Customer Reviews


244 Reviews
5 star:
 (176)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet again... another great Doctor Who series
I loved the more complex story lines and ideas that were put into the production of this series. Each episode is extremely entertaining and leaves you with questions that you eagerly want answered. You can't watch one without wanting to watch the next one!! The finale is great and I would definitely recommend this series!!
Published 7 months ago by SFletch

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok for kids
My six year old grandson would give the set 10 stars. He is a Who fanatic, who exterminates or deletes my frequently. Perhaps that's the reason I've only given it three.
Published 17 days ago by Arthur Harris


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet again... another great Doctor Who series, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Complete Series 6 [DVD] (DVD)
I loved the more complex story lines and ideas that were put into the production of this series. Each episode is extremely entertaining and leaves you with questions that you eagerly want answered. You can't watch one without wanting to watch the next one!! The finale is great and I would definitely recommend this series!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the BEST Time Lords!!!, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Complete Series 6 [DVD] (DVD)
FANTASTIC...

as i will keep saying. Matt Smith possibly my favorite time lord of all time.
just fantastic to see him bring this character to life. action. comedy. and suspense.

Fantastic way to open the season. can't fault it. LLOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such an amazing season!, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fast delivery and perfect blu-ray disk pack.
It consists of 6 disks with the episodes, the episodes prequel and the DW confidential.
You can also find the Monster-book scenes in which some guys show you how the monsters are made and it's quite interesting.
The first episode is incredibly full of suspence...what a beginning!
In disk one you can find the Christmas Special "A Christmas Carol" which is set between the 5th and the 6th series.
Still wondering whether to buy it or not? No more doubts, I strongly suggest you to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Complete Series 6 [DVD] (DVD)
I have to say that my favourite doctor is David Tennant (sorry, Matt), but these way over the top tuned episodes are worth watching nontheless. Having said that I have to add that I find the continuing storyline a bit boring but also annoying. Still - great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Complete Series 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant series, great story lines, great actors, really enjoyed the story line regarding the identity of River Song. The best series to date! Quick International delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Forget About This One!, 12 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If your kids/ friends/ Jim The Fish are going to want Series 6 for Christmas, order this great 'Silent variant' with exclusive postcards now: mean spirited stockpilers have form in buying up these lovely limited editions, then charging three times the price only months later (eg Series 3's 'Master variant'). The 3D Silent head itself isn't just holographic; it's sculpted card, and leans out menacingly.

Moffat planned a "fairytale": after the "rollercoaster" of Series 5, Series 6 is the "ghost train". We're fully immersed in the lives of the travellers, each with their own compelling battles ahead. While I don't agree with those who've labelled this series "overcomplicated", in its ambition it has sometimes lost coherency (ie I understand what the characters have done and when, but I've not always been convinced by their supposed motives). However, the verdict is overwhelmingly positive. You will have your own reactions to the episodes; these are merely mine.

The Special
A Christmas Carol: 8 -thin stuff but fun. Yet more Dickens/Victoriana and sometimes sickly sweet, but clever and with some lovely touches.

The Episodes
The Impossible Astronaut/Day of the Moon: 9 -irresistable imagery (space race, Oval Office, Mad Men, haunted house), truly scary aliens & two of the greatest openings in the show's history. Few too many loose ends but a great cliffhanger.

The Curse of the Black Spot: 7 -fun & feisty romp marred only by Hollywood pirates & a soppy father/son subplot (the first of many this year!). Cole is great & the Moffat-inspired sci-fi twist is neat.

The Doctor's Wife: 10 -a note perfect fan pleaser resembling a graphic novel by Samuel Beckett. The continuity feels just right, Jones is sublime & the humour/horror balance is perfect.

The Rebel Flesh/The Almost People: 7 -a horror movie inspired base under siege that flags when it gets talky. A lack of clarity & likeable characters make it hard to invest in, but there are very powerful scenes: especially the cliffhanger!

A Good Man Goes To War: 9 -this great 'finale' with Star Wars designs feels truly epic. The 'repertory of monsters' vignettes really feed the story and Moffat's placing of the Doctor in the universe.

Let's Kill Hitler: 7 -at its finest at its funniest, with a great new companion introduction. Rory & Amy's early days are both touching & clever; but there's a lot of padding, an assassin's conversion is deeply unconvincing & the end's a cop-out.

Night Terrors: 6 -well regarded but downbeat. Almost a remake of Fear Her except we know from the start that the fears are imagined. Great visuals & terrifying monsters though.

The Girl Who Waited: 8 -affecting 'what if' story with a retro sci-fi look. Gillan & Darvill are superb. The time-bending pushes it at times, but the ending's fully committed.

The God Complex: 9 -nice use of CCTV in a creepy hotel full of monsters. Often very tense. Smith's brilliantly vulnerable. Walliams perhaps steals the show too much.

Closing Time: 8 -very funny sequel to The Lodger. There's something childishly exciting about a big, shiny shop at night. The Cybermen do what they do best: lurk!

The Wedding of River Song: 6 -Smith's brilliant performance carries this (maybe inevitable) let down. The fun BBC Breakfast cameo & Live Chess aside, the 'time gone wrong stuff' (also done last year) goes on & on without adding to the plot. Though the end was never in doubt, the universe is very easily fooled it would seem! However, there's a lovely tribute to the past and overall it's an excellent set up for next year.

The great value extras raise 4 stars for the stories to 5 stars for the box set. There are the 5 online prequels (for Episodes 1, 3, 7, 8 & 13), the 2 Comic Relief scenes, 14 cut-down Confidentials and the 4 Monster Files (Silents, Gangers, Anti-bodies, Cybermats) released earlier this year. Only 4 Commentaries (for Episodes 1, 4, 7 & 13) but there are 5 exclusive to DVD 'Night & the Doctor' scenes with their own Confidential episode: the somewhat disposable 'Good/Bad Night' are Tardis based comical/ sentimental vignettes with Amy and the Doctor, while 'First/Last Night' do the same for River and the Doctor but add more to River's story; 'Up All Night' is simply an amusing Doctor-less prequel to episode 12. Don't miss out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally amazing stuff...., 30 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Complete Series 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Well first off i ordered this under the free delievery service and it arrived within 2 days, so am extremely pleased. The box set comes in the same style as season 5, which is nice, easy to distingish on the shelf.

As for the season itself it is phenomonal! I really enjoyed it. There are many two part episodes but actually i would say it is more like a running series, as some even continue after the second episode. It is a very intense and dark story right throughout leading up to the discovery of who River Song actually is and what it is she actually does, very compelling. Plus of course it also comes one step closer to the question that surrounds the mistery of The Doctor, Doctor Who? I would say that if your a Whovian you should have a pretty good idea of what the Doctors name is by now, i sure do! In the episode called The God Complex, Amy asks the doctor a question about his faith and who he worships and his face reveals alot about who he is, it is very sutble, blink and you'll miss it.

All in all a fantastic storyline and can not wait to have the entire seventh season to stand next to the rest of my Dr Who collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Doctor and me, 8 Nov 2012
By 
I grew up loving Doctor who (Sylvester McCoy being the doctor i grew up with) and when it returned in 2005, I liked it but never really took any interest. then David Tennant took over. started watching them. Then stopped watched David Tennants last spin (end of time) which I thought was brilliant. watched the first few episodes of the new incantation that was Matt Smith again stopped watching. But for some reason something keeps pulling me back. so Got Doctor Who series 6 on blu ray. And I loved it. Part of me thought I shouldn't be liking this i'm 32 years old and into dark stuff. (dark as in being adult series like walking dead, hell on wheels, the wire, supernatural, house) but it appears Doctor Who has won me back. I don't know if I should be embaressed or not. But I don't care. This series wasn't too CBBC for me. It wasn't too childish. It had its moments of course (well it is Doctor who) But I liked the underlining story arc to this series. Stephen Moffat has done a good job. I think Russel Davies run was good. But it appears This Doctor who does have a kind of darker edge to it. Now I'm not going into this whole who was better Tennant or SMith. As you can't. As you know Doctor Who when he re-generates his personality changes too. so SO Smith's Doctor is much different to the doctor that David Tennant played. So what's the point in comparing them really. granted you can prefer one over the other. Just started watching series 7 well the first 5 episodes anyway. The theme music as always brings a smile on my face reminds me of sitting in my room when i was a lil boy. watching the Doctor and his companion Ace run around on their adventures and me sitting mesmerized. Though of course Doctor who doesnt have the same effect on me now that it did. But it's a great British Science fiction show. Same with Torchwood i keep going back and forth with that. buying it selling it and buying it back. crazy.
The problem with torchwood is that it claims to be an adult version of Doctor who but it really isnt apart from the sexual element of it. anyways this is doctor who not torchwood. I found this series to be quite delightful. make sure you watch it while enjoying some jammy dodgers or maybe fish fingers and custard :)
Episodes
(havent watched the christmas special yet)
Episode 1+ 2 (two parter) 10/10
The Impossible Astronaut/day of the moon
This has got to be one of the best season openers of Doctor who, great story and the introduction to the overall story arc of the series, nice imagery, some loose ends but most get cleared up at the end. and we get to see Pond in an emotional scene. Liking the new companions Rory and Amelia not the average go screaming or corny lines.
The Curse of Black Spot 8/10
Pirates and the sirens, a pretty typical Doctor who outing, a nice idea well made, enjoyed it but nothing special probably would have been better if it was placed few episodes after the first two. As you would think a much stronger story should have taken place right after the series opener. But saying that this isnt a bad episode.
The Doctors wife 10/10
This is probably one of my faveourite episodes, its quite sad (not bring a tear to your eye or having to take four days off work to get over the pain and sorrow of it all) its a good Doctor and the tardis story, which explains to a point the doctor and the tardis relationship. As always the imagery was great and the acting.
it has the right horror/humor balance a very enjoable episode which should please any doctor who fan (especially the older ones)
The rebel flesh/the almost people 8/10
A good two parter, may not be the strongest stories, but a good cliffhanger, the charactors don't really become enough for you to root for them. But well written.
A good man goes to war 10/10
A powerful story in this continuous series arc as the doctor assembles an army, with plenty of monsters/aliens another strong episode in this series.
Let's Kill Hitler 6/10
starts off as a run of the mill episode, but a bit of a let down. probably the weakest story in the series, not to say it isn't enjoyable. as you get to see rory and Amelia through their younger days. but the ending felt like a cop out really.
Night terrors 6.5/10
i pretty much liked this episode, but not one of the strong points of the series, seeing the doctor help a little boy who is scared of everything, but this is actually a more back to basics Doctor, so though not a strong episode is a nice change.
The girl who waited 5/10
a play with time, liked it but you knew what was going to happen really, an emotional episode in regards to rory and Amelia. But I wasnt too convinced. but a likeably episode.
The God Complex 9/10
Liked this episode based in a creepy motel full of rooms full of your own fear. David Williams plays a funny alien. good story, good comedic timing. and also with some sad undertones to it as well.
Closing Time 6/10
A nice episode but cybermen story wasnt a strong one and not a huge fan of James Cordon, but one of the funnier episodes of the series.
The Wedding of river song 7/10
the series finale was both enjoyable and a bit of a let down really. Matt Smith though was great in it. was kind of hoping they would be a bit more imaginative with the story. But saying that was a good ending. just could made it more stronger. But paves way for the new series.
the extra's well if you buy a lot of Doctor who you will know their are a few prequels, the 14 doctor who confidential cut downs.
an enjoyable feast of doctor who.
Not sure if this series will reignite any interest to fading doctor who fans. but do think its a strong series.
hope this review was good.... and i did doctor who some justice.... If not please dont try and find me and kill me. as i cannot re-generate (that actually sounded more funny when i thought it) :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Season!!, 15 Oct 2011
As a Doctor Who fan of almost 40 yrs of age I feel very happy to report that I feel this has been the strongest, most consistent season since Phillip Hinchcliffe and Bob Holmes were in charge and the mighty Tom Baker was the Doctor. I dont include the frankly NAFF Christmas Special we got this year in the season, although we do get it on this boxset, but it cant detract from the deliciously dark series of stories that were to come.

Highlights for me were the impressive opening 2 parter, the AMAZING The Doctors Wife (please please more from Gaiman!!)the old school Rebel Flesh/Almost People, the barnstorming A Good Man Goes To War, the bonkersly brilliant Lets Kill Hitler, kinda creepy Night Terrors, the emotional Girl Who Waited and the usual clever wrap up from the Gand Moff in The Wedding of River Song.

The other stories of the season are Closing Time which seemed a bit filler for me with Cybermen just tagged into it for no reason really, Curse of the Black Spot which was a fairly bog standard runaround and the unsettling yet somewhat unsatisfying God Complex. The only slight irritation for me is just how much the demise of the Doctor is built up, right from the very first episode, even though filming of the Christmas episode had begun as this aired so WE KNOW he's not going to really die! And the fact is, hes been around for 50 years now. He aint gonna die that easily.

But all in all the strongest season since classic Who and certainly since it came back in 2005.

And just a quick note on the additional extras weve been told of so far....additional scenes and prequels are cool, confidential is essential viewing, the comic relief sketches are brief but cool but why oh why only 4 commentaries?!?!?!?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillant, 1 Nov 2011
By 
B. Pennant "old skool booklover" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Complete Series 6 [DVD] (DVD)
This for me was a brillant series which not only had some great episodes and moments but also brought to an end the storyline of River Song who first came to our notice during the time of David Tennant and Russell T Davies. I say this because although we may or not see River again we know her end of course because we have already seen her death so now we finally find out who she is and what she meant to the Dr, Amy and Rory.

I found this a well written and balanced series with Matt, Karen, Arthur and Alex each completely settled into their roles and their acting. Steven's writing for me has always been one to the highlights of New Who and this series I wasn't disappointed and the mad, bad Wedding of Riversong feels like both Matt and Smith are now ready to take the Dr in a new direction and one I look forward to seeing.

Job well done looking forward to series 7 and the 50th year celebration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6fb3e7c)

This product

Doctor Who - Complete Series 6 [DVD]
Doctor Who - Complete Series 6 [DVD] by Matt Smith (DVD - 2011)
£13.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews