Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful - if you have space
First things first, this thing is BIG. That's why I wanted it, but you have to be sure you have space to keep it as its presence is hard to ignore - especially in orange. Assuming you can accommodate it, everything else you know about enamelled cast iron applies to this too - it's wonderfully effective at retaining and distributing heat when you want to cook gently,...
Published on 18 July 2005 by will_de_beest

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No good
The cooking surface of the dish was convex and burnt food in the centre, this was a surprise as all our other Le Creuset cooking pans are excellent.
Published 14 months ago by ian braund


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful - if you have space, 18 July 2005
By 
will_de_beest (South Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
First things first, this thing is BIG. That's why I wanted it, but you have to be sure you have space to keep it as its presence is hard to ignore - especially in orange. Assuming you can accommodate it, everything else you know about enamelled cast iron applies to this too - it's wonderfully effective at retaining and distributing heat when you want to cook gently, less so when you want to up the temperature to sear a steak or a slab of tuna.
The shape deserves some comment too. The short handles get hot and make the pan hard to manipulate on the hob, but conversely help it to work well in the oven, where the cast iron effect really comes into its own. Meanwhile, the gently sloping sides make it very attractive but they rather reduce the flat cooking area at the bottom, making the pan less commodious than it might be. They also make stirring a risotto or a paella a little fiddly as it's too easy to help the rice over the edge of the pan. I use this pan as a complement to a deeper, steep-sided, cast-aluminium sauté pan, which also has the advantage of a long handle. Risotti and stir-fries go in the sauté pan, slow-braised pork chops, boeuf en daube and sausage casserole in the Le Creuset.
In conclusion, this is a specialist piece, not an all-rounder, but it's none the worse for that. If you can justify the space and cost, you'll enjoy using it and be pleased with the results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect gift., 9 Jan 2011
I bought this casserole as a present for my wife, who has wanted one since first seeing it in this colour some time ago.
What is there to say about Le Creuset cookware that hasn't been said before?
It is superb, albeit quite heavy, but you can't seriously expect cast iron to be light.
Since getting it my wife has used it frequently, and because it looks so good she takes it straight from the oven to the table, drawing a few admiring comments from our friends and relatives.
If you like it and don't mind paying a premium for top quality cookware, treat yourself and buy one. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 30cm SHALLOW Casserole, 4 Dec 2010
By 
Amazon Customer - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
I have both the 26cm and 30 cm shallow casserole dishes. As you would expect from Le Creuset, they are easy to use on both the hob and in the oven (or both, depending on the recipe you use them for). As you would also expect of cast iron (enamelled interior), they are also fairly weighty when full.

The 26cm casserole is just about the right size to comfortably prepare a meal for two without the contents being in danger of spilling out if stirred on the hob. The 30cm is large enough to comfortably hold a meal for four. The 26cm fits nicely inside the 30cm, sitting on the lid of the former and thus the pair do not use up an awful lot of cupboard space, which is always a boon.

Cleaning is a breeze, they come up like new in the dishwasher or when washed by hand.

Mine both had sticky labels on the base; I mention this only because I remembered to remove one but not the second - the smoke alarm and a smell of chemical burning alerted me to my omission when the dish in question was otherwise happily cooking on the hob. Oops! Anyway, even the burnt label came off cleanly, so no harm done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 30cm SHALLOW Casserole, 4 Dec 2010
By 
Amazon Customer - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
I have both the 26cm and 30 cm shallow casserole dishes. As you would expect from Le Creuset, they are easy to use on both the hob and in the oven (or both, depending on the recipe you use them for). As you would also expect of cast iron (enamelled interior), they are also fairly weighty when full.

The 26cm casserole is just about the right size to comfortably prepare a meal for two without the contents being in danger of spilling out if stirred on the hob. The 30cm is large enough to comfortably hold a meal for four. The 26cm fits nicely inside the 30cm, sitting on the lid of the former and thus the pair do not use up an awful lot of cupboard space, which is always a boon.

Cleaning is a breeze, they come up like new in the dishwasher or when washed by hand.

Mine both had sticky labels on the base; I mention this only because I remembered to remove one but not the second - the smoke alarm and a smell of chemical burning alerted me to my omission when the dish in question was otherwise happily cooking on the hob. Oops! Anyway, even the burnt label came off cleanly, so no harm done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SHALLOW casserole, from Le Creuset., 20 Feb 2007
Also known as the 'Buffet Casserole', this dish is an old favourite of mine.
The shallow but wide base allows even heat distribution/retention, enabling better cooking efficiency at low or medium temperatures and aiding the conservation of energy and lower fuel bills.

Sue Cutts has a chapter dedicated to the use of the SHALLOW CASSEROLES in her book, entitled:-

The Cast Iron Way to Cook

and my current favourite is:-

'Vegetable Casserole with Crispy Topping'

from page 29 - which serves 4-6 as a main course or 6-8 as a starter/side dish.
Simply the perfect dish to brown off under a hot grill.

Suitable for any hob-top or pop it in the oven.
Elegant enough to take directly to the dinner table, especially with the well-designed low lifting handles.

Easy to use and clean by hand, although some soaking and a rub with a plastic brush may be required to remove the more stubborn baked-on food remains.
Dishwasher safe.

Sturdily boxed, complete with CAST IRON use & care leaflet.

Currently available in a rainbow of colours:-

CERISE RED
GRANITE GREY
VOLCANIC ORANGE
GRADED BLUE
BLACK
TEAL (aka CARIBBEAN)
CASSIS
MIDNIGHT BLUE

Also available in a smaller and slightly lighter 26cm/2L size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for a tasty paella or risotto, this super SHALLOW casserole, from Le Creuset, 1 Oct 2007
◄ Apologies. Amazon has amalgamated products and this review now appears as a duplicate. ►

COLOUR : TEAL (aka CARIBBEAN) with CREAM interior and BLACK phenolic knob
MATERIAL : CAST IRON
SIZE : 30 cm
Approximate maximum capacity: 3.2L

Also known as the 'Buffet Casserole', this dish is an old favourite of mine. The shallow but wide base allows even heat distribution/retention, enabling better cooking efficiency at low or medium temperatures and aiding the conservation of energy and lower fuel bills.

Sue Cutts has a chapter dedicated to the use of the SHALLOW CASSEROLES in her book The Cast Iron Way to Cook, and my current favourite recipe is 'Vegetable Casserole with Crispy Topping', from page 29, which serves 4-6 as a main course, or 6-8 as a starter/side dish.
Simply the perfect dish to brown off under a hot grill.

Suitable for any hob-top or the oven.
Elegant enough to take directly to the dinner table, especially with the well-designed low lifting handles.

Easy to use and clean by hand, although some soaking and a rub with a plastic brush may be required to remove the more stubborn baked-on food remains.
Dishwasher safe (dishwasher size permitting).

Sturdily boxed this comes complete with multi-lingual use & care instruction booklet.

Available in a variety of other colours, and in a smaller and slightly less heavy 26cm/2L size
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Le Creuset 30cm shallow casserole, 9 Nov 2009
By 
It's a wonderful item to have in your kitchen. I don't know what I would do without it now. I use it for curries, paellas, risotto and numerous casserole dishes. It's great for the family and great for entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a must-have pan!, 22 April 2011
By 
This pan has taken its place as my favourite piece of cooking equipment. It looks good, cooks well and is SO versatile. It will go in the oven or stay on the hob but has an advantage over traditional casseroles in that it's shallow so you don't have to have a lot of liquid to cover anything you're cooking. It can also be used as a frying pan, roasting pan, bain-marie...... The lid ensures that fish and meat stay moist. A whole family meal can be cooked in one go and nothing burns - even on the high heat of my AGA because the heat is spread so evenly. It can go straight from the oven to the table - no need for a separate serving dish - just brilliant! I have a large family and entertain quite often but for a smaller family the smaller size would be ideal. It goes in the dishwasher and comes out looking like new.....The only downside - as with all Le Creuset cast iron pans - is that it's heavy and might not be suitable for anyone that has difficulty lifting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and functional, 22 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This casserole dish just oozes quality! It is solid and heavy and like my other le Crueset casseroles will obviously last for years and years. You can cook from the hob to the oven and then serve your food from it onto the table. The colour is really lovely too. I know it's pricey, but it's sturdy long lasting and really good quality. A great investment for any serious cook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great dish for slow casserole cooking, 12 April 2013
By 
J. Dingwall (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good for cooking for casserole type meals with lots of liquid. Can be used at very low heat, pan holds heat very well. Is not good for cooking with little oil as the pan is not non-stick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews