Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars382
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£15.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 9 February 2012
I really love this dvd set and the extras are brilliant too with the 3D cards and the raised head slip case i really like that and i think the silence are a great new monster/bad guys and i think they could be around for a long time to come.The extras are great and lots to view and will keep you entertained for hours and we havent even got to the series yet which in my opinion was great even though they split the series which i dont think was a good thing but it seems to be what they are doing for now and possibly with the next series too but overall the series was great and at least with the dvd you dont have to wait for the series to continue unlike when it was on tv.Maybe a few episodes were a little slow and hard to keep up with but the main story was never too far away and i think all in all it was a great series and it was very enjoyable to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2015
Doctor Who is always good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2015
Does the job. Very Happy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2015
Doctor Who, say no more!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2014
DW need I say any more?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2015
GOOD PRICE GOOD SERIES
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2014
High standard quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2012
All thirteen episodes of Series 6 plus the Christmas special from the previous year and various extras including four commentaries and some behind-the-scenes stuff.

This series started out very promising. In the first episode we go to the US, meet President Nixon, see the Doctor apparently dying and come across some quite creepy aliens. Indeed, the episodes in this series all look and sound great, with some interesting designs and fantastic locations. But the problem is that it's all become completely wrapped up in continuity. The best episodes in Series 6 by far are the self-contained ones. For example, Night Terrors effectively turns a child's playroom into something sinister, whilst The God Complex is an interesting take on the Minotaur myth.

But I can't help feeling that all too many of these episodes are made with the trailers in mind. The writers find various things that will look good on the adverts, and then when you tune in you find they're just incidental. Adverts of Season 6 featured Hitler, Weeping Angels, Cybermen and a Dalek. But then tune in and you discover they all make only fleeting appearances. The Cybermen, when they finally appear for any length of time, are reduced to figures of fun. "Let's Kill Hitler" is a River Song vehicle which might as well have been set in modern-day Cardiff. Ah yes. River Song. Am I the only one who's sick and tired of Moffat being more interested in his own creations than he is in the Doctor? After four seasons of strong female companions, Amy seems like a return to the bad old days of "there to get the Dads watching". And whilst River Song worked with David Tennant, there's no chemistry at all between her and Matt Smith. As for Rory. If he died yet again, would we notice? The new Tardis interior design is still there. I've nothing against changing the Tardis interior, but the previous 'organic/coral' theme looked great. This new version resembles a shopping mall display.

Story arcs are okay if they're subtle (Bad Wolf, for example, and the Saxon thread in Series 3), but the arc in this series is just long-drawn-out, in-your-face, puts off the casual viewer and when you do work out what the heck it's about you find it makes no sense whatsoever. Questions go un-answered and some of it just doesn't work. For example, Amy reacts to the news she will lose her child with no emotion at all. And the finale? The Doctor marries River Song for no apparent reason, there's a blue head in a box (who would have made no sense to you if you saw it on the telly and hadn't seen an episode broadcast several months previously) and every event in history is happening at the same time. Looks great, but once again the audience are treated like idiots "because we're not clever enough to understand timey-wimey" or whatever other non-explanation is thrown in alongside the kitchen sink.

I'd also like to ask why there are so few commentaries? Most of the earlier seasons had a commentary for every episode.

Whether this DVD set is worth the money really depends on how much of a fan you are. There are some genuinely great episodes, and the take on A Christmas Carol is fun. But I can't help feeling Matt Smith (who has the potential to be a great Doctor) is just playing a supporting role.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2014
My grandson loves it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
My grandson loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.