Customer Reviews


331 Reviews
5 star:
 (245)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the BEST Time Lords!!!
FANTASTIC...

as i will keep saying. Matt Smith possibly my favorite time lord of all time.
just fantastic to see him bring this character to life. action. comedy. and suspense.

Fantastic way to open the season. can't fault it. LLOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE!
Published 16 months ago by Zain

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Mixed Bag
Doctor Who Series 6 was Matt Smith's second series in the role of the Doctor, and also Steven Moffat's second series as head writer, and it is around Series 6 Part 2 that his writing begins to get worse. This does not hold the series down though as it is a great series and I still enjoyed it. The Sixth Series is a continuation from Series 5 and I advise buying that series...
Published 13 months ago by Philip Stevens


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the BEST Time Lords!!!, 23 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Complete Series 6 [DVD] (DVD)
FANTASTIC...

as i will keep saying. Matt Smith possibly my favorite time lord of all time.
just fantastic to see him bring this character to life. action. comedy. and suspense.

Fantastic way to open the season. can't fault it. LLOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally amazing stuff...., 30 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Complete Series 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Well first off i ordered this under the free delievery service and it arrived within 2 days, so am extremely pleased. The box set comes in the same style as season 5, which is nice, easy to distingish on the shelf.

As for the season itself it is phenomonal! I really enjoyed it. There are many two part episodes but actually i would say it is more like a running series, as some even continue after the second episode. It is a very intense and dark story right throughout leading up to the discovery of who River Song actually is and what it is she actually does, very compelling. Plus of course it also comes one step closer to the question that surrounds the mistery of The Doctor, Doctor Who? I would say that if your a Whovian you should have a pretty good idea of what the Doctors name is by now, i sure do! In the episode called The God Complex, Amy asks the doctor a question about his faith and who he worships and his face reveals alot about who he is, it is very sutble, blink and you'll miss it.

All in all a fantastic storyline and can not wait to have the entire seventh season to stand next to the rest of my Dr Who collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, love it, 1 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Complete Series 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Love it, love it, love it. The more I see of Matt Smith the better I like him in the role of the Doctor. Series 6 has to be one of the best so far. The Amy, Rory, River Song story has developed brilliantly and I just love the episode, "The Wedding of River Song" If you haven't watched this do so immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Matt Smith earned the title of the Doctor, 2 July 2012
By 
Mr. R. G. Prizeman "Dickie 1" (croydon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When doctor Who started it was enjoyable and as time went had very little money spent on it,of cause effects were not great as computers had not been invented. As time went on the BBC fell out of love with it and then cancelled it, in hind sight it did need a rest and a re-think.
Sixteen years later and only one TV movie and the programme I loved as a child came back bigger and better, now loved by the BBC and loved by the public, and with a smile on my face and with the knowledge that I always loved it right up to the end, and now knowing a whole knew generation are in love with the programme as well. I except not every episode is brilliant, but the programme is polished very well acted in every case, shot like a movie, even Catherine Tate was an amazement and I had doubts of her casting.
Then came Steven Moffet and Matt Smith and the roller-coaster ride continued. I have to admit that The stories in season five and six are not as straight forward and those from the Russell T Davis years, and to be honest having watched everything again I seem to be able to understand the somewhat complicated story lines better.
So can I recommend Who for a new generation, well yes Matt Smith has all the charm of David Tennett but the quirkiness of Patrick Troughton an excellent actor and a great choice, Karen Gillian is just excellent as Amy Pond and Alex Kingston as Riversong again is such a great casting. What i find amazing is that every companion so far has been a thrill to watch, If you are new to the show and have just never watched the new series I would urge you to watch. The series does have a very strong link going through it, and although some episodes such as the Lodger and the God Complex can be watched as Stand alone episodes, at least half of the episodes deal with the idea of the Doctor being killed in the future and his friends knowing this and trying to prevent this from happening.
Sometimes complicated and sometime requiring you to watch again, but always requiring your full attention. This is who for a knew generation and I personally love it,don't knock it to much I'd hate them to cancel it again for another 16 years, I may be dead by the time they brought it back again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Forget About This One!, 12 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If your kids/ friends/ Jim The Fish are going to want Series 6 for Christmas, order this great 'Silent variant' with exclusive postcards now: mean spirited stockpilers have form in buying up these lovely limited editions, then charging three times the price only months later (eg Series 3's 'Master variant'). The 3D Silent head itself isn't just holographic; it's sculpted card, and leans out menacingly.

Moffat planned a "fairytale": after the "rollercoaster" of Series 5, Series 6 is the "ghost train". We're fully immersed in the lives of the travellers, each with their own compelling battles ahead. While I don't agree with those who've labelled this series "overcomplicated", in its ambition it has sometimes lost coherency (ie I understand what the characters have done and when, but I've not always been convinced by their supposed motives). However, the verdict is overwhelmingly positive. You will have your own reactions to the episodes; these are merely mine.

The Special
A Christmas Carol: 8 -thin stuff but fun. Yet more Dickens/Victoriana and sometimes sickly sweet, but clever and with some lovely touches.

The Episodes
The Impossible Astronaut/Day of the Moon: 9 -irresistable imagery (space race, Oval Office, Mad Men, haunted house), truly scary aliens & two of the greatest openings in the show's history. Few too many loose ends but a great cliffhanger.

The Curse of the Black Spot: 7 -fun & feisty romp marred only by Hollywood pirates & a soppy father/son subplot (the first of many this year!). Cole is great & the Moffat-inspired sci-fi twist is neat.

The Doctor's Wife: 10 -a note perfect fan pleaser resembling a graphic novel by Samuel Beckett. The continuity feels just right, Jones is sublime & the humour/horror balance is perfect.

The Rebel Flesh/The Almost People: 7 -a horror movie inspired base under siege that flags when it gets talky. A lack of clarity & likeable characters make it hard to invest in, but there are very powerful scenes: especially the cliffhanger!

A Good Man Goes To War: 9 -this great 'finale' with Star Wars designs feels truly epic. The 'repertory of monsters' vignettes really feed the story and Moffat's placing of the Doctor in the universe.

Let's Kill Hitler: 7 -at its finest at its funniest, with a great new companion introduction. Rory & Amy's early days are both touching & clever; but there's a lot of padding, an assassin's conversion is deeply unconvincing & the end's a cop-out.

Night Terrors: 6 -well regarded but downbeat. Almost a remake of Fear Her except we know from the start that the fears are imagined. Great visuals & terrifying monsters though.

The Girl Who Waited: 8 -affecting 'what if' story with a retro sci-fi look. Gillan & Darvill are superb. The time-bending pushes it at times, but the ending's fully committed.

The God Complex: 9 -nice use of CCTV in a creepy hotel full of monsters. Often very tense. Smith's brilliantly vulnerable. Walliams perhaps steals the show too much.

Closing Time: 8 -very funny sequel to The Lodger. There's something childishly exciting about a big, shiny shop at night. The Cybermen do what they do best: lurk!

The Wedding of River Song: 6 -Smith's brilliant performance carries this (maybe inevitable) let down. The fun BBC Breakfast cameo & Live Chess aside, the 'time gone wrong stuff' (also done last year) goes on & on without adding to the plot. Though the end was never in doubt, the universe is very easily fooled it would seem! However, there's a lovely tribute to the past and overall it's an excellent set up for next year.

The great value extras raise 4 stars for the stories to 5 stars for the box set. There are the 5 online prequels (for Episodes 1, 3, 7, 8 & 13), the 2 Comic Relief scenes, 14 cut-down Confidentials and the 4 Monster Files (Silents, Gangers, Anti-bodies, Cybermats) released earlier this year. Only 4 Commentaries (for Episodes 1, 4, 7 & 13) but there are 5 exclusive to DVD 'Night & the Doctor' scenes with their own Confidential episode: the somewhat disposable 'Good/Bad Night' are Tardis based comical/ sentimental vignettes with Amy and the Doctor, while 'First/Last Night' do the same for River and the Doctor but add more to River's story; 'Up All Night' is simply an amusing Doctor-less prequel to episode 12. Don't miss out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Complete Series 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant series, great story lines, great actors, really enjoyed the story line regarding the identity of River Song. The best series to date! Quick International delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Season!!, 15 Oct. 2011
As a Doctor Who fan of almost 40 yrs of age I feel very happy to report that I feel this has been the strongest, most consistent season since Phillip Hinchcliffe and Bob Holmes were in charge and the mighty Tom Baker was the Doctor. I dont include the frankly NAFF Christmas Special we got this year in the season, although we do get it on this boxset, but it cant detract from the deliciously dark series of stories that were to come.

Highlights for me were the impressive opening 2 parter, the AMAZING The Doctors Wife (please please more from Gaiman!!)the old school Rebel Flesh/Almost People, the barnstorming A Good Man Goes To War, the bonkersly brilliant Lets Kill Hitler, kinda creepy Night Terrors, the emotional Girl Who Waited and the usual clever wrap up from the Gand Moff in The Wedding of River Song.

The other stories of the season are Closing Time which seemed a bit filler for me with Cybermen just tagged into it for no reason really, Curse of the Black Spot which was a fairly bog standard runaround and the unsettling yet somewhat unsatisfying God Complex. The only slight irritation for me is just how much the demise of the Doctor is built up, right from the very first episode, even though filming of the Christmas episode had begun as this aired so WE KNOW he's not going to really die! And the fact is, hes been around for 50 years now. He aint gonna die that easily.

But all in all the strongest season since classic Who and certainly since it came back in 2005.

And just a quick note on the additional extras weve been told of so far....additional scenes and prequels are cool, confidential is essential viewing, the comic relief sketches are brief but cool but why oh why only 4 commentaries?!?!?!?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet again... another great Doctor Who series, 7 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Complete Series 6 [DVD] (DVD)
I loved the more complex story lines and ideas that were put into the production of this series. Each episode is extremely entertaining and leaves you with questions that you eagerly want answered. You can't watch one without wanting to watch the next one!! The finale is great and I would definitely recommend this series!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The last real LIMITED edition...!?, 4 Jan. 2015
By 
R. Glaß - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
theres already said enough about the excellent quality of the series itself.
It's great and still stands the test of time (currently the 8th season is done)!

So let me say somesthing about this limited edition.
It looks just great!!
All BD come with brilliant picture and sound
but the real looker is the Raised Silence Head
and the 3D- cards!

It's sad and absurd that there are no collectors editions since this
nice box.

So this one is the last special issue you can buy.

I myself stopped buying Doctor Who box
once the BBC started to release series 7 in two
tacky boxes instead of the former wonderful special editions.
For me as a collector it seems to be the suitable reaction
on this kind of reacket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best series so far with Matt Smith as the Doctor, 27 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Complete Series 6 [DVD] (DVD)
best series so far with Matt Smith as the Doctor.
just like Matt Smith,best Doctor so far along with David Tennant.
Recommend this to all Who fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - Complete Series 6 [DVD]
Doctor Who - Complete Series 6 [DVD] by Matt Smith (DVD - 2011)
£24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews