Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great addition for a 360 used as a media center
Since they added LoveFilm, Netflix, iPlayer, etc. to the 360 it has become the center of my home cinema. I use it to play all my downloaded video files, stream movies and (of course!) play games. I wanted a remote as using the controller all the time was 1) wasting batteries and 2) cumbersome.

After receiving the remote the first thing I noticed was how good...
Published on 29 April 2012 by zetetic-elencher

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DECENT BUT COULD BE BETTER
The pricing on this remote is of decent value, especially when taking into account the usual inflated prices of official xbox products. Its certainly better for navigation around the dashboard than a control pad. Especially so if you use your xbox to play videos and music on your tv via window media centre on the 360. Having a small slim remote instead of a pad feels...
Published on 1 July 2012 by jibbazz


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great addition for a 360 used as a media center, 29 April 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox 360 Media Remote (Xbox 360) (Accessory)
Since they added LoveFilm, Netflix, iPlayer, etc. to the 360 it has become the center of my home cinema. I use it to play all my downloaded video files, stream movies and (of course!) play games. I wanted a remote as using the controller all the time was 1) wasting batteries and 2) cumbersome.

After receiving the remote the first thing I noticed was how good looking it is. I have the new slim 360 and the remote has the same piano black finish. It looks really smart. It requires 2 x AAA batteries which were provided in the box - always a bonus!

Within minutes I had set it up to control my TV too so now I only have one remote for the TV and the 360 which is really convenient. The remote doesn't need to be synced to work but it does require line-of-sight. The instructions for controlling your TV with it are in the box and it's a really simply process.

If you use your 360 to play any media then this is a must-buy. My only criticism is that it doesn't replicate the trigger & bumper buttons functionality so you can't skip through content a screen at a time - you have to scroll through the items one by one. This is the only reason it didn't get 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IT WORKS! Fantastic, 26 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox 360 Media Remote (Xbox 360) (Accessory)
I was fed up with my controller powering down when watching films through my Xbox so decided to buy this remote. I had read all the negative reviews about the line of sight having to be straight on to the console for it to work, but I didn't let them put me off and bought it anyway. After all it was under a tenner (delivered). It arrived swiftly in 3 days and was easy to set up. I found my TV code on the Xbox website which surprised me as my tv is not a mainstream brand (it's a Hannspree). The tv controls are basic but work fine and the Xbox controls are all ready to go straight from the box. The remote works great from all angles in my average sized lounge and my Xbox is in a tv cabinet with glass doors (which were closed when I tested it) so nothing to worry about. I'm glad the other reviews didn't put me off. Buy it you won't be disappointed! IT WORKS!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 360 control pad ruining your movie experience? Get this!, 13 Feb. 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Official Xbox 360 Media Remote (Xbox 360) (Accessory)
I brought this remote in December when I was looking for something extra to add to my "Secret Santa" present for a friend and found this for £13, which was ideal to bring me up to my £30 limit - and while I was buying it for them I decided to get one for myself - why not, after all it was Christmas?

I know remote controls aren't particularly exciting but it seems good quality, plus its small and light; personally I would have preferred a matt finish, but that is just me.

After some light to medium use (as I tend to do most of my DVD etc. view on my PS3) I have found that the remote seems to do what it is supposed to do - i.e. it turns the Xbox on, navigates the menus, selects whatever content you want to view, plays it, pauses it, stops it, etc. - it even controls the TV (something which my PS3 remote cannot do as it uses Bluetooth tech). I personally didn't find this too difficult to set up, but I would say that the instructions left a little to be desired and I think the more technologically shy would spend a little bit more time than I did trying to get it working.

Again, the remote controls the TV (mine is a Sony Bravia HDTV) without any problems - turns the TV on/off (standby), changes standard channels, selects the alternative inputs such as HDMI 1, 2, 3, etc. changes the volume... and so on and so forth.

The only thing I can say against it would be that you have to make sure you are pointing directly at the 360 - and I know this is the case with all standard remotes (well, usually the general direction and this seems a little more direction sensitive) but I've probably been spoiled by the PS3 bluetooth remote, as you can literally point that anywhere and it will do as instructed. And the only other minor point would be... it's not particularly necessary... and do we really need any more remote piling up on the [insert your preferred remote location here]?

Overall though worth a buy, especially if you've got a spare £13 you don't know what to do with and you prefer the feel of a standard remote control to a 360 control pad (which no doubt, some of us do).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Microsoft Media Remote (Xbox 360), 26 May 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox 360 Media Remote (Xbox 360) (Accessory)
If you use your Xbox 360 as a media center, and spend more time streaming video and music to your HDTV with it than you do playing video games, you may be interested in Microsoft's new 360 slim Remote. Its easy to setup, & has a nice glossy finish to it!! Awesome :) I would highly recommend it to anyone. 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, but has some downsides, 16 Oct. 2013
By 
Piers (Salisbury, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox 360 Media Remote (Xbox 360) (Accessory)
So, when flicking through the settings on my Xbox I discovered that I could enable standard Windows Media Center remotes, which I have. This proved incredibly useful for watching videos on my Xbox, but interfered with my PC, which I use in the same room as a media center (e.g. I'd hit the WMC button on the remote and it'd turn the Xbox on, when all I wanted to do was start WMC on my PC). I decided to buy this, as yes, more remotes is a nuisance, but I figured the benefits would outweigh that negative - after all, I use both devices for different video requirements (locally stored films and TV on PC, YouTube and Netflix on Xbox).

Other than a really sharp plastic edge on the top (which may be a manufacturing flaw as it's only really noticeable on the left), this is comfortable to just hold in my hand while I watch videos (I tend to hold on to remotes so I can instantly pause etc. rather than fumble around looking for it). I use a computer monitor rather than a TV screen, but I'm sure the TV controls on this remote are as useful as other reviewers have said. For the functionality this remote offers, it's useful and I certainly don't regret purchasing it.

The negatives then:
-The top is glossy plastic. I really don't understand why any manufacturer chooses this finish on products that are going to be handled a lot... it's like the car paints in GTA V - glossy looks more 'premium' than matte, but it shows up marks clearer. And naturally, there's going to be a lot of fingerprints covering this remote. For comparison, my WMC remote has a matte finish on the top, and yes, it looks cheaper (although it isn't), but it also looks brand new despite several years of use. After using the Xbox remote for a day, it looks like I've been using it all week.
-A keyboard would be nice. Ideally, something as great as the qwerty keyboard on the Boxee remote, or at the very least a '2 abc' 3 def' method on the number keys.
-Bumper buttons, say, between the I< Menu >I and direction buttons and placed on the side where your thumb and forefinger would rest for switching between whole dashboard/app pages would be extremely useful, from browsing the dashboard to flicking between panes in the YouTube app.

Yes, the three cons are quite annoying, but, for £7.68, what you get out of this remote is worth every penny - it'd just be nice if Microsoft made a more expensive one that had all the missing features listed above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than I expected, 26 July 2012
By 
Simon Hearn (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox 360 Media Remote (Xbox 360) (Accessory)
I watch a lot of movies and tv through my xbox, probably more than I play games at the moment and I didn't want the chunky controllers out all the time - so this remote was ideal for me.

I checked out the reviews before I bought it and concluded that it had three flaws, the main being the narrow directional range of the IR. The other two were the lack of stop button and the fact than half the controller is a waste of space if you don't use it for your TV (I use a projector so this was important for me).

Despite this I decided to give it a go - it was under £10 so why not. I was pleasantly surprised: yes, the sensitivity is nowhere near the same as my DVD, CD or projector remotes (big failing on Microsoft's part) and it does miss commands every so often, but I've not found it nearly as bad as others describe. E.g. we have the xbox to the side of the projector screen facing across the screen, so we are always at at least 45 degree angle to it, but if you point directly at it, it usually detects the signal. but actually I find that there's quite a number of angles I can use it, e.g. pointing to the ceiling or the opposite wall, so it's only occasionally, when I miss these (quite large) sweet spots that it doesn't pick up the signal.

I'm not sure why they removed the stop button, but I've not found that it makes much different. you can still pause, you can easily access the on-screen menu and select stop, or you can press back. No problem there.

One trick they missed was to include a text pad on the number buttons (like an old school mobile phone), because it's really not well adapted to writing text using the on-screen keyboards - for some reason it doesn't scroll nearly as fast as the controller. I tend to use the normal controller for writing, or I plug in a USB keyboard.

But overall, I'm happy with this controller and it's definitely made my life easier!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DECENT BUT COULD BE BETTER, 1 July 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox 360 Media Remote (Xbox 360) (Accessory)
The pricing on this remote is of decent value, especially when taking into account the usual inflated prices of official xbox products. Its certainly better for navigation around the dashboard than a control pad. Especially so if you use your xbox to play videos and music on your tv via window media centre on the 360. Having a small slim remote instead of a pad feels better in your hand. The design, look and shape are great as well.

A few negatives would be that the remote is quite unresponsive at times, you often find yourself having to press buttons 2-3 times before you get a response. The remote can link up to your TV as well in order to operate volume and channel up/down. If you want to increase/decrease the volume by a large amount, you have to physically press the button for each volume change (meaning you cant just hold the button down). This kind of thing has been around for many years now and its strange how the manufacturer could miss such a simple design flaw.

There is also no STOP button for when playing videos, only PAUSE and BACK. The TV functions are restricted and you can only really change volume & channel, no AV output change buttom (that im aware of)

Its still better than all the fake/copies that are out there though !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Microsoft Media Remote (Xbox 360), 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox 360 Media Remote (Xbox 360) (Accessory)
An absolute must have if you use your Xbox for streaming movies. I noticed some people suggesting it doesn't offer the LT\RT function that comes with an Xbox controller, This is not the case. There are two buttons under Y, X, A and B that while watching a DVD or Streaming would be used to choose between previous chapters or forwarding to a later chapter of a movie. These two buttons are used as equivalents to your LT\RT buttons on the Xbox Controller.

As others have said the only Negative to this product is that you have to be almost directly in line with your Console in order for it to work.

I've rated this item 4/5 stars because it is a handy accessory to have and looks the part too. This is especially handy to have for someone that doesn't play games using the console but does like to watch DVD's and/or Stream movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have Xbox accessory, 9 Feb. 2012
By 
John Nunn (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Official Xbox 360 Media Remote (Xbox 360) (Accessory)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is one of the essentials for anybody who would like to use their Xbox as a media centre, it provides an easy to use interface for the Xbox when using it to watch films or TV programs. Given the recent additions to the Xbox applications including 4 On Demand and Netflix as well as BBC iPlayer which is coming soon, this will become a bigger part of the Xbox experience.

Using the standard controller is great if you don't need to pause the current film part way though only to discover it has gone to sleep and needs to be reconnected, taking more time and increasing frustration. This remote allows you to perform core media based functions without having to reconnect the controller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Microsoft Media Remote for Xbox 360, 28 Jun. 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox 360 Media Remote (Xbox 360) (Accessory)
I brought this remote as I use my Xbox for media (Netflix etc) as much as gaming, and I thought it would be useful to have. I was not disappointed with it all. The set up to work with the TV is a bit tricky but once it works, its great (even works on older TV's).

So why only 4 stars? As other reviewers have said the range is a bit limited and the remote does seem to have to be pointed right at the Xbox 360 unlike other remote controllers for TV's/Blu-rays etc.

If you use your Xbox 360 for media activity, then this remote is very useful and well worth the price.

Peace xXx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Official Xbox 360 Media Remote (Xbox 360)
£8.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews