Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


96 of 97 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best biblical account I've seen
Contray to the review already posted Mr Salamon this version of events, which whilst not 100% biblical, is without doubt the best and most accurate attempt to tell the story of the Nativity to date. The portrayal of both Joseph and Mary reveals just how human they were.

Jospehs doubts and the treatment of Mary at the hands of the other women in Nazarath...
Published on 16 Nov 2011 by AndyMG

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Seen better versions
I bought 2 different Nativity story DVDs to use in school unfortunately this one was a little boring so I didn't use it.
Published 11 months ago by Hetmck


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

96 of 97 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best biblical account I've seen, 16 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nativity [DVD] (DVD)
Contray to the review already posted Mr Salamon this version of events, which whilst not 100% biblical, is without doubt the best and most accurate attempt to tell the story of the Nativity to date. The portrayal of both Joseph and Mary reveals just how human they were.

Jospehs doubts and the treatment of Mary at the hands of the other women in Nazarath (Calling her a Whore etc) are both culturally and biblically accurate.

It is true that the story of the Wisemen is somewhat condensed from the biblical verion but thats only because of the constraints of the time allowed in filming. Both the story of the shepherds and the wise men as seen here reflect the cultural, polictical and socal aspects of the times in a very realistic manner. Also Mr Salamon should note that whilst the bible does not specifically say that the wise men went to Bethleham it also doesn't say that they didn't. Certainly thats where they were directed. Bethelhem being the place the prophets had predicted all this would happen. Plus Mr Salamon over looks the story of Mary and Jospeh fleeing to Egypt following the Wise Mens visit.

In short this is magnificent story telling, which given the obvisous contstraints of T.V., is accurate and, in the main true to the source material. This serial actually helps to shed real light on what actually happened and I for one, as a Church Minister, have yet to meet a Chritian who has had any real objections to this what so ever.

Great acting, wonderful direction, great set peices and about an accurate version of the story as we could hope for. Throughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BBC Nativity, 17 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Nativity [DVD] (DVD)
I found this BBC drama very moving and I think that any retelling of the most famous story in history is a good thing, even if perhaps it veers a little from the gospels. I'm glad that the BBC produced it as it's important that we don't forget the true meaning of Christmas as so many people nowadays do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful production, 19 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Nativity [DVD] (DVD)
Unlike the first reviewer, my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this BBC film, first shown last year, and can't wait for the DVD to arrive. Yes, there may be some historical inaccuracies and literary licence, but don't let that put you off this excellent production. It is beautifully filmed and scripted and the characters really come alive. The whole experience was very moving - keep some tissues handy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best yet, 6 Dec 2011
By 
D. Walker "Tollboother" (Oxford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Nativity [DVD] (DVD)
Yes, I also found the BBC's version of The Passion frustratingly weak and gutless, but this nativity account is probably the best yet, condensing the material into a consistent set of threads that reflect the culture of the time well, bringing out a lot of the biblical material's richness that can get missed when looking from our perspective.

For example, the shame of Mary's pregnancy is brought out particularly well - and the ensuing tension between Mary and Joseph - as is the pressure that the poor, such as shepherds, were under to survive as soon as health issues arose.

I was particularly impressed by writer Tony Jordan's use of up-to-the-minute scientific information. We can now re-create views of the sky from any time and place and Jordan's thread of close-ups on the alignment of Jupiter, Venus and Regulus as viewed from space bring out the cosmic scale of the event.

Add some strong acting, credible dialogue (with only the odd lapse) and beautiful set-piece landcscape shots and this is a very fine piece of work. Recommended.

Now, let's have Jordan working on the passion....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Refreshing Change, 14 Dec 2011
By 
canoewolf (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Nativity [DVD] (DVD)
Forget sugar and spice and all things nice, this gritty retelling is brilliant. The realistic interpretation of the nativity story resonates with 21st century reality. A must see that is heartwarming in unexpected ways yet does not hide the anguish nor the harsh life in 1st century Palestine. Fab-u-lous ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star or no Star I give it Five Stars, 8 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Nativity [DVD] (DVD)
I was really very interested to read other reviewers' comments regarding the star. However, I think it is just such a good film to watch and really makes you think about the time the story is set in and how it might be portrayed by film makers now. I strongly believe that if more people are to learn about Christianity films have to be made in the same way that other stories are told to capture the audience's attention. After that it is up to the individual to dig deeper and find out more if they so wish. Watching television last night we are already well into advent and there was absolutely no reference to the Nativity in either the programme schedule or ads. Well done BBC for making this and may you screen it every year for the next fifty years. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phenomenal, 14 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nativity [DVD] (DVD)
Beautiful, moving and gritty re-telling of the Nativity. This adaptation really shocks you and brings you closer to the truth of what the annunciation and birth of Jesus must have been like. Incredibly moving and shows a perspective on Joseph that is lovely to behold. A masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 16 Dec 2011
By 
Angela Lovelace "Angela" (Essex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nativity [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this when it aired last Christmas and still do. It was nice to see a bit of quality TV at Christmas time that reminded you about the real meaning behind the season, without smacking you around the head with a bible in the process.

Most of my life has been based in religion in one way or another, but I think it is something you can enjoy even if you are not of a practising faith. The program its self had a bit of a modern feel to it without being in anyway pretentious. I thought Joseph's reaction to Mary being pregnant was a lot more believable than some versions I have seen. The scenery was beautiful too.

The two main leads did a good job and played their parts well. It brought tears to my eyes, especially the moving birth scene. Andrew Buchan is a fine actor and a star that will continue to rise. A nice couple of cameos by John Lynch as the Angel Gabriel and Vincent Regan as a very seedy Herod. Tatiana Maslany was new to me as Mary, but she did a good job of portraying innocence as well as strength.

Well done BBC, occasionally you bring out something worth paying the TV licence for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely re-telling of The Nativity, 31 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nativity [DVD] (DVD)
This respectful and charming version of the Nativity, written by Tony Jordan, was shown in four half-hour episodes on BBC1 in the few days before Christmas 2010, and it was repeated in the mornings in two episodes over Christmas 2011.
A familiar face in it is Andrew Buchan, of "Garrow's Law" fame, as Joseph, and another one is Peter Capaldi as one of the Magi.
Some of it is necessarily invented, because the details in the Bible are quite sparse, but it is true to the spirit of the Biblical account, and all the bits you would expect are in there.
It is beautifully filmed. Some of the pictures that come to mind for me are: Saturn's rings; the stars reflected in the water in the font-like vessel which stands in the star-viewing room of the Magi; these same Magi, in their colourful robes, on the terrace overlooking the sea in Babylonia; the three white camels running through the black night towards Bethlehem.
The final episode is particularly affecting. It presses all the right sentimental, tear-jerking buttons.
All in all, a lovely re-telling of the Nativity, and, in my opinion, well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, moving and real, 31 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Nativity [DVD] (DVD)
I was so pleased to find this on DVD. Whether you Believe or not it's an incredibly gripping, moving story and the characters are made so real and human; you really feel in particular how terribly difficult it was for Mary being in her position, and Joseph's struggle. Extremely well acted, written and directed, this is a real gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Nativity [DVD]
The Nativity [DVD] by Tatiana Maslany (DVD - 2011)
6.23
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews