analogue portable telly was destined for the dustbin until a friend offered her freeview box which I set up but the next day wouldn't work so I resorted to Amazon to see what was on offer and found this ideal 'tiny' box of tricks. Quickly delivered without paying extra. Extremely easy to set up and our old telly has a new purpose in life and it gives us...
Published on 12 April 2012 by Mrs Baker

versus
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Atrocious product. Not fit for purpose in my opinion. Avoid.
Easy to set up, hence the favourable ratings, I suspect. Unfortunately only worked for 2 days, then repeatedly froze and had to be "rebooted" each time in order to restore normal functionality. Subsequently speaking to retailers about it- feedback was that it was "rubbish" and that I would have been lucky if it lasted 3 months anyhow. I can only...
Published 19 months ago by William Andrew Smyth


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

80 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Transformed Telly, 12 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodmans Freeview Automatic Set Up and Auto Retune Twin Scart Digital Set Top Box (Electronics)
We thought our analogue portable telly was destined for the dustbin until a friend offered her freeview box which I set up but the next day wouldn't work so I resorted to Amazon to see what was on offer and found this ideal 'tiny' box of tricks. Quickly delivered without paying extra. Extremely easy to set up and our old telly has a new purpose in life and it gives us loads more channels to watch - so the kids are happy, CBeebies, CBBC and CITV included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars goodman freeview automatic set up, 3 Mar 2012
This review is from: Goodmans Freeview Automatic Set Up and Auto Retune Twin Scart Digital Set Top Box (Electronics)
I am an 72 years old and had no problem in setting up this set top box. I would recommend it as a moderately priced box. As usual Amazon delivered a thoroughly satisfactory service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


75 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goodmans freeview digital box, 13 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: Goodmans Freeview Automatic Set Up and Auto Retune Twin Scart Digital Set Top Box (Electronics)
I was a bit wary at first as i have only got a loft ariel but as soon as i connected up everything was so easy to set up and the picture is perfect,I only had 5 channels now i have got the pick of 112.It also comes with a RF lead which you have to supply with other freeview boxes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Atrocious product. Not fit for purpose in my opinion. Avoid., 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodmans Freeview Automatic Set Up and Auto Retune Twin Scart Digital Set Top Box (Electronics)
Easy to set up, hence the favourable ratings, I suspect. Unfortunately only worked for 2 days, then repeatedly froze and had to be "rebooted" each time in order to restore normal functionality. Subsequently speaking to retailers about it- feedback was that it was "rubbish" and that I would have been lucky if it lasted 3 months anyhow. I can only conclude that it is not fit for purpose and am searching for something more reliable. Very disappointing- Amazon should discontinue this product in my opinion. Avoid at all costs- money and time wasted. The remote control is so cheap and nasty it has to be seen to be believed- like a child's toy with such small buttons you need a toddler sized hand to work it. Quality so lamentable only a squeak away from a dog toy. Actually, go for a dog toy instead, you will have more lasting entertainment from it than this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars uncomplicated and good value, 1 July 2012
By 
Athon (East Sussex, England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodmans Freeview Automatic Set Up and Auto Retune Twin Scart Digital Set Top Box (Electronics)
Very easy to set up. Best picture ever on my old bedroom TV. Only very slight downside is the remote which sometimes requires buttons to be pushed very firmly. Excellent value and recommended for secondary TV's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars goodmans freeview digital set top box, 30 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodmans Freeview Automatic Set Up and Auto Retune Twin Scart Digital Set Top Box (Electronics)
The product is fine It arrived on time and the packaging was satisfactory Very easy to install I would recommend this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poor product? or bad sample, poor customer service, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodmans Freeview Automatic Set Up and Auto Retune Twin Scart Digital Set Top Box (Electronics)
Prompt delivery, neat and easy to set up. Performed impeccably twice but was as dead as the dodo 15 months later when that TV set was activated . As per enclosed instructions one attempted to contact customer service by e mail. That was a waste of time, there was no response even within office hours. Totally unhelpful response when one got through on the phone " Must be the box,. It is outside warranty".
May be it was a bad sample but I can only go by my experience and based on that I would never buy or advise anybody to buy a Goodmans product. Customer services at Goodmans do not live up to their self bestowed "helpful" label.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars standby settings no problem, 20 April 2012
By 
J. Coy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Goodmans Freeview Automatic Set Up and Auto Retune Twin Scart Digital Set Top Box (Electronics)
Just thought I would add this as one customer said it "kept going into standby" and this makes people think there is a problem. There isn't.

The solution is on page 71 of the User Guide. When you set up the "auto-standby" setting will be "on" and so will default to satndby after 3 hours. You just need to turn this setting to "off" by using the remote control:

Menu - Configuration - System parameters - Auto-standby settings

all works fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for TVs with no Scart, 7 Mar 2012
By 
westwit (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Goodmans Freeview Automatic Set Up and Auto Retune Twin Scart Digital Set Top Box (Electronics)
Seems a very good product for the price, with a nice strong signal even from a loft aerial, and it's certainly very easy to set up. Could be five stars apart from the point below about RF.

Be aware that, despite what you may think from the technical description (RF output - lead supplied), this box does not have the RF modulator that is required to connect to an older TV set with no scart connection. You can only get a signal from this box to your TV through a scart socket (no scart leads supplied!). If your TV has no scart socket you will need a scart to RF modulator. Or there is a work around by routing the scart cable from the freeview box to a video recorder's scart input and then connecting an RF coax from that video recorder to the TV and tuning a TV channel to that output. See [...]

And by the way: it's only 24.99 at Currys / PC World!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Digital Switchover, 15 Nov 2012
By 
Frances Irene Black "Penpal" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodmans Freeview Automatic Set Up and Auto Retune Twin Scart Digital Set Top Box (Electronics)
VERY NEAT LITTLE SET TOP BOX..BARELY NOTICEABLE AS ONLY 6.5" X 3.5" APPROX. EASY TO CONNECT UP WITH CLEAR INSTRUCTIONS. AUTOMATICALLY TUNED ITSELF IN. IF I CAN DO IT ANYBODY CAN! SO GOOD I BOUGHT A 2ND FOR ANOTHER TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews