Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable guide to Scrabble
I picked this gem up [] and it is worth every penny. As a longtime, casual Scrabble player, I was keen to improve my game and this book was a huge help. It contains some great advice on strategy and also has some word lists, including all 124 two-letter words. The book is written in a clear, conversational style and is very easy to read; it contains numerous diagrams and...
Published on 10 Feb 2011 by Amazonian

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Book bought in error, not clear that this is a book, not a game
Book bought in error, not really clear that this is a book and not a game. I bought it for my kindle fire, the money was refunded without problems,
Published 19 months ago by julie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable guide to Scrabble, 10 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I picked this gem up [] and it is worth every penny. As a longtime, casual Scrabble player, I was keen to improve my game and this book was a huge help. It contains some great advice on strategy and also has some word lists, including all 124 two-letter words. The book is written in a clear, conversational style and is very easy to read; it contains numerous diagrams and many Scrabble facts and tips are scattered throughout. If you're interested in improving your Scrabble game, then this book is a must-have. The only downside is the binding quality, which is not very good; I hope the pages don't start falling out!

Here is the complete list of contents:

Introducing Scrabble, 1
The rules of the game, 8
Two- and three-letter words, 20
Dealing with J, Q, X and Z, 34
Using the S, 45
Using the blank, 53
Finding the bonus words, 58
Some seven-letter lists, 81
Some eight-letter lists, 99
Help with unusual letter combinations, 117
Ending the game, 137
Other forms of Scrabble, 147
Taking it further, 152
Allowable word forms, 163
Glossary of terms, 166
Alphabetical list of two-letter words, 171
Alphabetical list of useful three-letter words appearing in this book, 172
Alphabetical list of useful J, Q, X and Z words, 173
Answers to puzzles, 174
Useful links, 185
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent tips and even a decent read, 4 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Scrabble: Play to win! (Kindle Edition)
Bought this to brush up my Scrabble play whilst commuting. Good hints and tips, words lists, game play, strategies for Q, X, Z etc, interesting facts. Surprisingly easy to read on the Kindle, and can be read (or memorized) in small sections of 1 or 2 pages. The only downside is that the double and triple letter premium squares can be a bit hard to see, but overall the Scrabble boards are clear enough.

Looks exactly the same as the print version Collins Scrabble: Play to win!. Overall very good value for under [] quid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great advice, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Scrabble: Play to win! (Kindle Edition)
Excellent Product and as I play scrabble a lot with my friends we have al found it very helpful, I would recommend this to anyone. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic!, 24 Oct 2013
Bought as a stocking filler. Waited for a very very long time for delivery. When it arrived it was of good quality, so I'm sure it will be greatly received.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXTREMELY HELPFUL, 8 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This short paperback contains some excellent tips, plus various lists of words - including a definitive list of 2-letter words. For any Scrabble enthusiast, very well worth having!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars scrabble to Win, 31 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. D. L. Hughes (pembrokeshire uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Oh no! Bought this for my wife as a "stocking filler" for xmas, talk about shooting yourself in the foot!.
She is a scrabble addict, and although I am her main apponent, I have never fully come to really enjoying the game,not being able to accept its sometimes(always?)ways of upsetting my best intentions.
Having a far better recall memory than yours truly, and having only just glanced through this publication over xmas,I already have that feeling I will possibly lose more than I will win. Filled with all thse Two,three, and more obscure words,it is a must for the serious player.(is there any other kind?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars helpful, 28 Nov 2011
By 
Brian E. Pond - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is excellant and fairly easy to follow once it has been studied a little. It certainly helps.Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Book bought in error, not clear that this is a book, not a game, 28 Jan 2013
This review is from: Collins Scrabble: Play to win! (Kindle Edition)
Book bought in error, not really clear that this is a book and not a game. I bought it for my kindle fire, the money was refunded without problems,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Collins Scrabble: Play to win!
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews