Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the BEST Time Lords!!!
FANTASTIC...

as i will keep saying. Matt Smith possibly my favorite time lord of all time.
just fantastic to see him bring this character to life. action. comedy. and suspense.

Fantastic way to open the season. can't fault it. LLOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE!
Published 18 months ago by Zain

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Mixed Bag
Doctor Who Series 6 was Matt Smith's second series in the role of the Doctor, and also Steven Moffat's second series as head writer, and it is around Series 6 Part 2 that his writing begins to get worse. This does not hold the series down though as it is a great series and I still enjoyed it. The Sixth Series is a continuation from Series 5 and I advise buying that series...
Published 15 months ago by Philip Stevens


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the BEST Time Lords!!!, 23 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Complete Series 6 [DVD] (DVD)
FANTASTIC...

as i will keep saying. Matt Smith possibly my favorite time lord of all time.
just fantastic to see him bring this character to life. action. comedy. and suspense.

Fantastic way to open the season. can't fault it. LLOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally amazing stuff...., 30 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Complete Series 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Well first off i ordered this under the free delievery service and it arrived within 2 days, so am extremely pleased. The box set comes in the same style as season 5, which is nice, easy to distingish on the shelf.

As for the season itself it is phenomonal! I really enjoyed it. There are many two part episodes but actually i would say it is more like a running series, as some even continue after the second episode. It is a very intense and dark story right throughout leading up to the discovery of who River Song actually is and what it is she actually does, very compelling. Plus of course it also comes one step closer to the question that surrounds the mistery of The Doctor, Doctor Who? I would say that if your a Whovian you should have a pretty good idea of what the Doctors name is by now, i sure do! In the episode called The God Complex, Amy asks the doctor a question about his faith and who he worships and his face reveals alot about who he is, it is very sutble, blink and you'll miss it.

All in all a fantastic storyline and can not wait to have the entire seventh season to stand next to the rest of my Dr Who collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, love it, 1 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Complete Series 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Love it, love it, love it. The more I see of Matt Smith the better I like him in the role of the Doctor. Series 6 has to be one of the best so far. The Amy, Rory, River Song story has developed brilliantly and I just love the episode, "The Wedding of River Song" If you haven't watched this do so immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Powerful storylines, well worth seeing, 30 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who - Complete Series 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Matt Smith is well into his stride as the 11th incarnation of the Doctor; Karen Gillan and Arthur Darvill return as the newly married Amy and Rory, companions and sidekicks.

It's a confusing series in some ways, and I almost feel as if I should start watching it over again with the benefit of hindsight. While most episodes are complete in themselves, the idea of a `crack in the universe' continues, as do the mysterious `Silence' aliens, who disappear from memory as soon as someone stops looking at them.

Other than the Silence, here are not so many evil aliens in this series; the Daleks and Weeping Angels make only brief appearances, as do the Cybermen. On the other hand, there's a pirate ship complete with singing Sirens, an episode where Hitler appears, and some doppelgangers who impersonate their human counterparts. It was difficult trying to work out what parts of each episode were significant, and I often found my head buzzing... there's a lot of fast action and tension, neither of which really appeal to me.

Yet Doctor Who is very engaging. The human - and human-alien - interactions are often revealing, sometimes moving. The heavier, darker episodes are interspersed with lighter ones; I particularly enjoyed the penultimate `Closing Time', where the Doctor pops in to see his friend `Craig', who featured in Season Five.

There are plenty of short extras in this season, with prequels and mini-episodes as supplements, although it's not necessary to watch them.

All in all, a season well worth owning and watching for anyone who is a fan of this long-running series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing season!, 19 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I directly bought the DVD after I finished watching the season online.

David Tennant is my favorite Doctor, but Matt Smith in my opinion is the BEST Doctor at least of the new series. I really love how he transmits so many emotions by his acting. He's so good you actually think that he is feeling all the pain and all the emotions from his fictional character.

Returning to the DVD...I really enjoyed this season. It was an emotional rollercoaster and had some amazing episodes like 'The Doctors Wife' where we can see The Doctors relation with his Tardis, or the 'The Weeding of River Song' funny and sad at the same time. "A Good Man Goes To War" was one of the best episodes for me,'The Doctor's darkest hour. He'll rise higher than ever before and then fall so much'.

In this season we get to explore so much from The Doctors character and also from Amy, Rory and River Song. This season takes to light some really interesting facts and mysteries from previous seasons. We get to know who River Song really is and her connection to the Doctor (no spoilers) and find out more and more aspects of the Doctor.

The DVD came early than the estimated delivery date and in great condition. I'm really exited to finally have it in my possession and I just can't wait for the price of the seventh season to drop so I can add it to my collection.

Matt Smith was a great Doctor. I really enjoyed every episode with him and I'm really sad that he is leaving. I hope that the twelfth Doctor will keep up to the high standards of David Tennant and Matt Smith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a present for my daughter - she loves it!, 3 Nov. 2013
By 
Jersey Customer (Jersey, Channel Islands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Complete Series 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Being a huge Dr Who family as a whole (we, as parents, having watched it since Jon Pertwee's time, children since the 2005 revival) we are gradually buying the series on DVD, and some of them 'belong' to our eldest daughter because they were requested, and bought as, presents for birthdays, and this Series 6 DVD was bought for this purpose... but of course we've all watched it anyway! It follows the same format as the previous DVDs - fans who've already bought any of them will already be familiar with it (so don't need to read the rest of my review!) but for those who haven't, it are 'extras' such as episode commentaries (for 'The Impossible Astronaut', 'The Doctor's Wife', 'The Almost People' and 'The Wedding of River Song' - so only four episodes, and if I had a gripe it would be that I do wish they'd make them for all the episodes!), 'monster files' (more of a detailed background to adversaries created for various episodes, such as 'the flesh' in 'The Almost People'/'The Rebel Flesh', showing how the make-up was created and achieved, revealing more about why they act as they do etc) and little mini 'tardisodes' (I think they're called?) which set up, or follow up, certain events in the main series. If you're visually impaired or hearing impaired there is audio commentary (make sure you don't turn it on by mistake - it's easy to do if you're a bit 'trigger happy' with your remote!) and subtitling for every episode (I find the subtitles helpful when I'm listening to the commentaries - that way you don't miss out on dialogue, which is obviously dipped to allow the commentary to be heard, which means you can still identify/keep up with the important bits of dialogue the commentary is referring to!). If you are a fan you will probably already have one or more of the DVDs already, but if you liked Series 6, and haven't bought any of the others for any reason but are considering buying this one, then I hope some of the reviews here have helped you decide!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who: The Complete Series 6, 4 April 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who - Complete Series 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Adventures across time and space with the time-travelling hero.

A Christmas Carol: The Doctor must save a crashing spaceship and a miser's soul - but what lurks in the fog?

The Impossible Astronaut: Amy, Rory and River mourn the Doctor, but are soon plunged into an adventure.

Day of the Moon: The Doctor fights an alien invasion dating back to the beginnings of human civilisation.

The Curse of the Black Spot: There's terror on the high seas, as the Doctor is stranded on a pirate ship.

The Doctor's Wife: By following a Time Lord distress signal, the Doctor endangers Amy, Rory and the TARDIS.

The Rebel Flesh: A solar tsunami liberates doppelgangers from their human 'originals'.

The Almost People: The Doctor must convince terrified factory workers to trust their doppelgangers.

A Good Man Goes to War: The Doctor assembles an alien army to fight the Battle of Demons Run.

Let's Kill Hitler: Nazis! River on the rampage! Regeneration! The TARDIS crash-lands in 1930s Berlin.

Night Terrors: The Doctor must deal with sinister dolls coming to life.

The Girl Who Waited: Amy's trapped in a quarantine facility for victims of an alien plague. Can Rory save her?

The God Complex: The TARDIS lands in a hotel where every visitor's room contains their biggest fears.

Closing Time: The Doctor's final days are upon him, and the Cybermen are waiting...

The Wedding of River Song: All of time and space hangs in the balance, for this is the day the Doctor dies.

25 Dec 2010 - 1 Oct 2011
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Matt Smith earned the title of the Doctor, 2 July 2012
By 
Mr. R. G. Prizeman "Dickie 1" (croydon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When doctor Who started it was enjoyable and as time went had very little money spent on it,of cause effects were not great as computers had not been invented. As time went on the BBC fell out of love with it and then cancelled it, in hind sight it did need a rest and a re-think.
Sixteen years later and only one TV movie and the programme I loved as a child came back bigger and better, now loved by the BBC and loved by the public, and with a smile on my face and with the knowledge that I always loved it right up to the end, and now knowing a whole knew generation are in love with the programme as well. I except not every episode is brilliant, but the programme is polished very well acted in every case, shot like a movie, even Catherine Tate was an amazement and I had doubts of her casting.
Then came Steven Moffet and Matt Smith and the roller-coaster ride continued. I have to admit that The stories in season five and six are not as straight forward and those from the Russell T Davis years, and to be honest having watched everything again I seem to be able to understand the somewhat complicated story lines better.
So can I recommend Who for a new generation, well yes Matt Smith has all the charm of David Tennett but the quirkiness of Patrick Troughton an excellent actor and a great choice, Karen Gillian is just excellent as Amy Pond and Alex Kingston as Riversong again is such a great casting. What i find amazing is that every companion so far has been a thrill to watch, If you are new to the show and have just never watched the new series I would urge you to watch. The series does have a very strong link going through it, and although some episodes such as the Lodger and the God Complex can be watched as Stand alone episodes, at least half of the episodes deal with the idea of the Doctor being killed in the future and his friends knowing this and trying to prevent this from happening.
Sometimes complicated and sometime requiring you to watch again, but always requiring your full attention. This is who for a knew generation and I personally love it,don't knock it to much I'd hate them to cancel it again for another 16 years, I may be dead by the time they brought it back again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Forget About This One!, 12 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If your kids/ friends/ Jim The Fish are going to want Series 6 for Christmas, order this great 'Silent variant' with exclusive postcards now: mean spirited stockpilers have form in buying up these lovely limited editions, then charging three times the price only months later (eg Series 3's 'Master variant'). The 3D Silent head itself isn't just holographic; it's sculpted card, and leans out menacingly.

Moffat planned a "fairytale": after the "rollercoaster" of Series 5, Series 6 is the "ghost train". We're fully immersed in the lives of the travellers, each with their own compelling battles ahead. While I don't agree with those who've labelled this series "overcomplicated", in its ambition it has sometimes lost coherency (ie I understand what the characters have done and when, but I've not always been convinced by their supposed motives). However, the verdict is overwhelmingly positive. You will have your own reactions to the episodes; these are merely mine.

The Special
A Christmas Carol: 8 -thin stuff but fun. Yet more Dickens/Victoriana and sometimes sickly sweet, but clever and with some lovely touches.

The Episodes
The Impossible Astronaut/Day of the Moon: 9 -irresistable imagery (space race, Oval Office, Mad Men, haunted house), truly scary aliens & two of the greatest openings in the show's history. Few too many loose ends but a great cliffhanger.

The Curse of the Black Spot: 7 -fun & feisty romp marred only by Hollywood pirates & a soppy father/son subplot (the first of many this year!). Cole is great & the Moffat-inspired sci-fi twist is neat.

The Doctor's Wife: 10 -a note perfect fan pleaser resembling a graphic novel by Samuel Beckett. The continuity feels just right, Jones is sublime & the humour/horror balance is perfect.

The Rebel Flesh/The Almost People: 7 -a horror movie inspired base under siege that flags when it gets talky. A lack of clarity & likeable characters make it hard to invest in, but there are very powerful scenes: especially the cliffhanger!

A Good Man Goes To War: 9 -this great 'finale' with Star Wars designs feels truly epic. The 'repertory of monsters' vignettes really feed the story and Moffat's placing of the Doctor in the universe.

Let's Kill Hitler: 7 -at its finest at its funniest, with a great new companion introduction. Rory & Amy's early days are both touching & clever; but there's a lot of padding, an assassin's conversion is deeply unconvincing & the end's a cop-out.

Night Terrors: 6 -well regarded but downbeat. Almost a remake of Fear Her except we know from the start that the fears are imagined. Great visuals & terrifying monsters though.

The Girl Who Waited: 8 -affecting 'what if' story with a retro sci-fi look. Gillan & Darvill are superb. The time-bending pushes it at times, but the ending's fully committed.

The God Complex: 9 -nice use of CCTV in a creepy hotel full of monsters. Often very tense. Smith's brilliantly vulnerable. Walliams perhaps steals the show too much.

Closing Time: 8 -very funny sequel to The Lodger. There's something childishly exciting about a big, shiny shop at night. The Cybermen do what they do best: lurk!

The Wedding of River Song: 6 -Smith's brilliant performance carries this (maybe inevitable) let down. The fun BBC Breakfast cameo & Live Chess aside, the 'time gone wrong stuff' (also done last year) goes on & on without adding to the plot. Though the end was never in doubt, the universe is very easily fooled it would seem! However, there's a lovely tribute to the past and overall it's an excellent set up for next year.

The great value extras raise 4 stars for the stories to 5 stars for the box set. There are the 5 online prequels (for Episodes 1, 3, 7, 8 & 13), the 2 Comic Relief scenes, 14 cut-down Confidentials and the 4 Monster Files (Silents, Gangers, Anti-bodies, Cybermats) released earlier this year. Only 4 Commentaries (for Episodes 1, 4, 7 & 13) but there are 5 exclusive to DVD 'Night & the Doctor' scenes with their own Confidential episode: the somewhat disposable 'Good/Bad Night' are Tardis based comical/ sentimental vignettes with Amy and the Doctor, while 'First/Last Night' do the same for River and the Doctor but add more to River's story; 'Up All Night' is simply an amusing Doctor-less prequel to episode 12. Don't miss out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Complete Series 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant series, great story lines, great actors, really enjoyed the story line regarding the identity of River Song. The best series to date! Quick International delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - Complete Series 6 [DVD]
Doctor Who - Complete Series 6 [DVD] by Matt Smith (DVD - 2011)
£22.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews