Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars a collection
of true hauntings-by excellent authour-easy to read thought provoking. if like true ghosts one to add to your collection/to buy
Published 5 months ago by dark magic

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Book of Ghosts
This book is utter rubbish, and I wouldn't recommend this to anyone interested in the paranormal/ghosts. Save to say I shall try to flog mine on ebay as it doesn't deserve a place on my bookshelf.
Published on 28 April 2010 by Ms. R. C. Armstrong-Buisseret


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Book of Ghosts, 28 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is utter rubbish, and I wouldn't recommend this to anyone interested in the paranormal/ghosts. Save to say I shall try to flog mine on ebay as it doesn't deserve a place on my bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not complete enough..., 30 Oct 2008
I'm afraid this was a distinct disappointment. The title raises great expectations and a cover endorsement by none other than Colin Wilson adds to them. I suppose I was expecting something a little more ... complete. The book does cover a lot of haunted ground but in rather a shallow way (I felt similarly about the Idiot's Guide to Ghosts); more pages would maybe have allowed greater depth and development of themes. It begins well enough with a look at early societies' views on phantoms and the Fox sisters 'contribution' to the field, which are often disregarded in these sort of books, then begins to follow a generally chronological path.

Things get rapidly ensnared in a popular culture approach to ghosts and more or less stays at that level. Film star hauntings, celebrity psychics, possession, some of the more florid haunts from around the world (more foreign ghosts would have been useful to make a comparison with British cases), ouija boards, with too much on some of these and too little on others. There's an interesting little section on London Underground ghosts and a great story about C.S. Lewis (what an interesting person to become a ghost). But the question of just what a ghosts are and how they may be categorized is sketchy.

A chapter including how to conduct a ghost hunt and ghost hunting equipment is far too short. There seems also to be nothing about the premier ghost hunters - O'Donnell, Underwood, Holzer, Green, Forman, Mackenzie, Lyon-Playfair - except a little on Harry Price (mainly Borley and only alluding to the controversies there). The Ghost Club and SPR get a few paragraphs - too few. To add insult to this injury there is a section concerning the dubious antics of a certain tv show involving the oleaginous Mr Acorah.

This is best suited to ghost novices as long as the contents are not taken as complete 'gospel' on the subject. Better alternatives would be the Spencers' Encyclopedias and also Guiley's Encyclopedia, which is much more complete, albeit with still fairly brief entries and arranged in alphabetical form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a collection, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
of true hauntings-by excellent authour-easy to read thought provoking. if like true ghosts one to add to your collection/to buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ghosts are great :), 18 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. Rd Kirkby (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not too bad this book is full of info, I bought for research for a project that has now been finished :) will be on DVD soon.... you can watch and edited version on you tube it's called Art Of The Ghost Hunter.
Enjoy :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I thought, 3 May 2010
If you just enjoy reading stories about people's brushes with the paranormal this is not the book for you. I must admit I skipped some bits!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A ghost hunters must, 18 Aug 2007
This is like a bible to all ghost hunters out there.I have been ghost hunting for a while but this book taught me more.Some great accounts.A must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews