Customer Reviews


151 Reviews
5 star:
 (85)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


79 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should read this book
It's quick, it's easy, it's not preachy, it's positive. It's packed full of good advice and examples from Richard Branson's own life. He calls them his "lessons in life". He also says, "A journey of a thousand miles starts with that first step" -- and he's right. Reading this book, by the friendly genius that the media has dubbed a...
Published on 9 Mar 2006

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat naive and out of date
The trouble with this book is that it is written by a baby boomer who shares his generation's naive, rose tinted view of the world that comes from living in an era of unprecedented prosperity and the self help he offers is quite dated as a result.

He begins with some good pop psychology that has some merit although it has become terribly cliched these days...
Published 3 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

79 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should read this book, 9 Mar 2006
By A Customer
It's quick, it's easy, it's not preachy, it's positive. It's packed full of good advice and examples from Richard Branson's own life. He calls them his "lessons in life". He also says, "A journey of a thousand miles starts with that first step" -- and he's right. Reading this book, by the friendly genius that the media has dubbed a maverick in paradise, could be that first step to a positive and fulfilling life and perhaps a wealthy one. He says he can't tell people how to get rich fast and he doesn't have any secrets to success; all he has is "truths" and examples that worked for him and could work for you. Making money isn't his first goal -- having fun and doing good are. But he says if you have fun, then the money will come -- and explains why he says it. Every chapter is filled with his philosophy, spelled out in a simple and direct way. Chapter headings like "Just Do It!" "Be Bold"; "Have Fun!"; "Challenge Yourself"; "Value Family and Friends" are useful guides for everyone to follow. It's a great little book to read at odd moments. I read it all the way through in less than an hour, and instantly felt driven and motivated to get cracking with that project I've been putting off. Everyone should read this book and every teenager should be given a copy. It could be resonsible for turning things around and producing a society of motivated go-getters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Branson knows best, 7 April 2006
This is a good book with quick wisdom, but beware! it's most of all a summary of Branson's autobiography "Losing My virginity". It is still great, Branson talks in a very down to earth manner, but for more details and wisdom on how he succeeded in business I would definitely recommend by miles his Autobiography.
So, if you are intrigued about Branson's life this is a very good quick summary, which then if you like it, you should definitely read his autobiography.
All in all an inspiring read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 18 Oct 2006
By 
A. Watson (Christchurch, NZ) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This book is what it says it is - a light, quick inspirational read. Don't buy it expecting to get an autobiography - that's 'Losing My Virginity'.

Some reviewers have complained that this covers a lot of the same ground as the autobiography but I don't think it's meant to be a sequel. It's a short series of anecdotal life lessons suitable for teenagers as well as adults. If you want something to give to an aspiring young entrepreneur, or something light and stirring to read in an evening, this is the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Follow the Leader!!!, 28 Aug 2006
By 
Mr. G. Bridgeman-clarke "Graham BC" (Rayleigh, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
I liked this book. Easy to read, easy to follow and unlike some other high powered businessmen, Richard Branson doesn't seem to have a big ego.

I like Richard Branson's honest and straight-forward approach to writing. No holds barred, straight-to-the-point prose. I enjoyed the book on two accounts. I am a businessman and I want to learn how Sir Richard has succeeded, but secondly, since I have read his other books, I enjoy his style and his books are a great read in any case.

So if you need to pick up a few business pointers - on how to succeed or fail even, or you just want an easy quick read, then I recommend this book.

I would have given the book 5 but I tend to think it is a bit pricy for a short book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat naive and out of date, 9 April 2014
This review is from: Screw It, Let's Do It: Lessons In Life (Quick Reads) (Kindle Edition)
The trouble with this book is that it is written by a baby boomer who shares his generation's naive, rose tinted view of the world that comes from living in an era of unprecedented prosperity and the self help he offers is quite dated as a result.

He begins with some good pop psychology that has some merit although it has become terribly cliched these days. "I don't think that little word 'can't should stop you." It goes down hill from there. "If you don't have the right experience to reach your goal, look for another way in." And then "if you want to fly, get down to the airfield at the age of sixteen and make the tea."

I have absolutely no doubt that when Richard Branson started out in the 1960s, these ideas had some merit. However, even from this short sentence there are all kinds of problems with the advice he is giving. The most obvious is that no one hires anyone to make tea or act as a general dogs body anymore! The second is that if you quit school at 16 to work at an airfield when you have the option to go and get some science A-Levels and a relevant degree, then you're really making life a lot harder than it needs to be! A more sensible line might have been "then go and join the Air Force at the first opportunity."

But this is the problem with Branson's generation and it's why their advice is so useless today. They're blaggers who don't realise that employers are catching up. At one point he talks about his mother schmoozing her way into an airline job she wasn't qualified to do, which was great in the 1940s but not very likely in a world where employers use firms to perform background checks on new employees! It's also ignorant to misunderstand how sophisticated, competitive and long recruitment for any type of skilled job is these days. It ignores the fact that the widespread use of graduate schemes and internships mean you don't really get people 'working their way up' anymore. You don't get to one day fly a plane by mopping a hangar floor (anyone remember Tommy Reid from 'Come Fly With Me?')

I like Richard Branson's attitude but I cannot stand his naivety. Young people should not buy this book because there is much better advice out there about how to succeed in your goals. Things are much more competitive now than when Branson started out and it means doing the right things as early as possible. That means studying the right subjects, getting the best work experience than you can and building a network of people who can help you achieve your goals and act as mentors.

In Branson's world, however, one is led to believe you could become a barrister by starting out making tea for a judge and taking his robes to the laundrette; or an Accountant by doing the shredding for PwC or an IT executive by playing Football Manager. If this ever was the case, then let's just remember the world has changed a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very interesting read, 7 Aug 2006
By 
S. P. Mellor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I can see what the author is trying to do here and I think he does it very well. This is a very informative book and some of the "Lessions in Life" are quite interesting for someone starting in business.

I did think, however, how does it compare to other books of this ilk. I found myself liking 'Go It Alone' by Geoff Burch much better. Having said that there is no doubt that Mr Branson has alot to share with the business minded readers of his book and it is still a very informative read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read at a great price, 8 Mar 2006
By A Customer
I read this in one hour on a train journey and thoroughly enjoyed it. The book articulates Branson's views on his own success. In the book he does not talk about technical business stuff, but solid principles for personal success. At the heart of this being self-belief, which he has in bucket loads.
The book is very much about Richard Branson (as you would expect from the master of self-promotion) and not so much about you the reader. Having recently read another book (Millionaire Upgrade) which could be mentioned in the same breath, it is interesting to note how 'Screw It, Just Do It' is all about the great Virgin King himself (which is not a bad thing), and Millionaire Upgrade is all about you.
Well worth reading both of them if you want greater success in business or life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wholly recommended!, 16 Jun 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Richard Branson should need no further introduction to you if you are reading this page. Many of you would have already read "Losing My Virginity", and possibly the unauthorised biography "Branson" by Tom Bower.

If you have read one of these before, you will find that a good part of this new book is repetition (despite the polar differences between the two aforementioned titles). A large proportion of this book is autobiographical, and as such I will focus on the new areas that Branson has discussed, and the differences between this and his previous autobiography.

Firstly, I will touch on the general "feel" of this book. It seems to me to be far more inspirational than the first (which had the possibility of becoming grating at times). The autobiographical content is far more succint (being a much smaller book) and really gives you all that you need to do. Branson also does not feel the need to brag about sexual conquests within this book, as there is an altogether more mature tone, with the book broken down into various chapters each with a motivational quote and action points.

I might appear to be harping on about this book being autobiographical; however it is important to note that this book has been released as a motivational tool rather than an autobiography - I believe that this makes the book far more useful than Losing My Virginity.

Another key difference within this book is that Branson focuses on social responsibility, particularly in relation to the carbon dioxide emissions of his Virgin Airline fleet. I feel that this adds a whole new dimension to this book, and will open the typical readers eyes as to everybodies responsibilities (whether an individual, small business or plc) and to the work being performed in this area.

I would wholeheartedly recommend this book to anybody who enjoyed Losing My Virginity, and also to those who were irritated by the first book and wished that it would be more about Virgin and business than Richard Branson himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm Doing It, 1 Mar 2006
It only takes a few hours to read this book, however you will get a life times reward if you do.
Richard Branson's lesson in life will help you discover if you are heading in the right direction.
As per the first lesson, once you've taken action and started to "Do It", he leads you through your moments of doubt, as well as reminding you about the importance of having fun, valuing your family and doing some good.
I have embarked on a major career/life change in the last 4 months, and this book galvanised my belief that I'm on the road to success.
Enjoy... Carl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy way to learn from the best, 12 Nov 2007
By 
Goutham Bhadri "Switch2Health" (North Brunswick, NJ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There's no debate about it- Sir Richard Branson is one of the most successful entrepreneurs of our time and a role model for so many.

Im a big believer that if you want to be like the best, you need to learn from the best. This book helps you do just that.

Great business and life concepts are easily explained. And at a bargain price- what more do you want?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews