Customer Reviews


309 Reviews
5 star:
 (230)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the BEST Time Lords!!!
FANTASTIC...

as i will keep saying. Matt Smith possibly my favorite time lord of all time.
just fantastic to see him bring this character to life. action. comedy. and suspense.

Fantastic way to open the season. can't fault it. LLOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE!
Published 12 months ago by Zain

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Mixed Bag
Doctor Who Series 6 was Matt Smith's second series in the role of the Doctor, and also Steven Moffat's second series as head writer, and it is around Series 6 Part 2 that his writing begins to get worse. This does not hold the series down though as it is a great series and I still enjoyed it. The Sixth Series is a continuation from Series 5 and I advise buying that series...
Published 8 months ago by Hilary & Philip


‹ Previous | 1 2 331 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillant, 1 Nov 2011
By 
B. Pennant "old skool booklover" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This for me was a brillant series which not only had some great episodes and moments but also brought to an end the storyline of River Song who first came to our notice during the time of David Tennant and Russell T Davies. I say this because although we may or not see River again we know her end of course because we have already seen her death so now we finally find out who she is and what she meant to the Dr, Amy and Rory.

I found this a well written and balanced series with Matt, Karen, Arthur and Alex each completely settled into their roles and their acting. Steven's writing for me has always been one to the highlights of New Who and this series I wasn't disappointed and the mad, bad Wedding of Riversong feels like both Matt and Smith are now ready to take the Dr in a new direction and one I look forward to seeing.

Job well done looking forward to series 7 and the 50th year celebration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Mixed Bag, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Doctor Who Series 6 was Matt Smith's second series in the role of the Doctor, and also Steven Moffat's second series as head writer, and it is around Series 6 Part 2 that his writing begins to get worse. This does not hold the series down though as it is a great series and I still enjoyed it. The Sixth Series is a continuation from Series 5 and I advise buying that series before buying this one.

This Series comprises of 14 Episodes, the first being the Christmas Special, 'A Christmas Carol,' which is personally my second favourite Christmas story Matt Smith has done, The Doctor The Widow & The Wardrobe being last on that list.

A Christmas Carol - Amy Pond and Rory Williams are trapped on a crashing space liner, and the only way the Eleventh Doctor can rescue them is to save the soul of a lonely old miser. But is Kazran Sardick, the richest man in Sardicktown, beyond redemption? And what is lurking in the fogs of Christmas Eve? This is a lighthearted story with amazing writing and goodly written characters, and some scenery in this story really makes the Doctor look like an authoritative figure, and most certainly a Time Lord. However, the story is not perfect and there are a few plot holes here and there, that are never explained. I also have a problem with the villain of this story, a massive shark that can swim through air. While this concept is pretty interesting and the CGI is definitely good, it is very underused and could of been better, and it's one of the weakest villains of Series 6 (though it later befriends the characters later on in the story.)

The Impossible Astronaut / Day of the Moon - Amy Pond, Rory Williams, River Song and the Eleventh Doctor receive a mysterious summons that takes them on an adventure to 21st century Utah and Florida in 1969. Beside Lake Silencio, an impossible astronaut arrives from the lake and shoots the Doctor. This is the first two part story of Series 6 and an effective series opener. Moffat really knows how to write creepy villains, examples being the Empty Child and The Silence from this story. However, this story is pretty flawed and though the opener to Part 2 is action packed, it makes no sense at all. Why did they have to pretend that they were hunting the Doctor and his friends, why build the perfect prison, why treat them as enemies. Surely if the Doctor is working with the President then there is no need at all for this and this is even referenced later in the story at NASA when the President tells them in person that the Doctor is working with him. This is still a neat story and much more serious than the Series Opener for Series 3 and Series 4.

The Curse of the Black Spot - The TARDIS is marooned onboard a 17th century pirate ship whose crew is being attacked by a mysterious and beautiful sea creature. Becalmed and beset by cabin fever, the pirates have numerous superstitious explanations for the Siren’s appearance. This is a pretty bland episode and seems to only be here as filler. I did not feel intrigued by this story at all and half way through, boredom had made me forget this story was even set on a Pirate Ship. Many moments in this story only exist as Plot Pieces, such as Clara in Series 7, and aside from that, hardly develop any further. Why is Avery's son polishing his medallion coincidentally at the same time as the Doctor explains it comes from reflections? So the character's have a reason to move the plot ahead. A shameful episode that I do not recommend.

The Doctor's Wife - The Eleventh Doctor receives a message from an old Time Lord friend. The message brings him, Rory Williams and Amy Pond to another universe where they meet an alien named House. Meanwhile, the TARDIS is transferred into a Woman's body. This is where the series starts to get good, and this is my favourite story from Series 6 Part 1. In this story, The Eleventh Doctor and the TARDIS have a great on-screen chemistry and though the Ood is a nice reference, it really was not needed. The backgrounds in this story are amazing and I love the reference to the War Games, in the form of Hypercubes.

The Rebel Flesh / The Almost People - The Eleventh Doctor, Amy Pond and Rory Williams visit an acid-mining factory. A solar storm hits the factory, turning the workers' gangers into self-aware individuals. The Doctor must mediate between the original workers and their rebellious gangers, who are trapped in argument that Gangers are people. The first part of this story is an enjoyable romp and sets up the guidelines pretty well. The concept is interesting and the visual effects are amazing, especially the make up on the Ganger's Faces. I love the concept of the conspiracy, but it all goes downhill in the second part. Basically, Part 2 feels like an unfinished draft, and the writing has took a drastic change. Jennifer's personality changes from scene to scene and she gives herself away with almost every sentence. There are plot holes everywhere, including the scene where Rory must activate the machinery because it doesn't work with Gangers. If the people there are that stupid not to program that feature, then they really deserve to die.

A Good Man Goes to War - Finishing off Series 6 Part 1, we have the enjoyable battle of Demon's Run. On the asteroid Demon's Run, Amy Pond has given birth. But the villainous Madame Kovarian and the religious order of the silence are waiting to make a collection that tears Amy's world apart. Across the galaxy, the Eleventh Doctor and Rory Williams are assembling an army to fight the battle that lies ahead, whilst in Stormcage, River Song prepares to escape for what may be the last time. For this is the battle of Demon's Run. On this day, the Doctor will rise higher than ever and fall so much further, and finally, this is the day he discovers who River Song is... This story allows us to see how Moffat views the Doctor, and it is great to see character's from Matt's era return, even if some appearances don't make much sense to be there. The writing is superb and Madame Kovarian is truly evil if she can pull off the exact same plan twice. The plot twist about River was really predictable by this point in the show and it did not really have that much of an impact on me.

Let's Kill Hitler - Offending German Fans across the world, we have the opening story to Series 6 Part 2, and boy is it terrible. Hijacked at gunpoint, the TARDIS crash-lands in 1930s Berlin. The Eleventh Doctor comes face to face with the greatest war criminal in all of history — and Hitler. To save the life of one dear to him, the Doctor must teach his adversaries that time travel has responsibilities — and learns a hard lesson in the cruellest warfare of all. This story decides to answer the question of who River Song is again, for some reason, and was apparently Amy and Rory's childhood friend, Mels, which is a terrible name by the way. Why did we need to know this? Yes, it gives us a good insight to Amy and Rory's relationship over the years, but she is literally a plot piece for the Doctor to arrive in Berlin. She hardly gets any lines and is poorly written, she was only there for River to be introduced. Now we are in Berlin, we meet the Tesselecta, little people in robot humans, with plans to punish big time criminals for their..... Well, crimes, obviously..... These people are also poorly written, and I just lowered my head when they talked to the Doctor about responsibility. If they didn't bother to check the date WHILE transferring Hitler, then they have no right at all to take about it. 7 years early, that is all I will say.

Night Terrors - Despite the out of place title, this is my most favourite story of the series, and that is because of the Peg Dolls, Life in Plastic may be fantastic, but in this case, I'd rather pass. The Eleventh Doctor receives a distress call, bringing him, Amy Pond and Rory Williams to Earth. George is a young boy terrorised by the monsters in his cupboard. Are they imaginary, or are they real? Though the story takes a long time to start, it gets on pretty well and the Doctor and Alex are a great double act. The Peg Dolls are incredibly creepy and the type of doll they are based upon adds to the fear factor. Though I don't have much to say, this is a great atmospheric story, with haunting directing and creepy lighting.

The Girl Who Waited - The Eleventh Doctor, Rory Williams and Amy Pond land on Apalapucia in the middle of a plague. Amy is left behind, and the Doctor and Rory must save her...but time for Amy is running at a different speed. Most people regard this as a boring story that you can skip, but I disagree. Though not my favourite episode of Series 6, it is certainly the best in terms of writing. Tom MacRae knows what he is doing and every scene is a masterpiece of writing, especially the communication scenes with Amy and herself.

The God Complex - The Eleventh Doctor, Amy, and Rory investigate a hotel of horror where repeat business is low but the body count is high, where a mighty monster stalks the corridors and the rooms hold visions of angels, apes, and creepy clowns. Who — or what — has brought them to this place? Can the Doctor solve the mystery before the residents check out in grisly style? This is a fairly average story and though lot's of people like it, it bores me a lot. The costumes are a mixed bag, just like the Series itself. The Minotaur is great and so are the Weeping Angels and the Clown, but the Gorilla on the other head is a whole other story. And I don't mean a good one.

Closing Time - The Eleventh Doctor pays a visit to old friend Craig Owens and they soon find themselves in the middle of a Cybermen invasion. Another filler episode, this story is much better than previous filler, Curse of the Black Spot. This story features another view of the Doctor at a funny perspective, and what is there to say about Stormageddon about from that he is awesome? (You'll get the death penalty for insulting him.) I adore the interaction between the Doctor and Craig and each moment is charming and littered with humour.

The Wedding of River Song - The Eleventh Doctor is prepared to meet his death at Lake Silencio. However, all of history is happening at once. What is happening and who is responsible? But wait, what is this? A Series Finale that is not a 2 parter, or in Series 3 and 4's Case, a 3 parter? The first half of this episode is fantastic, (in an accent from the north) and I love the references to the previous Six Series of Doctor Who. However, the Second Half starts to stoop really low. The writing slowly becomes tired of itself and the dilemma between the character's has already got boring by now. But to make it worse, Steven Moffat renders the entire emotional journey of this Series pointless, as it turns out that..... Oh, you will have to watch to find out.

As the title of this review suggests, this series is a mixed bag, but I still suggest getting it. If I were to rate it, I would give it a 3/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice series, shame about the features, 31 Dec 2011
I'm a life-long Who fan so love the series, but just think they're taking us for granted now with decreasing special features. Maybe the demise of 'Confidential' will force the DVD's producers to bring back commentaries for all episodes of the next series, preferably using Matt Smith and other main players, please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My grandson loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Matt is a great doctor, I'm going to miss him :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, fast seller, 6 July 2014
By 
A. bailey "Maid Of Kent" (near Sevenoaks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good ,fast seller.Thankyou.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Doctor, better second time around, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this series to complete our set of the 'new' wave of Doctor Who at home (from the 8th Doctor to the 11th). And whilst Smith is one of my favourite Doctors, this was not one of my favourite series when it aired. Thst being said I found the release well presented with some good additional features and actually really enjoyed many of the episodes despite the sloppy 'tie up' at the end. Funny and frightening for the kids and a great use of family TV time. Not to be overlooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who Complete Series 6 (DVD), 27 Jun 2014
By 
ArumLily (High Wycombe (UK)) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As my Sony DVD recorder went wrong & Sony were of no help whatsoever. I lost most of Series 6 along with other programmes. I want to see the last of episodes of Colin Tennant as The Doctor bedore Peter Capaldi takes on the role. I tried watching Matt Smith but wasn`t a fan but I`m big fan of Peter Capaldi from The Thick of It though I doubt any of `Malcolm Tucker` will be allowed in Doctor Who as children watch it too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, as always, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
as always, when ive bought my doctor who dvds its been on time and perfect! nothing more to say (btw this is a comment on the service unlike others who comment on the programme itself)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 331 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - The Complete Series 6 [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
£16.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews