Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!
A lot of thought has gone in to this album - the track selection is varied and of good quality without ever resorting to cheesy pop. Added to this is that you get the FULL length versions - no edits. They haven't tried to cram in as many tracks as possible so the focus is on quality and not quantity.

I would like to see many more of this compilation series...
Published on 26 Oct 2012 by Reviewer 21702

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit disappointed
Although I had seen the track listing before buying this, some of the mixes of the songs are a little different to how I remember them, so I was a little miffed. It could also be that my memory of some of the songs are rose-tinted, and the songs simply weren't as good as I remember them, but never mind.
Published 21 months ago by S. Reynolds


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 26 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard To Find (MP3 Download)
A lot of thought has gone in to this album - the track selection is varied and of good quality without ever resorting to cheesy pop. Added to this is that you get the FULL length versions - no edits. They haven't tried to cram in as many tracks as possible so the focus is on quality and not quantity.

I would like to see many more of this compilation series. Keep them coming...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great remixes, great compilation, 11 Sep 2011
By 
M. Dixon "Matt" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Don't listen to DE01, this is actually a great compilation. Yes, some of the mixes are more established than others, but mostly, without numerous trips to eBay or Discogs, etc to get them individually, this is a great compendium of some great remixes from a time when that very word was an art form, not like now! Some great early stuff from Underworld, Norman Cook, the Chems, David Morales, Sub Sub....what's not to like?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A reminder of good times, 24 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In the early 90's, dance music was a much broader genre than it is today. Top 40 hits were mixed with old disco, guitar based indie songs, rap music, ska/reggae and whatnot. This fine collection of tracks, mostly from the early 90's and late 80's collects a pleasant selection of this kind of music.

The remixes are booth complete reworkings of songs (like Sub Sub or Sheena Easton) to the conservative re-edits (Hall & Oates, ABC).

Dance music kid's don't dance to any more. But also music that brings a smile to the faces of us older folks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit disappointed, 19 Feb 2013
By 
S. Reynolds (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although I had seen the track listing before buying this, some of the mixes of the songs are a little different to how I remember them, so I was a little miffed. It could also be that my memory of some of the songs are rose-tinted, and the songs simply weren't as good as I remember them, but never mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars remix album, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard To Find (MP3 Download)
this is actually quite a good album,some good mixes on it some middle off the road,overall well priced and worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Party mix tape 1991 style..., 10 Sep 2011
By 
Kelvin Owers (High Peak, Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Hard to find? Some of the mixes yes, but not all.
Chronological order? No.
Well sequenced? Yes!
A bit cheesy? Yes.
Enjoy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hope There Is a Volume 2, 28 Feb 2012
By 
Geoff Davies (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This just hit the spot for me. The 80's and 90's are my playground and I came across this from the Glimmers remix of Roxy Music which I had on the Glimmer's Fabric CD. Fascinating Rhythm by Bassomatic was a blast from the past but most of the other remixes are ones that I hadn't heard before.

In summary there is always another remix to find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Too Bad, 28 Sep 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This isnt too bad a compliation, ok some of the 80s remixes are like b sides and it is a bit too long, but apart from that this is worth buying, for its rare remixes, and not the ones on it that are available elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good value for money plus a few gems!, 26 Sep 2011
This review is from: Hard To Find (MP3 Download)
At this price, which is comparable to the price of a single, there are a few little gems on here that are worth considering.

For example these tracks are excellent and they are worth five stars:

I Can't Go For That (No Can Do) (The Ben Liebrand Remix) Hall & Oates is a great little track, remixed by Liebrand so you can't go wrong. The remix retains the wonderful melodic vocals and backing of the original pop track which I would not have originally purchased, yet as Liebrand skilfully adds a sort of late night, moody, bar groove vibe to the track which I love, I just can't get enough of it.

Open Up (The Chemical Brothers Remix)Leftfield Lydon. The name Leftfield alone is enough to make you purchase it. With the addition of a haunting guest vocal by Lydon,this track was seminal enough. Remixed by the chemicals, they manipulate the haunting sound of the original track into something more challenging and make a darker, harder dance track. What a result! Yes, this track is a must for any serious dance collector.

Why three stars? The other tracks although not stunning, for example "Sun Rising" which is a classic and beautiful track left as it is, they make a nice little addition to these two. So I would say you could download the two, or at the price this is going for, it represents good value to download them all. You might just discover an unusual little remix you like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Oct 2014
By 
D. R. WENDEN "Map Man" (Bexhill-on-Sea, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting mix
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hard To Find
Hard To Find by Various Artists
Buy MP3 Album£6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews