Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars250
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 March 2016
Thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. Very captivating me easy to read. If you want to know more about Richard Branson then this is a good start
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
Branson is qucky witted and comes across as a normal everday kinda guy, but with one incredilbe difference; belief and bravery to follw through.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2006
I originally wrote this review for my website [...] thought id post it here as well just to let everyone what a good book it is!

I have to admit that Im not a regular reader. However the offering of reading about Richard Branson is always something I like the sound of. He is an inspiration to everyone, whether you are a business person or not. I still find it incredible the size and the amount of businesses he has built up, he is truly a living legend.

I was expecting this book to be a bit self-promoting and boastful, but its not. The experiences he talks about are incredible, they begin from when he was very young to things that have happened in more recent times. Near the end of the book he even talks about when he turned 40, and was at an all-time low, possibly in a mid-life crisis. For a man like him to talk about something like that shows he is not dissimilar to you and I.

The book is only a short read (128 pages). Because of the nature of the subjects he talks about and the way its straight to the point you won't get bored reading, you may even read it all in one go. Don't buy this book if you want Richard Branson to tell you how to get rich, but do buy it if you want to learn about him and the things he believes in, those things that have led him to such huge success.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2014
Lessons in life and business gained from a lifetime of experiences and challenges. Thoroughly enjoyable and informative from start to finish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2014
Quick book very easy to read.
Is the Richard Branson Virgin spirit in a short version, good to start understanding the Virgin philosophy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2012
Bite-sized overview of the most iconic entrepreneur of his generation which is a great link to his latest book which I thought was brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2013
A highly enjoyable read, spanning the main themes in relation to Branson 's up and downs, whether in his business or private life. 5 stars!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2006
What I got out of this book: I realise from reading this book that I would like to set more goals and targets in my life, and that I could benefit from thinking more posotively sometimes.

Richard's views on life are very blinded by the life that he has led, he has clearly been brought up to be independant and to take risks. He often makes recommendations that are just not possible for all of us, it is his belief that you should enjoy the job you are in, and if you don't, you should leave it and find another one. Hmmm it really is that easy guys.

He has clearly taken many risks, and faced financial ruin on many occassions, whilst he has been fortunate and the risks have paid off, he could very easily have not been so fortunate, and in that circumstance the book would be telling you how not to live your life!

That said, there are some important lessons in there, some which even he does not follow (although he believes that he does, such as 'how important family are'.... when he goes of on trips alone which could easily kill him!).

For the price it is worth the inspiration and worth the insight into this mans lucky life. But do not expect to gain the insight into making your first million.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2014
What can I say. I'm am a convert so anything published by Richard Branson gets my vote! This is a short book but packed with great advce.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2014
... into Richard Branson and his seemingly crazy ways. The brevity of the ' Lessons in Life' avoid getting bogged down in business stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse