Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars42
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£1.72+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 October 2013
(Er, yes. This DVD may have been released two years ago, but whatever. I stumbled upon Clarkson's earlier film Thriller on YouTube and decided to dig this out.)

I'll make this short; if you are buying this expecting content you'd see on TopGear, then you're looking at the wrong DVD - go get one of the ACTUAL TopGear films in that case. Here, you'll find no exploding cars, falling over or tortured metaphors. Instead it's an hour-and-a-bit of Clarkson waxing lyrical about the latest and hottest cars, all set in the confines of the ultra-modern Paul Ricard High Tech Test Track in the south of France. Petrolhead pr0n, if you will. A grown-up TopGear, without the other two.

Some of the content is recycled from TopGear - the three hot hatches that were used in the Riveria road trip make an appearance, and are thrashed around the track by F1 driver Karun Chandhok to see which one is really fastest, for example - but if you're interested in cars at whatever level, it really doesn't matter. The Brutus in all its plane-engined glory also returns (this time squaring up against a BMW 1-series M Coupe), and the Eagle Speedster is taken for a cruise around some picturesque French mountain roads alongside a Corvette-powered Jensen Interceptor.

All his work on TopGear has forced Clarkson to adopt an oafish, child-like persona that panders to the masses, whereas this is an outlet for the real man, making Powered Up a wise purchase if you're a real car person. Especially considering that you've got examples here selling for literally pence.

Go on. Get it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2013
Jeremy Clarkson never disappoints the petrolhead with these DVDs typically produced for the Christmas market. I picked this out as being available for a bargain price but would've happily paid the original asking price. A great selection of supercars reviewed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2013
This one is better than most of the Clarkson series. He goes off for a week to a French test track and shows some very nice motors - and for once he doesn't prat about. Script is well thought out and this looks he enjoys himself and this is quite a classy collection he's driving around in. More like this Jez please.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2012
This is the shortest Clarkson DVD at only just over 60 minutes long and is not the best of them all, but is still very good and interesting with a decent selection of cars. It has the perfect balance of humour and proper car reviews. I recommend this DVD, it is a great addition to any petrolhead's DVD colletion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2012
Jeremy Clarkson's new DVD is of a very high standard and is up there with one of his best. He uses a great array of super cars on a challenging track. Just a shame that no cars were destroyed.

The second disk is special features and provides a good look behind the scenes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2011
Not as good as last year's effort, all the cars featured have already been on Top Gear, so I don't really see the point. It's still Clarkson, so it's still fun, just a little lacking this year. If you watch Top Gear there is no reason to buy this, it offers nothing new and is basically just a rehash. Looking forward to a better DVD next year.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2013
I chose this rating because i have enjoyed using this. I like this because it involves cars, and i would recommend this to everyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2012
This was bought as an xmas present, but I was very happy with how quickly it arrived. I am sure my boyfriend will love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2013
Usual Jeremy's comment which are funny with all the nice car,what more do you want?although some may think its play out..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2012
the dvd arrived in great cond. and in great time. i would have no hesitation in recommending your service to others
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)